DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The official correspondence below is a first action non-final on an RCE.
Response to Amendment
Amendments received 06-12-2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, 19, 21, 28, 35, and 39 have been amended.
There are no new claims.
No claims have been cancelled.
Claims 1-40 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
CLAIM 1 (Claim 1 is the example for the rejection. However, claims 8, 15, 21, 28, and 35 are parallel and rejected under same reasoning) IS REJECTED under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method for mission planning/scheduling for a vehicle (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below in bold text) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1 Recites:
(Currently Amended) A method of operating a spacecraft mission manager, the method comprising:
obtaining user inputs for a spacecraft mission, wherein the user inputs comprise at least a synthetic aperture radar request of a target area, one or more maneuvers for a spacecraft to reach the target area, and a mission profile including a desired mission management style;
determining an orbit path of the spacecraft based at least on the user inputs and telemetry of the spacecraft;
obtaining a visibility schedule of one or more antennas from one or more ground station providers corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft;
generating a tasking plan to perform the user inputs for the spacecraft mission based at least on the visibility schedule, wherein generating the tasking plan comprises enqueuing the user inputs in a queue including the user inputs and existing user inputs, and determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue based at least on requested performance dates associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs relative to one another and relative to the visibility schedule and costs associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs; and
providing the tasking plan to at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, the “determining…” and “generating…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person (operator/scheduler/controller) observing data (user/customer inputs/requests, real-time positional data of a vehicle, vehicle tracking) and forming a simple judgement. For example, a vehicle is approaching a requested location and scheduling requests accordingly. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claim 1 Recites:
(Currently Amended) A method of operating a spacecraft mission manager, the method comprising:
obtaining user inputs for a spacecraft mission, wherein the user inputs comprise at least a synthetic aperture radar request of a target area, one or more maneuvers for a spacecraft to reach the target area, and a mission profile including a desired mission management style;
determining an orbit path of the spacecraft based at least on the user inputs and telemetry of the spacecraft;
obtaining a visibility schedule of one or more antennas from one or more ground station providers corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft;
generating a tasking plan to perform the user inputs for the spacecraft mission based at least on the visibility schedule, wherein generating the tasking plan comprises enqueuing the user inputs in a queue including the user inputs and existing user inputs, and determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue based at least on requested performance dates associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs relative to one another and relative to the visibility schedule and costs associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs; and
providing the tasking plan to at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “obtaining…” “obtaining…” and “providing…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that use a computer to perform the process. In particular, the obtaining steps from user input and from location data, e.g., current location and trajectory, are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering vehicle data for use in the determining steps), and amounts to data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution (pre-solution) activity. The displaying results (i.e., providing) step on the driver display console is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of displaying the weather evaluation result from the evaluating step), and amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of data acquisition and displaying, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities. Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is wellunderstood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The same/similar additional limitations of receiving user input, receiving location data, and displaying are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. The additional limitation of “providing (i.e., displaying)” is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity because the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2-7 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical, or further expand on how to “apply” the mental process described in ¶0005 of the instant specification (automating a mental process performed by humans). Therefore, dependent claims 2-7 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 1.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-7, as well as 8-40, is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
¶0063-0064 of the instant specification describe autonomous vehicle maneuvering that, to the examiner’s best understanding, cannot be performed in the human mind.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-20, 35, and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, obviousness, as being unpatentable over Lopez (US 20160306824 A1) in view of Rhoads (US 20220161944 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Lopez discloses, obtaining user inputs for a spacecraft mission (Lopez: [0140] based on a resource model and updated resource status received from the mission control center (MCC) 530 and the ground station network (GSN) 519, create plans and command files for onboard activities including imaging and downlinks, and tasks for the GSN 519; [0151] The Mission Control Center (MCC) 530 is used to manage communications between the spacecraft 100 and the ground. For supporting earth observation, the MCC station is used for uplinking the command files (e.g. OCFs); [0290] The mission control center prepares the OCFs for uplink, and using one or more uplinks, uplinks the data to the spacecraft (block 3806). The spacecraft receives the uplink and executes the OCFs for the period N), wherein the user inputs comprise at least a synthetic aperture radar request of a target area (Lopez: [0087] Non-limiting examples of other types of sensors that can be used to observe the Earth include LiDAR, RADAR, infrared sensors, and Synthetic Aperture RADAR (SAR). Other types of remote sensing technology also applies; [0097] Image data, such as video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0130] Public Users (541): General public users can use the Web, internet, and mobile interfaces to look at imagery, video, and other information and to also contribute their own inputs; [0274] A more generalized representation of the planning process 2804 is shown in FIG. 36, and it includes planning inputs 3601 and planning outputs 3603. The planning inputs include: acquisition requests), one or more maneuvers for a spacecraft to reach the target area (Lopez: [0184] The HRC is configured to capture video centered on a single target on the ground. The camera remains pointed at the target as the spacecraft moves along its orbit; [0190] The orders will specify targets, areas, or paths; [0192] With respect to single target videos, the Order specifies the target's latitude, longitude and altitude; [0194] The BPP 605 slews from the previous location, settles, and then “sweeps” smoothly through each of the target center coordinates over the total Video Take duration; [FIG. 29(2906)]), and a mission profile including a desired mission management style (Lopez: [0377] The catalogue system can be searched by several criteria. Non-limiting example search criteria include: geographic area (e.g. either polygon or screen extent; the polygon inputted by the user via a GUI); a time range; a specific camera; incidence elevation angle; sun elevation angle; compression ratio; and other data; [0097] Image data is acquired to cover the accessible part of the Earth, with higher priority and quality given to areas of greater user interest ... video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0136] The Earth observation system includes a number of components, such as the Web platform 524. The Web platform 524 provides a Web interface to the general public. It includes capabilities to: browse and view imagery, videos and other geographic data; contribute additional information and social inputs; and accept requests for future data collection activities; [0152]; [0180]; [0190]); determining an orbit path of the spacecraft based at least on the user inputs (Lopez: [0184] The HRC is configured to capture video centered on a single target on the ground. The camera remains pointed at the target as the spacecraft moves along its orbit; [0190] The orders will specify targets, areas, or paths; [0192] With respect to single target videos, the Order specifies the target's latitude, longitude and altitude; [0194] The BPP 605 slews from the previous location, settles, and then “sweeps” smoothly through each of the target center coordinates over the total Video Take duration) and telemetry of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0028] FIG. 24 is a flow diagram illustrating the data flow for telemetry and ancillary data from a camera system on the spacecraft; [0081] Log File contains both periodically File sampled health, status and telemetry data, as well as activity-specific health, status and telemetry data); obtaining a visibility schedule of one or more antennas from one or more ground station providers corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0217] In particular, the CPS 518 sends a reception schedule 2202 to the ground station network 519 and sends the expected file list 2203 to the data hub. This occurs at the end of a planning session; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window); generating a tasking plan to perform the user inputs for the spacecraft mission based at least on the visibility schedule (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window), wherein generating the tasking plan comprises enqueuing the user inputs in a queue (Lopez: [0099] customers and distributors interact with the systems to submit requests; [0136] The Earth observation system includes a number of components, such as the Web platform 524 … and accept requests for future data collection activities; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) including the user inputs (Lopez: [ABS] Users use an order management system to place orders for the observation data; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) and existing user inputs (Lopez: [0252] The CPS sends the activity schedule to the mission control center, sends the reception schedule 2807 to the GSN, and sends the expected file list 2808 to the data hub 522. The acquisition request status is also sent the OMS and the external OMS (operations 2809, 2810), so that customers may access their order through the OMS to view the status of their requests at any time 2805. Using the activity schedule, the MCC generates the OCF and sends the same to the spacecraft; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc), and determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue (Lopez: [0276] It can be appreciated that an acquisition request includes one or more of the following types of information: a region (e.g. area of polygon coordinates), a priority level; [0284] The CPS also generates Expected File Lists … the file priority … the Order ID or list of Order IDs (e.g. allows the data to be related back to a Customer/Distributor order); [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) and relative to the visibility schedule (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window) and costs associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs (Lopez: [0451] When a user selection input 8201 is received with respect to the control tab 7817 for news data, the GUI in FIG. 83 is shown. [0452] In FIG. 83, using the GUI 7801e, news updates and posts of the event 8301, 8302 can be viewed. [0453] ... a checkout GUI 8401 is displayed. The Web platform displays this GUI to facilitate the purchase and ordering of image products and acquisition requests. The GUI shows products processed according to image tiles 8402 and products processed according to a time lapse 8403. [0454] ... the location of the capture (e.g. by coordinates), and the associated price. [0455] ... and the associated price. [0456] The GUI shows the totalled cost information 8411 and includes a “checkout” button 8411 to purchase the products; [0256] The regions are also identified as being land or ocean areas, or user ordered areas. The priority level and the required image quality level (e.g. compression ratio) are also associated with each region (examiner: image quality is interpreted as a cost); [0273] attributes of request (e.g. region, priority, constraints); physical accessibility (e.g. orbit/flight path, imaging geometry, camera characteristics); sensor availability; potential for conflicts with other acquisitions; predicted cloud cover; spacecraft resource availability (e.g. power, memory); and ground segment resource availability (e.g. downlink time, ground station availability)); and providing the tasking plan to at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0217] In particular, the CPS 518 sends a reception schedule 2202 to the ground station network 519 and sends the expected file list 2203 to the data hub. This occurs at the end of a planning session; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window).
