DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 11/11/2025, claims 1-8, 12-17, 21-22, and 24-25 are pending. Claims 4 and 7 are withdrawn based on restriction requirement. Claim 23 is cancel. Claim 25 is newly added. Claims 1, 17, 22, and 24 are currently amended. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 12-17, 21-22, and 24-25 are considered in the current Office Action.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
Previous 35 USC 103 rejections of claims are maintained in view of the Applicant’s amendment. See Response to Argument below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 12-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2014/0271328 (“Burris et al” hereinafter Burris) and US2022/0009030 (“Von Dadelszen et al” hereinafter von Dadelszen), and US2022/0194004 (Mathea).
Regarding Claim 1, Burris teaches a method of additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object (abstract), the method comprising:
irradiating a powder bed with a beam generation device (see annotated Figure 8 and [0071], projecting energy beams across the layer of powdered material) comprising a plurality of laser diode arrays (see annotated Figure 9), wherein respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays comprise a plurality of diode emitters respectively configured to emit an energy beam ([0071] and see annotated Figure 9), the beam generation device including a plurality of diode array groups (see annotated Figure 9), the plurality of diode array groups respectively comprising at least some of the plurality of laser diode arrays (see annotated Figure 9); and a plurality of diode array sets, the plurality of diode array sets respectively comprising at least some of the plurality of diode array groups (see annotated Figure 9);
wherein the plurality of diode array sets comprises a first diode array set and a second diode array set (See annotated Figure 9), wherein a corresponding one of the plurality of laser diode arrays belonging to the first diode array set is configured to exhibit one or more irradiation parameters that differs from a corresponding one of the plurality of laser diode arrays belonging to the second diode array set ([0069], processor control multiple laser diodes independently to simultaneously adjust a power density of a first energy beam to achieve a target preheat temperature, a power density of a second energy beam to achieve a target melt temperature, and a power density of a third energy beam to achieve a target anneal temperature (or target heat transfer rate out of an annealing zone)), the one or more irradiation parameters comprising: beam power ([0069]), beam intensity, intensity profile, wavelength, spot size, or spot shape, wherein the first diode array set is configured to provide pre-heating (Figure 9 and [0069], processor control a power density of a first energy beam to achieve a target preheat temperature), and wherein the second diode array set is configured to provide lasing (Figure 9 and [0069], processor control a power density of a second energy beam to achieve a target melt temperature),
wherein the plurality of diode array sets is arranged longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a set separation distance (see annotate Figure 9); and wherein the set separation distance is larger than the group separation distance (see annotated Figure 9, the set separation distance is greater than the group separation distance. Since group separation distance is not definite by the instant application. The Examiner is interpreting the group separation distance as 0), and wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays respectively emit a plurality of energy beams (see annotated Figure 9, each laser diode array will emit corresponding energy beams [0071]), wherein the plurality of energy beams provide a corresponding plurality of beam spots incident upon a build array defined by a powder bed disposed below the irradiation device (see annotated Figure 8, the beam generation device located above the build platform and provide corresponding plurality of beam spots onto the build platform across the layer of powdered materials [0071]).
Burris fails to explicitly teach wherein the diode emitters are spaced apart by a diode pitch of about 50 micrometers to about 100 micrometers. However, as the size and spacing of the laser sources are variables that can be modified by adjusting the diode pitch of the diode emitters, with said as the size of the laser source increases and the spacing of the laser source decreases, the diode pitch increases, as evidenced by von Dadelszen ([0061]), the precise diode pitch would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed diode pitch cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the diode pitch in the apparatus of Burris to obtain desired balance between the size and spacing of the laser source (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Burris fails to teach wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset relative to one another; wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are laterally offset relative to one another, and wherein at least some of the beams spots incident upon the powder bed are longitudinally offset from one another in an alternating pattern
or sequence.
However, von Dadelszen discloses wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset relative to one another (see annotated Figure 3G); wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are laterally offset relative to one another (see annotated Figure 3G), and wherein at least some of the beams spots incident upon the powder bed are longitudinally offset from one another in an alternating pattern or sequence (Figure 3G, the plurality of laser arrays is longitudinally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance, Sy, [0068]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is known in the art that if the laser arrays are offset from each other, the beam spots incident upon the powder bed, generated by these laser arrays, must also offset from each other which formed an alternating pattern or sequence).
Burris and von Dadelszen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of producing a 3D object using an emitter array configured to produce a plurality of laser spots on the build surface. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the arrangements of the plurality of laser diode array as taught by Burris such that it teaches all of the above discussed limitations as taught by von Dadelszen because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to arrange the plurality of laser beams ([0067]). MPEP 2143.
