DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendments/Response filed on July 30, 2026. Claim(s) 1, 8, 15, and 23 have been amended. Claim 26 has been added. Claim(s) 5, 9, and 25 have been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-24 and 26 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 8, 15, and 23 filed on July 30, 2026.
The applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 23 are sufficient to overcome the art of Hall (US Patent No. 410414), applied in the 102 rejection in the previous action. Please see the new rejections which applies Lin (US PG Pub No. 20160175995) set forth in this action.
The applicant’s amendments to claim 15 are sufficient to overcome the art of Hall (US Patent No. 410414), applied in the 103 rejection in the previous action which applied Saxton (US Patent No. 3754436) in view of Hall. Please see the new rejection which applies Lin (US PG Pub No. 20160175995) set forth in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8 ,10, 13-14, 21-24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US PG Pub No. 20160175995).
In regards to claim 1, Lin discloses
a system for mounting a grinder/polisher sample holder, comprising:
a platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) comprising
a plurality of fasteners, the fasteners each comprising a bore (see fig. 1 - ann. 1);
one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) arranged on and mounted to the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6),
the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) configured to secure a sample holder,
the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) comprising:
one or more non-adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) to fix an orientation or position of the sample holder,
wherein the one or more non-adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) comprise
one or more interfaces (see fig. 1 – ann. 3) to contact and support the sample holder when the sample holder is arranged within the system and wherein the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) are mounted via the fasteners (see fig. 1 – ann. 3),
the fasteners being distributed about the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) at a fixed radial distance from a predetermined center point (see fig. 1- ann. 4), and
the predetermined center point (see fig. 1- ann. 4) remains stationary when the mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) are added or removed from the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6); and
one or more columns (see fig. 1 – ann. 4); and
one or more bracket locks (at least one of stroke units 41 and 51; fig. 1-4 and 6) configured to adjust a position and an orientation of the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) by extending (see column portion of stroke unit; see fig. 2) through the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and into the one or more columns.
Examiner’s Note:
The preamble recites a “system for mounting a grinder/polisher sample holder.” It is understood that the phrase “a grinder/polisher sample holder” is a phrase of intended use, see MPEP 2144-II. The apparatus disclosed by Lin, though is not called a “a grinder/polisher sample holder” possesses adjustable members capable of changing position for the purpose of fixing a workpiece during a working/machining process. Therefore, the mounting fixture of Lin is hereinafter interpreted as capable of serving as a “a grinder/polisher sample holder”, meeting therefore the claim limitations.
In regards to claim 4, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, wherein the arrangement of the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) on the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) is adjustable based on a size or shape of the sample holder.
[0017] Moreover, the first moveable support 4 is provided with a first displacement structure 43 by which the first moveable support 4 is adjusted in distance between the first moveable support 4 and the first fixing support 2; the second moveable support 5 is provided with a second displacement structure 53 by which the second moveable support 5 is adjusted in distance between the second moveable support 5 and the second fixing support 2.
In regards to claim 6, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, wherein each mounting fixture further comprises a base portion (see fig. 1 – ann. 5) to mate with the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6); and the column extends from the base portion to support the one or more interface.
In regards to claim 7, Lin discloses
the system of claim 6, wherein the one or more interfaces (the interfaces of adjustable bracket on movable support 5) are mounted to an extension post (fastening parts 522, fig. 1 and 3) extending from the column (laterally, see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 8, Lin discloses
the system of claim 6, wherein the base portion is configured to be secured to the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) via one or more of the plurality of fasteners (see fig. 1, plurality of fasteners for each base portion).
In regards to claim 10, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more interfaces (see fig. 1 – ann. 3) are arranged to contact a first surface of the sample holder to limit movement of the sample holder in a first direction, and the adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) are configured to contact a second surface of the sample holder to limit movement of the sample holder in a second direction.
In regards to claim 13, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) support the sample holder at a distance from a surface of the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) that is greater than a length of a sample holder drive adapter.
Examiner’s Note: As the mounting fixture disclosed by Lin provides elements that are laterally and vertically adjustable, they would accommodate clearance for the sample holder adapter. While Lin doesn’t disclose a sample holder drive adapter, supporting workpieces with different geometries is considered functional language, and as Lin is adjustable, it would be capable of providing clearance beneath the sample holder.
In regards to claim 14, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to be incorporated in a hardness testing machine.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner is understanding “configured to be incorporated” as functional language. Since the Work holder described by Tiede has interfaces, adjustable fixtures, and a platform, it’s understood as being able to hold a piece during work during a hardness test.