Lopez does not explicitly disclose, and determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue based at least on requested performance dates associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs relative to one another.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rhoads discloses, determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue based at least on requested performance dates associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs relative to one another (Lopez: [0112] as an interval time between current time and the “complete by time” decreases, the priority value may increase. The prioritization data 416 may also indicate whether the activity category is to be executed by a specified time; [0117] The time sensitivity of these activities may be specified by the prioritization data; [0141]), for the benefit of increased efficiency and to minimize resource consumption for the individual satellite as well as the constellation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lopez to include prioritizing based upon deadlines taught by Rhoads. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase efficiency and to minimize resource consumption for the individual satellite as well as the constellation.
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Lopez also discloses, determining a failure in the tasking plan and (Lopez: [0287]; [0305]), responsive to determining the failure, generating an updated tasking plan to perform failed user inputs for the spacecraft mission (Lopez: [0310] (examiner: mission updating)).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Lopez also discloses, providing the tasking plan to the at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers comprises communicating via one or more application programming interfaces (Lopez: [FIG. 21]; [0156]; [0214-0216]; [0292]; [0313]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Lopez also discloses, determining the priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue is further based at least on interdependencies among the user inputs and the existing user inputs (Lopez: [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Lopez also discloses, the desired mission management style indicates a pass cadence with which to perform the user inputs (Lopez: [0377] The catalogue system can be searched by several criteria. Non-limiting example search criteria include: geographic area (e.g. either polygon or screen extent; the polygon inputted by the user via a GUI); a time range; a specific camera; incidence elevation angle; sun elevation angle; compression ratio; and other data; [0097] Image data is acquired to cover the accessible part of the Earth, with higher priority and quality given to areas of greater user interest).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 6, and further, Lopez also discloses, the mission profile further includes one or more spacecraft constraints (Lopez: [0152] The MCC 530 receive OCFs from the CPS 518. The MCC 530 then confirms that it meets all resource constraints and availability constraints. If there is a conflict where any resources are not available to optical telescope system, it will either request a new plan from the CPS 518 or could cancel some imaging sessions to satisfy the constraint), and the one or more spacecraft constraints include at least a processing capacity, a technological capacity, and a power capacity of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0205]; [0264]; [0273]).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Lopez discloses, one or more computer-readable storage media; and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media that, based on being read and executed by a processing system (Lopez: [0159] It will be appreciated that any module, component, or system exemplified herein that executes instructions or operations may include or otherwise have access to computer readable media such as storage media, computer storage media, or data storage devices (removable and/or non-removable) such as, for example, magnetic disks, optical disks, or tape. Computer storage media may include volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information, such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules, or other data, except transitory propagating signals per se. Examples of computer storage media include RAM, ROM, EEPROM, flash memory or other memory technology, CD-ROM, digital versatile disks (DVD) or other optical storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to store the desired information and which can be accessed by an application, module, or both. Any such computer storage media may be part of the systems, modules or components of the Earth observation system 500, or accessible or connectable thereto. Any application, system or module herein described may be implemented using computer readable/executable or instructions or operations that may be stored or otherwise held by such computer readable media), direct a spacecraft mission manager to at least: obtain user inputs for a spacecraft mission (Lopez: [0140] based on a resource model and updated resource status received from the mission control center (MCC) 530 and the ground station network (GSN) 519, create plans and command files for onboard activities including imaging and downlinks, and tasks for the GSN 519; [0151] The Mission Control Center (MCC) 530 is used to manage communications between the spacecraft 100 and the ground. For supporting earth observation, the MCC station is used for uplinking the command files (e.g. OCFs); [0290] The mission control center prepares the OCFs for uplink, and using one or more uplinks, uplinks the data to the spacecraft (block 3806). The spacecraft receives the uplink and executes the OCFs for the period N), wherein the user inputs comprise at least a synthetic aperture radar request of a target area (Lopez: [0087] Non-limiting examples of other types of sensors that can be used to observe the Earth include LiDAR, RADAR, infrared sensors, and Synthetic Aperture RADAR (SAR). Other types of remote sensing technology also applies; [0097] Image data, such as video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0130] Public Users (541): General public users can use the Web, internet, and mobile interfaces to look at imagery, video, and other information and to also contribute their own inputs; [0274] A more generalized representation of the planning process 2804 is shown in FIG. 36, and it includes planning inputs 3601 and planning outputs 3603. The planning inputs include: acquisition requests), one or more maneuvers for a spacecraft to reach the target area (Lopez: [0184] The HRC is configured to capture video centered on a single target on the ground. The camera remains pointed at the target as the spacecraft moves along its orbit; [0190] The orders will specify targets, areas, or paths; [0192] With respect to single target videos, the Order specifies the target's latitude, longitude and altitude; [0194] The BPP 605 slews from the previous location, settles, and then “sweeps” smoothly through each of the target center coordinates over the total Video Take duration; [FIG. 29(2906)]), and a mission profile including a desired mission management style (Lopez: [0377] The catalogue system can be searched by several criteria. Non-limiting example search criteria include: geographic area (e.g. either polygon or screen extent; the polygon inputted by the user via a GUI); a time range; a specific camera; incidence elevation angle; sun elevation angle; compression ratio; and other data; [0097] Image data is acquired to cover the accessible part of the Earth, with higher priority and quality given to areas of greater user interest ... video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0136] The Earth observation system includes a number of components, such as the Web platform 524. The Web platform 524 provides a Web interface to the general public. It includes capabilities to: browse and view imagery, videos and other geographic data; contribute additional information and social inputs; and accept requests for future data collection activities; [0152]; [0180]; [0190]); determine an orbit path of the spacecraft based at least on the user inputs (Lopez: [0184] The HRC is configured to capture video centered on a single target on the ground. The camera remains pointed at the target as the spacecraft moves along its orbit; [0190] The orders will specify targets, areas, or paths; [0192] With respect to single target videos, the Order specifies the target's latitude, longitude and altitude; [0194] The BPP 605 slews from the previous location, settles, and then “sweeps” smoothly through each of the target center coordinates over the total Video Take duration) and telemetry of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0028] FIG. 24 is a flow diagram illustrating the data flow for telemetry and ancillary data from a camera system on the spacecraft; [0081] Log File contains both periodically File sampled health, status and telemetry data, as well as activity-specific health, status and telemetry data); obtain a visibility schedule of one or more antennas from one or more ground station providers corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0217] In particular, the CPS 518 sends a reception schedule 2202 to the ground station network 519 and sends the expected file