DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention III in the reply is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-13 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/5/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callaway (20040011235) in view of Posson (6427599).
Regarding claim 14, Callaway discloses an infrared countermeasure device in figure 1 that includes an outer casing (element 6), an expulsion charge (element 20) meets claimed impulse charge since it is shown at the same location in the base of the casing which is referred to as a port, an igniter portion (meets igniter assembly) which transfer the ignition from the impulse cartridge (elements 30, 8, 28) and para (0034) and includes an igniter pellet (elements 8 and 30 meet the pellet limitation). The device includes a spectral flare pellet (meets payload limitation) (element 4) that is ejected upon ignition and provides an IR signature (see abstract). The device includes an expulsion charge (element 20) meets claimed impulse charge since it is shown at the same location in the base of the casing which is referred to as a port and electric igniter (meets electrical activator) adjacent to the ignition charge since it ignites the ignition charge (para. 0033). The device of Calloway discloses a primary ignition charge 22, secondary ignition charge 30, and a primer pellet 8 (meets claimed ignition and output charges). Calloway further discloses that the primer pellet (ignition pellet) can have multiple layers of different composition (element 8) with a first composition of magnesium, Teflon, and Viton (meets fluoropolymer elastomer) (0016) or second composition of potassium perchlorate and binder (0039). The first and second layers are adjacent to each other (element 8) and also adjacent to the output of the impulse cartridge since the impulse cartridge ignites the primer pellet. The claimed composition of the second layer is not fully disclosed.
Posson teaches an IR countermeasure device that includes the use of a layer of boron, potassium perchlorate, and binder (meets granular matrix binder) (see Table 2) and indicates that it is known to use this composition with a magnesium, Teflon, Viton composition to provide protection to the magnesium, Telfon, Viton composition from unwanted water absorption (col. 21, lines 40-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the layer of boron, potassium perchlorate, and binder with the primer pellet of Calloway since Posson suggests that such a layer will provide protection from unwanted water absorption. Further, such a layer will provide the same benefits as taught by Posson since both Posson and Calloway are using the same magnesium, Teflon, Viton pellet and since Posson suggests that the layer of boron, potassium perchlorate, and binder is known to provide moisture protection to this composition.
Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation (i.e. “suitable for”, “configured to”, etc.). These clauses are essentially method limitations or statements of intended or desired use and do not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference. See In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641; In re Yanush, 177 USPQ 705; In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530; In re Casey, 512 USPQ 235; In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458; Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2nd 1647.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, the first layer has an interface area since the layers will inherently form an interface since the same claimed chemicals are used. The layers are toching and will mix in the same manner as that which is claimed (see Calloway fig. 1 and Posson (col. 21, lines 40-65).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the pressed and applied by slurry limitation are considered to be product by process limitations. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), (MPEP 2113). Posson also discloses a slurry application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “port” and “output charge” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The language in claim 14 that recites “wherein the output charge expels the payload including the igniter assembly containing the hybrid ignition pellet” is indefinite because the output charge is not shown to expel the payload and the igniter assembly.
Claims 14-18 recites the limitation "the countermeasure payload", “the ignition train”, “the countermeasure flare payload”, “the infrared signature”, “the base portion or port”, “the outer flare case”, “output charge”, “the payload”, “the output charge” “the hybrid ignition pellet”, “the ignition pellet”, “the moisture insensitive first layer”, “the output of the impulse cartridge”, “the fuel material”, “the moisture insensitive first layer”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734