DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on May 22, 2026 has been entered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 15 and 18. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-16, 18 and 20-24 remain pending, have been examined, and currently stand rejected.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continuation
This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 16/681,733, filed November 12, 2019, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application Serial No.16/265,974, filed February 1, 2019. See MPEP §201.07. In accordance with MPEP §609.02 A.2 and MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), the Examiner has reviewed and considered the prior art cited in the Parent Applications. Also, in accordance with MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), all documents cited or considered ‘of record’ in the Parent Applications are now considered cited or ‘of record’ in this application. Additionally, Applicant(s) are reminded that a listing of the information cited or ‘of record’ in the Parent Applications need not be resubmitted in this application unless Applicant(s) desire the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this application. See MPEP §609.02 A.2.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/28/2026 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Non-Functional Language:
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15: The claim 1, 8 and 15 phrase which recites “wherein the virtual account number has an amount restriction assigned thereto such that the transaction can only be processed by a merchant server if the transaction is for an amount at or below the amount restriction”, found in the generating step, is non-functional descriptive material as it only describes, at least in part, attributes associated with the virtual account number. The fact that the virtual account number has an amount restriction assigned thereto fails to affect how any of the positively recited steps are performed. For example, there is no indication that the virtual account number is generated differently simply because it is assigned this particular restriction. Additionally, applicant is not positively reciting a step, or steps, where an amount restriction is assigned to the virtual account number. Likewise, applicant is not positively reciting a step where the transaction is processed, or not processed, based on this restriction.
It has been held that non-functional descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.
Intended Use Language:
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15: The claim 1, 8 and 15 phrase which recites “to process the transaction using the transaction identifier, the virtual account number, the expiration date, and the CVV,” found in the transmitting step, is merely a recited intended use/result of why the processor transmits this data/information to the merchant server. Applicant is not positively reciting a step of processing the transaction using the transaction identifier, the virtual account number, the expiration date, and the CVV.
These phrases are given little to no patentable weight because the limitation, or portion thereof, does not claim the functions as being positively recited actions or functions, and/or they do not add any meaning or purpose to the associated manipulative step(s). See MPEP 2103 C and 2111.04. Simply because the limitation recites something as being “for … [performing a specific functionality]”, etc. does not mean that the functions are required to be performed, or are actually performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad (US 2016/0379217 A1) in view of Faith et al. (US 2019/0066069 A1) (“Faith”) in view of Dixon et al. (US 2006/0253458 A1) (“Dixon”).
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15: Hammad discloses:
Claim 1: A method, comprising:
Claim 8: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a processor of a server (See at least Hammad [0083-0085]), cause the processor to:
Claim 15: A computing apparatus comprising:
a processor (See at least Hammad [0083-0084] “one or more processors 81”); and
a memory storing instructions that (See at least Hammad [0083-0085] “Computer-readable medium 82”), when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
receiving, by a processor of a server from a mobile native application of a merchant executing on a compute device of an accountholder of a contactless card: (i) a merchant identifier of a merchant associated with the mobile native application, (ii) a transaction identifier of a transaction, and (iii) encrypted data generated by the contactless card and sent to the compute device via a near-field communication (NFC) exchange, wherein the merchant application comprises an online application (See at least Hammad [0013-0014]; [0034-0036]; [0042-0043]; [0047]; [0057-0058]; [0060-0061]; [0063-0064]; [0068-0069]; [0087]; [0100]; Fig. 4 step 182. Where a processor of a server (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) receives from a mobile native application of a merchant (i.e., from data and codes that direct operation) executing on a compute device of an accountholder of a contactless card (i.e., executing on computing equipment of a user/consumer of a portable consumer device (e.g., a contactless card). Note that examiner is interpreting the combination of Hammad’s user’s computer 10 and the verification token 40 to be the functional equivalent of the claimed “compute device of an accountholder of a contactless card.”): (i) a merchant identifier of a merchant associated with the mobile native application (i.e., merchant identifier), (ii) a transaction identifier of a transaction (i.e., transaction identifier), and (iii) encrypted data (i.e., encrypted identification information, e.g., a variable datum) generated by the contactless card (i.e., by the portable consumer device, e.g., a contactless card) and sent to the compute device (i.e., to the verification token, which is part of the user’s computing equipment) via a near-field communication (NFC) exchange between the contactless card and the compute device (e.g., by waving the portable consumer device near the reader of the verification token).);