list 2203 to the data hub. This occurs at the end of a planning session; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window); generate a tasking plan to perform the user inputs for the spacecraft mission based at least on the visibility schedule (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window), wherein generating the tasking plan comprises enqueuing the user inputs in a queue (Lopez: [0099] customers and distributors interact with the systems to submit requests; [0136] The Earth observation system includes a number of components, such as the Web platform 524 … and accept requests for future data collection activities; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) including the user inputs (Lopez: [ABS] Users use an order management system to place orders for the observation data; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) and existing user inputs (Lopez: [0252] The CPS sends the activity schedule to the mission control center, sends the reception schedule 2807 to the GSN, and sends the expected file list 2808 to the data hub 522. The acquisition request status is also sent the OMS and the external OMS (operations 2809, 2810), so that customers may access their order through the OMS to view the status of their requests at any time 2805. Using the activity schedule, the MCC generates the OCF and sends the same to the spacecraft; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc), and determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue (Lopez: [0276] It can be appreciated that an acquisition request includes one or more of the following types of information: a region (e.g. area of polygon coordinates), a priority level; [0284] The CPS also generates Expected File Lists … the file priority … the Order ID or list of Order IDs (e.g. allows the data to be related back to a Customer/Distributor order); [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) and relative to the visibility schedule (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window) and costs associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs (Lopez: [0451] When a user selection input 8201 is received with respect to the control tab 7817 for news data, the GUI in FIG. 83 is shown. [0452] In FIG. 83, using the GUI 7801e, news updates and posts of the event 8301, 8302 can be viewed. [0453] ... a checkout GUI 8401 is displayed. The Web platform displays this GUI to facilitate the purchase and ordering of image products and acquisition requests. The GUI shows products processed according to image tiles 8402 and products processed according to a time lapse 8403. [0454] ... the location of the capture (e.g. by coordinates), and the associated price. [0455] ... and the associated price. [0456] The GUI shows the totalled cost information 8411 and includes a “checkout” button 8411 to purchase the products; [0256] The regions are also identified as being land or ocean areas, or user ordered areas. The priority level and the required image quality level (e.g. compression ratio) are also associated with each region (examiner: image quality is interpreted as a cost); [0273] attributes of request (e.g. region, priority, constraints); physical accessibility (e.g. orbit/flight path, imaging geometry, camera characteristics); sensor availability; potential for conflicts with other acquisitions; predicted cloud cover; spacecraft resource availability (e.g. power, memory); and ground segment resource availability (e.g. downlink time, ground station availability)); and provide the tasking plan to at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0217] In particular, the CPS 518 sends a reception schedule 2202 to the ground station network 519 and sends the expected file list 2203 to the data hub. This occurs at the end of a planning session; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window).
Lopez does not explicitly disclose, and determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue based at least on requested performance dates associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs relative to one another.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rhoads discloses, determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue based at least on requested performance dates associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs relative to one another (Lopez: [0112] as an interval time between current time and the “complete by time” decreases, the priority value may increase. The prioritization data 416 may also indicate whether the activity category is to be executed by a specified time; [0117] The time sensitivity of these activities may be specified by the prioritization data; [0141]), for the benefit of increased efficiency and to minimize resource consumption for the individual satellite as well as the constellation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lopez to include prioritizing based upon deadlines taught by Rhoads. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase efficiency and to minimize resource consumption for the individual satellite as well as the constellation.
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Lopez also discloses, the program instructions further direct the spacecraft mission manager to determine a failure in the tasking plan and (Lopez: [0287]; [0305]), responsive to determining the failure, generate an updated tasking plan to perform failed user inputs for the spacecraft mission (Lopez: [0310] (examiner: mission updating)).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Lopez also discloses, to provide the tasking plan to the at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers, the program instructions direct the spacecraft mission manager to communicate via one or more application programming interfaces (Lopez: [FIG. 21] downlinking images implies an interface at the ground station; [0156]; [0214-0216]; [0292]; [0313]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Lopez also discloses, determine the priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue, the program instructions direct the spacecraft mission manager to determine the priority further based at least on interdependencies among the user inputs and the existing user inputs (Lopez: [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Lopez also discloses, the desired mission management style indicates a pass cadence with which to perform the user inputs (Lopez: [0377]; [0097]).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Lopez also discloses, the mission profile further includes one or more spacecraft constraints (Lopez: [0152]), and the one or more spacecraft constraints include at least a processing capacity, a technological capacity, and a power capacity of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0205]; [0273]).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Lopez discloses, obtaining a collection request (Lopez: [0140] based on a resource model and updated resource status received from the mission control center (MCC) 530 and the ground station network (GSN) 519, create plans and command files for onboard activities including imaging and downlinks, and tasks for the GSN 519; [0151] The Mission Control Center (MCC) 530 is used to manage communications between the spacecraft 100 and the ground. For supporting earth observation, the MCC station is used for uplinking the command files (e.g. OCFs); [0290] The mission control center prepares the OCFs for uplink, and using one or more uplinks, uplinks the data to the spacecraft (block 3806). The spacecraft receives the uplink and executes the OCFs for the period N) comprising one or more tasks for a spacecraft to perform synthetic aperture radar capture of a target area (Lopez: [0087] Non-limiting examples of other types of sensors that can be used to observe the Earth include LiDAR, RADAR, infrared sensors, and Synthetic Aperture RADAR (SAR). Other types of remote sensing technology also applies; [0097] Image data, such as video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0130] Public Users (541): General public users can use the Web, internet, and mobile interfaces to look at imagery, video, and other information and to also contribute their own inputs; [0274] A more generalized representation of the planning process 2804 is shown in FIG. 36, and it includes planning inputs 3601 and planning outputs 3603. The planning inputs include: acquisition requests), one or more maneuvers for the spacecraft to reach the target area (Lopez: [0184] The HRC is configured to capture video centered on a single target on the ground. The camera remains pointed at the target as the spacecraft moves along its orbit; [0190] The orders will specify targets, areas, or paths; [0192] With respect to single target videos, the Order specifies the target's latitude, longitude and altitude; [0194] The BPP 605 slews from the previous location, settles, and then “sweeps” smoothly through each of the target center coordinates over the total Video Take duration; [FIG. 29(2906)]), and a mission profile including a desired mission management style (Lopez: [0377] The catalogue system can be searched by several criteria. Non-limiting example search criteria include: geographic area (e.g. either polygon or screen extent; the polygon inputted by the user via a GUI); a time range; a specific camera; incidence elevation angle; sun elevation angle; compression