DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 21 July 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 10 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and/or 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tseng. Please see 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections of claims 1, 10 and 16 below.
In summary, this application is not placed in a condition for an allowance.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
an extra comma is needed in claim 16 (line 9) in the limitation of “such that the first fin does not connect to two source/drain regions [sic: comma needed here] the first location being located between…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 2013/0148409 A1) in view of Tseng (US 9,589,970 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches an antifuse (memory cell 10 and/or 15 consists of an antifuse, see Fig. 1 and ¶ [0005] and ¶ [0003]-[0004] ) comprising:
a first source/drain region (right-most source in Fig. 2(d));
a second source/drain region (second drain from the right in Fig. 2(d));
a gate (see gate in Fig. 2(d)) arranged with the first source/drain region and the second source/drain being on opposite sides of the gate from each other (Fig. 2(d) shows right-most source and second drain from the right on opposite sides of the gate);
a first fin (fin of right-most source as shown in Figs. 2(b)-2(d)) contacting and extending from the first source/drain region to a first location (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which first location the first fin ends (Fig. 2(a) shows the source fin ends at where the fin meets the high-K dielectric), the first fin separated from the gate by a first dielectric (high-k dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)), the first location being located between and away from vertical positions (left and right vertical walls of gate in Figs. 2(a)-(d)) defining ends of the gate, the first fin terminating at the first location (see Fig. 2(d)); and
a second fin (fin of second drain from the right of Fig. 2(d)) contacting and extending from the second source/drain region to a second location (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which second location the second fin ends (¶ [0007]: “The two sides and top surface of the island are grown with gate oxide and then a MOS gate can be built across the thin island to divide the fin into source, drain, and body;” hence, Fig. 2(a) also discloses the a high-k dielectric for the drain side), the second fin separated from the gate by a second dielectric (the high-k dielectric under the second drain from the right), the second fin being offset from the first fin such that the first fin and the second fin do not intersect (Fig. 2(d) shows the two said fins offset from a distance along the length of the gate).
However, Chung does not teach the antifuse such that the first fin does not connect to two source/drain regions, as it terminates at the first location and contacts an isolation dielectric of the antifuse that provides separation of the first fin from other conductive components of the antifuse; and such that the second fin does not connect to two source/drain regions.
Tseng, in the same field of invention, teaches an antifuse such that the first fin (lower-left fin 12a in Fig. 1) does not connect to two source/drain regions (Fig. 2 show fin 12a is only connected to source region 190 and not to source 290), as it terminates at the first location (12a terminates under gate 340) and contacts an isolation dielectric (360 & 120) of the antifuse that provides separation of the first fin from other conductive components (SL2, WL2, BL2) of the antifuse; and
such that the second fin (middle-right fin 14a in Fig. 1) does not connect to two source/drain regions (Fig. 2 show fin 14a is only connected to source region 290 and not to source 190 since 14a terminates under gate 340).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Tseng into the antifuse of Chung to configure the first and second fins such that each fin is only connected to one source/drain by having it terminate at the first location where an isolation dielectric that electrically isolates the first fin from other conductive components of the antifuse. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the device density (Tseng Col. 1, Lns 38-41) by adding multiple antifuse cells (M1 and M2 are each antifuse cells; see Figs. 1 & 2; Col. 3, Lns 10-15) in the device and for improving device reliability by using the isolation dielectric as a gate sidewall spacer and/or as a double diffusion break isolation region that separates multiple wordlines (WL1 and WL2) that are connected to each antifuse cell to prevent accidental shorts between the two antifuse cells (Col. 1, Ln 35 through Col. 2, Ln 3).
Regarding claim 4, the antifuse of claim 1, wherein the antifuse includes:
a third source/drain region (left-most source in Chung Fig. 2(d)); and
a third fin (fin of left-most source as shown in Figs. 2(b)-2(d)) contacting and extending from the third source/drain region to a third location (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which third location the third fin ends, the third fin separated from the gate by a third dielectric (Fig. 2(a) shows the source fin ends at where the fin meets the high-K dielectric), the third fin offset from the first fin and offset from the second fin such that the third fin does not intersect the first fin and does not intersect the second fin (as shown in Fig. 2(d), the third fin does not intersect the first fin and the second fin).
Regarding claim 5, the antifuse of claim 1, wherein the first location and the second location are on a reference line (plane 2, see Chung Fig. 2(f)) at a center of the gate (Fig. 2(f) shows plane 2 being the center of the gate).