accessing, by the processor, a key for the contactless card maintained by the server (See at least Hammad [0089]; [0100]; also see [0035]; [0037] and [0069] which indicate the use of contactless cards. Where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) accesses a key for the contactless card (i.e., a decryption key, e.g., a decryption key corresponding to an encryption key assigned beforehand that can be used for contactless card transactions) maintained by the server (i.e., maintained by Validation Entity 80).);
verifying, by the processor, the encrypted data by decrypting the encrypted data based at least in part on the key for the contactless card maintained by the server (See at least Hammad [0089]; [0100]; also see [0035]; [0037] and [0069] which indicate the use of contactless cards. Where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) verifies the encrypted data by decrypting the encrypted data (i.e., by decrypting the encrypted identification information) based at least in part on the key for the contactless card (i.e., based on the decryption key that can be used for contactless card transaction) maintained by the server (i.e., maintained by Validation Entity 80).);
generating, by the processor based on the verification of the encrypted data: a virtual account number (See at least Hammad [0042-0043]; [0087]; [0091-0092]. Where a virtual account number (i.e., a substitute account number) is generated by the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) based on the verification of the encrypted data (i.e., based on applying at least one validation test to the decrypted information).); and
transmitting, by the processor, the merchant identifier, the transaction identifier, the virtual account number, the expiration date, and the CVV to the merchant server associated with the merchant to process the transaction using the transaction identifier, the virtual account number, the expiration date, and the CVV (See at least Hammad [0014]; [0036]; [0042-0043]; [0045]; [0048]; [0064]. Where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) transmits (i.e., sends/forwards) the merchant identifier, the transaction identifier, the virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number), the expiration date (i.e., expiration date of the card), and the CVV (i.e., device verification value (dCVV2)) to the merchant server associated with the merchant (i.e., to the merchant, e.g., to merchant website 20) to process the transaction using the transaction identifier, the virtual account number, the expiration date, and the CVV.).
As indicated above, Hammad discloses generating a virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number) based on verifying data/information. Hammad [0042-0043]; [0087]; [0091-0092]. Hammad further discloses that the validation entity (i.e., server) may obtain a dCVV2 value (i.e., CVV) by generating it from pre-stored data, or by receiving it from payment processing network or issuing bank. Hammad [0048]. Hammad also discloses that the validation entity (i.e., server) may send the merchant all of the information it needs to complete a transaction, such as shipping address, card expiration date, card holder name, etc. Hammad [0094]. In addition, Hammad shows that it was known to provide a substitute account number, expiration date and dCVV2 values in order to complete a transaction. Hammad differs from the claimed invention, in part, because Hammad does not explicitly disclose generating (ii) an expiration date associated with the virtual account number, and (iii) a card verification value (CVV) associated with the virtual account number. Faith, on the other hand, teaches generating (ii) an expiration date associated with the virtual account number, and (iii) a card verification value (CVV) associated with the virtual account number (See at least Faith [0020]; [0035]; [0044-0046]; [0052]. Where (ii) an expiration date (i.e., new/second expiration date) associated with the virtual account number (i.e., associated with the new/second account number), and (iii) a card verification value (CVV) (i.e., CVV) associated with the virtual account number (i.e., associated with the new/second account number) is generated by the processor.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method, which generates a virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number) based on verifying data/information, and obtains and provides all of the information needed to complete a transaction, to include the teachings of Faith. One would have been motivated to include these features in order to make it more difficult for an unauthorized person to obtain numbers that can be used to conduct fraudulent transactions (Faith [0004]; [0007]).
Hammad also fails to explicitly disclose wherein the virtual account number has an amount restriction assigned thereto such that the transaction can only be processed by a merchant server if the transaction is for an amount at or below the amount restriction.