ratio; and other data; [0097] Image data is acquired to cover the accessible part of the Earth, with higher priority and quality given to areas of greater user interest ... video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0136] The Earth observation system includes a number of components, such as the Web platform 524. The Web platform 524 provides a Web interface to the general public. It includes capabilities to: browse and view imagery, videos and other geographic data; contribute additional information and social inputs; and accept requests for future data collection activities; [0152]; [0180]; [0190]); obtaining a visibility schedule of one or more ground station providers (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0217] In particular, the CPS 518 sends a reception schedule 2202 to the ground station network 519 and sends the expected file list 2203 to the data hub. This occurs at the end of a planning session; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window), wherein the visibility schedule provides one or more timeframes of availability of at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers based at least on the collection request (Lopez: [0033] FIG. 29 is a flow diagram illustrating example computer executable or processor implemented instructions for performing planning acquisition based on priority settings of a map; [0097] Image data is acquired to cover the accessible part of the Earth, with higher priority and quality given to areas of greater user interest; [0245] Each Image/Video take file is assigned one of two priorities (i.e. normal or urgent) in the OCF. The DHU places files with urgent priority at the beginning of its downlink list. It is expected that only a very small faction of files will be labeled as urgent priority) and telemetry of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0033] FIG. 29 is a flow diagram illustrating example computer executable or processor implemented instructions for performing planning acquisition based on priority settings of a map; [0097] Image data is acquired to cover the accessible part of the Earth, with higher priority and quality given to areas of greater user interest; [0245] Each Image/Video take file is assigned one of two priorities (i.e. normal or urgent) in the OCF. The DHU places files with urgent priority at the beginning of its downlink list. It is expected that only a very small faction of files will be labeled as urgent priority); prioritizing the one of more tasks based at least on conflict criteria (Lopez: [0214] At block 2102, the DHU performs planning operations to determine which files are to be downlinked in each downlink window for a given ground station. The DHU has a set of logic rules that implement querying priority; [0243] Protection Flag Set if a very high priority level is specified in Acquisition Request Priority Downlink Flag Set if a very high priority level is specified in Acquisition Request Downlink Session For each Downlink Window: One grouping for each Downlink Window Downlink Window start & CPS calculates based on orbit end times geometry, ground station masks, and ground station availability periods) and the visibility schedule of the one or more ground station providers (Lopez: [0214] At block 2102, the DHU performs planning operations to determine which files are to be downlinked in each downlink window for a given ground station. The DHU has a set of logic rules that implement querying priority; [0243] Protection Flag Set if a very high priority level is specified in Acquisition Request Priority Downlink Flag Set if a very high priority level is specified in Acquisition Request Downlink Session For each Downlink Window: One grouping for each Downlink Window Downlink Window start & CPS calculates based on orbit end times geometry, ground station masks, and ground station availability periods), wherein prioritizing the one or more tasks comprises determining a priority among the one or more tasks relative to one another (Lopez: [0276] It can be appreciated that an acquisition request includes one or more of the following types of information: a region (e.g. area of polygon coordinates), a priority level; [0284] The CPS also generates Expected File Lists … the file priority … the Order ID or list of Order IDs (e.g. allows the data to be related back to a Customer/Distributor order); [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) in view of the visibility schedule (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window), and costs associated with the one or more tasks and the existing tasks (Lopez: [0451] When a user selection input 8201 is received with respect to the control tab 7817 for news data, the GUI in FIG. 83 is shown. [0452] In FIG. 83, using the GUI 7801e, news updates and posts of the event 8301, 8302 can be viewed. [0453] ... a checkout GUI 8401 is displayed. The Web platform displays this GUI to facilitate the purchase and ordering of image products and acquisition requests. The GUI shows products processed according to image tiles 8402 and products processed according to a time lapse 8403. [0454] ... the location of the capture (e.g. by coordinates), and the associated price. [0455] ... and the associated price. [0456] The GUI shows the totalled cost information 8411 and includes a “checkout” button 8411 to purchase the products; [0256] The regions are also identified as being land or ocean areas, or user ordered areas. The priority level and the required image quality level (e.g. compression ratio) are also associated with each region (examiner: image quality is interpreted as a cost); [0273] attributes of request (e.g. region, priority, constraints); physical accessibility (e.g. orbit/flight path, imaging geometry, camera characteristics); sensor availability; potential for conflicts with other acquisitions; predicted cloud cover; spacecraft resource availability (e.g. power, memory); and ground segment resource availability (e.g. downlink time, ground station availability)); and generating a spacecraft mission plan based at least on the prioritized one or more tasks (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0217] In particular, the CPS 518 sends a reception schedule 2202 to the ground station network 519 and sends the expected file list 2203 to the data hub. This occurs at the end of a planning session; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window).
Lopez does not explicitly disclose, and prioritizing the one or more tasks comprises determining a priority among the one or more tasks relative to one another and relative to existing tasks based at least on requested performance dates associated with the one or more tasks and the existing tasks.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rhoads discloses, prioritizing the one or more tasks comprises determining a priority among the one or more tasks relative to one another and relative to existing tasks based at least on requested performance dates associated with the one or more tasks and the existing tasks (Lopez: [0112] as an interval time between current time and the “complete by time” decreases, the priority value may increase. The prioritization data 416 may also indicate whether the activity category is to be executed by a specified time; [0117] The time sensitivity of these activities may be specified by the prioritization data; [0141]), for the benefit of increased efficiency and to minimize resource consumption for the individual satellite as well as the constellation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lopez to include prioritizing based upon deadlines taught by Rhoads. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase efficiency and to minimize resource consumption for the individual satellite as well as the constellation.
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Lopez also discloses, reserving the one or more timeframes of availability of the at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers (Lopez: [0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 16, and further, Lopez also discloses, reserving the one or more timeframes of availability comprises communicating with the at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers via an application programming interface (Lopez: [0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Lopez also discloses, the conflict criteria include at least one among a cost of the one or more tasks (Lopez: [0256] (examiner: image quality is interpreted as a cost); [0273]), a source of the one or more tasks (Lopez: [0245]; [0254-0257]; [0268]; [0272-0273]), an importance of the one or more tasks (Lopez: [0255]; [0276]), and a date requested of the one or more tasks (Lopez: [0255]; [0276]).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Lopez also discloses, prioritizing the one or more tasks comprises evaluating the visibility schedule based at least one among a usage cost of the one or more ground station providers, a quality of the one or more ground station providers, interdependencies among the one or more tasks and the existing tasks, and the one or more timeframes of availability of the one or more ground station providers (Lopez: [0243]; [0255]; [0276]).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Lopez also discloses, the desired mission management style indicates a pass cadence with which to perform the user inputs (Lopez: [0377]; [0097]).
