DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 12/26/2025. The abstract objection is maintained. Claims 1, 10, 15-17, 26 and 30 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the legal phraseology “several/in many embodiments”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (US 7281910 B2, hereinafter Hasegawa) in view of Klein et al (US 4233639 A, hereinafter Klein).
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa teaches a compressor (compressor 1) for a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit (compressor for use in an air conditioner, col 1 line 7), the compressor (compressor 1) comprising: a housing (housing of the compressor, col 2 line 16), the housing having an interior (interior of housing, figure 1) and an exterior (exterior of housing, figure 1); a motor (motor 35) located within the housing (as shown on figure 1); a power terminal feed-through (terminal portion 50) for providing power to the motor (col 5 lines 7-11), the power terminal feed-through (terminal portion 50) configured to pass an electrical conductor (via wires 52 from external terminal 51, figure 1) from the exterior of the housing (exterior of housing, figure 1) into the interior of the housing (to the interior of housing, figure 1); and a leakage current suppressor (completely avoid leakage current by providing insulation between a terminal portion of the motor and the housing of the compressor, col 2 lines 14-16) configured to reduce passage of electrical current into the housing of the compressor (providing insulation between a terminal portion of the motor and the housing of the compressor, col 2 lines 14-16) via a conductive pathway (from the connecting portion to the stator housing, col 3 lines 9-10) between the electrical conductor and the housing (leakage current from the connecting portion to the stator housing of compressor may be reduced or avoided, col 3 lines 9-11), wherein the conductive pathway is created, at least in part, by liquid refrigerant within the housing (liquid refrigerant collects in the second compression mechanism matter than first compression mechanism. Therefore, the present invention is suitable for the hybrid compressor, and may avoid leakage current, col 3 lines 16-20).
Hasegawa teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the electrical conductor comprises a portion of an electrical circuit comprising a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI), wherein the leakage current suppressor comprises a two-pole contactor, and wherein the leakage current suppressor is further configured to reduce passage of electrical current into the housing of the compressor to be less than a trip threshold of the GFCI.
However, Klein teaches wherein the electrical conductor (line conductor 84) comprises a portion of an electrical circuit (figure 3) comprising a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) (GFCI device 10), wherein the leakage current suppressor (contactor 110) comprises a two-pole contactor (contactor 110 with multiple contacts 112, figure 3), and wherein the leakage current suppressor (contactor 110) is further configured to reduce passage of electrical current (a contactor in protecting a large power distribution circuit against ground faults, abstract) into the housing of the compressor (load 86, corresponding to compressor 1 of Hasegawa) to be less than a trip threshold of the GFCI (a contactor in protecting a large power distribution circuit against ground faults, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor in the teachings of Hasegawa to include wherein the electrical conductor comprises a portion of an electrical circuit comprising a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI), wherein the leakage current suppressor comprises a two-pole contactor, and wherein the leakage current suppressor is further configured to reduce passage of electrical current into the housing of the compressor to be less than a trip threshold of the GFCI in view of the teachings of Klein in order to yield the predictable result of protecting a large power distribution circuit against ground faults.
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 10 and 26 arerejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa as modified by Klein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jones (US 20060098360 A1, hereinafter Jones).
Regarding claim 10 and 26, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the electrical conductor is operably connectable and disconnectable by a controller to an alternating current power source via the two-pole contactor.
However, Jones teaches wherein the electrical conductor (conductors 32, 34) is operably connectable and disconnectable by a controller (controller 48, paragraph 0037) to an alternating current power source (as described in paragraph 0033) via the two-pole contactor (contactors 44, 46, paragraph 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor in the combined teachings to include wherein the electrical conductor is operably connectable and disconnectable by a controller to an alternating current power source via the two-pole contactor in view of the teachings of Jones in order to yield the predictable result of conducting current for the contacts to close and ceasing conduction to prevent destructive voltage.
Further, it is understood, claims 10 and 26 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…connectable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 15, 17 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa as modified by Klein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mayleben et al (US 20210310492 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 30, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the leakage current suppressor is further configured to reduce passage of electrical current into the housing of the compressor to be less than 3.5 milliamps.
However, Maybelen teaches wherein the leakage current suppressor (leakage current detector 310) is further configured to reduce passage of electrical current (current flow, paragraph 0044) into the housing of the compressor (motor housing, paragraph 0006, corresponding to housing of the compressor of Hasegawa) to be less than 3.5 milliamps (0.05mA, paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor in the teachings of Hasegawa to include wherein the leakage current suppressor is further configured to reduce passage of electrical current into the housing of the compressor to be less than 3.5 milliamps in view of the teachings of Maybelen in order to yield the predictable result of to prevent motor failure.