The modified Burris fails to teach wherein the plurality of diode array groups are arranged longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a group separation distance; wherein respective ones of the plurality diode arrays corresponding to the respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays belonging to a respective one of the plurality of diode array groups are longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a row separation distance, wherein the group separation distance is larger than the row separation distance.
However, Mathea discloses an emitter array 11 comprises a plurality of emitter array 11A, 11B, 11C, 11D having multiple radiation emitters 12 that are structured as light-emitting diodes. For bundling or focusing of the radiation 32 emitted by the individual emitters 12, optics not shown in any detail in the drawing are arranged in the beam path of the emitters 12, in each instance ([0084]). Mathea further teaches wherein the plurality of diode array groups are arranged longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a group separation distance (Mathea, see annotated Figure 15); wherein respective ones of the plurality diode arrays corresponding to the respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays belonging to a respective one of the plurality of diode array groups are longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a row separation distance (Figure 15), wherein the group separation distance is larger than the row separation distance (Figure 15).
Burris and Mathea are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of producing a 3D object using an emitter array configured to produce a plurality of beam spots on the build surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the arrangements of the plurality of laser diode groups as taught by the modified Burris such that it teaches all of the above limitations as taught by Mathea because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to arrange the plurality of laser beams ([0083]). MPEP 2143.
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of diode array sets further comprise a third diode array set configured to provide post-treating (Burris, Figure 9 and [0069], processor control a power density of a third energy beam to achieve a target anneal temperature (or target heat transfer rate out of an annealing zone)).
Von Dadelszen further discloses wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset relative to one another (see annotated Figure 3G above) by an array offset distance determined relative to an optical axis of the respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays (see annotated Figure 3G above, the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset by a distance of Sy [0068]).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays includes at least three laser diode arrays (von Dadelszen, Figure 3G), and wherein the array offset distance is uniform as between at least three of the at least three laser diode arrays (Figure 3G, the plurality of laser arrays are uniformly and longitudinally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance, Sy, [0068]).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are laterally offset relative to one another (von Dadelszen, see annotated Figure 3G above) by a diode offset distance, the diode offset distance determined relative to an optical axis of the respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays (see annotated Figure 3G, the plurality of laser arrays are laterally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance, Sx, [0068]).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays includes at least three laser diode arrays (von Dadelszen, see annotated Figure 3G above), and wherein the diode offset distance is uniform as between at least three of the at least three laser diode arrays (Figure 3G, the plurality of laser arrays are uniformly and laterally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance, Sx, [0068]).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 5, comprising: applying a layer of powder material to the powder bed (Burris, [0017] and Figure 2, a material dispenser 120 configured to distribute a layer of powdered material over the build platform 112).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 9, comprising: irradiating the powder bed with a plurality of rows of diode emitters (von Dadeiszen Figure 3G), wherein respective build points of the build array receive irradiation sequentially from a plurality of energy beams, wherein respective ones of the plurality of energy beams that become incident upon a respective build point are respectively emitted by a diode emitter corresponding to longitudinally adjacent ones of the plurality of rows of diode emitters (Figure 3G, the build points of the build array from a plurality of energy beam exhibited similar pattern as the energy beams. Thus, since the emitters are laterally adjacent to one another and longitudinally offset from one another, the energy beams will be arranged in the similar pattern as well).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the respective energy beams have a wavelength in the ultraviolet spectrum, the visible spectrum (Burris, [0043], laser diode 171 can generate the first energy beam at a first wavelength of 400 nanometers which is within the visible spectrum), the near-infrared spectrum, or the infrared spectrum.
