Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 16, 18, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0050978 A1) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0031065 A1) hereinafter Alexandros
1, MANOLAKOS teaches a method for sending a sounding reference signal (SRS), performed by a terminal and comprising: sending a sounding reference signal SRS for positioning based on discontinuous reception (DRX)-related target information [par 0114, 0116, As a second option, the location server can configure the UE to measure a selection of the PRS resources according to the DRX configuration (and up to UE implementation), or to meet a different set of, perhaps more relaxed, positioning performance criteria based on the amount of overlap of the DRX active times with the PRS resources. There may also be the same considerations for uplink reference signal (e.g., SRS) transmissions when DRX is configured. That is, the location server may configure the UE to transmit the uplink reference signals regardless of the DRX configuration, or to transmit the uplink reference signals with as much overlap with the DRX active times as is practicable];
MANOLAKOS fail to show the step of sending an SRS for positioning based on DRX-related target information comprises sending the SRS for positioning only in a DRX non-active time
In an analogous art Alexandros show the step of sending an SRS for positioning based on DRX-related target information comprises sending the SRS for positioning only in a DRX non-active time [par 0143, Subsequently, the UE 1204 transitions to an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state 1220 (e.g., RRC idle state 710 or RRC inactive state 730, respectively). This may be, for example, due to a command from the serving TRP (e.g., “TRP1” 1202), the expiration of a DRX timer, or the like. Before the UE 1204 switches from the RRC idle/inactive state 1220 back to the RRC connected state 1210, it uses the configured association between the SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) and the multiple RACH resources 1222 received during the previous RRC connected state 1210 to transmit RACH signal(s)/message(s). More specifically, the UE 1204 transmits the RACH message(s) (e.g., a Msg1 and Msg3, or a MsgA) to the TRPs 1202 using transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) on which the previous SRS-for-positioning (“SRS1”) was transmitted. The transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) may be the same as described above with reference to FIG. 8]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS and Alexandros because the known locations of the base stations. RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy. [Alexandros par 0114]
3, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros demonstrates the method according to claim 1, wherein the target information comprises first information, and the method further comprises: sending the first information to a location management device [MANOLAKOS, par 0113, the serving base station and/or the UE can inform the location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270) of the assigned DRX configuration. The serving base station can inform the location server using NR positioning protocol type A (NRPPa), and/or the UE can inform the location serving using LPP (or the corresponding NR protocol). The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE)],
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: DRX configuration information, configuration information of the SRS, a current period of the SRS, indication information for indicating sending or not sending the SRS in the DRX non-active time, indication information that the terminal has configured DRX, indication information that a DRX cycle of the terminal has changed, indication information that the terminal has cancelled DRX configuration, a relationship between sending of the SRS and wake-up information, and indication information that the SRS in the current period is not to be sent due to influence of a wake-up signal [par 0113 table 3, The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE) that would include the parameters in Table 3].
4, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target information comprises first information, and the method further comprises: receiving first information sent by a network-side device[par 0113, the serving base station and/or the UE can inform the location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270) of the assigned DRX configuration. The serving base station can inform the location server using NR positioning protocol type A (NRPPa), and/or the UE can inform the location serving using LPP (or the corresponding NR protocol). The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE)],
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: DRX configuration information, configuration information of the SRS, a current period of the SRS, indication information for indicating sending or not sending the SRS in the DRX non-active time, indication information that the terminal has configured DRX, indication information that a DRX cycle of the terminal has changed, indication information that the terminal has cancelled DRX configuration, a relationship between sending of the SRS and wake-up information, and indication information that the SRS in the current period is not to be sent due to influence of a wake-up signal; and/or the target information comprises second information[par 0113 table 3, The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE) that would include the parameters in Table 3],
and the method further comprises: receiving second information sent by a location management device, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: indication information for indicating sending or not sending the SRS in the DRX non-active time, a current period of the SRS, and a relationship between sending of the SRS and wake-up information[par 0129, The same considerations would also apply to uplink reference signal (e.g., SRS) transmissions when DRX is configured. For example, if the UE is configured to transmit SRS, but not all SRS occasions overlap with DRX ON durations, then the UE may only transmit the SRS that overlap with the ON durations according to the options described above with reference to downlink reception].
5, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros discloses he method according to claim 4, wherein the sending an SRS for positioning based on DRX-related target information comprises: in a slot in which the first information or the second information is received, or in an NT1 time after the first information or the second information is received, or in a next period of the SRS after a slot in which the first information or the second information is received, sending the SRS for positioning based on the DRX-related target information[par 0123, As a third option for how the UE can handle an overlap between PRS and DRX active time, if at least one occasion of a PRS resource is received within an ON duration (or within the active time) of the UE's DRX cycle, then the UE is expected to receive all PRS resources inside the current slot and any subsequent slots that contain PRS resources up to a slot for which no PRS resource is configured to be received].
6, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros coveys the method according to claim 3, wherein the DRX configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a DRX cycle,
configuration information of a DRX onDuration timer, configuration information of a DRX inactivity timer, configuration information of a DRX downlink retransmission timer, configuration information of a DRX _ uplink retransmission timer, configuration information of a DRX long-cycle start offset timer, configuration information of a DRX short cycle, configuration information of a DRX short-cycle timer, configuration information of a DRX downlink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip transmission time timer, configuration information of a DRX uplink HARQ round-trip transmission time timer, and configuration information of a DRX command media access control (MAC) control element(CE) [par 0103, 0113 table 3, However, the time that the UE is awake/active (the “active time’) is extended to time 514 based on the length of the DRX inactivity timer and the time at which the PDCCH is received. Specifically, when the PDDCH is received, the UE starts the DRX inactivity timer and stays in the active state until the expiration of that timer (which is reset each time a PDDCH is received during the active time). The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE) that would include the parameters in Table 3}.
7, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros displays the method according to claim 3, wherein the current period of the SRS is one of the following: T2 in a case that DRX has been configured; T3 in a case that the DRX cycle has changed; and T1 in a case that the DRX configuration has been cancelled; wherein T1, T2, and T3 are different from each other [par 0129, The same considerations would also apply to uplink reference signal (e.g., SRS) transmissions when DRX is configured. For example, if the UE is configured to transmit SRS, but not all SRS occasions overlap with DRX ON durations, then the UE may only transmit the SRS that overlap with the ON durations according to the options described above with reference to downlink reception].
8, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros describes the method according to claim 3, wherein the current period of the SRS is determined based on a function of a configuration periodicity of the SRS and/or a function of the DRX cycle [par 0116, for uplink reference signal (e.g., SRS) transmissions when DRX is configured. That is, the location server may configure the UE to transmit the uplink reference signals regardless of the DRX configuration, or to transmit the uplink reference signals with as much overlap with the DRX active times as is practicable].
16, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros reveals the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending radio resource control (RRC) state indicator information to a location management device[par 0113, The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE) that would include the parameters in Table 3. This IE may have the same format as the DRX-Configuration IE for RRC. The location server can then attempt to align the scheduled PRS resources with the UE's DRX active time so that positioning performance is not affected and low power consumption is achieved].
18, MANOLAKOS create a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor [par 0146, The methods, sequences and/or algorithms described in connection with the aspects disclosed herein may be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module may reside in random access memory (RAM), flash memory, read-only memory (ROM), erasable programmable ROM (EPROM), electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM), registers, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of storage medium known in the art],
wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented: sending a sounding reference signal (SRS) for positioning based on discontinuous reception (DRX)-related target information [par 0114, 0116, As a second option, the location server can configure the UE to measure a selection of the PRS resources according to the DRX configuration (and up to UE implementation), or to meet a different set of, perhaps more relaxed, positioning performance criteria based on the amount of overlap of the DRX active times with the PRS resources. There may also be the same considerations for uplink reference signal (e.g., SRS) transmissions when DRX is configured. That is, the location server may configure the UE to transmit the uplink reference signals regardless of the DRX configuration, or to transmit the uplink reference signals with as much overlap with the DRX active times as is practicable].