In regards to claim 21, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) define an adjustable mounting bracket receiving hole(displacement slot 21, fig. 2) extending from an inwardly-facing mounting interface of the adjustable mounting bracket to an outwardly- facing locking interface (surface of stroke unit 41, 51; see fig. 1) of the adjustable mounting bracket.
In regards to claim 22, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, further comprising one or more second mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) configured to secure the sample holder, each second mounting fixture comprises:
one or more mounting brackets (see fig. 1 – ann. 2) to fix the orientation or position of the sample holder; and one or more second interfaces (see fig. 1 – ann. 3) to contact and support the sample holder within the system.
In regards to claim 23, Lin discloses
a system for mounting a grinder/polisher sample holder, comprising: a platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) comprising a plurality of fasteners, the fasteners each comprising a bore (see fig. 1 - ann. 1); one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) arranged on and mounted to the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6), the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) configured to secure a sample holder, the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) comprising:
one or more non-adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) to fix an orientation or position of the sample holder,
wherein the one or more non-adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) comprises one or more interfaces to contact and support the sample holder when the sample holder is arranged within the system wherein the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) are mounted via the fasteners, the fasteners being arranged at a fixed radial distance from a predetermined center point (see fig. 1- ann. 3) to evenly distribute a force exerted on the one or more non-adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) during a hardness test; and
one or more columns; and
one or more bracket locks (at least one of stroke units 41 and 51; fig. 1-4 and 6) configured to adjust a position and an orientation of the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) by extending through the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and into the one or more columns.
Examiner’s Note:
The limitation of “to evenly distribute a force exerted on the one or more non-adjustable mounting brackets and the one or more adjustable mounting brackets during a hardness test” an intended use limitation. Pursuant MPEP 2114.II, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
In regards to claim 24, Lin discloses
the system of claim 23, further comprising an alignment device (centrally provided fifth clamping part 11, fig. 1 and 4) wherein the alignment device ensures consistent orientation of the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) in a hardness testing system.
Examiner’s Note:
The limitation of “ensures consistent orientation of the platform in a hardness testing system” is intended used. Pursuant MPEP 2114.II, the claim limitations are disclosed as Lin discloses the structural limitations of the claim.
In regards to claim 26, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more fasteners are configured to receive at least one of a post, a dowel, or a bolt (first or second displacement structure, located in the fastener, shown in figures as at least a post or bolt; see fig. 1 – ann. 6)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin.
In regards to claim 2, Lin discloses
the system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly state that the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) comprises three or more fixtures distributed about the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) at “an equal radial distance from the center point.”
However, Lin discloses that the fixture supports (at least 4 and 5) are mounted via a displacement structure which allows for adjusting the distance between moveable supports and fixed supports ([0017]).
Therefore, pursuant of MPEP 2144.VI.C, changing the positioning of the adjustable fixtures in order to accommodate proper securing of a workpiece, such that the distances were of equal radial distances from the center point, would be an obvious matter of design choice.
In regards to claim 3, Lin discloses
the system of claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose each mounting fixture of the one or more mounting fixtures is separated by an equal distance between axial positions.
However, Lin discloses that the fixture supports (at least 4 and 5) are mounted via a displacement structure which allows for adjusting the distance between moveable supports and fixed supports ([0017]).
Therefore, pursuant of MPEP 2144.VI.C, changing the positioning of the adjustable fixtures in order to accommodate proper securing of a workpiece, such that the distances were of equal distance between axial points, would be an obvious matter of design choice.
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Hohwart (US Patent No. 3459433)..
In regards to claim 11,
the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) are formed of a metal such as stainless steel.
Lin fails to disclose the mounting fixtures are formed “of a metal such as stainless steel.” However, Hohwart teaches “Each jaw 32 comprises a plain, solid block of metal formed with a dovetail rib or tenon which slidably fits in the dovetail groove of the respective jaw-mounting base 35 (col. 4 lines 8-11).”
Lin and Hohwart are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of work holders with adjustable members for adapting to different sized pieces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin to incorporate the teachings of Hohwart and form the mounting fixture of metal, as metal is well known for its durable and sturdy construction, making it capable of surviving multiple uses when testing for hardness.
In regards to claim 12,
the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more interfaces are formed of a hardened material, such as carbide or steel.
Lin fails to disclose the interfaces are formed “of a hardened material, such as carbide or steel.”
