DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This office action is responsive to Request for Reconsideration filed on 03/19/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 2 - 21 are pending, claim 1 was cancelled, claim 21 has been added & claims 2, 3,8, 9, 19 & 20 have been amended.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues the reference of Jian does not disclose the limitations of claim 12 as it does not disclose that the second link od the left link and the second link od the right link intersect with each other in the left-right direction, however, claim 12 does not expressly disclose this limitation and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation is not interpreted as intersecting with each other. Based on this, the rejection for claim 12 still stands and is not allowable.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues claim 19 is allowable based on the remarks for claim 12, however, claim 12 maintains its rejection making claim 19 maintain its rejection as well.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues claim 21 is allowable based on the remarks for claim 12, however, claim 12 maintains its rejection making claim 21 maintain its rejection as well.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 – 11 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because the claims do not refer to a preceding claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Examiner suggest canceling claims 2 – 11 and adding them as new claims after claim 21 so they can refer to a preceding claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8 & 12 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Jian et al. (CN 105662783 B).
Regarding claim 2, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 12.
Jian discloses wherein the third link 2204 is located behind the second link 2202 (Figure 3 discloses the links to be parallel to each other and, based on the direction of the back of the user, the third link is behind the second link).
Regarding claim 3, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 12.
Jian discloses wherein a direction in which the second link 2202 extends is parallel to a direction in which the third link 2204 extends (Page 8, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 12.
Jian discloses wherein a first virtual line (see annotated Figure 3.3) extending from a first region in which the first link 2201 is coupled to the second link 2202 and a second region in which the first link 2201 is coupled to the third link 2204 is parallel to a second virtual line (see annotated Figure 3.3) extending from a third region in which the second link 2202 is coupled to the fourth link 2203 and a fourth region in which the third link 2204 is coupled to the fourth link 2203 (Annotated figure 3.3 discloses the virtual lines based on the couplings of each of the links).
Figure 3.3: Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 12, A wearable robot comprising:
a rear body unit 1300 configured to be provided in close contact with a rear side of a user (Figure 2), the rear body unit 1300 comprising a first link (Note: the examiner considers this to be the combination of 2001, 2100 & 1000 as seen on both arms in Figure 1); and
a link module 2200 & 3100 (Figure 3 & 4) having a first side coupled to the rear body unit 1300 and a second side configured to be positioned on a shoulder of the user 300 (Figure 1), the link module 2000 & 3000 comprising:
a second link 2202 rotatably coupled to a first side of the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 3);
a third link 2204 rotatably coupled to a second side of the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 3); and
a fourth link 2203 & 3100 having a first side rotatably coupled to the second link 2202 (Figure 3) and a second side rotatably coupled to the third link 2204, the fourth link 2203 & 3100 being configured to extend to the shoulder of the user (Page 7, last paragraph – Page 8, first paragraph)
a right link module (Note: the examiner considers this to be the right shoulder of the user on Figure 2) having a first side coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 and a second side configured to be positioned on a right shoulder of the user (Figure 2 discloses both sides of the users shoulders have the same mechanisms on each side); and
a left link module (Note: the examiner considers this to be the left shoulder of the user on Figure 2) having a first side coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 and a second side configured to be positioned on a left shoulder of the user (Figure 2 discloses both sides of the users shoulders have the same mechanisms on each side); and
wherein a first region in which the second link 2202 of the right link module is coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 is located on the left of a second region in which the second link 2202 of the left link module is coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 2 discloses the second links connected to the first link).
Regarding claim 13, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 12.
Jian discloses wherein a third region (see annotated Figure 2.2) in which the third link 2004 of the right link module is coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 is located on the left of a fourth region (see annotated Figure 2.2) in which the third link 2004 of the left link module is coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 2 & 3).
Figure 2.2: Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 14, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 12.
Jian discloses wherein: the second link 2202 and the third link 2204 of the right link module are rotatably coupled to a top surface or a bottom surface of the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000; (Page 7, Last paragraph – Page 8, first paragraph) and
the second link 2202 and the third link 2204 of the left link module are rotatably coupled to the other of the top surface or the bottom surface of the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000. (Page 7, last paragraph – Page 8, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 12.
