DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4 and 5 have been considered but are moot because the examiner has cited Globisch et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0336346) to teach the amended limitations of claims 1, 4 and 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiki (US PG Pub 2010/0310976) in view of Thomas et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0192115) and Globisch et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0336346).
Regarding claim 1, Kajiki discloses: a method for manufacturing a terahertz (THz) device, comprising: forming a light-absorbing structure (1) (InGaAs in the 1.5 µm wavelength band), absorbing a radiation having a wavelength ranging from 500 nm to 1600 nm, on a substrate (7) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]) wherein: the substrate comprises a semiconductor substrate comprising GaAs, InP, GaN, SiC or Si, a quartz substrate, or a combination thereof (SI-GaAs) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]); and the light-absorbing structure comprises a semiconductor structure comprising a semiconductor material comprising a III-V compound (InGaAs in the 1.5 µm wavelength band), a IV element, a IV compound, or a combination thereof, a low-dimensional material, a magnetic material, a topological material, or a combination thereof (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]), in the case where the semiconductor substrate is made of Si, the semiconductor structure comprises a first semiconductor layer comprising Ge and a second semiconductor layer comprising GeSn, the first semiconductor layer is deposited on the semiconductor substrate using a first CVD process with a gas source comprising H2 and GeHg, and the second semiconductor layer is deposited on the first semiconductor layer using a second CVD process with a gas source comprising Ge2H6 and SnCl4, and wherein the first CVD process is performed at a temperature of about 375°C to about 400°C, and the second CVD process is performed at a temperature of about 320°C (substrate is made of GaAs).
Kajiki does not disclose: by using a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) process performed at a pressure ranging from about 10 torr to about 100 torr; performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure.
Thomas et al. disclose: growing semiconductor material in a metal organic chemical vapor deposition reactor (MOCVD) at 60 torr ({0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki by growing the substrate and light absorbing structure using chemical vapor deposition because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, the predictable result is a terahertz device comprising InGaAs formed over a GaAs substrate.
Kajiki as modified do not disclose: performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure.
Globisch et al. disclose: photoconductive material comprises e.g. a plurality of epitaxial layers, e.g. consisting of InGaAs, InGaAsP and/or InAlAs (e.g. doped with Be or Fe or another transition element) ([0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki as modified by forming the semiconductor structure so that InGaAs is doped with Be or Fe because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, the predictable result is a terahertz device comprising Be or Fe doped InGaAs formed over a GaAs substrate.
Regarding claim 4, Kajiki discloses: a method for manufacturing a terahertz (THz) device, comprising forming a light-absorbing structure (1) on a substrate (7) wherein: the substrate comprises a semiconductor substrate, which is made of GaAs (SI-GaAs) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]); and the light-absorbing structure comprises a semiconductor structure formed by a single-layer semiconductor comprising InGaAs (InGaAs in the 1.5 µm wavelength band) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]).
Kajiki does not disclose: by using a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) process performed at a pressure ranging from about 10 torr to about 100 torr and performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure..
Thomas et al. disclose: growing semiconductor material in a metal organic chemical vapor deposition reactor (MOCVD) at 60 torr ({0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki by growing the substrate and light absorbing structure using chemical vapor deposition because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, the predictable result is a terahertz device comprising InGaAs formed over a GaAs substrate.
Kajiki as modified do not disclose: performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure.
Globisch et al. disclose: photoconductive material comprises e.g. a plurality of epitaxial layers, e.g. consisting of InGaAs, InGaAsP and/or InAlAs (e.g. doped with Be or Fe or another transition element) ([0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki as modified by forming the semiconductor structure so that InGaAs is doped with Be or Fe because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, the predictable result is a terahertz device comprising Be or Fe doped InGaAs formed over a GaAs substrate.
Regarding claim 5, Kajiki as modified do not explicitly disclose: wherein a gas source used to form the single-layer semiconductor in the CVD process comprises AsH3, trimethyl gallium (TMGa), and trimethyl indium (TMIn).
The examiner takes official notice that the CVD process comprises AsH3 (arsine), trimethyl gallium (TMGa), and trimethyl indium (TMIn) was well known in the art before the time of filing. For example, see Liu (US PG Pub 2004/0091011) (0453]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki as modified by using AsH3, trimethyl gallium (TMGa), and trimethyl indium (TMIn) as the gas sources in the CVD process because these gases are commonly used to grow semiconductor materials.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are allowed.
Claim 6 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…a semiconductor substrate, which is made of InP…the at least one first semiconductor layer comprises InAlAs, and the at least one second semiconductor layer comprises InGaAs.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828