Dixon, on the other hand, teaches wherein the virtual account number has an amount restriction assigned thereto such that the transaction can only be processed by a merchant server if the transaction is for an amount at or below the amount restriction (See at least Dixon [0259]. Dixon teaches wherein the virtual account number (i.e., virtual credit card number) has an amount restriction (i.e., a maximum charge) assigned thereto such that the transaction can only be processed by a merchant server if the transaction is for an amount at or below the amount restriction.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method, which generates a virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number) based on verifying data/information, and obtains and provides all of the information needed to complete a transaction, to include the teachings of Dixon. One would have been motivated to include these features in order to only allow a small amount to be charged to a virtual credit card number when the user is performing a transaction on a suspect e-commerce site (Dixon [0259]).
Examiner also notes that the phrase/limitation which recites “wherein the virtual account number has an amount restriction assigned thereto such that the transaction can only be processed by a merchant server if the transaction is for an amount at or below the amount restriction” is non-functional descriptive material as it only describes, at least in part, attributes associated with the virtual account number. The fact that the virtual account number has an amount restriction assigned thereto fails to affect how any of the positively recited steps are performed. For example, there is no indication that the virtual account number is generated differently simply because it is assigned this particular restriction. Additionally, applicant is not positively reciting a step, or steps, where an amount restriction is assigned to the virtual account number. Likewise, applicant is not positively reciting a step where the transaction is processed, or not processed, based on this restriction. It has been held that non-functional descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad in view of Faith in view of Dixon, as applied above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 2014/0032419 A1) (“Anderson”).Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16: The combination of Hammad, Faith and Dixon discloses the method of claim 1, the computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, and the computing apparatus of claim 15. Hammad further discloses wherein the expiration date associated with the virtual account number is the same as an expiration date of the contactless card (See at least Hammad [0036]; [0094].).
Hammad discloses the use of a contactless card to conduct the transaction. Hammad [0035]; [0037]; [0069]. Hammad also describes generating a virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number) based on verifying various information (i.e., based on applying at least one validation test). Hammad [0042-0043]; [0087]; [0091-0092]. However, Hammad does not explicitly disclose determining, by the processor, that the contactless card has been used to make a previous purchase with the merchant, wherein the virtual account number is generated based on the determination that the contactless card has previously been used to make a purchase with the merchant. Anderson, on the other hand, teaches determining, by the processor, that the contactless card has been used to make a previous purchase with the merchant, wherein the virtual account number is generated based on the determination that the contactless card has previously been used to make a purchase with the merchant (See at least Anderson [0057]; [0064]. Where the processor (i.e., processor of the merchant) determines that the contactless card (i.e., card) has been used to make a previous purchase with the merchant (i.e., used for the customer’s previous purchases with the merchant), wherein the virtual account number (i.e., redacted token) is generated based on the determination that the contactless card (i.e., card) has previously been used to make a purchase with the merchant (i.e., has been used for the customer’s previous purchases with the merchant).). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method of conditionally generating a virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number) based on verified information, to include the teachings of Anderson, in order to present various partially concealed payment options to the customer during a transaction (Anderson [0057-0058]; [0064]). Additionally, presenting and using a partially concealed payment option helps to protect the customers payment information from thieves (Anderson [0051]; [0066-0067]).
Hammad also fails to explicitly disclose wherein the virtual account number has a time restriction assigned thereto such that the virtual account number can only be processed by the merchant server if the transaction is within a predefined time.
Dixon, on the other hand, further teaches wherein the virtual account number has a time restriction assigned thereto such that the virtual account number can only be processed by the merchant server if the transaction is within a predefined time (See at least Dixon [0259]. Dixon teaches wherein the virtual account number (i.e., virtual credit card number) has a time restriction (i.e., length of time it is valid, e.g., 24 hours) assigned thereto such that the virtual account number can only be processed by the merchant server if the transaction is within a predefined time.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method, which generates a virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number) based on verifying data/information, and obtains and provides all of the information needed to complete a transaction, to include the teachings of Dixon. One would have been motivated to include these features in order to place a time restriction on a virtual credit card number when the user is performing a transaction on a suspect e-commerce site (Dixon [0259]).
