DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn as per election dated 08/18/2025.
Claims 1-8, 11-17 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Günther (US 20190252741 A1, “Günther”) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200321669 A1, “Kim”) and in further view of Lee et al. (US 10326158 B2, “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11: Günther discloses a battery cooling device for an electric vehicle (see abstract “a temperature control device for a battery housing of a vehicle driven by electric motor”), comprising: a cooling block comprising accommodating units (see abstract “temperature control device is divided into a plurality of temperature control cells” & see [0030] “temperature control device designed as a temperature control panel 1”), each accommodating unit being configured to accommodate an end part of one or more battery cells (see FIG. 5 & [0038] describes “temperature control cell” & “a total of 12 battery modules 16 are accommodated in the battery housing 11. Each battery module 16 includes a plurality of individual battery cells combined together. The battery modules 16 are arranged at a distance from one another and are each situated in a temperature control cell”; see [0037] describes “battery housing 11 comprises a frame 12 made up of a plurality of hollow chamber profiles 13” & FIG. 5 describes “13” accommodates “16 battery modules”; see [0031] describes “instead of the battery module 2 shown in each temperature control cell TZ in the figures, a plurality of smaller battery modules may also be arranged there”). Günther discloses rectangular shape batteries (see FIG. 5 describes “16” with rectangular shape).
Regarding the limitations wherein the cooling block comprises: an inlet nipple configured to introduce coolant into the cooling block; an inlet chamber configured to communicate with the inlet nipple; an outlet chamber; and an outlet nipple configured to discharge the coolant to the outside, Günther discloses in [0014] “inlet side” & “outlet side” & “supply of coolant through the first or central temperature control agent collector” & see FIG. 1 describes “3”, “4” & “4.1” & [0031] describes “inflow connections and return connections on the collectors 3, 4, 4.1, with which the temperature control panel 1 is connected to the other components of a temperature control agent circulation”; see [0013] “coolant collector”; see abstract “first temperature control agent collector” & see [0031] “inflow collector 3” reads on inlet chamber; see [0031] “temperature control agent channels 5 are connected at the inlet end to the inflow collector 3 and at the outlet end to the corresponding return collector 4 or 4.1”; see FIG. 1 “4.1” describes outlet configured to discharge the coolant to the outside & see [0031] “4.1, each representing a return collector”. Regarding the limitations the cooling block being configured to cool lateral circumferences of the battery cells accommodated in the accommodating units, Günther discloses temperature control device (see abstract) and in FIG. 5 describes “13” accommodates “battery modules 16”), but Günther does not explicitly disclose cool lateral circumferences of the battery cells.
Kim teaches cooling lateral circumferences of battery cells (see FIG. 5 “155B lower pad” & “151B upper pad” describes cooling lateral circumferences of the battery cells “cylindrical battery cells 110” & see FIG. 2 describes “lower case 125” & “upper case 121” which reads on accommodating unit). Kim teaches “since the heat transfer pad made of a thermally conductive material is interposed between the plurality of cylindrical battery cells and the heat dissipation plate, the heat generated from the plurality of cylindrical battery cells accommodated inside of the secondary battery pack may be effectively transferred to the heat dissipation plate through the heat transfer pad. Accordingly, the cooling effect of the secondary battery pack may be maximized” (see [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate cooling lateral circumferences of the battery cells by the cooling block as suggested by Kim (see FIG. 5 “155B” & “151B” & see [0036]) into the battery cooling device of Günther because Kim teaches doing so allows for effective heat transfer & “cooling effect of the secondary battery pack may be maximized”, as suggested by Kim (see [0036]).
Regarding the limitation branch channels individually connected to the inlet chamber, Günther does not explicitly disclose.
Lee teaches coolant channels (see P11 col 5 par 4 “in order to improve heat dissipation efficiency, at least one coolant channel 160 may be formed so as to be located between each battery holder 150 and the outer circumference of the battery holder 150”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lee to include “at least one coolant channel 160 may be formed so as to be located between each battery holder 150 and the outer circumference of the battery holder 150” into the battery cooling device of Günther because doing so improves the heat dissipation efficiency, as suggested by Lee (see P11 col 5 par 4).