Jian discloses wherein the first link 2201, 2100 & 1000 comprises:
a first-first link member 2102 (Figure 3); and
a first-second link member 2201 rotatably coupled to a first side of the first-first link member 2102 (Page 7, last paragraph), wherein each of the second link 2202 and the third link 2204 is rotatably coupled to a first side of the first-second link member 2201 (Page 8, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 16, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 15.
Jian discloses wherein: the first-second link member 2201 is coupled to the first-first link member 2102 so as to be rotatable in an up-down direction (Page 7, first paragraph); and
each of the second link 2202 and the third link 2204 is coupled to the first-second link member 2201 so as to be rotatable in a horizontal direction (Page 7, last paragraph / Page 8, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 16.
Jian discloses wherein: the first-second link member 2201 is coupled to a front-rear direction side surface of the first-first link member 2102 (see annotated Figure 3.4); and
each of the second link 2202 and the third link 2204 is coupled to a top surface or a bottom surface of the first-second link member 2201 (Figure 3 discloses the links being connected to the bottom surface).
Figure 3.4: Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 18, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 17.
Jian discloses wherein: two first-second link members 2201 are provided in the first link 2201, 2100 & 1000;
a right end of the first-second link member 2201, which is coupled to the second link 2202 and the third link 2204 provided in the right link module (Figure 3), of the two first-second link members 2201 is rotatably coupled to a right end of a rear surface of the first-first link member 2201, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 3); and
a left end of the first-second link member 2201, which is coupled to the second link 2202 and the third link 2204 provided in the left link module (Figure 2 & 3), of the two first-second link members 2201 is rotatably coupled to a left end of a front surface of the first-first link member 2201, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, A wearable robot comprising:
a rear body unit 1300 configured to be provided in close contact with a rear side of a user (Figure 2), the rear body unit 1300 comprising a first link (Note: the examiner considers this to be the combination of 2201, 2103, 2102, 2101 & 1000 as seen on both arms in Figure 1); and
a link module 2200 & 3100 (Figure 3 & 4) having a first side coupled to the rear body unit 200 and a second side configured to be positioned on a shoulder of the user 300 (Figure 1), the link module 2200 & 3100 comprising:
a second link 2202 rotatably coupled (Note: the examiner considers this as where they are coupled, they are able to rotate) to a first side of the first link 2201 (Figure 3 / Page 8, Paragraph 1);
a third link 2204 rotatably coupled (Note: the examiner considers this as where they are coupled, they are able to rotate) to a second side of the first link 2201 (Figure 3 / Page 8, Paragraph 1); and
a fourth link 2203 & 3100 having a first side rotatably coupled to the second link 2202 (Figure 3) and a second side rotatably coupled to the third link 2204, the fourth link 2203 & 3100 being configured to extend to the shoulder of the user (Page 7, last paragraph – Page 8, first paragraph);
a right link module (Note: the examiner considers this to be the right shoulder of the user on Figure 2) having a first side coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 and a second side configured to be positioned on a right shoulder of the user (Figure 2 discloses both sides of the users shoulders have the same mechanisms on each side);
a left link module (Note: the examiner considers this to be the left shoulder of the user on Figure 2) having a first side coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 and a second side configured to be positioned on a left shoulder of the user (Figure 2 discloses both sides of the users shoulders have the same mechanisms on each side); and
a joint module 3200 & 3300 rotatably coupled to a first region (Note: the examiner considers this to be where 3100 is found) of the fourth link 2203 & 3100, the first region (Note: the examiner considers this to be where 3100 is found) being configured to wrap the shoulder of the user (Page 8, Paragraph 2) , and configured to be in contact with an arm of the user (Figure 1), the joint module comprising:
a shoulder link rotatably 3000, 4000 & 5000 coupled to the fourth link 2203 & 3100 and configured to wrap the shoulder of the user (Figure 1);
an upper link 3200, 3300 & 4000 rotatably provided on the shoulder link 2203 & 3100 (Page 8, Paragraph 2) and configured to wrap an upper region of the arm of the user and extend to an elbow of the user (Figure 1); and
a lower link rotatably 5000 provided on the upper link 3200, 3300 & 4000 and configured to wrap a lower region of the arm of the user (Figure 1),
wherein a second region in which the second link 2202 of the right link module is coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 is located in the left of a third region in which the second link 2202 of the left link module is coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 2 discloses the second links connected to the first link).