However, Hohwart teaches “Each jaw 32 comprises a plain, solid block of metal formed with a dovetail rib or tenon which slidably fits in the dovetail groove of the respective jaw-mounting base 35(col. 4 lines 8-11).”
Lin and Hohwart are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of work holders with adjustable members for adapting to different sized pieces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin to incorporate the teachings of Hohwart and provide mounting fixtures, which includes the interface, as formed of metal, as metal is well known for its durable and sturdy construction, making it capable of surviving multiple uses when testing for hardness.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxton (US Patent No. 3754436) in view of Lin (US PG Pub No. 20160175995).
In regards to claim 15, Saxton discloses
a hardness testing system (hardness testing apparatus A, fig. 1-2), comprising:
a grinder/polisher sample holder (worktable 50, fig. 1-2), and
a system for mounting a grinder/polisher sample holder (worktable 50, fig. 1-2).
Saxton fails to disclose the sample holder as claimed.
However, Lin discloses:
a platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) comprising
a plurality of fasteners, the fasteners each comprising a bore (see fig. 1 - ann. 1);
one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) arranged on and mounted to the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6),
the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) configured to secure a sample holder,
the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) comprising:
one or more non-adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) to fix an orientation or position of the sample holder,
wherein the one or more non-adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) comprise
one or more interfaces (see fig. 1 – ann. 3) to contact and support the sample holder when the sample holder is arranged within the system and wherein the one or more mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) are mounted via the fasteners (see fig. 1 – ann. 3),
the fasteners being distributed about the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6) at a fixed radial distance from a predetermined center point (see fig. 1- ann. 4), and
the predetermined center point (see fig. 1- ann. 4) remains stationary when the mounting fixtures (at least first fixing support 2, second fixing support, first moveable support 4, and second movable support 5; fig. 1-4 and 6) are added or removed from the platform (platform 1, fig. 1, 5, 6); and
one or more columns (see fig. 1 – ann. 4); and
one or more bracket locks (at least one of stroke units 41 and 51; fig. 1-4 and 6) configured to adjust a position and an orientation of the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) by extending (see column portion of stroke unit; see fig. 2) through the one or more adjustable mounting brackets (see fig. 1 - ann. 2) and into the one or more columns.
Saxton and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of workholder devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxton to incorporate the teachings of Lin and provide a workholder capable of adapting to pieces as each would simply perform their respective functions in a predictable manner. Saxton would complete hardness testing, and Lin would be the holder of the workpiece undergoing the process.
In regards to claim 16, Saxton as modified discloses
the hardness testing system of claim 15, further comprising a platen (circular member 52, fig. 1-2) configured for mounting the system for mounting a grinder/polisher sample holder (worktable 50, fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 17, Saxton as modified discloses
the hardness testing system of claim 16, wherein the system for mounting a grinder/polisher sample holder (worktable 50, fig. 1-2) further comprises one or more alignment devices (see annotated fig. 2) configured to mate with one or more alignment devices at the platen (circular member 52, fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 18, Saxton as modified discloses
the hardness testing system of claim 15, further comprising an indenture device (indenter ball 36, fig. 1-2) to test hardness of a sample within the sample holder (worktable 50, fig. 1-2) by impacting the sample.
In regards to claim 19, Saxton as modified discloses
the hardness testing system of claim 18, further comprising a movable stage (see annotated fig. 2; col. 2 lines 44-48: Fluid is supplied to the double-acting motor to raise or lower the worktable 50 through conduits 110, 112 by a pump 114 driven by an electric motor 116 under the control of a solenoid operated, four-way valve 118)
upon which the platen (circular member 52, fig. 1-2) is secured, the movable stage (see annotated fig. 2) configured to adjust a position (col. 2 lines 44-48) or orientation of the sample relative to the indenture device (indenter ball 36, fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 20, Saxton as modified discloses
the hardness testing system of claim 16, wherein the platen (circular member 52, fig. 1-2) further comprises one or more alignment devices (plunger 54, fig. 1-2) to mate (col. 2 lines 12-20: An article to be tested, such as the article W, is positioned on the upper side of a worktable 50 detachably connected to a circular member 52 which member is in turn detachably connected to the upper end of a vertically extending plunger 54 formed integral with a piston 56 slidably supported in a counterbore 60 in the lower end of a vertically extending cylinder 62 detachably connected to the underside of the plate 20 of the base 16) with the platform (work piece fixture 20, fig. 1-8).
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723