REGARDING CLAIM 35, Lopez discloses, obtain user inputs for a spacecraft mission (Lopez: [0140] based on a resource model and updated resource status received from the mission control center (MCC) 530 and the ground station network (GSN) 519, create plans and command files for onboard activities including imaging and downlinks, and tasks for the GSN 519; [0151] The Mission Control Center (MCC) 530 is used to manage communications between the spacecraft 100 and the ground. For supporting earth observation, the MCC station is used for uplinking the command files (e.g. OCFs); [0290] The mission control center prepares the OCFs for uplink, and using one or more uplinks, uplinks the data to the spacecraft (block 3806). The spacecraft receives the uplink and executes the OCFs for the period N), wherein the user inputs comprise at least a synthetic aperture radar request of a target area (Lopez: [0087] Non-limiting examples of other types of sensors that can be used to observe the Earth include LiDAR, RADAR, infrared sensors, and Synthetic Aperture RADAR (SAR). Other types of remote sensing technology also applies; [0097] Image data, such as video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0130] Public Users (541): General public users can use the Web, internet, and mobile interfaces to look at imagery, video, and other information and to also contribute their own inputs; [0274] A more generalized representation of the planning process 2804 is shown in FIG. 36, and it includes planning inputs 3601 and planning outputs 3603. The planning inputs include: acquisition requests), one or more maneuvers for a spacecraft to reach the target area (Lopez: [0184] The HRC is configured to capture video centered on a single target on the ground. The camera remains pointed at the target as the spacecraft moves along its orbit; [0190] The orders will specify targets, areas, or paths; [0192] With respect to single target videos, the Order specifies the target's latitude, longitude and altitude; [0194] The BPP 605 slews from the previous location, settles, and then “sweeps” smoothly through each of the target center coordinates over the total Video Take duration; [FIG. 29(2906)]), and a mission profile including a desired mission management style (Lopez: [0377] The catalogue system can be searched by several criteria. Non-limiting example search criteria include: geographic area (e.g. either polygon or screen extent; the polygon inputted by the user via a GUI); a time range; a specific camera; incidence elevation angle; sun elevation angle; compression ratio; and other data; [0097] Image data is acquired to cover the accessible part of the Earth, with higher priority and quality given to areas of greater user interest ... video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0136] The Earth observation system includes a number of components, such as the Web platform 524. The Web platform 524 provides a Web interface to the general public. It includes capabilities to: browse and view imagery, videos and other geographic data; contribute additional information and social inputs; and accept requests for future data collection activities; [0152]; [0180]; [0190]); determining an orbit path of the spacecraft based at least on the user inputs (Lopez: [0184] The HRC is configured to capture video centered on a single target on the ground. The camera remains pointed at the target as the spacecraft moves along its orbit; [0190] The orders will specify targets, areas, or paths; [0192] With respect to single target videos, the Order specifies the target's latitude, longitude and altitude; [0194] The BPP 605 slews from the previous location, settles, and then “sweeps” smoothly through each of the target center coordinates over the total Video Take duration) and telemetry of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0028] FIG. 24 is a flow diagram illustrating the data flow for telemetry and ancillary data from a camera system on the spacecraft; [0081] Log File contains both periodically File sampled health, status and telemetry data, as well as activity-specific health, status and telemetry data); obtaining a visibility schedule of one or more antennas from one or more ground station providers corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0217] In particular, the CPS 518 sends a reception schedule 2202 to the ground station network 519 and sends the expected file list 2203 to the data hub. This occurs at the end of a planning session; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window); generating a tasking plan to perform the user inputs for the spacecraft mission based at least on the visibility schedule (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window), wherein generating the tasking plan comprises enqueuing the user inputs in a queue (Lopez: [0099] customers and distributors interact with the systems to submit requests; [0136] The Earth observation system includes a number of components, such as the Web platform 524 … and accept requests for future data collection activities; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) including the user inputs (Lopez: [ABS] Users use an order management system to place orders for the observation data; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) and existing user inputs (Lopez: [0252] The CPS sends the activity schedule to the mission control center, sends the reception schedule 2807 to the GSN, and sends the expected file list 2808 to the data hub 522. The acquisition request status is also sent the OMS and the external OMS (operations 2809, 2810), so that customers may access their order through the OMS to view the status of their requests at any time 2805. Using the activity schedule, the MCC generates the OCF and sends the same to the spacecraft; [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc), and determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue (Lopez: [0276] It can be appreciated that an acquisition request includes one or more of the following types of information: a region (e.g. area of polygon coordinates), a priority level; [0284] The CPS also generates Expected File Lists … the file priority … the Order ID or list of Order IDs (e.g. allows the data to be related back to a Customer/Distributor order); [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc) and relative to the visibility schedule (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window) and costs associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs (Lopez: [0451] When a user selection input 8201 is received with respect to the control tab 7817 for news data, the GUI in FIG. 83 is shown. [0452] In FIG. 83, using the GUI 7801e, news updates and posts of the event 8301, 8302 can be viewed. [0453] ... a checkout GUI 8401 is displayed. The Web platform displays this GUI to facilitate the purchase and ordering of image products and acquisition requests. The GUI shows products processed according to image tiles 8402 and products processed according to a time lapse 8403. [0454] ... the location of the capture (e.g. by coordinates), and the associated price. [0455] ... and the associated price. [0456] The GUI shows the totalled cost information 8411 and includes a “checkout” button 8411 to purchase the products; [0256] The regions are also identified as being land or ocean areas, or user ordered areas. The priority level and the required image quality level (e.g. compression ratio) are also associated with each region (examiner: image quality is interpreted as a cost); [0273] attributes of request (e.g. region, priority, constraints); physical accessibility (e.g. orbit/flight path, imaging geometry, camera characteristics); sensor availability; potential for conflicts with other acquisitions; predicted cloud cover; spacecraft resource availability (e.g. power, memory); and ground segment resource availability (e.g. downlink time, ground station availability)); and providing the tasking plan to at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers (Lopez: [0156] Imagery & Metadata Processing System E12 CPS to GSN Scheduling Coordination Dialogue Reception Schedule E14 CPS to MCC-M Advance Operating Schedule Resource status and availability of ground and onboard resources; [0217] In particular, the CPS 518 sends a reception schedule 2202 to the ground station network 519 and sends the expected file list 2203 to the data hub. This occurs at the end of a planning session; [0252] the CPS performs planning operations 2804 to generate an activity schedule, reception schedule and an expected file list; [0283] The Reception Schedules include the following information: identification of the Ground Station and visibility mask in use; visibility start/end time; and approximations of downlink start/end time; [0294] Reception Schedule for each ground station, such that each Reception Schedule includes start/end times that cover the applicable portion of the Visibility Window).
Lopez does not explicitly disclose, and determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue based at least on requested performance dates associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs relative to one another.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rhoads discloses, determining a priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue based at least on requested performance dates associated with the user inputs and the existing user inputs relative to one another (Lopez: [0112] as an interval time between current time and the “complete by time” decreases, the priority value may increase. The prioritization data 416 may also indicate whether the activity category is to be executed by a specified time; [0117] The time sensitivity of these activities may be specified by the prioritization data; [0141]), for the benefit of increased efficiency and to minimize resource consumption for the individual satellite as well as the constellation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lopez to include prioritizing based upon deadlines taught by Rhoads. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase efficiency and to minimize resource consumption for the individual satellite as well as the constellation.
REGARDING CLAIM 37, Lopez remains as applied above to claim 35, and further, Lopez also discloses, the program instructions further direct the processing system to determine a failure in the tasking plan (Lopez: [0287]; [0305]) and, responsive to determining the failure, generate an updated tasking plan to perform failed user inputs for the spacecraft mission (Lopez: [0310] (examiner: mission updating)).