Regarding claim 20, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in of claim 19.
Jian discloses wherein the joint module 3200 & 3300 further comprises:
an upper power assistant part provided in a second region in which the shoulder link 3000, 4000 & 5000 is coupled to the upper link 3200, 3300 & 4000 and configured to provide rotational force that assists rotation of the upper link 3200, 3300 & 4000 with respect to the shoulder link 3200, 3300 & 4000 (Page 8, Paragraph 2); and
a lower power assistant part provided in a third region in which the upper link 3200, 3300 & 4000 is coupled to the lower link 5000 and configured to provide rotational force that assists rotation of the lower link 5000 with respect to the upper link 3200, 3300 & 4000 (Page 9, Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 21, A wearable robot comprising:
a rear body unit 1300 configured to be provided in close contact with a rear side of a user (Figure 2), the rear body unit 1300 comprising a first link (Note: the examiner considers this to be the combination of 2001, 2100 & 1000 as seen on both arms in Figure 1); and
a link module 2200 & 3100 (Figure 3 & 4) having a first side coupled to the rear body unit 1300 and a second side configured to be positioned on a shoulder of the user 300 (Figure 1), the link module 2000 & 3000 comprising:
a second link 2202 rotatably coupled to a first side of the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 3);
a third link 2204 rotatably coupled to a second side of the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 3), wherein the third link 2204 is located behind the second link 2202 (Figure 3 discloses the links to be parallel to each other and, based on the direction of the back of the user, the third link is behind the second link) and wherein a direction in which the second link 2202 extends is parallel to a direction in which the third link 2204 extends (Page 8, first paragraph); and
a fourth link 2203 & 3100 having a first side rotatably coupled to the second link 2202 (Figure 3) and a second side rotatably coupled to the third link 2204, the fourth link 2203 & 3100 being configured to extend to the shoulder of the user (Page 7, last paragraph – Page 8, first paragraph)
a right link module (Note: the examiner considers this to be the right shoulder of the user on Figure 2) having a first side coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 and a second side configured to be positioned on a right shoulder of the user (Figure 2 discloses both sides of the users shoulders have the same mechanisms on each side); and
a left link module (Note: the examiner considers this to be the left shoulder of the user on Figure 2) having a first side coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 and a second side configured to be positioned on a left shoulder of the user (Figure 2 discloses both sides of the users shoulders have the same mechanisms on each side); and
wherein a first region in which the second link 2202 of the right link module is coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 is located on the left of a second region in which the second link 2202 of the left link module is coupled to the first link 2001, 2100 & 1000 (Figure 2 discloses the second links connected to the first link).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (CN 105662783 B)
Regarding claim 4, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 3.
Jian discloses wherein the second link 2202 comprises:
a second-first link region (see annotated Figure 3) having a first side rotatably coupled (Note: the examiner considers this as where they are coupled, they are able to rotate / Page 8, Paragraph 1) to the first link 2201 and extending to outside in a left-right direction (Note: the examiner considers “left-right direction” to be an alternative of left or right direction) (see annotated Figure 3.2); and
a second-second link region (see annotated Figure 3) extending from a left-right direction outer end of the second-first link region to the outside in the left-right direction (Note: the examiner considers “left-right direction” to be an alternative of left or right direction) (see annotated Figure 3.2)
Jian does not disclose wherein the second-second link region extends to be inclined upward.
Regarding the shape of the second-second link region, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), [t]he court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.” MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B.
Figure 3.2: Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 5, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 4.