MANOLAKS fail to show the step of sending an SRS for positioning based on DRX-related target information comprises sending the SRS for positioning only in a DRX non-active time
In an analogous art Alexandros show the step of sending an SRS for positioning based on DRX-related target information comprises sending the SRS for positioning only in a DRX non-active time[par 0143, Subsequently, the UE 1204 transitions to an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state 1220 (e.g., RRC idle state 710 or RRC inactive state 730, respectively). This may be, for example, due to a command from the serving TRP (e.g., “TRP1” 1202), the expiration of a DRX timer, or the like. Before the UE 1204 switches from the RRC idle/inactive state 1220 back to the RRC connected state 1210, it uses the configured association between the SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) and the multiple RACH resources 1222 received during the previous RRC connected state 1210 to transmit RACH signal(s)/message(s). More specifically, the UE 1204 transmits the RACH message(s) (e.g., a Msg1 and Msg3, or a MsgA) to the TRPs 1202 using transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) on which the previous SRS-for-positioning (“SRS1”) was transmitted. The transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) may be the same as described above with reference to FIG. 8]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS and Alexandros because the known locations of the base stations. RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy. [Alexandros par 0114]
20, MANOLAKOS discloses a network-side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor [par 0146, A software module may reside in random access memory (RAM), flash memory, read-only memory (ROM), erasable programmable ROM (EPROM), electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM), registers, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, or any other form of storage medium known in the art. An exemplary storage medium is coupled to the processor such that the processor can read information from, and write information to, the storage medium],
wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented: sending first information to a terminal, a location management device, or a neighboring cell [par 0007, 0113, a method of wireless communication performed by a location server includes receiving, from a UE operating in a DRX mode or a base Station serving the UE, a configuration of the DRX mode, and transmitting, to a second base station, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration to use for transmission of PRS to the UE. The serving base station and/or the UE can inform the location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270) of the assigned DRX configuration. The serving base station can inform the location server using NR positioning protocol
type A (NRPPa), and/or the UE can inform the location serving using LPP (or the corresponding NR protocol). The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE) that would include the parameters in Table 3. This IE may have the same format as the DRX-Configuration IE for RRC. The location server can then attempt to align the scheduled PRS resources with the UE's DRX active time so that positioning performance is not affected and low power consumption is achieved]
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information, configuration information of a sounding reference signal (SRS), a current period of the SRS, indication information for indicating sending or not sending the SRS in a DRX non-active time, indication information that the terminal has configured DRX, indication information that a DRX cycle of the terminal has changed, indication information that the terminal has cancelled DRX configuration, a relationship between sending of the SRS and wake-up information, and indication information that the SRS in the current period is not to be sent due to influence of a wake-up signal[par 0113 table 3, The assigned DRX configuration would be communicated to the location server in a new information element (IE) that would include the parameters in Table 3];
MANOLAKOS fail to show the first information is used to determine the terminal the SRS in the DRX non-active time; and/or receiving second information sent by a location management device, wherein the second information indication information for indicating sending an SRS for positioning in a DRX non-active time
In an analogous art Alexandros show the first information is used to determine the terminal the SRS in the DRX non-active time; and/or receiving second information sent by a location management device, wherein the second information indication information for indicating sending an SRS for positioning in a DRX non-active time[par 0143, Subsequently, the UE 1204 transitions to an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state 1220 (e.g., RRC idle state 710 or RRC inactive state 730, respectively). This may be, for example, due to a command from the serving TRP (e.g., “TRP1” 1202), the expiration of a DRX timer, or the like. Before the UE 1204 switches from the RRC idle/inactive state 1220 back to the RRC connected state 1210, it uses the configured association between the SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) and the multiple RACH resources 1222 received during the previous RRC connected state 1210 to transmit RACH signal(s)/message(s). More specifically, the UE 1204 transmits the RACH message(s) (e.g., a Msg1 and Msg3, or a MsgA) to the TRPs 1202 using transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) on which the previous SRS-for-positioning (“SRS1”) was transmitted. The transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) may be the same as described above with reference to FIG. 8]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS and Alexandros because the known locations of the base stations. RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy. [Alexandros par 0114]
21. MANOLAKOS and Alexandros creates the method according to claim 1, MANOLAKOS fail to show the method further comprises: sending the SRS for positioning based on a radio resource control (RRC) status.