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: homogenizing the respective energy beam (Burris, [0095], the apparatus can include substantially low-power (e.g., ½-Watt to 2-Watt) laser diodes, which each generate a low-power energy beam that is passed through a corresponding beam shaper and then projected onto the topmost layer of powdered material in as a square array of square-shaped flattop energy beams, thus yielding a rectilinear spot of substantially uniform power distribution which is considered as homogenizing the energy beam by making them uniform).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: focusing the respective energy beam (Burris, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: moving the plurality of laser diode arrays over the powder bed (Burris, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 17, Burris teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions ([0102]), which when executed by a processor associated with an additive manufacturing machine ([0102]), cause the additive manufacturing machine to perform a method ([0102], the systems and methods of the embodiments can be embodied and/or implemented at least in part as a machine configured to receive a computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions) comprising:
irradiating a powder bed with a beam generation device (see annotated Figure 8 above and [0071], projecting energy beams across the layer of powdered material) comprising a plurality of laser diode arrays (see annotated Figure 9 above), wherein respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays comprise a plurality of diode emitters respectively configured to emit an energy beam ([0071] and see annotated Figure 9 above), the beam generation device including a plurality of diode array groups (see annotated Figure 9 above), the plurality of diode array groups respectively comprising at least some of the plurality of laser diode arrays (see annotated Figure 9 above); and a plurality of diode array sets, the plurality of diode array sets respectively comprising at least some of the plurality of diode array groups (see annotated Figure 9 above);
wherein the plurality of diode array sets comprises a first diode array set and a second diode array set (See annotated Figure 9 above), wherein a corresponding one of the plurality of laser diode arrays belonging to the first diode array set is configured to exhibit one or more irradiation parameters that differs from a corresponding one of the plurality of laser diode arrays belonging to the second diode array set ([0069], processor control multiple laser diodes independently to simultaneously adjust a power density of a first energy beam to achieve a target preheat temperature, a power density of a second energy beam to achieve a target melt temperature, and a power density of a third energy beam to achieve a target anneal temperature (or target heat transfer rate out of an annealing zone)), the one or more irradiation parameters comprising: beam power ([0069]), beam intensity, intensity profile, wavelength, spot size, or spot shape, wherein the first diode array set is configured to provide pre-heating (Figure 9 and [0069], processor control a power density of a first energy beam to achieve a target preheat temperature), and wherein the second diode array set is configured to provide lasing (Figure 9 and [0069], processor control a power density of a second energy beam to achieve a target melt temperature),
wherein the plurality of diode array sets is arranged longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a set separation distance (see annotate Figure 9); and wherein the set separation distance is larger than the group separation distance (see annotated Figure 9, the set separation distance is greater than the group separation distance. Since group separation distance is not definite by the instant application. The Examiner is interpreting the group separation distance as 0), and wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays respectively emit a plurality of energy beams (see annotated Figure 9, each laser diode array will emit corresponding energy beams [0071]), wherein the plurality of energy beams provide a corresponding plurality of beam spots incident upon a build array defined by a powder bed disposed below the irradiation device (see annotated Figure 8, the beam generation device located above the build platform and provide corresponding plurality of beam spots onto the build platform across the layer of powdered materials [0071]).
Burris fails to explicitly teach wherein the diode emitters are spaced apart by a diode pitch of about 50 micrometers to about 100 micrometers. However, as the size and spacing of the laser sources are variables that can be modified by adjusting the diode pitch of the diode emitters, with said as the size of the laser source increases and the spacing of the laser source decreases, the diode pitch increases, as evidenced by von Dadelszen ([0061]), the precise diode pitch would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed diode pitch cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the diode pitch in the apparatus of Burris to obtain desired balance between the size and spacing of the laser source (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Burris fails to teach wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset relative to one another; wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are laterally offset relative to one another, and wherein at least some of the beams spots incident upon the powder bed are longitudinally offset from one another in an alternating pattern or sequence.
However, von Dadelszen discloses wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset relative to one another (see annotated Figure 3G above); wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are laterally offset relative to one another (see annotated Figure 3G above), and wherein at least some of the beams spots incident upon the powder bed are longitudinally offset from one another in an alternating pattern or sequence (Figure 3G, the plurality of laser arrays is longitudinally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance, Sy, [0068], one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is known in the art that if the laser arrays are offset from each other, the beam spots incident upon the powder bed, generated by these laser arrays, must also offset from each other which formed an alternating pattern or sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the arrangements of the plurality of laser diode array as taught by Burris such that it teaches all of the above discussed limitations as taught by von Dadelszen because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to arrange the plurality of laser beams ([0067]). MPEP 2143.
The modified Burris fails to teach wherein the plurality of diode array groups are arranged longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a group separation distance; wherein respective ones of the plurality diode arrays corresponding to the respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays belonging to a respective one of the plurality of diode array groups are longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a row separation distance, wherein the group separation distance is larger than the row separation distance.
However, Mathea discloses an emitter array 11 comprises a plurality of emitter array 11A, 11B, 11C, 11D having multiple radiation emitters 12 that are structured as light-emitting diodes. For bundling or focusing of the radiation 32 emitted by the individual emitters 12, optics not shown in any detail in the drawing are arranged in the beam path of the emitters 12, in each instance ([0084]). Mathea further teaches wherein the plurality of diode array groups are arranged longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a group separation distance (see annotated Figure 15 above); wherein respective ones of the plurality diode arrays corresponding to the respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays belonging to a respective one of the plurality of diode array groups are longitudinally adjacent to one another and separated from one another by a row separation distance (Figure 15), wherein the group separation distance is larger than the row separation distance (Figure 15).
Burris and Mathea are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of producing a 3D object using an emitter array configured to produce a plurality of beam spots on the build surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the arrangements of the plurality of laser diode groups as taught by the modified Burris such that it teaches all of the above limitations as taught by Mathea because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to arrange the plurality of laser beams ([0083]). MPEP 2143.