REGARDING CLAIM 38, Lopez remains as applied above to claim 35, and further, Lopez also discloses, to provide the tasking plan to the at least one ground station provider of the one or more ground station providers, the program instructions further direct the processing system to communicate via one or more application programming interfaces (Lopez: [FIG. 21]; [0156]; [0214-0216]; [0292]; [0313]).
REGARDING CLAIM 39, Lopez remains as applied above to claim 35, and further, Lopez also discloses, to determine the priority among the user inputs and the existing user inputs in the queue, the program instructions further direct the processing system to determine the priority further based at least on interdependencies among the user inputs and the existing user inputs (Lopez: [0272] CPS identifies regions associated with at least n or more acquisition requests. At block 3504, for each identified region, the CPS sorts acquisition requests by priority level. For example, if there are two or more requests for the same region, the CPS selects the request with the highest quality level, and generates instructions to provide the data from the selected request to fulfill the other requests for the same region (block 3507); [0369] The inputs are filtered by a combination of automatic means to arrive at a shorter list of specific requests that will be turned into orders. The algorithms to be employed to select orders from the public consider various factors, including popularity voting, lottery, rewards for activity, etc).
REGARDING CLAIM 40, Lopez remains as applied above to claim 35, and further, Lopez also discloses, the desired mission management style indicates a pass cadence with which to perform the user inputs (Lopez: [0377]; [0097]).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 21-34, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez (US 20160306824 A1) in view of Rhoads (US 20220161944 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, 28, and 35 above, and further in view of Rosner (US 20210405187 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Lopez, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, providing a notification of a breach of a threshold based at least on a conjunction between the spacecraft and an object in the orbit path.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rosner discloses, providing a notification of a breach of a threshold based at least on a conjunction between the spacecraft and an object in the orbit path (Rosner: [0090]; [0096-0097]), for the benefit of taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Lopez to include distance thresholds taught by Rosner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Lopez does not explicitly disclose, providing a notification of a breach of a threshold based at least on a conjunction between the spacecraft and an object in the orbit path.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rosner discloses, providing a notification of a breach of a threshold based at least on a conjunction between the spacecraft and an object in the orbit path (Rosner: [0090]; [0096-0097]), for the benefit of taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Lopez to include distance thresholds taught by Rosner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Lopez discloses, identifying a collection request associated with a spacecraft (Lopez: [0140] based on a resource model and updated resource status received from the mission control center (MCC) 530 and the ground station network (GSN) 519, create plans and command files for onboard activities including imaging and downlinks, and tasks for the GSN 519; [0151] The Mission Control Center (MCC) 530 is used to manage communications between the spacecraft 100 and the ground. For supporting earth observation, the MCC station is used for uplinking the command files (e.g. OCFs); [0290] The mission control center prepares the OCFs for uplink, and using one or more uplinks, uplinks the data to the spacecraft (block 3806). The spacecraft receives the uplink and executes the OCFs for the period N), wherein the collection request comprises one or more tasks for the spacecraft to perform synthetic aperture radar capture of a target area (Lopez: [0087] Non-limiting examples of other types of sensors that can be used to observe the Earth include LiDAR, RADAR, infrared sensors, and Synthetic Aperture RADAR (SAR). Other types of remote sensing technology also applies; [0097] Image data, such as video data and high resolution imagery from the HRC, is acquired for specific areas of interest based on predictions from the system 500 and from input from users; [0130] Public Users (541): General public users can use the Web, internet, and mobile interfaces to look at imagery, video, and other information and to also contribute their own inputs; [0274] A more generalized representation of the planning process 2804 is shown in FIG. 36, and it includes planning inputs 3601 and planning outputs 3603. The planning inputs include: acquisition requests), one or more maneuvers for the spacecraft to reach the target area (Lopez: [0184] The HRC is configured to capture video centered on a single target on the ground. The camera remains pointed at the target as the spacecraft moves along its orbit; [0190] The orders will specify targets, areas, or paths; [0192] With respect to single target videos, the Order specifies the target's latitude, longitude and altitude; [0194] The BPP 605 slews from the previous location, settles, and then “sweeps” smoothly through each of the target center coordinates over the total Video Take duration; [FIG. 29(2906)]), and a mission profile including a desired mission management style of the collection request (Lopez: [0377] The catalogue system can be searched by several criteria. Non-limiting example search criteria include: geographic area (e.g. either polygon or screen extent; the polygon inputted by the user via a GUI); a time range; a specific camera; incidence elevation angle; sun elevation angle; compression ratio; and other data; [0097] Image data is acquired to cover the accessible part of the Earth, with higher priority and quality given to areas of greater user interest).
Lopez discloses a predicted orbit, a predicted burn plan and providing telemetry reports. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, is obtaining telemetry of a spacecraft to determine an orbit path of the spacecraft [0156].
Lopez does not explicitly disclose, obtaining a conjunction assessment corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft, wherein the conjunction assessment provides telemetry of objects in the orbit path; setting one or more thresholds corresponding to the conjunction assessment and the orbit path of the spacecraft; wherein the one or more thresholds are determined based on a level of risk set in the mission profile; and responsive to a breach of at least one threshold of the one or more thresholds, providing a notification of the breach.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rosner discloses, obtaining a conjunction assessment corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft (Rosner: [FIG. 1(2)]; [FIG. 4]; [ABS] Subsequently obtaining trajectory information of a further object, and based upon the trajectory information of the further object, computing a spatial descriptor of the path of the further object; [0024] The orbital collision warning system 1 receives notifications of new RSOs 2 and the ephemeris information describing their movement; [0045] The conjunction search operation 17 comprises a series of conjunction searches 18, and each conjunction search 18 determines whether there is any risk of collision between a single pair of objects comprising the current RSO and a different one of the other known RSOs; [0079]), wherein the conjunction assessment provides telemetry of objects in the orbit path (Rosner: [ABS] Subsequently obtaining trajectory information of a further object, and based upon the trajectory information of the further object, computing a spatial descriptor of the path of the further object; [0023] the orbital collision warning system 1 is provided with trajectory information regarding the movements of RSOs 2 in orbit around the earth from a number of different sources; [0024] The orbital collision warning system 1 receives notifications of new RSOs 2 and the ephemeris information describing their movement; [0051] If either of the determined differences is less than 100 km the altitude filter operation 19 is passed, there is considered to be a possible risk of collision between the current RSO and the known RSO, and the conjunction search 18 continues. This possible risk of collision may correspond to one or more conjunctions over the time span of the precomputed altitude descriptors; [0065] carrying out the conjunction search between the different RSOs; [0079]; [FIG. 1(2)]; [FIG. 4]; [0093] The orbital collision warning system 1 can then begin processing the next ephemeris information message in the received message store; [0141] In the first embodiment ephemeris information is received from two satellite operators. This is not essential. In other examples, more satellite operators may be used. In some examples there may be a large number of satellite operators. In other examples there may be no satellite operators, so that all ephemeris information is received from other sources. [0142] In the above embodiments the collision warning system is an orbital collision warning system operating for space objects. In other examples the collision warning system may operate for other types of objects moving on predictable paths); setting one or more thresholds corresponding to the conjunction assessment and the orbit path of the spacecraft (Rosner: [ABS] the trajectory information of the further object, and taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold; [0050] The altitude filter operation 19 then compares the two determined differences to a 100 km screening distance threshold; [0079] the orbital collision warning system 1 compares the respective times