Regarding claim 6, the antifuse of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric and the second dielectric include a common composition (high-k dielectric, see Chung Fig. 2(a); also, ¶ [0007]: “two sides and top surface of the island are grown with gate oxide;” since Chung teaches growing the first and second dielectric, i.e., gate oxide, at the same time, then both first and second dielectrics include a common composition).
Regarding claim 8, Chung et al. teach the antifuse of claim 1 and further teaches the gate to be a made of polysilicon (Chung ¶ [0004]: “CMOS gate, fabricated in silicided polysilicon;” ¶ [0005]: “…a silicided polysilicon, the same material and fabricated at the same time as a MOS gate” ). However, Chung et al. do not teach wherein the gate is a metal gate.
Chung, in another embodiment (Fig. 9 and ¶ [0115] ), teaches the gate to be made of either polysilicon or metal (¶ [0115]: “[A] CMOS gate can be an N type, P type, or part N and part P type of polysilicon, silicided polysilicon or silicide in one embodiment. Alternatively a CMOS gate can be a non-aluminum metal gate” ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to substitute the polysilicon composition of the gate with a metal. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of substituting equivalent materials known in the prior art that provide gating functions in CMOS transistors (¶ [0115] ). See also MPEP § 2143 (I)(B).
Regarding claim 9, the antifuse of claim 8, wherein the gate includes one or more of titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, tungsten, molybdenum, ruthenium, or a combination thereof ( Chung ¶ [0115]: TiN, TaN ).
Regarding claim 16, Chung teaches a method comprising:
forming an antifuse (memory cell 10 and/or 15 consists of an antifuse, see Fig. 1 and ¶ [0005] and ¶ [0003]-[0004] ), including:
forming a first source/drain region (right-most source in Fig. 2(d));
forming a second source/drain region (second drain from the right in Fig. 2(d));
forming a gate (see gate in Fig. 2(d)) such that the gate is arranged with the first source/drain region and the second source/drain being on opposite sides of the gate from each other (Fig. 2(d) shows right-most source and second drain from the right on opposite sides of the gate);
forming a first fin (fin of right-most source as shown in Figs. 2(b)-2(d)) contacting and extending from the first source/drain region to a first location (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which first location the first fin ends (Fig. 2(a) shows the source fins ends at where the fin meets the high-K dielectric), such that the first location being located between and away from vertical position (left and right vertical sidewalls of gate as shown in Figs. 2(a)-(d)) defining ends of the gate;
forming a first dielectric (high-k dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) separating the first fin from the gate;
forming a second fin (fin of second drain from the right of Fig. 2(d)) contacting and extending from the second source/drain region to a second location (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which second location the second fin ends (¶ [0007]: “The two sides and top surface of the island are grown with gate oxide and then a MOS gate can be built across the thin island to divide the fin into source, drain, and body;” hence, Fig. 2(a) also discloses the a high-k dielectric for the drain side), the second fin being offset from the first fin such that the first fin and the second fin do not intersect; and forming a second dielectric separating the second fin from the gate (Fig. 2(d) shows the two said fins offset from a distance along the length of the gate).
However, Chung does not teach the method wherein that the first fin does not connect to two source/drain regions and wherein that the second fin does not connect to two source/drain region; and forming an isolation dielectric such that the first fin terminates and contacts, at the first location, the isolation dielectric that provides separation of the first fin from other conductive components of the antifuse.
Tseng, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of making an antifuse wherein that the first fin (lower-left fin 12a in Fig. 1) does not connect to two source/drain regions (Fig. 2 show fin 12a is only connected to source region 190 and not to source 290 since 12a terminates under gate 340) and wherein that the second fin (middle-right fin 14a in Figs. 1) does not connect to two source/drain region (Fig. 2 show fin 14a is only connected to source region 290 and not to source 190 since 14a terminates under gate 340); and
forming an isolation dielectric (360 & 120) such that the first fin terminates and contacts, at the first location (under gate 340), the isolation dielectric that provides separation of the first fin from other conductive components (SL2, WL2, BL2) of the antifuse.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Tseng into the method of Chung to form the first and second fins such that each fin is only connected to one source/drain and to add an isolation dielectric that electrically isolates the first fin from other conductive components of the antifuse. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the device density (Tseng Col. 1, Lns 38-41) by adding multiple antifuse cells (M1 and M2 are each antifuse cells; see Figs. 1 & 2; Col. 3, Lns 10-15) in the device and for improving device reliability by using the isolation dielectric as a gate sidewall spacer and/or as a double diffusion break isolation region that separates multiple wordlines (WL1 and WL2) that are connected to each antifuse cell to prevent accidental shorts between the two antifuse cells (Col. 1, Ln 35 through Col. 2, Ln 3).