Regarding claim 11, Günther discloses a battery module (see abstract “battery module”) comprising: battery cells (see [0038] describes “each battery module 16 includes a plurality of individual battery cells combined together”).
Regarding claim 2, Günther the battery cooling device of claim 1 and further discloses in [0018] “temperature control device comprising the available heat exchanger surface is made of a material, such as a metal, that conducts heat well” which reads on thermally conductive material. Günther does not explicitly disclose wherein the cooling block is composed of a thermally conductive material.
Lee teaches cooling plate made of a thermally conductive material (see P11 col 5 par 10 “first cooling plate 140-1 and the second cooling plate 140-2, is made of a thermally conductive metal material” & see col 6 par 3 “upper plate 110 and the lower plate 120, each of which is made of an insulative thermoplastic resin”; see col 6 par 4 “consequently, it is possible to provide a battery module that is light while exhibiting excellent heat dissipation efficiency”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a cooling block as suggested by Lee (see col 6 par 3 “upper plate 110 and lower plate 120, each of which is made of an insulative thermoplastic resin”) into the battery cooling device of Günther because doing so provides “a battery module that is light weight while exhibiting excellent heat dissipation efficiency” as suggested by Lee (see P11 col 6 par 4).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Günther discloses the battery cooling device of claim 1, the battery module of claim 11 and further discloses and the inlet and outlet nipples are disposed along a second direction (see FIG. 1 describes “5 temperature control agent channels” & see [0031] “temperature control agent channels 5 are connected at the inlet end to the inflow collector 3 and the outlet end to the corresponding return collector 4 or 4.1”). Günther does not explicitly disclose wherein the branch channels are disposed along a first direction, nor intersecting the first direction.
Lee teaches branch channels (see P11 col 5 par 4 “in order to improve heat dissipation efficiency, at least one coolant channel 160 may be formed so as to be located between each battery holder 150 and the outer circumference of the battery holder 150”; see FIG. 1 describes “160 coolant channel” & see P11 col 5 par 3 “at least one coolant channel 160 for discharging the heat generated from the battery cells during the charge and discharge of the battery cells to the outside is formed o as to be adjacent to the battery holders 150”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate branch channels as suggested by Lee (see P11 col 5 par 4 “at least one coolant channel 160”) into the battery cooling device of Günther because doing so improves the “heat dissipation efficiency” as suggested by Lee (see P11 col 5 par 4) and upon incorporating “160” into the battery cooling device of Günther, doing so would intersect the directions of the channels (see FIG. 1 of Günther; FIG. 1 & P11 col 5 par 3 of Lee “160 coolant channel”).
Regarding claim 4, Günther discloses the battery cooling device of claim 1 and wherein the accommodating units are slots (see [0037] describes “battery housing 11 comprises a frame 12 made up of a plurality of hollow chamber profiles 13”; see FIG. 5 describes the frame 12 comprises slots “13” which receive “16 battery modules”). Günther does not explicitly disclose and a heat transfer interface material is disposed on an inner surface of each of the slots nor and the heat transfer interface material is in close contact with a side surface of each of the battery cells.
Kim teaches heat transfer interface material (see FIG. 5 “155B lower pad” & “151B upper pad” describes heat transfer interface material and “cylindrical battery cells 110” & FIG. 2 describes “lower case 125” & “upper case 121” reads on accommodating unit). Kim teaches “since the heat transfer pad made of a thermally conductive material is interposed between the plurality of cylindrical battery cells and the heat dissipation plate, the heat generated from the plurality of cylindrical battery cells accommodated inside of the secondary battery pack may be effectively transferred to the heat dissipation plate through the heat transfer pad. Accordingly, the cooling effect of the secondary battery pack may be maximized” (see [0036]). Kim teaches “115B” & “151B” are in close contact with a side surface of “110” in FIG. 5.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate heat transfer interface material (see Kim “155B” & “151B” & FIG. 5 “110”) into the battery cooling device of Günther because Kim teaches doing so improves the cooling effect (see Kim [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Günther discloses the battery module of claim 12. Günther does not explicitly disclose wherein the inlet nipple is spaced apart from a first side of the cooling block at a reference interval along a longitudinal direction of the inlet chamber, and the outlet nipple is spaced apart from a second side of the cooling block, which faces the first side of the cooling block, at the reference interval.