at which each of the current RSO and the known RSO pass within the interest distance of that equal-area patch. The orbital collision warning system 1 uses a set intersection algorithm to identify any time ranges during which both of the RSOs are within the interest distance of the same equal-area patch; [0084] For each of the identified time ranges, the orbital collision warning system 1 compares the minimum separation distance between the two RSOs to a 100 km screening distance threshold); wherein the one or more thresholds are determined based on a level of risk set in the mission profile (Rosner: [ABS] obtaining trajectory information of a plurality of objects moving on predictable paths. For each one of the plurality of objects, based upon respective trajectory information of the one of the plurality of objects, computing, a respective spatial descriptor of the path of the one of the plurality of objects, and storing the respective spatial descriptors of each of the plurality of objects in a data structure. Subsequently obtaining trajectory information of a further object, and based upon the trajectory information of the further object, computing a spatial descriptor of the path of the further object. Making first comparisons of the spatial descriptor of the further object against the respective spatial descriptors of each of the plurality of objects stored in the data structure to determine whether each of these first comparisons indicates a possible collision risk. Based upon each of the first comparisons, if the first comparison indicates a possible collision risk, determining a result of a close approach determination between the respective trajectory information of the respective one of the plurality of objects and the trajectory information of the further object, and taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold; [0008-0010]; [0090] If the result of the comparisons is that the probability of a collision is above the probability threshold, or that the minimum separation distance is below the miss distance threshold, the orbital collision warning system 1 generates a conjunction report including details of the conjunction, and stores this in a conjunction report store; [0096-0097] In some examples, satellite operators who are clients of the orbital collision warning system operator may be able to set their own collision probability threshold and miss distance threshold values for use in generating conjunction reports if one or both of the current RSO and the known RSO are satellites that they operate. These conjunction reports may then be sent to the satellite operator as a notification service. In some examples, the collision probability thresholds and miss distance thresholds may be set to different values depending on the nature or identities of the current RSO and the known RSO. For example, alerts may be generated at lower collision probability threshold values and higher miss distance threshold values when one or both of the RSOs are satellites than when both RSOs are space debris objects); and responsive to a breach of at least one threshold of the one or more thresholds, providing a notification of the breach (Rosner: [0021] These warnings enable the satellite operators to assess the risk of the upcoming conjunction, and decide whether to take preventive action, such as maneuvering their satellite, and whether to alert a regulator or other authority regarding the risk; [0024] The orbital collision warning system 1 receives notifications of new RSOs 2 and the ephemeris information describing their movement), for the benefit of taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lopez to include distance thresholds taught by Rosner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Rosner also discloses, responsive to the breach of the at least one threshold, commanding one or more maneuvers to correct the breach (Rosner: [0021]; [0130]; [0135]).
REGARDING CLAIM 23, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Lopez also discloses, obtaining a visibility schedule of one or more ground station providers based at least on the orbit path of the spacecraft, wherein the visibility schedule indicates at least a timeframe and a position in the orbit path allowable for the one or more ground station providers to communicate with the spacecraft (Lopez: [0077]).
REGARDING CLAIM 24, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Rosner also discloses, commanding one or more maneuvers to reach the position in the orbit path (Rosner: [0043]).
REGARDING CLAIM 25, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Rosner also discloses, the telemetry of the spacecraft comprises global position system data (Rosner: [0033]).
REGARDING CLAIM 26, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Rosner also discloses, the one or more thresholds are at least one among a distance between an object and the spacecraft and a distance between the spacecraft and the orbit path (Rosner: [0090]; [0096-0097]).
REGARDING CLAIM 27, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Rosner also discloses, the conjunction assessment further provides an indication of a collision based on the telemetry of the spacecraft and the telemetry of the objects in the orbit path (Rosner: [0090]; [0096-0097]).
REGARDING CLAIM 28, Lopez discloses, one or more computer-readable storage media; and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media that, based on being read and executed by a processing system, direct a spacecraft flight manager to at least (Lopez: [0159]): identifying a collection request associated with a spacecraft (Lopez: [0140]; [0151]; [0290]), wherein the collection request comprises one or more tasks for the spacecraft to perform synthetic aperture radar capture of a target area (Lopez: [0087]; [0097]; [0130]; [0274]), one or more maneuvers for the spacecraft to reach the target area (Lopez: [0184]; [0190]; [0192]; [0194]; [FIG. 29(2906)]), and a mission profile including a desired mission management style of the collection request (Lopez: [0377]; [0097]).
Lopez discloses a predicted orbit, a predicted burn plan and providing telemetry reports. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, is obtaining telemetry of a spacecraft to determine an orbit path of the spacecraft [0156].
Lopez does not explicitly disclose, obtaining a conjunction assessment corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft, wherein the conjunction assessment provides telemetry of objects in the orbit path; setting one or more thresholds corresponding to the conjunction assessment and the orbit path of the spacecraft; wherein the one or more thresholds are determined based on a level of risk set in the mission profile; and responsive to a breach of at least one threshold of the one or more thresholds, providing a notification of the breach.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rosner discloses, obtaining a conjunction assessment corresponding to the orbit path of the spacecraft (Rosner: [FIG. 1(2)]; [FIG. 4]; [ABS] Subsequently obtaining trajectory information of a further object, and based upon the trajectory information of the further object, computing a spatial descriptor of the path of the further object; [0024] The orbital collision warning system 1 receives notifications of new RSOs 2 and the ephemeris information describing their movement; [0045] The conjunction search operation 17 comprises a series of conjunction searches 18, and each conjunction search 18 determines whether there is any risk of collision between a single pair of objects comprising the current RSO and a different one of the other known RSOs; [0079]), wherein the conjunction assessment provides telemetry of objects in the orbit path (Rosner: [ABS] Subsequently obtaining trajectory information of a further object, and based upon the trajectory information of the further object, computing a spatial descriptor of the path of the further object; [0023] the orbital collision warning system 1 is provided with trajectory information regarding the movements of RSOs 2 in orbit around the earth from a number of different sources; [0024] The orbital collision warning system 1 receives notifications of new RSOs 2 and the ephemeris information describing their movement; [0051] If either of the determined differences is less than 100 km the altitude filter operation 19 is passed, there is considered to be a possible risk of collision between the current RSO and the known RSO, and the conjunction search 18 continues. This possible risk of collision may correspond to one or more conjunctions over the time span of the precomputed altitude descriptors; [0065] carrying out the conjunction search between the different RSOs; [0079]; [FIG. 1(2)]; [FIG. 4]; [0093] The orbital collision warning system 1 can then begin processing the next ephemeris information message in the received message store; [0141] In the first embodiment ephemeris information is received from two satellite operators. This is not essential. In other examples, more satellite operators may be used. In some examples there may be a large number of satellite operators. In other examples there may be no satellite operators, so that all ephemeris information is received from other sources. [0142] In the above embodiments the collision warning system is an orbital collision warning system operating for space objects. In other examples the collision warning system may operate for other types of objects moving on predictable paths); setting one or more thresholds corresponding to the conjunction assessment and the orbit path of the spacecraft (Rosner: [ABS] the trajectory information of the further object, and taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold; [0050] The altitude filter operation 19 then compares the two determined differences to a 100 km screening distance threshold; [0079] the orbital collision warning system 1 compares the respective times at which each of the current RSO and the known RSO pass within the interest distance of that equal-area patch. The orbital collision warning system 1 uses a