Claims 2-3, 7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 2013/0148409 A1) in view of Tseng (US 9,589,970 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Su (US 2022/0102366 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chung et al. teach the antifuse of claim 1, but do not teach: wherein the antifuse includes a third fin contacting and extending from the first source/drain region to a third location under the gate at which third location the third fin ends, the third fin separated from the gate by a third dielectric, the third fin being parallel to the first fin.
Su, in the same field of invention, teaches an antifuse (10, see Fig. 3C; see also Fig. 1, ¶ [0001], [0017] ), wherein the antifuse includes a third fin (LN2 of ring R1) contacting and extending from the first source/drain region (SD1, see Figs. 3B & 3C) to a third location (mid-point of G1 next to LN2 of R1) under the gate (G1) at which third location the third fin ends (see Fig. 3B), the third fin separated from the gate by a third dielectric (112; note: this is the region of 112 next to LN2 of R1), the third fin being parallel to the first fin (LN1 of R1, see Fig. 3C).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Su into the device of Chung et al. to include a third fin contacting and extending from the first source/drain region to a third location under the gate at which third location the third fin ends, the third fin separated from the gate by a third dielectric, the third fin being parallel to the first fin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung et al. in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of increasing the contact area of the gate structure and the active region due to the curved portions (CR1, see Su Fig. 3C and ¶ [0047]) of the fin structure, for the further purpose of reducing the breakdown voltage and the power consumption of the device (¶ [0048] ).
Regarding claim 3, the antifuse of claim 2, wherein the antifuse includes a fourth fin (LN2 of ring R2, see Su Fig. 3C) contacting and extending from the second source/drain region (SD1 of R2, see Figs. 3B & 3C) to a fourth location (mid-point of G1 next to LN2 of R2) under the gate (G1) at which fourth location the fourth fin ends (see Fig. 3B), the fourth fin separated from the gate by a fourth dielectric (112; note: this is the region of 112 next to LN2 of R2), the fourth fin being parallel to the second fin (LN1 of R2; see Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 7, Chung et al. teach the antifuse of claim 6 and further teaches the first dielectric and second dielectric to be comprised of a high-k dielectric (see Chung Fig. 2(a)). However, Chung et al. do not teach: wherein the common composition includes one or more of silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, zirconium oxide, hafnium oxide, aluminum oxide, or a combination thereof.
Su, in the same field of invention, teaches the first dielectric (112, see Fig. 3B; this is region of 112 next to fin LN1 in ring R1 in Fig. 3C) and second dielectric (112, see Fig. 3B; this is region of 112 next to fin LN1 in ring R2 in Fig. 3C) of an antifuse (10; see also Fig. 1, ¶ [0001], [0017] ), wherein their common composition includes one or more of silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, zirconium oxide, hafnium oxide, aluminum oxide, or a combination thereof (¶ [0035]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Su into the device of Chung et al.to substitute the un-named high-k dielectric material that comprise of the first and second dielectric of Chung et al. with silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, zirconium oxide, hafnium oxide, aluminum oxide, or a combination thereof. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung et al. in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using said materials for the predictable result of providing electrical insulation and/or for substituting equivalent materials known in the prior art as high-k dielectrics that provide electrical insulation (Su ¶ [0035] ). See also MPEP § 2143 (I)(B).
Regarding claim 17, Chung et al. teach the method of claim 16, but does not teach the method to include: forming a third fin contacting and extending from the first source/drain region to a third location under the gate at which third location the third fin ends such that the third fin is parallel to the first fin; forming a third dielectric separating the third fin from the gate; forming a fourth fin contacting and extending from the second source/drain region to a fourth location under the gate at which fourth location the fourth fin ends such that the fourth fin is parallel to the second fin; and forming a fourth dielectric separating the fourth fin from the gate.