Lee teaches coolant channel 160 (see FIG. 1 & P11 col 5 par 3 “at least one coolant channel 160 for discharging the heat generated from the battery cells during the charge and discharge of the battery cells to the outside is formed so as to be adjacent to the battery holders 150”). Lee teaches in P11 col 5 par 4 “in order to improve heat dissipation efficiency, at least one coolant channel 160 may be formed so as to be located between each battery holder 150 and the outer circumference of the battery holder 150”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “coolant channel 160” as suggested by Lee (see FIG. 1 & P11 col 5 par 4) & “160 may be formed so as to be located between each battery holder 150 and the outer circumference of the battery holder 150” into the battery module of claim 12 because doing so improves the heat dissipation efficiency (see P11 col 5 par 4).
Regarding claim 14, Günther discloses the battery module of claim 12. Günther does not explicitly disclose wherein the inlet nipple is spaced apart from a first side of the cooling block at a first interval, and the outlet nipple is spaced apart from a second side of the cooling block, which faces the first side of the cooling block, at a second interval different from the first interval.
Lee teaches “160” (see P11 col 5 par 3 “at least one coolant channel 160 for discharging the heat generated from the battery cells during the charge and discharge of the battery cells to the outside is formed so as to be adjacent to the battery holders 150”; see FIG. 1 describes “160” at different intervals (160 at the top & bottom vs. 160 in the middle which reads on first interval and second interval different from the first as required by the claim limitation). Lee teaches in P11 col 5 par 4 “in order to improve heat dissipation efficiency, at least one coolant channel 160 may be formed so as to be located between each battery holder 150 and the outer circumference of the battery holder 150”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “160” spaced at different intervals as suggested by Lee (see FIG. 1 & P11 col 5 par 3) into the battery module of Günther because doing so improves the heat dissipation efficiency, as suggested by Lee (see P11 col 5 par 4).
Regarding claim 15, Günther discloses the battery module of claim 11 and further discloses exchange heat with the battery cells and the cooling block (see [0031] “heat exchanger parts 6” & see FIG. 1 describes “battery module 2” & temperature control cells TZ”). Günther does not explicitly disclose further comprising heat exchange members interposed between the battery cells and the accommodating units.
Kim teaches heat exchange members (see FIG. 5 “155B lower pad” & “151B upper pad” describes heat exchange members) & see FIG. 2 describes battery cells “cylindrical battery cells 110” & in FIG. 2 describes “lower case 125” & “upper case 121” which reads on accommodating units. Kim teaches “since the heat transfer pad made of a thermally conductive material is interposed between the plurality of cylindrical battery cells and the heat dissipation plate, the heat generated from the plurality of cylindrical battery cells accommodated inside of the secondary battery pack may be effectively transferred to the heat dissipation plate through the heat transfer pad. Accordingly, the cooling effect of the secondary battery pack may be maximized” (see [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate heat exchange members (see FIG. 5 “155B” & “151B”) as suggested by Kim into the battery module of Günther because doing so maximizes the cooling effect as suggested by Kim (see [0036]).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Günther discloses the battery cooling device of claim 1 and the battery module of claim 11 and further discloses wherein each accommodating unit comprises a slot configured to receive one or more battery cells (see [0037] describes “battery housing 11 comprises a frame 12 made up of a plurality of hollow chamber profiles 13”; see FIG. 5 describes the frame 12 comprises slots “13” which receive “16 battery modules”) such that lateral circumferences of the battery cells are in thermal contact with inner surfaces of the slot (see [0038] “a total of 12 battery modules 16 are accommodated in the battery housing 11” & “are each situated in a temperature control cell”; see FIG. 5 describes the cells “15” are in contact with the inner surfaces of the slot because they are inside the frame 12 which has slots & “13 hollow chamber profiles” reads on slots; see FIG. 7 describes “heat exchanger parts 20” & “16 battery modules”), the cooling block being configured to cool the sides of the battery cells (see abstract “temperature control device is divided into a plurality of temperature control cells”; see [0031] “each surface forms a heat exchanger surface of these heat exchanger parts 6 facing the battery modules 2” & describes in FIG. 1 “temperature control cell TZ” is around “2 battery modules”).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Günther (US 20190252741 A1, “Günther”) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200321669 A1, “Kim”) and Lee et al. (US 10326158 B2, “Lee”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pekarsky et al. (US 20140216693 A1, “Pekarsky”).
