Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “said aft end is raised along a back of said shovel head and includes a planar surface for contact with a foot of an operator to push said shovel head downward” (Claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a telescopic handle” (line 1) and further recites “said telescopic handle includes a plurality of telescoping slots to adjust a length of said telescopic handle.” It is understood that a telescopic handle to adjust a length of said telescopic handle, but the recitation of “a plurality of telescoping slots” is confusing and not clearly understood. The phrase “telescoping slots” appears to be misleading. Applicant describes “telescoping slots” in the paragraph [0030], but specification lacks the structural feature or subject matter of describing as to how “a plurality of telescoping slots” is applied to adjust a length of said telescopic handle.
Claims 2-9 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handley (D506,111) in view of Rosine et al. (7,581,771).
RE claim 1, Handley (D506,111) discloses a shovel (See Figs. 1-7) capable of cleaning out a trench, the shovel tool comprising: a shovel head (see Exhibit A); and an arcuate connector connecting said handle and said shovel head; wherein said telescopic handle includes a plurality of telescoping slots to adjust a length of said telescopic handle; wherein said shovel head includes a concave shaped curvature having a longitudinal central axis, terminal side edges, and a generally U-shaped front edge; wherein a length of said shovel head is greatest along said longitudinal central axis relative to a length of said side edges; wherein said side edges are raised along opposing sides of said shovel head, but does not specifically show a telescopic handle having a plurality of slots to adjust a length of said telescopic handle. However, Rosine et al. (7,581,771) teaches a shovel having a telescoping handle (see Fig. 2) with slots (44) to adjust a length of said telescopic handle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a telescoping handle on the arcuate connector of Handley (D506,111) as taught by Rosine et al. (7,581,771) to conveniently use the tool without a need to bend to a user.
RE claims 1, 2, 3, and 6, Regarding the specific structural dimension of the elements of shovel head includes a width measured between said side edges from about 2 inches to about 6 inches, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a desired structural dimension on the Handley’s shovel (D506,111) to be suitable for the user’s preferences and the intended application.
Exhibit A
[AltContent: textbox (Width of the shovel head and sidewalls )][AltContent: textbox (U-shape front end and a concave shape curvature shovel head)][AltContent: textbox (Flat back aft end)][AltContent: textbox (Arcuate connector)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claims 4 and 5, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handley (D506,111) and Rosine et al. (7,581,771) and further in view of Lesche (4,396,214).
Handley’s shovel (D506,111), as presented above, does not specifically show said handle includes a material selected from a group consisting of a steel and a fiberglass and said shovel head and said arcuate connector are one piece comprising 14-gauge carbon steel. However, Fig. 4 of Lesche’s shovel (4,396,214) teaches the handle is being made of 14-gauge carbon steel (see Col. 3, lines 47-53). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide 14-gauge carbon steel on the Handley (D506,111) as taught by Lesche (4,396,214).to provide a reliable and strong shovel to a user.
Claims 7-9, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handley (D506,111) and Rosine et al. (7,581,771) and further in view of Szymanski (D852,594).
RE claim 7, Handley’s shovel (D506,111), as presented above, does not specifically show said aft end is raised along a back of said shovel head and includes a planar surface for contact with a foot of an operator to push said shovel head. However, Figs. 1-8 of Szymanski (D852,594) show a shovel head having an aft end is raised along a back of said shovel head and includes a planar surface for contact with a foot of an operator to push said shovel head. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plan surface on the aft end of Handley (D506,111) so that a foot of an operator can conveniently push said shovel head.
RE claims 8 and 9, Regarding the specific structural dimension of the elements of shovel head includes a width measured between said side edges from about 2 inches to about 6 inches, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a desired structural dimension on the Handley’s shovel (D506,111) to be suitable for the user’s preferences and the intended application.
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handley (D506,111) and Rosine et al. (7,581,771) and further in view of Tummino et al. (5,401,071).
RE claims 10 and 15, Handley (D506,111) discloses a shovel (See Figs. 1-7) capable of cleaning out a trench, the shovel tool comprising: a shovel head (see Exhibit A); and an arcuate connector connecting said handle and said shovel head; wherein said telescopic handle includes a plurality of telescoping slots to adjust a length of said telescopic handle; wherein said shovel head includes a concave shaped curvature having a longitudinal central axis, terminal side edges, and a generally U-shaped front edge; wherein a length of said shovel head is greatest along said longitudinal central axis relative to a length of said side edges; wherein said side edges are raised along opposing sides of said shovel head, but does not specifically show a telescopic handle having a plurality of slots to adjust a length of said telescopic handle. However, Rosine et al. (7,581,771) teaches a shovel having a telescoping handle (see Fig. 2) with slots (44) to adjust a length of said telescopic handle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a telescoping handle on the arcuate connector of Handley (D506,111) as taught by Rosine et al. (7,581,771) to conveniently use the tool without a need to bend to a user. Handley’s shovel (D506,111), as presented above, still does not specifically show said aft end includes a foot step bar for selective contact with a foot of an operator to push said shovel head downward. However, Figs. 3-5 of Tummino et al. (5,401,071) show a shovel head having an aft end having a foot bar (28, 36) is raised along a back of said shovel head and includes a planar surface for contact with a foot of an operator to push said shovel head. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plan surface on the aft end of Handley (D506,111) as taught by Tummino et al. (5,401,071) so that a foot of an operator can conveniently push said shovel head without effort to a user.
RE claims 11-14 and 16-19, Regarding the specific structural dimension of the elements of shovel head includes a width measured between said side edges from about 2 inches to about 6 inches, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a desired structural dimension on the Handley’s shovel (D506,111) to be suitable for the user’s preferences and the intended application.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handley (D506,111) and Rosine et al. (7,581,771) in view of Tummino et al. (5,401,071), and further in view of Lesche (4,396,214).
Handley’s shovel (D506,111), as presented above, does not specifically show said handle includes a material selected from a group consisting of a steel and a fiberglass and said shovel head and said arcuate connector are one piece comprising 14-gauge carbon steel. However, Fig. 4 of Lesche’s shovel (4,396,214) teaches the handle is being made of 14-gauge carbon steel (see Col. 3, lines 47-53). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide 14-gauge carbon steel on the Handley (D506,111) as taught by Lesche (4,396,214).to provide a reliable and strong shovel to a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651