Examiner also notes that the phrase/limitation which recites “wherein the virtual account number has a time restriction assigned thereto such that the virtual account number can only be processed by the merchant server if the transaction is within a predefined time” is non-functional descriptive material as it only describes, at least in part, attributes associated with the virtual account number. The fact that the virtual account number has a time restriction assigned thereto fails to affect how any of the positively recited steps are performed. For example, there is no indication that the virtual account number is generated differently simply because it is assigned this particular restriction. Additionally, applicant is not positively reciting a step, or steps, where a time restriction is assigned to the virtual account number. Likewise, applicant is not positively reciting a step where the transaction is processed, or not processed, based on this restriction. It has been held that non-functional descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.
Claims 4, 6, 11, 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad in view of Faith in view of Dixon, as applied above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0255456 A1) (“Lee”)
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 18: The combination of Hammad, Faith and Dixon discloses the method of claim 1, the computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, and the computing apparatus of claim 15. Hammad further discloses determining, by the processor, that a device identifier received from the compute device of the accountholder is associated with a user account associated with the contactless card, wherein the device identifier comprises a static unique identifier of the compute device (See at least Hammad [0042-0043]; [0070]; [0098-0099]; [0120]. Where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) determines that a device identifier (i.e., serial number of the verification token) received from the compute device of the accountholder (i.e., received from the verification token, which is part of the user’s computing equipment) is associated with a user account associated with the contactless card (i.e., is associated with the user’s password protected management account associated with the device/card), wherein the device identifier (i.e., serial number of the verification token) comprises a static unique identifier of the compute device (i.e., a serial number = a static unique identifier).).
Hammad further discloses that the validation entity (i.e., the server) may validate the serial number of the verification token prior to generating and/or providing a substitute account number. Hammad [0051]; [0070]; [0088]; [0100]. Hammad differs slightly from the claimed invention because Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual account number is generated based on the determination that the device identifier is associated with the contactless card.
Lee, on the other hand, teaches that it was known in the art to generate a credential based on a determination that a device identifier is associated with an account (See at least Lee [0023]; [0127-0129]. Lee teaches generating a credential (e.g., a certificate) based on a determination that a device identifier (i.e., device identification information) is associated with an account (i.e., indicated by being on the list of approved devices).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method, which validates a serial number prior to generating and/or providing a substitute account number, to include wherein the virtual account number is generated based on the determination that the device identifier is associated with the contactless card, as taught/suggested by Lee. One would have been motivated to include these features in order to ensure that only approved devices are provided a credential (e.g., a payment credential/number). Lee [0128].
Regarding Claims 6, 13 and 20: The combination of Hammad, Faith and Dixon discloses the method of claim 1, the computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, and the computing apparatus of claim 15. Hammad further discloses:
receiving, by the processor, [an identifier] of the compute device of the accountholder (See at least Hammad [0051]; [0070]; [0098-0099]. Where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) receives an identifier of the compute device of the accountholder (i.e., a serial number of the verification token, which is part of the user’s computing equipment) fingerprint (i.e., serial number).); and
determining, by the processor, that the [identifier] matches a known [identifier] associated with the contactless card (See at least Hammad [0051]; [0070]; [0088]; [0098-0099]; [0102]; [0120]. Where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) determines that the identifier (i.e., serial number of the verification token) matches a known identifier (i.e., a known serial number, e.g., a serial number in a database, a serial number registered in a user’s management account) associated with the contactless card.).
Hammad further discloses that the validation entity (i.e., the server) may validate the identifier (i.e., the serial number of the verification token) prior to generating and/or providing a substitute account number. Hammad [0051]; [0070]; [0088]; [0100]. Hammad differs from the claimed invention because Hammad does not explicitly disclose where the identifier is a software fingerprint of the compute device; or wherein the virtual account number is generated based on the determination that the software fingerprint matches the known software fingerprint.
Lee, on the other hand, teaches where the identifier is a software fingerprint of the compute device (See at least Lee [0127] “device identification information associated with the personal computing device may be any information sufficient to generate a device "fingerprint,"”). Lee also teaches that it was known in the art to generate a credential based on a determination that a device identifier matches a known identifier (See at least Lee [0023]; [0127-0129]. Lee teaches generating a credential (e.g., a certificate) based on a determination that a device identifier (i.e., device identification information, e.g., a device fingerprint) matches a known identifier (i.e., matches an identifier on an approved list of devices).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method, which validates identifier (i.e., a serial number) prior to generating and/or providing a substitute account number, to include where the identifier is a software fingerprint of the compute device; and wherein the virtual account number is generated based on the determination that the software fingerprint matches the known software fingerprint, as taught/suggested by Lee. One would have been motivated to include these features in order to ensure that only approved devices are provided a credential (e.g., a payment credential/number). Lee [0128].