Su, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of forming an antifuse (10, see Fig. 3; see also Fig. 1, ¶ [0001], [0017] ) to include:
forming a third fin (LN2 of ring R1, see Fig 3C) contacting and extending from the first source/drain region (SD1, see Figs. 3B & 3C) to a third location (mid point of G1 next to LN2 of R1) under the gate (G1) at which third location the third fin ends (see Fig. 3B) such that the third fin is parallel to the first fin (LN1 of R1, see Fig. 3C);
forming a third dielectric (112; note: this is the region of 112 next to LN2 of R1) separating the third fin from the gate;
forming a fourth fin (LN2 of ring R2, see Fig. 3C) contacting and extending from the second source/drain region (SD1 of R2, see Figs. 3B & 3C) to a fourth location (mid-point of G1 next to LN2 of R2) under the gate (G1) at which fourth location the fourth fin ends (see Fig. 3B) such that the fourth fin is parallel to the second fin (LN1 of R2; see Fig. 3C); and
forming a fourth dielectric (112; note: this is the region of 112 next to LN2 of R2) separating the fourth fin from the gate.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Su into the device of Chung et al. to form a third fin, a fourth fin, a third dielectric, and a fourth dielectric in the manner described above. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung et al. in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of increasing the contact area of the gate structure and the active region due to the curved portions (CR1, see Su Fig. 3C and ¶ [0047]) of the fin structure, for the further purpose of reducing the breakdown voltage and the power consumption of the device (¶ [0048] ).
Regarding claim 18, the method of claim 17, wherein the method includes:
forming a third source/drain region (left-most source in Chung Fig. 2(d));
forming a pair of fins (fin of left-most source as shown in Figs. 2(b)-2(d); in view of Su, this fin is a pair of fins) contacting and extending from the third source/drain region to positions (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which the pair of fins end, the fins of the pair of fins offset from each other and from the first, second, third, and fourth fins such that the fins of the pair of fins do not intersect each of the first, second, third, and fourth fins (as shown in Fig. 2(d)), the fin of the third source/drain does not intersect the first fin and the second fin and in view of Su, also does not intersect the third fin and the fourth fin); and
forming a dielectric (Fig. 2(a)) shows the source fin ends at where the fin meets the high-K dielectric) separating each fin of the pair of fins from the gate.
Claims 10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 2013/0148409 A1) in view of Jung (US 2020/0160927 A1) and Tseng (US 9,589,970 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Chung teaches a memory device comprising:
an antifuse (memory cell 10 and/or 15 consists of an antifuse, see Fig. 1 and ¶ [0005] and ¶ [0003]-[0004] ) including:
a first source/drain region (right-most source in Fig. 2(d));
a second source/drain region (second drain from the right in Fig. 2(d));
a gate (see gate in Fig. 2(d)) arranged with the first source/drain region and the second source/drain being on opposite sides of the gate from each other (Fig. 2(d) shows right-most source and second drain from the right on opposite sides of the gate);
a first fin (fin of right-most source as shown in Figs. 2(b)-2(d)) contacting and extending from the first source/drain region to a first location (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which first location the first fin ends (Fig. 2(a) shows the source fin ends at where the fin meets the high-K dielectric), the first fin separated from the gate by a first dielectric (high-k dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)), the first location being located between and away from vertical positions (left and right vertical walls of gate in Figs. 2(a)-(d)) defining ends of the gate, the first fin terminating and contacting, at the first location (see Fig. 2(d)); and
a second fin (fin of second drain from the right of Fig. 2(d)) contacting and extending from the second source/drain region to a second location (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which second location the second fin ends (¶ [0007]: “The two sides and top surface of the island are grown with gate oxide and then a MOS gate can be built across the thin island to divide the fin into source, drain, and body;” hence, Fig. 2(a) also discloses the a high-k dielectric for the drain side), the second fin separated from the gate by a second dielectric (the high-k dielectric under the second drain from the right), the second fin being offset from the first fin such that the first fin and the second fin do not intersect (Fig. 2(d) shows the two said fins offset from a distance along the length of the gate).
However, Chung does not teach an array of memory cells; and a block of antifuses (¶ [0004]; Fig. 10 and ¶ [0127] teaches an OTP array), the antifuses structured for repair or replacement operations of a number of memory cells of the array.