Regarding claim 5, Günther discloses the battery cooling device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the inlet nipple includes a plurality of inlet nipples (see FIG. 2 & [0035] describes “second inflow collector 10”; see abstract “temperature control device”; see [0035] “temperature control panel 7”) and the plurality of inlet nipples are disposed upward from a first end of the cooling block (see annotated FIG. 2 describes inlets are disposed upward from a first end of the cooling block (annotated “in” describes inlet nipples upward from annotated “1e” which describes the first end).
Regarding the limitation and the cooling block comprises an inlet nipple cover configured to close all of the inlet nipples except for one specific inlet nipple, Günther does not explicitly disclose.
Pekarsky teaches inlet cover (see [0066] “inlet cover 154” & “outlet cover 156” & “inlet port 158 may include a barbed opening 160 for connecting to the battery thermal loop 110” see FIG. 3) and in [0067] describes “liquid coolant enters the inlet port 158 and can flow around the lateral sides 176 of the filtration media 170 where fluid passes through the filtration media 170 and then exits the outlet port 162. The filtration media 170 captures any debris along the lateral sides 176 thereby preventing the debris from exiting the outlet port 162.”
Günther and Pekarsky are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely thermal management for electric vehicles (see Pekarsky Title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate inlet cover, as suggested by Pekarsky (see [0066]) into the battery cooling device of Günther because doing so allows for the connection to the “battery thermal loop”, as suggested by Pekarsky (see [0066]) and doing so allows for coolant to flow through the inlet port and out the outlet port, as suggested by Pekarsky (see [0067]). A skilled artisan would find it obvious to close all of the inlets except for one to control the rate of cooling.
Regarding claim 6, Günther discloses the battery cooling device of claim 5 and further discloses wherein the outlet nipple includes a plurality of outlet nipples disposed at a second end of the cooling block (see FIG. 2 describes outlets “9” & “9.1” & see [0035] “return collectors 9, 9.1”; see annotated FIG. 2 describes annotated “out” which describes outlets at the second end of the cooling block (annotated “2e”) & see [0035] “temperature control panel 7” reads on cooling block).
Regarding the limitation and the cooling block comprises an outlet nipple cover configured to close all of the outlet nipples except for one specific outlet nipple, Günther does not explicitly disclose.
Pekarsky teaches inlet cover (see [0066] “inlet cover 154” & “outlet cover 156” & “inlet port 158 may include a barbed opening 160 for connecting to the battery thermal loop 110” see FIG. 3) and in [0067] describes “liquid coolant enters the inlet port 158 and can flow around the lateral sides 176 of the filtration media 170 where fluid passes through the filtration media 170 and then exits the outlet port 162. The filtration media 170 captures any debris along the lateral sides 176 thereby preventing the debris from exiting the outlet port 162.”
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate closing the outlet covers except for one because a skilled artisan would find it obvious to close all of the outlets except for one specific outlet in order to control the rate of cooling and doing so captures debris, as suggested by Pekarsky (see [0067]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Günther discloses the battery cooling device of claim 6. Günther does not explicitly disclose wherein the inlet nipple cover is configured to be closed through bolt coupling from each of the inlet nipples nor wherein the outlet nipple cover is configured to be closed through bolt coupling from each of the outlet nipples.
Pekarsky teaches “inlet cover 154 and outlet cover 156 may also include attachment features 164 which are adapted to receive fastener or be mounted to a component” (see [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “fasteners” as suggested by Pekarsky into the battery cooling device of Günther because doing so allows for attachment of the covers as suggested by Pekarsky (See [0066]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 15, 5-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 02/19/2026