DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected Group II (claim 13-16) and Group III (claims 17-20) are withdrawn from consideration.
On the Remark, filed on 11/26/2025, the applicants argued: “…Despite differences in claim format and scope, all three groups are unified by the same core inventive concept. This concept is not merely a common feature, but it is the technological advance over the prior art that enables precise control of the pouring pattern of the water stream used for brewing…”.
The examiner’s response: the applicant’s argument is not persuasive because there would be a search burden. The brewer in claims 1-12 would require searching at least class A47J31/525, the non-transitory computer-readable medium in claims 17-20 would require searching at least class A47J31/46, but the method in claims 13-16 would require searching at least class B05B5/006. Additionally, claims 1-12 would require searching for the claimed structure while claims 13-16 and 17-20 would require searching for the claimed steps and the respective search terms and strategies would be different for the apparatus and method. Furthermore, the product as claimed in claims 1 can be made by another and materially different process such as the process as claim in claim 13 or another process such as in claim 17
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishigami et al (US 20200353488 A1), in view of Anderson et al. (US 5207148).
Regarding claim 1, Ishigami discloses
A brewer (voltage application device 1, discharge device 10, fig.1), comprising:
a nozzle (discharge device 10, fig.1) configured to dispense a stream of water downward;
a first electrode (discharge electrode 41, fig.1) disposed adjacent to the stream of water dispensed by the nozzle (discharge device 10);
a voltage source (voltage application circuit 2, fig.1) electrically coupled to the first electrode (discharge electrode 41) through an electrical circuit (voltage generation circuit 22, fig.1) and configured to apply a voltage to the first electrode (discharge electrode 41); and
a controller (control circuit 3, fig.1) communicatively coupled to the electrical circuit (voltage generation circuit 22) and configured to control a magnitude of the voltage applied to the first electrode (discharge electrode 41) from the voltage source,
wherein varying the magnitude of the voltage applied to the first electrode (discharge electrode 41) generates an electrical field that changes a distance of the stream of water from the first electrode (discharge electrode 41).
Ishigami does not disclose a holder configured to hold a container for coffee grinds or tea below the nozzle.
Anderson discloses a brewer (automated espresso machine 20, fig.1), comprising: a holder (waste gate 58, fig.1) configured to hold a container (serving cup 54, fig.1) for coffee grinds or tea below a nozzle (tea water valve 76, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a brewer of Ishigami, by comprising a holder configured to hold a container for coffee grinds or tea below the nozzle, as taught by Anderson, in order to receive the stream of water.
Regarding claim 2, Ishigami discloses
a second electrode (counter electrode 42, fig.1) disposed adjacent to the stream of water dispensed by the nozzle (discharge device 10, fig.1) and electrically coupled to the voltage source (voltage application circuit 2, fig.1) through a second electrical circuit (drive circuit 21, fig.1), wherein the controller (control circuit 3, fig.1) is communicatively coupled to the second electrical circuit (drive circuit 21) and configured to control a magnitude of the voltage applied to the second electrode (drive circuit 21) from the voltage source (voltage application circuit 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ishigami discloses
the electrical circuit (voltage generation circuit 22, fig.1) comprises a transformer (isolation transformer 220, fig.6) configured to amplify an electrical signal transferred from the voltage source (voltage application circuit 2, fig.1) to the first electrode (discharge electrode 41, fig.1) [Par.0061 cited: “…Voltage generation circuit 22 includes isolation transformer 220…”].
Regarding claim 8, Ishigami discloses
the transformer (isolation transformer 220, fig.6) is a piezoelectric transformer [Par.0092 cited: “…voltage generation circuit 22 may be implemented by a transformer (a piezoelectric transformer) including a piezoelectric element…”].
Regarding claim 9, Ishigami does not disclose
the transformer is an electromagnetic transformer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a transformer of Ishigami, by using an electromagnetic transformer, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design choice purpose, in order to provide an electromagnetic field.
Regarding claim 10, Ishigami discloses
the first electrode (discharge electrode 41, fig.1) is separate from and spaced apart from the nozzle (discharge device 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Ishigami discloses
the first electrode (discharge electrode 41, fig.1) is integrated onto an outer edge of the nozzle (discharge device 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, Ishigami discloses
the nozzle (discharge device 10, fig.1) is shaped to output the stream of water in a laminar flow regime.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishigami et al (US 20200353488 A1), in view of Anderson et al. (US 5207148) and further in view of Carpio (US 5364510).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Ishigami and Anderson discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above, such as the first electrode, but does not disclose the first electrode comprises an electrical conductor encased in an electrical isolation material.
Carpio discloses a first electrode (electrodes 15, fig.2) comprises an electrical conductor encased in an electrical isolation material (membrane 34, fig.2) [Lines 58-60, Col.14 cited: “…hydrophobic membrane will be chemically inert in most instances and will isolate the electrodes from the bath liquid…”].
Regarding claim 6, Carpio discloses
the first electrode (electrodes 15, fig.2) comprises a hydrophobic coating (membrane 34, fig.2) surrounding the electrical isolation material [Lines 58-60, Col.14 cited: “…hydrophobic membrane will be chemically inert in most instances and will isolate the electrodes from the bath liquid…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a first electrode of Ishigami, by including an electrical conductor encased in an electrical isolation material; and a hydrophobic coating surrounding the electrical isolation material, as taught by Carpio, in order to provide an electrical isolation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record does not anticipate or render fairly obvious in combination to teach the limitation a third electrode disposed adjacent to the stream of water dispensed by the nozzle and electrically coupled to the voltage source through a third electrical circuit; and a fourth electrode disposed adjacent to the stream of water dispensed by the nozzle and electrically coupled to the voltage source through a fourth electrical circuit wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the third electrical circuit and to the fourth electrical circuit and configured to control a magnitude of the voltage applied to the third electrode and a magnitude of the voltage applied to the fourth electrode from the voltage source.
The dependent claim 4, is also objected by being depended by the dependent claim 3
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
12/14/2025