set intersection algorithm to identify any time ranges during which both of the RSOs are within the interest distance of the same equal-area patch; [0084] For each of the identified time ranges, the orbital collision warning system 1 compares the minimum separation distance between the two RSOs to a 100 km screening distance threshold); wherein the one or more thresholds are determined based on a level of risk set in the mission profile (Rosner: [ABS] obtaining trajectory information of a plurality of objects moving on predictable paths. For each one of the plurality of objects, based upon respective trajectory information of the one of the plurality of objects, computing, a respective spatial descriptor of the path of the one of the plurality of objects, and storing the respective spatial descriptors of each of the plurality of objects in a data structure. Subsequently obtaining trajectory information of a further object, and based upon the trajectory information of the further object, computing a spatial descriptor of the path of the further object. Making first comparisons of the spatial descriptor of the further object against the respective spatial descriptors of each of the plurality of objects stored in the data structure to determine whether each of these first comparisons indicates a possible collision risk. Based upon each of the first comparisons, if the first comparison indicates a possible collision risk, determining a result of a close approach determination between the respective trajectory information of the respective one of the plurality of objects and the trajectory information of the further object, and taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold; [0008-0010]; [0090] If the result of the comparisons is that the probability of a collision is above the probability threshold, or that the minimum separation distance is below the miss distance threshold, the orbital collision warning system 1 generates a conjunction report including details of the conjunction, and stores this in a conjunction report store; [0096-0097] In some examples, satellite operators who are clients of the orbital collision warning system operator may be able to set their own collision probability threshold and miss distance threshold values for use in generating conjunction reports if one or both of the current RSO and the known RSO are satellites that they operate. These conjunction reports may then be sent to the satellite operator as a notification service. In some examples, the collision probability thresholds and miss distance thresholds may be set to different values depending on the nature or identities of the current RSO and the known RSO. For example, alerts may be generated at lower collision probability threshold values and higher miss distance threshold values when one or both of the RSOs are satellites than when both RSOs are space debris objects); and responsive to a breach of at least one threshold of the one or more thresholds, providing a notification of the breach (Rosner: [0021] These warnings enable the satellite operators to assess the risk of the upcoming conjunction, and decide whether to take preventive action, such as maneuvering their satellite, and whether to alert a regulator or other authority regarding the risk; [0024] The orbital collision warning system 1 receives notifications of new RSOs 2 and the ephemeris information describing their movement), for the benefit of taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lopez to include distance thresholds taught by Rosner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
REGARDING CLAIM 29, Lopez in view of Rosner remains as applied above to claim 28, and further, Rosner also discloses, responsive to the breach of the at least one threshold, the program instructions further direct the spacecraft flight manager to command one or more maneuvers to correct the breach (Rosner: [0021]; [0130]; [0135]).
REGARDING CLAIM 30, Lopez in view of Rosner remains as applied above to claim 28, and further, Lopez also discloses, the program instructions further direct the spacecraft flight manager to obtain a visibility schedule of one or more ground station providers based at least on the orbit path of the spacecraft (Lopez: [0156]; [0217]; [0252]; [0283]; [0294]), wherein the visibility schedule indicates at least a timeframe and a position in the orbit path allowable for the one or more ground station providers to communicate with the spacecraft (Lopez: [0156]; [0217]; [0252]; [0283]; [0294]).
REGARDING CLAIM 31, Lopez in view of Rosner remains as applied above to claim 30, and further, Lopez also discloses, the program instructions further direct the spacecraft flight manager to command one or more maneuvers to reach the position in the orbit path (Lopez: [0184]; [0192-0194]; [FIG. 29(2906)]).
REGARDING CLAIM 32, Lopez in view of Rosner remains as applied above to claim 28, and further, Lopez also discloses, the telemetry of the spacecraft comprises global position system data (Lopez: [0416]).
REGARDING CLAIM 33, Lopez in view of Rosner remains as applied above to claim 28, and further, Rosner also discloses, the one or more thresholds are at least one among a distance between an object and the spacecraft and a distance between the spacecraft and the orbit path (Rosner: [0090]; [0096-0097]).
REGARDING CLAIM 34, Lopez in view of Rosner remains as applied above to claim 28, and further, Rosner also discloses, the conjunction assessment further provides an indication of a collision based on the telemetry of the spacecraft and the telemetry of the objects in the orbit path (Rosner: [0090]; [0096-0097]).
REGARDING CLAIM 36, Lopez, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 35, and further, Lopez does not explicitly disclose, the program instructions further direct the processing system to provide a notification of a breach of a threshold based at least on a conjunction between the spacecraft and an object in the orbit path.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rosner discloses, the program instructions further direct the processing system to provide a notification of a breach of a threshold based at least on a conjunction between the spacecraft and an object in the orbit path (Rosner: [0090]; [0096-0097]), for the benefit of taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lopez to include distance thresholds taught by Rosner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of independent claim(s) 1, 8, 15, 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 06-12-2025, beginning on page 13, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. To the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant contends that the prior art of Lopez (US 20160306824 A1) in view of Rosner (US 20210405187 A1), specifically Rosner, fails to disclose the amended limitation of claims 21 and 28, “wherein the one or more thresholds are determined based on a level of risk set in the mission profile”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As cited above, Rosner (US 20210405187 A1) discloses:
wherein the one or more thresholds are determined based on a level of risk set in the mission profile
[ABS] obtaining trajectory information of a plurality of objects moving on predictable paths. For each one of the plurality of objects, based upon respective trajectory information of the one of the plurality of objects, computing, a respective spatial descriptor of the path of the one of the plurality of objects, and storing the respective spatial descriptors of each of the plurality of objects in a data structure. Subsequently obtaining trajectory information of a further object, and based upon the trajectory information of the further object, computing a spatial descriptor of the path of the further object. Making first comparisons of the spatial descriptor of the further object against the respective spatial descriptors of each of the plurality of objects stored in the data structure to determine whether each of these first comparisons indicates a possible collision risk. Based upon each of the first comparisons, if the first comparison indicates a possible collision risk, determining a result of a close approach determination between the respective trajectory information of the respective one of the plurality of objects and the trajectory information of the further object, and taking an action based on result of the close approach determination satisfying a predetermined threshold;
[0008-0010];
[0090] If the result of the comparisons is that the probability of a collision is above the probability threshold, or that the minimum separation distance is below the miss distance threshold, the orbital collision warning system 1 generates a conjunction report including details of the conjunction, and stores this in a conjunction report store;
[0096-0097] In some examples, satellite operators who are clients of the orbital collision warning system operator may be able to set their own collision probability threshold and miss distance threshold values for use in generating conjunction reports if one or both of the current RSO and the known RSO are satellites that they operate. These conjunction reports may then be sent to the satellite operator as a notification service. In some examples, the collision probability thresholds and miss distance thresholds may be set to different values depending on the nature or identities of the current RSO and the known RSO. For example, alerts may be generated at lower collision probability threshold values and higher miss distance threshold values when one or both of the RSOs are satellites than when both RSOs are space debris objects
Because Rosner (US 20210405187 A1) discloses one or more thresholds are determined based on a level of risk set in the mission profile (vehicle path, object path, and collision risk probability thresholds), the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claims 21 and 28 under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pennings (US 20200258296 A1)
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663