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad in view of Faith in view of Dixon, as applied above, and further in view of Han (US 2009/0292642 A1).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14: The combination of Hammad, Faith and Dixon discloses the method of claim 1, the computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, and the computing apparatus of claim 15. Hammad further discloses:
receiving, by the processor from the compute device of the accountholder, authentication information for a user account associated with the contactless card (See at least Hammad [0042-0043]; [0051]; [0070]; [0087]; [0090]; [0106]. Where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) receives, from the compute device of the accountholder (i.e., from the verification token), authentication information for a user account (e.g., a serial number, fingerprint and/or variable datum).); and
verifying, by the processor, the authentication information for the user account, wherein the virtual account number is generated based on the verification of the authentication information (See at least Hammad [0051]; [0070]; [0087-0088]; [0090]; [0100-0102]; [0120]. Where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) verifies the authentication information for the user account (e.g., a serial number, fingerprint and/or variable datum), wherein the virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number) is generated based on the verification of the authentication information (i.e., indicated by the fact that the identification information (e.g., serial number, fingerprint and/or variable datum) passes the one or more validation tests).).
In addition to the above described authentication procedures, Hammad further discloses where the validation token (i.e., compute device of the accountholder) receives and validates a username and a password. Hammad [0072-0077]. The validation token validates this authentication information prior to performing subsequent actions related to the user’s account. Id. However, Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the authentication information [received by the processor] comprises one or more of: (i) a username and a password, (ii) biometric credentials.
Han, on the other hand, teaches wherein the authentication information comprises one or more of: (i) a username and a password, (ii) biometric credentials (See at least Han [0071-0072]; [0078-0079]. Where the processor (i.e., credit facility) receives authentication information for a user (i.e., customer) account, the authentication information comprising one or more of: (i) a username and a password (i.e., of user ids and passwords), (ii) biometric credentials (i.e., biometric information).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method of authenticating/validating information pertaining to a user, and/or their contactless card, and generating a virtual account number (i.e., substitute account number) based on the authentication/validation, to include the teachings of Han. One would have been motivated to include a username, password and/or biometric credentials in the authentication information received at the processor in order to confirm the customer’s identity prior to determining a payment identifier (e.g., a one-time use number in the same format as a credit card) (Han [0072]).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad in view of Faith in view of Dixon, as applied above, and further in view of Lavender et al. (US 2017/0272253 A1) (“Lavender”).
Regarding Claim 21: The combination of Hammad, Faith and Dixon discloses the method of claim 1. Hammad discloses where a processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) receives from a merchant application (i.e., from data and codes that direct operation) executing on a compute device of the accountholder (i.e., verification token) encrypted data (i.e., encrypted identification information). Hammad [0014]; [0035-0036]; [0042-0043]; [0057]; [0068]; [0087]; [0100]; Fig. 4 step 182. Hammad further discloses where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) verifies the encrypted data by decrypting the encrypted data (i.e., by decrypting the encrypted identification information) based at least in part on a key for the contactless card (i.e., based on the decryption key that can be used for contactless card transaction). Hammad [0089]; [0100]; also see [0035]; [0037] and [0069]. However, Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the contactless card generates the encrypted data based on a key stored by the contactless card.
Lavender, on the other hand, teaches wherein the contactless card generates the encrypted data based on a key stored by the contactless card (See at least Lavender [0053] “the sender device 110 may alternatively be in the form of a payment card”; [0104]; [0112]; [0124]. Where the contactless card (i.e., sender device, e.g., payment card) generates the encrypted data (i.e., cryptogram) based on a key (i.e., based on a cryptographic key) stored by the contactless card.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method of receiving and verifying encrypted data, to include the teachings of Lavender, in order to validate that the user agreed to the interaction and that the interaction details have not been changed (Lavender [0009]).