Jung, in the same field of invention, teaches a memory device (10, see Fig. 2) comprising of an array of memory cells (33) and a block of fuses (31), the fuses structured for repair or replacement operations of a number of memory cells of the array (see ¶ [0030]: “The first fuse cells… may be used as redundancy memory cells for defective memory cells”).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Jung into the device of Chung to use Chung’s anti-fuse design in Jung’s memory device such that the anti-fuses are structured for repair or replacement operations of a number of memory cells of the array. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jung in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the reliability of the memory device (Jung ¶ [0003] ) and for preventing the deletion of data stored in the fuse cells during test procedure and/or manufacturing (Jung ¶ [0100], ¶ [0076] ).
However Chung in view of Jung does not teach the antifuse such that the first fin does not connect to two source/drain regions since it terminates and contact, at the first location, an isolation dielectric of the antifuse that provides separation of the first fin from other conductive components of the antifuse; and such that the second fin does not connect to two source/drain regions.
Tseng, in the same field of invention, teaches an antifuse such that the first fin (lower-left fin 12a in Figs. 1 & 2) does not connect to two source/drain regions (Fig. 2 show fin 12a is only connected to source region 190 and not to source 290) since it terminates and contact, at the first location (12a terminates under gate 340), an isolation dielectric (360 & 120) of the antifuse that provides separation of the first fin from other conductive components (SL2, WL2, BL2) of the antifuse; and
such that the second fin (middle-right fin 14a in Figs. 1 & 2) does not connect to two source/drain regions (Fig. 2 show fin 14a is only connected to source region 290 and not to source 190 since 14a terminates under gate 340).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Tseng into the antifuse of Chung in view of Jung to configure the first and second fins such that each fin is only connected to one source/drain and to add an isolation dielectric that electrically isolates the first fin from other conductive components of the antifuse. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the device density (Tseng Col. 1, Lns 38-41) by adding multiple antifuse cells (M1 and M2 are each antifuse cells; see Figs. 1 & 2; Col. 3, Lns 10-15) in the device and for improving device reliability by using the isolation dielectric as a gate sidewall spacer and/or as a double diffusion break isolation region that separates multiple wordlines (WL1 and WL2) that are connected to each antifuse cell to prevent accidental shorts between the two antifuse cells (Col. 1, Ln 35 through Col. 2, Ln 3).
Regarding claim 14, the memory device of claim 10, wherein each of the antifuses of the block have a same structure (Jung Figs. 10 & 11 and ¶ [0062]-[0064] show the same structure for each of the fuse cell in the block of fuses ) and the block is structured with the antifuses in number being less than ten percent of a total number of memory cells of the array (as shown in Fig. 5, FA2 is just one horizontal row, whereas there are a lot more non-FA2 rows in device 120).
Regarding claim 15, the memory device of claim 10, wherein the memory device includes control circuitry (20, see Jung Fig. 2 and ¶ [0022] ) to activate an antifuse of the block of antifuses in response to a determination of a defect in the array of memory cells (Jung ¶ [0022]-[0023], ¶ [0027] : page buffer circuit 24 is used to write data into the fuse; fuse selection circuit 22 and second decoder circuit 23 is used to access specific fuse bit cells for data writing; ¶ [0030]: data written pertains to repaired defective memory cells).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 2013/0148409 A1) in view of Jung (US 2020/0160927 A1) and Tseng (US 9,589,970 B1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Su (US 2022/0102366 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Chung et al. teach the memory device of claim 10, but do not teach: wherein the antifuse includes: a third fin contacting and extending from the first source/drain region to a third location under the gate at which third location the third fin ends, the third fin separated from the gate by a third dielectric, the third fin being parallel to the first fin; and a fourth fin contacting and extending from the second source/drain region to a fourth location under the gate at which fourth location the fourth fin ends, the fourth fin separated from the gate by a fourth dielectric, the fourth fin being parallel to the second fin.
