DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued on page 6 of the arguments that Kajiki fails to disclose “the substrate comprises a semiconductor substrate comprising GaAS, InP, GaN, or SiC, a quartz substrate or a combination thereof”. The examiner does not agree. Kajiki clearly discloses the substrate 7 include semi-insulating gallium arsenide (SI-GaAs) and semi-insulating indium phosphide (SI-InP) ([0037]).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 including the features of “ the light-absorbing structure comprises a semiconductor structure comprising a semiconductor material comprising, a IV element, a IV compound, or a combination thereof, a low-dimensional material, a magnetic material, a topological material, or a combination thereof “are moot because the examiner has cited Zhang et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0138887) to teach the amended limitations of claims 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiki (US PG Pub 2010/0310976) in view of Thomas et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0192115) and Zhang et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0138887).
Regarding claim 1, Kajiki discloses: a method for manufacturing a terahertz (THz) device, comprising: forming a light-absorbing structure (1) (InGaAs in the 1.5 µm wavelength band), absorbing a radiation having a wavelength ranging from 500 nm to 1600 nm, on a substrate (7) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]) wherein: the substrate comprises a semiconductor substrate comprising GaAs, InP, GaN, or SiC, a quartz substrate, or a combination thereof (SI-GaAs) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]); and the light-absorbing structure comprises a semiconductor structure comprising a semiconductor material (InGaAs in the 1.5 µm wavelength band) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]).
Kajiki does not disclose: by using a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) process performed at a pressure ranging from about 10 torr to about 100 torr; semiconductor material comprising, a IV element, a IV compound, or a combination thereof, a low-dimensional material, a magnetic material, a topological material, or a combination thereof; performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure.
Thomas et al. disclose: growing semiconductor material in a metal organic chemical vapor deposition reactor (MOCVD) at 60 torr ({0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki by growing the substrate and light absorbing structure using chemical vapor deposition because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, the predictable result is a terahertz device comprising InGaAs formed over a GaAs substrate.
Kajiki as modified do not disclose: semiconductor material comprising, a IV element, a IV compound, or a combination thereof, a low-dimensional material, a magnetic material, a topological material, or a combination thereof; performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure.
Zhang et al. disclose: In addition to photodetection, the topological materials described herein may also be used for other optoelectronic devices, such as terahertz laser ([0131]). t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki as modified by forming the light-absorbing structure using a topological material in order to reduce energy loss in the device. The device as modified disclose: performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure (light-absorbing structure is a topological material).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiki (US PG Pub 2010/0310976) in view of Thomas et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0192115) and Globisch et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0336346).
Regarding claim 4, Kajiki discloses: a method for manufacturing a terahertz (THz) device, comprising forming a light-absorbing structure (1) on a substrate (7) wherein: the substrate comprises a semiconductor substrate, which is made of GaAs (SI-GaAs) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]); and the light-absorbing structure comprises a semiconductor structure formed by a single-layer semiconductor comprising InGaAs (InGaAs in the 1.5 µm wavelength band) (Fig. 1B, [0036], [0037]).
Kajiki does not disclose: by using a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) process performed at a pressure ranging from about 10 torr to about 40 torr and performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure..
Thomas et al. disclose: growing semiconductor material in a metal organic chemical vapor deposition reactor (MOCVD) at 60 torr ({0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki by growing the substrate and light absorbing structure using chemical vapor deposition because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, the predictable result is a terahertz device comprising InGaAs formed over a GaAs substrate.
Kajiki as modified do not disclose: performing a doping process on the semiconductor structure of the light-absorbing structure, so that a dopant comprising Be, C, Au, Er, or Fe is doped into the semiconductor structure.
Globisch et al. disclose: photoconductive material comprises e.g. a plurality of epitaxial layers, e.g. consisting of InGaAs, InGaAsP and/or InAlAs (e.g. doped with Be or Fe or another transition element) ([0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki as modified by forming the semiconductor structure so that InGaAs is doped with Be or Fe because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, the predictable result is a terahertz device comprising Be or Fe doped InGaAs formed over a GaAs substrate.
Kajiki does not disclose: by using a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) process performed at a pressure ranging from about 10 torr to about 40 torr.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a method for manufacturing a terahertz device using chemical vapor deposition at a pressure of 60 torr. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the pressure of the chemical vapor deposition process by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 5, Kajiki as modified do not explicitly disclose: wherein a gas source used to form the single-layer semiconductor in the CVD process comprises AsH3, trimethyl gallium (TMGa), and trimethyl indium (TMIn).
The examiner takes official notice that the CVD process comprises AsH3 (arsine), trimethyl gallium (TMGa), and trimethyl indium (TMIn) was well known in the art before the time of filing. For example, see Liu (US PG Pub 2004/0091011) (0453]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiki as modified by using AsH3, trimethyl gallium (TMGa), and trimethyl indium (TMIn) as the gas sources in the CVD process because these gases are commonly used to grow semiconductor materials.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7 and 11 are allowed.
Claim 6 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…a semiconductor substrate, which is made of InP…the at least one first semiconductor layer comprises InAlAs, and the at least one second semiconductor layer comprises InGaAs.”
Claim 11 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…the light-absorbing structure comprises a semiconductor structure comprising a first semiconductor layer comprising Ge and a second semiconductor layer comprising GeSn, the first semiconductor layer is deposited on the semiconductor substrate using a first CVD process with a gas source comprising H₂ and GeH₄, and the second semiconductor layer is deposited on the first semiconductor layer using a second CVD process with a gas source comprising Ge₂H₆ and SnCl4, the first CVD process is performed at a temperature ranging from about 375°C to about 400°C, and the second CVD process is performed at a temperature of about 320°C.”
Conclusion
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828