Jian discloses wherein: the second link 2202 further comprises a second-third link region (see annotated Figure 3.2) extending from a left-right direction outer end of the second-second link (see annotated Figure 3.2) region to the outside in the left-right direction (Note: the examiner considers “left-right direction” to be an alternative of left or right direction) (Figure 3); and
the fourth link 2203 is rotatably coupled (Note: the examiner considers this as where they are coupled, they are able to rotate / Page 8, Paragraph 1) to the second-third link region (see annotated Figure 3.2) (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 3.
Jian discloses wherein the third link comprises:
a third-first link region (see annotated Figure 3.2) having a first side rotatably coupled to the first link and extending to the outside in a left-right direction (Note: the examiner considers “left-right direction” to be an alternative of left or right direction) (Figure 3 / Page 8, first paragraph); and
a third-second link region (see annotated Figure 3.2) extending from a left-right direction outer end of the third-first link region (see annotated Figure 3.2) to the outside in the left-right direction (Note: the examiner considers “left-right direction” to be an alternative of left or right direction) (Figure 3).
Jian does not disclose wherein the third-second link region extends to be inclined upward.
Regarding the shape of the second-second link region, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), [t]he court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.” MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B.
Regarding claim 7, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 6.
Jian discloses wherein: the third link 2204 further comprises a third-third link region (see annotated Figure 3.2) extending from a left-right direction outer end of the third-second link region (see annotated Figure 3.2) to the outside in the left-right direction (Note: the examiner considers “left-right direction” to be an alternative of left or right direction) (Figure 3); and
the fourth link is rotatably coupled to the third-third link region. (see annotated Figure 3.2)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (CN 105662783 B) as claimed in claim 1, in view of Weidner et al. (WO 2020038850 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 12.
Jian does not disclose further comprising a shoulder wrapping unit having a first side coupled to the rear body unit and configured to extend from the first side via a back and the shoulder of the user to wrap a front surface of the user.
Weidner discloses further comprising a shoulder wrapping unit 18 having a first side coupled to the rear body unit 20 and configured to extend from the first side via a back and the shoulder of the user to wrap a front surface of the user. (Page 4, Paragraph 8)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the rear body unit of Jian to include further comprising a shoulder wrapping unit having a first side coupled to the rear body unit and configured to extend from the first side via a back and the shoulder of the user to wrap a front surface of the user as it would ensure the transmission of power or integrated into a textile garment which encloses the shoulders of the user. (Page 4, Paragraph 8 / Figure 2)
Claim 10 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian et al. (CN 105662783 B) in view of Weidner et al. (WO 2020038850 A1) as claimed in claim 9, in view of Romo et al. (US 20180303699 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 9.
Modified Jian does not disclose further comprising a waist wrapping unit having a first side coupled to the rear body unit and configured to wrap a waist of the user.
Romo discloses further comprising a waist wrapping unit 104 having a first side coupled to the rear body unit 102 and configured to wrap a waist of the user 106 (Figure 3 / Paragraph 0014)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Jian to include a waist wrapping unit having a first side coupled to the rear body unit and configured to wrap a waist of the user as it would form a counter force for the torque paced on the posterior device and it is able to create lumbar support by reducing the posteriorly-directed felt force on the anterior body in combination with the base support. (Paragraph 0014)
Regarding claim 11, Modified Jian discloses the wearable robot as claimed in claim 10.
Modified Jian does not disclose wherein a second side of the shoulder wrapping unit is coupled and fixed to the waist wrapping unit.
Romo discloses wherein a second side of the shoulder wrapping unit 106 is coupled and fixed to the waist wrapping unit 104 (Paragraph 0062)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify Jian to include wherein a second side of the shoulder wrapping unit is coupled and fixed to the waist wrapping unit as it would allow the strap assembly permits downward pulling of the straps at a location, such as the waist or abdomen, which is easier for a geriatric individual to pull than at the shoulders. (Paragraph 0058)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACIELA NATALIA LEBRON DE JESUS/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785