Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected coated fiber and plastisol, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on08/01/2025. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 17-20 in the reply filed on 08/01/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (Pg Pub. 2014/0087612) in view of Frenzel (PG Pub. 2012/0214920).
Regarding claims 17, 22-24 and 27-28, Hart et al. teaches a scrim (10) comprising a mesh of inorganic fibers directly or indirectly at least partially coated with a solidified plastisol composition comprising a plasticizer (taught in 0036), a polymeric resin dispersed throughout the plasticizer (taught in Abstract, 0006 and 0036), and one or more curatives (HOC or hydrolysable organosilicon compound) [0001, 0007-0008, 0026, and 0036]. The mesh of inorganic fibers defines a plurality of cross-points and plurality of open spaces [claim 27]. Hart et al. are silent regarding the plasticizer being bio-based. However, Frenkel teaches a bio-based plasticizer comprising one or more epoxy groups (epoxidized fatty acid monoesters or epoxy ester with conventional plasticizers (which is a synthetic plasticizer) [0147]) in the claimed amount taught in the Abstract (and further Hart et al. teach the plasticizer in the claimed amount in 0037) in order to improve migration and be more environmentally friendly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the bio-based plasticizer of Frenkel in Hart et al. in order to improve migration and be more environmentally friendly and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, the inorganic fibers are substantially completely coated with the solidified plastisol composition and define a solidified plastisol coating layer and the solidified plastisol coating layer is positioned directly onto the inorganic fibers and the solidified plastisol coating layer is directly adjacent the inorganic fibers (this is taught explicitly in 0057 and claim 19).
Regarding claim 19, the scrim further comprises a sizing composition positioned directly adjacent the inorganic fibers and located between the inorganic fibers and the solidified plastisol coating layer (Hart et al states “…the inorganic fibers making up the scrim can include a sizing composition positioned directly adjacent the inorganic fibers (e.g., coated as an initial coating layer) and at least partially sandwiched between the inorganic fibers and the plastisol coating layer (e.g., coated as a secondary coating).” [0057].
Regarding claim 20, Hart et al. teaches a reinforced cementitious board comprising a matrix material comprising a cementitious material having opposed generally planar surfaces and opposed edges (See Fig. 5) and at least one scrim disposed on top at least one of the opposed generally planar surfaces or within the matrix material [0009, 0062-0063 and Fig. 5]. Hart states “The reinforced cementitious boards include at least one scrim (e.g., 1, 2, 3, etc.), according to certain embodiments of the present invention, disposed on top of at least one of the opposed generally planar surfaces or embedded within the matrix material.” in 0009. The scrim comprises a mesh of coated fibers with the fibers defining a plurality of cross points and a plurality of open spaces [0009].
Regarding claim 21, the inorganic fibers comprise a yarn of inorganic filaments that comprise fiberglass [0045 and 0047].
Regarding claim 25, the epoxy-esters comprise epoxidized vegetable oil [0115].
Regarding claim 26, the polymeric resin comprises a halide containing polymer (PVC) [0035].
Regarding claim 29, the solidified plastisol composition comprises a first ratio between the plasticizer (bio-based as taught by Frenkel above) and teaches “The additives used in combination with the plasticizer of the present invention in a halogen-containing polymer can be added in any amount suitable to achieve the desired purpose.” in order to be more environmentally friendly and also affect the properties of the plastisol. Frenkel teaches the synthetic plasticizer is an additive in claim 14. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to arrive at the claimed phr ratio of bio-based plasticizer and synthetic plasticizer in order to affect the properties of the plastisol and arrive at the claimed invention as Frankel teaches the ratio as a results effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the bio-based plastisol in the claimed amount as taught by Frenkel in Hart et al. in order to be more environmentally friendly and also affect the properties of the plastisol and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 30, Hart et al. teach the scrim further comprising one or more hydrolyzable organosilicon compound ( Hart et al. teach one or more HOC and therefore one of the HOCs can be the curative and another meets the limitations of claim 30) [0021].
Regarding claim 31, the solidified plastisol composition comprises the claimed phr of the curative (or HOC) [0034].
Regarding claim 32, the curative comprises an amine functional crosslinker comprising an aliphatic amine (such as DAMO) [0030].
Art Not Used but Relevant
US Pat. 9,981,932 teaches a bio-derived based plasticizer used in PVC.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789