Regarding Claim 22: The combination of Hammad, Faith, Dixon and Lavender discloses the method of claim 21. Hammad further discloses wherein the verification of the encrypted data further comprises determining, by the processor, that the decryption of the encrypted data yields a customer identifier (See at least Hammad [0042-0043]; [0087]; [0089]; [0100]; [0106]; also see [0035]; [0037] and [0069] which indicate the use of contactless cards. Wherein the verification of the encrypted data (i.e., verification of the encrypted identification information) further comprises determining, by the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80), that the decryption of the encrypted data yields a customer identifier (i.e., digital magnetic fingerprint).).
Regarding Claim 23: The combination of Hammad, Faith, Dixon and Lavender discloses the method of claim 22. Hammad further discloses wherein the verification of the encrypted data further comprises determining, by the processor, that the customer identifier matches a stored customer identifier associated with the contactless card (See at least Hammad [0042-0043]; [0087]; [0089-0090]; [0100]; [0106]; also see [0035]; [0037] and [0069] which indicate the use of contactless cards. Wherein the verification of the encrypted data (i.e., verification of the encrypted identification information) further comprises determining (e.g., via a comparison), by the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80), that the customer identifier (i.e., digital magnetic fingerprint) matches a stored customer identifier (i.e., matches a stored copy of the digital fingerprint) associated with the contactless card (i.e., associated with portable consumer device (e.g., a contactless card)).).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammad in view of Faith in view of Dixon, as applied above, and further in view of Ecker et al. (US 2019/0188705 A1) (“Ecker”).
Regarding Claim 24: The combination of Hammad, Faith and Dixon discloses the method of claim 1. Hammad discloses where the processor (i.e., processor of Validation Entity 80) verifies the encrypted data by decrypting the encrypted data (i.e., by decrypting the encrypted identification information) based at least in part on the key for the contactless card (i.e., based on the decryption key that can be used for contactless card transaction) maintained by the server (i.e., maintained by Validation Entity 80). Hammad [0089]; [0100]; also see [0035]; [0037] and [0069]. Hammad further discloses a desire to ensure that the user/consumer was in possession of the card at the time the purchase was made. Hammad [0049]. However, Hammad does not explicitly disclose wherein the verification of the encrypted data further comprises determining, by the processor based on the decryption of the encrypted data, that the contactless card generated the encrypted data.
Ecker, on the other hand, teaches determining, by the processor based on the decryption of the encrypted data, that the contactless card generated the encrypted data (See at least Ecker [0033]; [0083]; [0085]. Where the processor (i.e., issuer server) determines based on the decryption of the encrypted data (i.e., based on the decryption of the online cryptogram ARQC) that the contactless card (i.e., payment card, e.g., contactless card) generated the encrypted data (i.e., generated the online cryptogram ARQC).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammad’s method of verifying the encrypted data by decrypting the encrypted data, to include the teachings of Ecker, in order to determine that the payment card generated the online cryptogram ARQC, thus ensuring that the user is in possession of the card at the time of the transaction (Ecker [0085]).
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation
Applicant argues that the office has labeled specific language in claims 1, 8, and 15 as non-functional and subsequently disregarding it during the prior art analysis. Amendment, p. 9. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this remark. While the Examiner has identified certain claim elements as non-functional, none of these claim elements have been disregarded during the prior art analysis. Examiner has provided prior art for all of the elements recited in the claims, including those identified as non-functional.
Applicant argues that there is no legal basis for “arbitrarily” selecting which portions of the claim are functional. Amendment, p. 9. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The analysis provided under the Claim Interpretation section, seen above, pertains to identifying the scope of the claim and identifying which language further limits, or does not limit, the claimed invention. Properly determining the scope of the claim is covered by a multitude of case law cited in the MPEP. See e.g., MPEP 2111.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the functional relationship of "executing on a compute device of an accountholder of a contactless card ... ," "a mobile native application of a merchant application executing on a compute device," and “clarifying that the information defined in (i), (ii), and (iii) is sent to the compute device via NFC exchange” were found to be persuasive. Amendment, p. 10. In view of applicant’s arguments and the claim amendments, Examiner has removed these elements from the claim interpretation section.