In an analogous art Alexandros show the method further comprises: sending the SRS for positioning based on a radio resource control (RRC) status [par 0143, Subsequently, the UE 1204 transitions to an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state 1220 (e.g., RRC idle state 710 or RRC inactive state 730, respectively). This may be, for example, due to a command from the serving TRP (e.g., “TRP1” 1202), the expiration of a DRX timer, or the like. Before the UE 1204 switches from the RRC idle/inactive state 1220 back to the RRC connected state 1210. More specifically, the UE 1204 transmits the RACH message(s) (e.g., a Msg1 and Msg3, or a MsgA) to the TRPs 1202 using transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) on which the previous SRS-for-positioning (“SRS1”) was transmitted. The transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) may be the same as described above with reference to FIG. 8].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS and Alexandros because the known locations of the base stations. RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy. [Alexandros par 0114]
22. MANOLAKOS and Alexandros describe the method according to claim 21, MANOLAKAS fail to show the step of sending the SRS for positioning based on an RRC status comprises: sending the SRS for positioning only in an RRC connected state, or sending the SRS for positioning in an RRC non-connected state.
In an analogous art Alexandros show the step of sending the SRS for positioning based on an RRC status comprises: sending the SRS for positioning only in an RRC connected state, or sending the SRS for positioning in an RRC non-connected state [par 0143, Subsequently, the UE 1204 transitions to an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state 1220 (e.g., RRC idle state 710 or RRC inactive state 730, respectively). This may be, for example, due to a command from the serving TRP (e.g., “TRP1” 1202), the expiration of a DRX timer, or the like. Before the UE 1204 switches from the RRC idle/inactive state 1220 back to the RRC connected state 1210, it uses the configured association between the SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) and the multiple RACH resources 1222 received during the previous RRC connected state 1210 to transmit RACH signal(s)/message(s). More specifically, the UE 1204 transmits the RACH message(s) (e.g., a Msg1 and Msg3, or a MsgA) to the TRPs 1202 using transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) on which the previous SRS-for-positioning (“SRS1”) was transmitted. The transmission properties inherited from the associated SRS resource 1212 (or SRS resource set) may be the same as described above with reference to FIG. 8]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS and Alexandros because the known locations of the base stations. RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy. [Alexandros par 0114]
4. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0050978 A1) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0031065 A1) hereinafter Alexandros in further view of KIM et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0166576 A1).
10. MANOLAKOS and Alexandros discloses the method according to claim 9, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros fail to show wherein the sending the SRS only in the DRX non-active time comprises: if a time window for sending the SRS partially overlaps a time window of the DRX active time, cancelling sending the SRS in an overlapping portion.
In analogous art Kim show wherein the sending the SRS only in the DRX non- active time comprises: if a time window for sending the SRS partially overlaps a time window of the DRX active time, cancelling sending the SRS in an overlapping portion [par 0137, an inactive time in the downlink between the UE and the eNB. On the other hand, the inactive time may also be configured in the uplink. If the inactive time window is configured in the uplink, the configuration may be performed separately from the downlink. The UE stops transmitting channel state information (CSI) and a sounding reference signal (SRS) within the inactive time window in the uplink. If there is HARQ feedback triggered by the eNB, the HARQ feedback is suspended during the inactive time].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS, Alexandros, and Kim because method and an apparatus for effectively performing paging in a next-generation mobile communication system.
5. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0050978 A1) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0031065 A1) hereinafter Alexandros in view of KIM et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0037505 A1).
12. MANOLAKOS and Alexandros disclose the method according to claim 1, MANOLAKOS fail to show wherein behaviors are different for an aperiodic SRS, a periodic SRS, and a semi-static SRS.
In an analogous art Kim show wherein behaviors are different for an aperiodic SRS, a periodic SRS, and a semi-static SRS [par 0249, A UE configured for Aperiodic SRS transmission upon detection of a positive SRS request in slot #n shall commence SRS transmission in the first slot satisfying slot #n+k, k2x; where xX is fixed in specification or configured by gNB based on UE capability]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS and Kim because to provide a method and apparatus for transmitting/receiving downlink data in a next generation communication system.
6. Claim(s) 14, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0050978 A1) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0031065 A1) hereinafter Alexandros in view of Siomina et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0223085 A1).
14, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros discloses the method according to claim 1,MANOLAKOS and Alexandros fail to show wherein a periodicity of the SRS in a radio resource control RRC non-connected state is different from a periodicity of the SRS in an RRC connected state
In an analogous art Siomina show wherein a periodicity of the SRS in a radio resource control RRC non-connected state is different from a periodicity of the SRS in an RRC connected state [par 0005,0177, 0178, Further, the durations for the long and short DRX cycles are configured by the RRC. The transition between the short and long DRX cycles may be determined by the UE based on an activity timer, or by the eNodeB MAC commands the obtained or adapted parameter(s) may comprise one or more of an active state duration (e.g., .tau..sub.Active, which is described later in more detail), an active state periodicity, a usage of short intermediate cycles, a configuration of short cycles, an offset or a reference time point for a timer controlling low-activity state configuration. Adapting the low-activity state configuration (box 56-1) may comprise, for example, extending the active time (box 56-1A), increasing the active state periodicity (box 56- 1B), or configuring shorter intermediate cycles (box 56-1C)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS, Alexandros and Siomina because to provide a system and method of meeting a pre-defined requirement for UL measurement when low-activity state configuration is used.
15, MANOLAKOS, Alexandros, and Siomina convey the method according to claim 14, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros fail to show wherein the periodicity of the SRS in the RRC non- connected state is greater than the periodicity of the SRS in the RRC connected state.
In an analogous art Siomina show wherein the periodicity of the SRS in the RRC non-connected state is greater than the periodicity of the SRS in the RRC connected state[par 0177, 0178, the obtained or adapted parameter(s) may comprise one or more of an active state duration (e.g., .tau..sub.Active, which is described later in more detail), an active state periodicity, a usage of short intermediate cycles, a configuration of short cycles, an offset or a reference time point for a timer controlling low-activity state configuration. Adapting the low-activity state configuration (box 56-1) may comprise, for example, extending the active time (box 56-1A), increasing the active state periodicity (box 56-1B), or configuring shorter intermediate cycles (box 56-1C)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS and Siomina because to provide a system and method of meeting a pre-defined requirement for UL measurement when low-activity state configuration is used.
7. Claim(s) 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0050978 A1) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0031065 A1) hereinafter Alexandros in view of Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0067289 A1).
17, MANOLAKOS and Alexandros creates the method according to claim 16, MANOLAKOS fail to show wherein the RRC state indicator information comprises at least one of the following: indication information for indicating the location management device to cancel, reconfigure, or re-request measurement on the SRS by a neighboring cell, relationship information between sending of the SRS and an RRC connected state, and RRC connection state information.
In an analogous art Zhu show wherein the RRC state indicator information comprises at least one of the following: indication information for indicating the location management device to cancel, reconfigure, or re-request measurement on the SRS by a neighboring cell, relationship information between sending of the SRS and an RRC connected state, and RRC connection state information[par 0064, Moreover, because the SRS resource is configured with RRC signals, it usually has a long delay (about 10 milliseconds). For example, when gNB needs to update the SRS parameters, such as SRS-SpatialRelationinfo, based on the beam measurement report from the UE, gNB has to reconfigure the SRS parameters with RRC signals, which incurs tens of millisecond delay}.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of MANOLAKOS, Alexandros, and Zhu because to improve both the delay and the accuracy of the beam management.
Response to Arguments
Neither scheme is the same as the scheme in claim 1 of “sending the SRS for positioning only in a DRX non-active time”. That is, MANOLAKOS et al. does not disclose the above feature in claim 1 of the present application.
Based on the above analysis, it is evident that when a person skilled in the art considers the impact of DRX on SRS transmission, they tend to transmit SRS in the DRX active time, which is significantly different from the scheme of “sending the SRS for positioning only in a DRX non- active time” in the amended claim 1.
The prior art does not provide such teaching. As a result, claim 1 is allowable for at least these reasons. Independent claims 18 and 20 include similar features, and are also allowable for at least similar reasons, as claim 1. Dependent claims3-8, 10, 12, 14-17 and 21-22 depend from one of independent claim 1 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reasons as the respective independent claim.
The applicant arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468