Further, it is understood, claims 15 and 30 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the compressor (compressor 1 of Hasegawa) further comprises: a housing (housing of the compressor, col 2 line 16 of Hasegawa); a motor (motor 35 of Hasegawa) located within the housing (as shown on figure 1 of Hasegawa); a power terminal feed-through (terminal portion 50 of Hasegawa) for providing power via the electrical circuit (figure 3 of Klein) to the motor (col 5 lines 7-11 of Hasegawa), the power terminal feed-through (terminal portion 50 of Hasegawa) configured to pass an electrical conductor (via wires 52 from external terminal 51, figure 1 of Hasegawa) from the exterior of the housing (exterior of housing, figure 1 of Hasegawa) into the interior of the housing (to the interior of housing, figure 1 of Hasegawa), wherein the electrical conductor (via wires 52 from external terminal 51, figure 1 of Hasegawa) comprises a portion of the electrical circuit (figure 3 of Klein); and wherein the leakage current suppressor (completely avoid leakage current by providing insulation between a terminal portion of the motor and the housing of the compressor, col 2 lines 14-16 of Hasegawa) configured to reduce passage of electrical current into the housing of the compressor (providing insulation between a terminal portion of the motor and the housing of the compressor, col 2 lines 14-16 of Hasegawa) via a conductive pathway (from the connecting portion to the stator housing, col 3 lines 9-10 of Hasegawa) between the electrical conductor and the housing (leakage current from the connecting portion to the stator housing of compressor may be reduced or avoided, col 3 lines 9-11 of Hasegawa), wherein the conductive pathway is created, at least in part, by liquid refrigerant within the housing (liquid refrigerant collects in the second compression mechanism matter than first compression mechanism. Therefore, the present invention is suitable for the hybrid compressor, and may avoid leakage current, col 3 lines 16-20 of Hasegawa).
Further, it is understood, claim 17 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jadric et al (CN 113785165 A) in view of Mayleben et al (US 20210310492 A1) and Klein et al (US 4233639 A, hereinafter Klein).
Regarding claim 16, Jadric teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (HVAC&R system, abstract) comprising: a refrigerant circuit (a refrigerant loop, abstract) configured to route a refrigerant fluid (to circulate refrigerant, abstract), the refrigerant fluid configured to undergo a phase change (a phase change from the refrigerant liquid the refrigerant vapour, paragraph 0009) between a liquid state (refrigerant liquid, paragraph 0009) and a gas state (refrigerant liquid the evaporator 38 may experience a phase change from the refrigerant liquid the refrigerant vapour, paragraph 0009); a compressor operable to circulate the refrigerant fluid through the refrigerant circuit (a compressor configured to circulate refrigerant through the refrigerant loop, abstract), the compressor having a motor (the motor is configured to drive the compressor to rotate, abstract).
Jadric teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach an electrical circuit configured to supply power to the compressor, the electrical circuit coupled to a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) operably connected between a power source and the compressor, wherein the compressor comprises a housing having an interior and an exterior; and wherein a leakage current at the compressor is limited such that the electrical circuit supplies current to the compressor below a trip threshold of the GFCI using a leakage current suppressor with, at least a portion of, the refrigerant fluid in a liquid form within the compressor.
However, Mayleben teaches an electrical circuit (circuit, figure 3) configured to supply power to the compressor (supplying power to motor 350, figure 3), the electrical circuit (circuit, figure 3) coupled to a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI/GFI, paragraph 0038) operably connected between a power source (power supply 340, figure 3) and the compressor (motor 350, corresponding to compressor of Jadric), wherein the compressor (motor 350) comprises a housing (housing of motor 350, figure 3) having an interior (interior of motor 350, figure 3) and an exterior (exterior of motor 350, figure 3); wherein a leakage current at the compressor is limited (leakage current detector 310 is designed to detect current flow below that which a GFCI/GFI will interrupt the circuit, paragraph 0038) such that the electrical circuit (circuit, figure 3) supplies current to the compressor (via power supply 340 and motor 350, paragraph 0036 and figure 3) below a trip threshold of the GFCI (GFCI/GFI devices will not allow current to flow to a device when the leakage to ground is greater than 6 mA, paragraph 0038) using a leakage current suppressor (current leak detector 310) with, at least a portion of, the refrigerant fluid in a liquid form within the compressor (a liquid portion of the compressor of Jadric).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor in the teachings of Jadric to include an electrical circuit configured to supply power to the compressor, the electrical circuit coupled to a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) operably connected between a power source and the compressor, a housing, the housing having an interior and an exterior; and wherein a leakage current at the compressor is limited such that the electrical circuit supplies current to the compressor below a trip threshold of the GFCI with, at least a portion of, the refrigerant fluid in a liquid form within the compressor in view of the teachings of Mayleben in order to yield the predictable result of detecting currents that an GFCI/GFI will interrupt.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach and wherein the leakage current suppressor comprises a two-pole contactor.
However, Klein teaches wherein the leakage current suppressor (contactor 110) comprises a two-pole contactor (contactor 110 with multiple contacts 112, figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor in the teachings of Hasegawa to include wherein the leakage current suppressor comprises a two-pole contactor in view of the teachings of Klein in order to yield the predictable result of protecting a large power distribution circuit against ground faults.
Further, it is understood, claim 16 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…operable to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763