Applicant argues that the feature/limitation “wherein the virtual account number has an amount restriction assigned thereto such that the transaction can only be processed by a merchant server if the transaction is for an amount at or below the amount restriction” is also functional. Amendment, pp. 10-11. Applicant alleges that this limitation is functional because a digital wallet or other program that receives and manages the virtual account number will be bound to the amount restriction. Id. This argument is unpersuasive. Applicant is describing an intended use of an amount restriction, not a further limitation on how the virtual account number is generated. As indicated above, the fact that the virtual account number has an amount restriction assigned thereto fails to affect how any of the positively recited steps are performed. For example, there is no indication that the virtual account number is generated differently simply because it is assigned this particular restriction. Additionally, applicant is not positively reciting a step, or steps, where an amount restriction is assigned to the virtual account number. Likewise, applicant is not positively reciting a step where the transaction is processed, or not processed, based on this restriction.
Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103 Applicant argues that Hammad differs from the claimed invention because the NFC capability of the user’s device is not built into the user’s device. Amendment, pp. 13-14. This argument is unpersuasive. Examiner initially notes that the claimed invention does not include a compute device of an accountholder. Furthermore, none of the steps recited in the claim(s) is/are performed by the compute device or its NFC components. Examiner also notes that the prior art rejection has been updated based on applicant’s amendments. Examiner is now interpreting the combination of Hammad’s user’s computer 10 and the verification token 40 to be the functional equivalent of the claimed “compute device of an accountholder of a contactless card.” Examiner contends that plugging a usb device into a computer in order to gain NFC functionality is fundamentally no different than installing NFC components in a user/mobile device. While the distinctions noted by applicant could be important in a device/system claim that includes a user device and NFC components, here applicant is merely claiming everything from the perspective of another device (i.e., a server) that communicates with an NFC capable device.
Applicant argues that Hammad's verification token is not a standalone device and it relies entirely on the host computer for essential functions, including network connectivity to complete transactions and a user interface to display information. Amendment, p. 14. Examiner agrees in part. Examiner acknowledges that the verification token is not a standalone device and that some functions (i.e., not all) require the assistance of the host/user computer. However, Examiner contends that the combination of the user’s computer and the verification token are fundamentally no different than the recited “compute device of an accountholder.” Examiner notes that the form factor of an unclaimed device will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Applicant arguments pertaining to the “operational flow”, “user interaction” and modification of Hammad’s system (Amendment, pp. 14-15) appear moot in view of the new mapping/interpretation of Hammad. Examiner is no longer interpreting the verification token to be the compute device, rather Examiner is now interpreting the combination of the user’s computer 10 and the verification token 40 to be the functional equivalent of the claimed “compute device of an accountholder of a contactless card.”
Applicant argues that amended claim 4 is not taught, suggested, or otherwise rendered obvious over Hammad, Faith, and Dixon. Amendment, pp. 15-16. Examiner agrees. Examiner has added an additional reference, Lee, to the prior art rejection of claim 4. Examiner has also modified the interpretation of Hammad in view of the amendments. Examiner contends that the combination of Hammad, Faith, Dixon, and Lee renders claim 4 obvious.
For the above reasons, and for those set forth in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection above, all of the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is cited in the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). The additional cited art further establishes the state of the art prior to the effective filling date of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Maclin et al. (US 2002/0032662 A1) discloses a method and an apparatus for securing e-commerce transactions include processing that begins by receiving a customer package of variables regarding a desired secure e-commerce transaction. The processing continues by validating the desired secure e-commerce transaction based on at least one item of the package of variables. If the desired secure e-commerce transaction is validated, the processing continues by generating a temporary credit card number for the desired secure e-commerce transaction based on the at least one item of the package of variables. Once the temporary credit card number is generated, the processing continues by providing the temporary credit card number for use in the desired secure e-commerce transaction. Maclin Abstract.
Kurian (US 2016/0027000 A1) discloses receiving a card limit from the user, wherein the card limit indicates a threshold spending amount limiting usage of a bank card; and wherein generating the one-time bank card number is based at least in part on the received card limit; and wherein the one-time bank card number indicates to a merchant conducting the transaction with the user the card limit. Kurian [0003].
/J.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698