DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, filed on 5/11/2026 with respect to pending claims in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13, 16-20 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2014/0128109), (hereinafter, Li) in view of Deenoo et al., (US 2019/0261287), (hereinafter, Deenoo).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Li discloses a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising:
receiving, by the apparatus in a power saving state, a notification during a notification opportunity at a time-frequency resource (= paging listening time, see [0091 and 0094]), wherein the notification is an apparatus-specific notification (= paging controller informs one or more base stations which mobile stations are to be paged, base stations then broadcast a paging message, which includes identifiers of the mobile station identifiers; mobile stations in idle mode wake up at certain times to listen the paging message, see [0090]);
decoding, by the apparatus, information carried by the notification (= MS monitors the paging messages at the determined timing by using it RX beams; downlink control channel can be transmitted in wide beams, see [0051]; identifiers of cells can be carried in the beams; by acquiring these channel, the mobile station can detect the identifiers, see [0052] and if a mobile station determines that its identifier is included in the paging message, then the mobile station knows it is paged, and it performs further action, see [0090, 0092 and 0216-17]).
Li explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the notification is received in a downlink beam pointed in a direction of the apparatus, wherein the direction of the apparatus is based on a position of the apparatus” and
“wherein the information carried in the apparatus-specific notification that is received by the apparatus in the power saving state during the notification opportunity includes a downlink beam direction or subspace.”
However, Deenoo, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the notification is received in a downlink beam pointed in a direction of the apparatus, wherein the direction of the apparatus is based on a position of the apparatus”(= WTRU may be configured to transmit a heartbeat signal if the WTRU stays within a preconfigured set of TRP or cells…transmit a heartbeat signal if the WTRU stays within geographical location; and the heartbeat signal transmissions may be beneficial to allow the network to transmit DL notification to a subset of beams, cells and/or geographical locations, see [0241]) and
“wherein the information carried in the apparatus-specific notification that is received by the apparatus in the power saving state during the notification opportunity includes a downlink beam direction or subspace” (= WTRU may use one or more candidate beam pairs to monitor for a downlink notification or downlink schedule during this power saving cycle, see [0222] and WTRU wakes up to read a paging in a paging occasion, see [0250-51]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Deenoo with Li for the benefit of achieving a communication system that jointly performs beam management and power saving management in a wireless system.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, as mentioned in claims 1 and 11, Li further discloses the method/apparatus wherein the power saving state is a state in which the apparatus does not monitor downlink control information (DCI) until it enters a wake-up duration (see, [0090]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, as mentioned in claims 1, Li further discloses the method/apparatus, wherein the notification includes information specific to the apparatus (see, [0101-02]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, as mentioned in claims 6 and 16, Li further discloses the method, wherein the information specific to the apparatus includes at least one of the following: a paging message indicating that there is downlink data to transmit to the apparatus; short traffic; control information for the apparatus to trigger an action (see, [0090 and 0092]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, as mentioned in claims 1 and 11, Li further discloses the method/apparatus, wherein a downlink beam in which the notification is received is not part of a downlink beam sweeping pattern, and wherein prior to receiving the notification the method further comprises synchronizing with a network using at least one synchronization signal in a beam of the downlink beam sweeping pattern (= BS could page multiple groups of MSs, each with a different paging listening offset…MS does not need to listen all the time, see [0094]; and timing alignment for BS and MS can be achieved by explicit signaling, see [0091]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, as mentioned in claims 8 and 19, Li further discloses that the method/apparatus, further comprising obtaining system information from the beam of the beam sweeping pattern, wherein the system information includes at least one of the following: an indication of whether there is the notification for the apparatus; configuration information for the notification opportunity (see, [0091-92 and 0094]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, as mentioned in claims 1 and 11, Li further discloses that the method/apparatus, wherein prior to receiving the notification the method comprises receiving control signaling, wherein the control signaling includes at least one of the following: an indication of whether there is the notification for the apparatus; an indication that the apparatus is to switch to a different operating mode; a common short message from a network (see, [0090 and 0092]).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, as mentioned in claims 1 and 11method of claim 1, Li explicitly fails to disclose the method/apparatus, wherein the position of the apparatus is indicated by the apparatus via periodic reporting or is measured by a network.
However, Deenoo, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/apparatus, wherein the position of the apparatus is indicated by the apparatus via periodic reporting or is measured by a network”(= WTRU may be configured to transmit a heartbeat signal if the WTRU stays within a preconfigured set of TRP or cells…transmit a heartbeat signal if the WTRU stays within geographical location; and the heartbeat signal transmissions may be beneficial to allow the network to transmit DL notification to a subset of beams, cells and/or geographical locations, see [0241]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Deenoo with Li for the benefit of achieving a communication system that jointly performs beam management and power saving management in a wireless system.
CONCLUSION
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.