Su, in the same field of invention, teaches an antifuse (10, see Fig. 3; see also Fig. 1, ¶ [0001], [0017] ) wherein
a third fin (LN2 of ring R1, see Fig 3C) contacting and extending from the first source/drain region (SD1, see Figs. 3B & 3C) to a third location (mid-point of G1 next to LN2 of R1) under the gate (G1) at which third location the third fin ends (see Fig. 3B), the third fin separated from the gate by a third dielectric (112; note: this is the region of 112 next to LN2 of R1), the third fin being parallel to the first fin (LN1 of R1, see Fig. 3C); and
a fourth fin (LN2 of ring R2, see Fig. 3C) contacting and extending from the second source/drain region (SD1 of R2, see Figs. 3B & 3C) to a fourth location (mid-point of G1 next to LN2 of R2) under the gate (G1) at which fourth location the fourth fin ends (see Fig. 3B), the fourth fin separated from the gate by a fourth dielectric (112; note: this is the region of 112 next to LN2 of R2), the fourth fin being parallel to the second fin (LN1 of R2; see Fig. 3C).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Su into the device of Chung et al. to add a third fin, a fourth fin, a third dielectric, and a fourth dielectric in the manner described above. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung et al.in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of increasing the contact area of the gate structure and the active region due to the curved portions (CR1, see Su Fig. 3C and ¶ [0047]) of the fin structure, for the further purpose of reducing the breakdown voltage and the power consumption of the device (¶ [0048] ).
Regarding claim 12, the memory device of claim 11, wherein the antifuse includes a third source/drain region (left-most source in Chung Fig. 2(d)) having a pair of fins (in view of Su the fin that extend from the left-most source is a pair of fins) contacting and extending from the third source/drain region to positions (where fin meets high-K dielectric as shown in Fig. 2(a)) under the gate at which the pair of fins end, each of the pair of fins separated from the gate by a dielectric (Fig. 2(a) shows the source fin ends at where the fin meets the high-K dielectric), the fins of the pair of fins offset from each other and from the first, second, third, and fourth fins such that the fins of the pair of fins do not intersect each of the first, second, third, and fourth fins (as shown in Fig. 2(d), the fin of the third source/drain does not intersect the first fin and the second fin and in view of Su, also does not intersect the third and fourth fin).
Regarding claim 13, Chung et al. teach the memory device of claim 10 and further teaches the first dielectric and second dielectric to be comprised of a high-k dielectric (see Chung Fig. 2(a)). However, Chung et al. do not teach: wherein the gate is a metal gate and the first dielectric and the second dielectric include one or more of silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, zirconium oxide, hafnium oxide, aluminum oxide, or a combination thereof.
Su, in the same field of invention, teaches a first dielectric (112, see Fig. 3B; this is region of 112 next to fin LN1 in ring R1 in Fig. 3C) and a second dielectric (112, see Fig. 3B; this is region of 112 next to fin LN1 in ring R2 in Fig. 3C) of an antifuse (10; see also Fig. 1, ¶ [0001], [0017] ), wherein their common composition includes one or more of silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, zirconium oxide, hafnium oxide, aluminum oxide, or a combination thereof (¶ [0035] ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Su into the device of Chung et al. to substitute the un-named high-k dielectric material that comprise of the first and second dielectric of Chung et al. with silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, zirconium oxide, hafnium oxide, aluminum oxide, or a combination thereof. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using said materials for the predictable result of providing electrical insulation or for substituting equivalent materials known in the prior art as high-k dielectrics that provide electrical insulation (Su ¶ [0035] ). See also MPEP § 2143 (I)(B).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 2013/0148409 A1) in view of Tseng (US 9,589,970 B1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Jung (US 2020/0160927 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Chung et al. teach the method of claim 16, but do not teach: wherein the method includes forming the antifuse as an antifuse of a block of antifuses in a periphery to a memory array of a memory device, the antifuses having a common structure.
Jung, in the same field of invention, teaches a method of forming the antifuse (Fig. 10 or Fig. 11 are fuse cells 400; although Jung teaches fuses, a person of ordinary skill understands that fuses and anti-fuses are both One-Time-Programmable elements) as an antifuse (400) of a block of antifuses (31, see Fig. 2) in a periphery (below 33; also see Fig. 3) to a memory array (33) of a memory device (10), the antifuses having a common structure (see FA2 in Fig. 5; ¶ [0040] ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Jung into the method of Chung et al. to form the antifuse as an antifuse of a block of antifuses in a periphery to a memory array of a memory device. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung et al. in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of increasing the yield and reliability of the memory device by using the antifuse as a redundancy memory cell for replacing defective memory cells (Jung ¶ [0003] ).
Regarding claim 20, the method of claim 19, wherein the method includes:
forming contacts (BL / WL connecting each fuse in block FA2, see Jung Fig. 5) to the antifuses of the block; and
forming fins (fins of sources and drains in Chung Fig. 2(d)) of the antifuses of the block such that the fins of each antifuse are staggered from each other (Fig. 2 (d) show the fins being staggered along the length of the gate).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899