DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, encompassing claims 18-20, in the reply filed on 9/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a purification system” cited in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the DC plasma generator" in line 5 and line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as “the plasma generator”
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the reaction chamber" and “the anode” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as “the process chamber” and “an anode”, respectively
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 19-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanier et al (PG-PUB US 2013/0084237) in view of Soane et al (PG-PUB US 2021/0245133) and Monsen et al (PG-PUB US 2009/0294273).
Regarding claim 18, Vanier et al disclose a plasma treatment system (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprise
(1) a plasma chamber having a feed inlet 50 and an outlet for products having gas and carbon particles (i.e. a processing chamber…, Figure 2, paragraphs[0025]);
(2) a DC plasma generator 21 having an anode 13, wherein methane precursor material is heated in a thermal zone of the plasma system (i.e., a plasma generator …, Figure 2, paragraphs [0019], [0026], & Example 1);
(3) a plurality of quench stream injection ports 40 for cooling the gas stream in the plasma chamber to facilitate the formation of carbon particles (i.e. a cooling system …, Figure 2, paragraphs [0020] & [0030]).
Vanier teaches that methane decomposition produces hydrogen and carbon particles which are discharged to a collection station 27 through an outlet (Figure 2, paragraphs [0016],[0020], [0029] – [0030] & [0035]), but does not teach a gas outlet the gaseous products. However, Soane et al disclose a plasma treatment (ABSTRACT). Soane teaches that the apparatus comprises inlets for gas reactants and outlets for products, wherein methane as a reactant is supplied to the plasma generator for decomposition to produce carbon particles while produced hydrogen is output from an outlet for recycling (Figures 1-2, paragraphs [0020], [0227] –[0228], & [0237]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide an outlet for hydrogen as suggested by Soane in order to recycle the produced hydrogen within the device of Vanier.
Soane teaches that a static magnetic field may be employed to influence plasma behavior (paragraph [0228]), but Vanier/Soane does not teach a magnet externally arranged on the plasma chamber. However, Monsen et al disclose a plasma treatment system (ABSTRACT). Monsen teaches that the apparatus comprises a plasma generator and magnets arranged outside of the plasma reactor for rotating the plasma to generate voluminous plasma (Figure 1, paragraphs [0010] , [0011], [0016], [0036], & [0042]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange magnets outside of the plasma chamber as suggested by Monsen in order to rotate the plasma to generate voluminous plasma within the device of Vanier/Soane.
It should be noted that limitations of “so that the plasma heats up gas …” and “reducing a gas temperature …” are related to manners of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Since the device of Vanier/Soane/Monsen comprises substantially the same or similar structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claim 19, Vanier teaches that a plurality of quench stream injection ports 40 downstream from the anode 13 is arranged along the circumference of the plasma chamber 20 and hydrogen from a hydrogen source is supplied to the quench stream (Figure 2, paragraphs [0020], [0026] & [0030]).
Regarding claim 20, Vanier teaches that hydrogen is supplied to the system for quenching the reaction in the plasma chamber and the carbon particles are separated from the gaseous products (Figure 2, paragraphs [0020], [0030],& [0035]) while Soane teaches that the generated hydrogen is recycled to the plasma reactor after being separated from the solid products (Figure 2, paragraphs [0020], & [0237]). Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have realized to recycle the generated hydrogen to the quenching stream in order to utilize the recycled hydrogen to cool the reaction within the device of Vanier/Soane/Monsen.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP 2143(A)).
Conclusion
Claims 18-20 are rejected. Claims 21-32, and 45-49 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795