DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/3/2025. These drawings are unacceptable. They contain new matter. FIGS. 1a-9 are considered new as they were not presented in the original disclosure. It is noted that while FIG. 4 appears to be similar to prior FIG. 2.3 (filed 8/19/2022), there is a new addition with the bolt not previously shown. All new matter must be removed from the drawings.
Additionally, it recommended that Applicant add reference characters to the figures to clearly point to the different elements of the invention. It is noted that any reference characters added to the drawings should also be added to the specification (without adding any new matter not in the original disclosure).
Specification
The amendment filed 6/13/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the paragraphs labelled as 1.-5. on pages 6-7 (description of “uni”-roof poles and “khana”-latticed wall) of the amendment specification filed 6/13/2024.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Astasio Cavero (ES-1,069,830 U).
Claim 1: Astasio Cavero discloses a portable and foldable yurt comprising: a lattice roof (29; as seen in FIGS. 34-36, the roof has members that cross each other/extend between the radially extending members, thus making the roof have a lattice configuration), a lattice wall (17-21), a door structure (FIGS. 11 and 36), a dome (30), an inner tension band (seen above and below lattice wall in FIGS. 35 and 36), a cover (comprised of 13, 15, 16; English translation, “Once the rafters are placed we will get ready to assemble the fabric that will cover and insulate the yurt. These are formed by two different parts: the one that covers the roof of the yurt and the one that covers the walls. It consists of three layers: interior decorative fabric, high performance insulation and canvas High strength exterior” and “The canvas and the inner fabric of the yurt come together and pose as the pieces (13,16 and 15) as indicated in (fig. 28) without piercing none of them but making it The canvas and the inner fabric of the yurt come together and pose as the pieces (13,16 and 15) as indicated in (fig. 28) without piercing none of them but making it waterproof”) and a floor (7).
Claims 2 and 5: Astasio Cavero discloses the lattice roof and the lattice wall to be formed of a lightweight wood (English translation; “The yurt biosolis is provided, to large features, of a circular base, walls, crossbars that form the ceiling, a base for the dome, doors and windows, all of wood”).
Claim 8: Astasio Cavero discloses said cover as being formed of a waterproof material (English translation; “The canvas and the inner fabric of the yurt come together and pose as the pieces (13,16 and 15) as indicated in (fig. 28) without piercing none of them but making it waterproof”).
Claim 9: Astasio Cavero discloses said floor as being composed of waterproof material (floor 7 is comprised of wooden planks laid on top of a framework; English translation, “With the structure of the base ready we only it remains to place the wooden planks that will make up the floor as (fig. 8) and screw them to the crossbars” and “On this framework will be laid the floor, completely composed of Phenolic plates of high resistance”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astasio Cavero (ES-1,069,830 U) in view of Jessop (GB-2,383,807 A).
Astasio Cavero teaches the entire framework, including the lattice roof and lattice wall, to be made of wood, and therefore lacks these elements being composed of lightweight metals or lightweight composite mateirals. Jessop teaches a portable and foldable yurt comprising: a lattice roof (2), a lattice wall (4), a door structure (21), a dome (1; FIGS. 1 or 6-7), an inner tension band (3), and a cover (page 11, third full paragraph, “outer cover may be applied to a structure after its erection”). Jessop teaches that the lattice roof and lattice wall as being composed of either wood, metal, or a composite material (page 11, second full paragraph, “roof and/or trellis poles may be of wood, bamboo, plastics, metal, or glass or carbon fibre reinforced plastics”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Astasio Cavero to include a lattice roof and lattice wall composed of either lightweight metal or lightweight composite material, such as taught by Jessop, as an alternative that would provide the advantages of not be able to rot, like wood.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/13/2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Astasio Cavero did not indicate that he has invented a lattice roof frame or structure at all. However, Applicant also admits that Astasio Cavero did state that the roof of his invention makes “lattice configuration” (page 1 of Remarks). Applicant provided a definition from the Oxford Dictionary for the term lattice as “a structure consisting of strips of wood or metal crossed and fastened together with square or diamond-shaped spaces left between, used as a screen or fence or as a support for climbing plants” (see page 1 of Remarks). So Applicant asserted both Astasio Cavero and Jessop do not teach strips of wood or metal crossed and fastened. However, it is noted that the original specification of the present invention (filed 8/19/2022) does not provide a definition of the term lattice. It is also noted that Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines lattice as “a framework or structure of crossed wood or metal strips”. As such, the definition provided by Applicant in the arguments appears overly narrow. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the roof of Astasio Cavero can be considered a lattice structure since FIGS. 34-36 shows crossing frame members. Astasio Cavero also states “supported by a latticed wooden structure on ceilings and walls” in the abstract, meaning there are crossing wooden members forming a lattice on the roof. As such, the Examiner maintains that the combination of Astasio Cavero anticipates claim 1 as it currently stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DNJ/Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636