Regarding Claim 21, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the energy beams are spaced apart by a beam pitch that is less than the diode pitch (von Dadelszen, Figure 3C represents the cross-sectional size and spacing of laser beams at cross section 3B- 3B, which is equivalent to the size and spacing of the laser emitter; thus, Sc is equivalent to diode pitch. Figure 3D represents the cross-sectional size and spacing of laser beams at cross section 3D- 3D, which is equivalent to the size and spacing of the emitted laser beam upon a surface; thus, Sd is equivalent to beam pitch. Von Dadelszen further discloses in some embodiments SD <SC which means the beam pitch is less than the diode pitch). .
Claim(s) 22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2014/0271328 (“Burris et al” hereinafter Burris) and US2022/0009030 (“Von Dadelszen et al” hereinafter von Dadelszen).
Regarding Claim 22, Burris teaches a method of additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object (abstract), the method comprising:
irradiating a powder bed with a beam generation device comprising a plurality of laser diode arrays (See annotated Figure 8 and 9, and [0071], projecting energy beams across the layer of powdered material), wherein respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays comprise a plurality of diode emitters respectively configured to emit an energy beam ([0071] and see annotated Figure 9),
wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays respectively emit a plurality of energy beams (see annotated Figure 9, each laser diode array will emit corresponding energy beams [0071]), respective ones of the plurality of energy beams emitted from corresponding ones of the plurality of diode emitters (see annotated Figure 9, each laser diode array will emit corresponding energy beams [0071]),
wherein the plurality of energy beams provide a corresponding plurality of beam spots incident upon a build array defined by a powder bed disposed below the irradiation device (see annotated Figure 8, the beam generation device located above the build platform and provide corresponding plurality of beam spots onto the build platform across the layer of powdered materials [0071]).
Burris fails to explicitly teach wherein the diode emitters are spaced apart by a diode pitch of about 50 micrometers to about 100 micrometers. However, as the size and spacing of the laser sources are variables that can be modified by adjusting the diode pitch of the diode emitters, with said as the size of the laser source increases and the spacing of the laser source decreases, the diode pitch increases, as evidenced by von Dadelszen ([0061]), the precise diode pitch would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed diode pitch cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the diode pitch in the apparatus of Burris to obtain desired balance between the size and spacing of the laser source (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Burris fails to teach wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset relative to one another; wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are laterally offset relative to one another, wherein at least some of the beams spots incident upon the powder bed are longitudinally offset from one another in an alternating pattern or sequence, and wherein the energy beams are spaced apart by a beam pitch that is less than the diode pitch.
However, von Dadelszen discloses wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset relative to one another (see annotated Figure 3G); wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are laterally offset relative to one another (see annotated Figure 3G), wherein at least some of the beams spots incident upon the powder bed are longitudinally offset from one another in an alternating pattern or sequence (Figure 3G, the plurality of laser arrays is longitudinally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance, Sy, [0068], one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is known in the art that if the laser arrays are offset from each other, the beam spots incident upon the powder bed, generated by these laser arrays, must also offset from each other which formed an alternating pattern or sequence), and wherein the energy beams are spaced apart by a beam pitch that is less than the diode pitch (von Dadelszen, Figure 3C represents the cross-sectional size and spacing of laser beams at cross section 3B- 3B, which is equivalent to the size and spacing of the laser emitter; thus, Sc is equivalent to diode pitch. Figure 3D represents the cross-sectional size and spacing of laser beams at cross section 3D- 3D, which is equivalent to the size and spacing of the emitted laser beam upon a surface; thus, Sd is equivalent to beam pitch. Von Dadelszen further discloses in some embodiments SD <SC which means the beam pitch is less than the diode pitch).
Burris and von Dadelszen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of producing a 3D object using an emitter array configured to produce a plurality of laser spots on the build surface. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the arrangements of the plurality of laser diode array as taught by Burris such that it teaches all of the above discussed limitations as taught by von Dadelszen because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to arrange the plurality of laser beams ([0067]). MPEP 2143.
Regarding Claim 24, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the plurality of laser diode arrays are longitudinally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance determined relative to an optical axis of the respective ones of the plurality of laser diode arrays (von Dadelszen, Figure 3G, the plurality of laser arrays is longitudinally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance, Sy, [0068], which implied that the beam spots radiated by the laser arrays are longitudinally off in an alternating pattern or sequence as well).
Regarding Claim 25, the modified Burris teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the alternating pattern or sequence provides for a more uniform power density and/or improved controllability of the power density, relative to a default setting, at respective build points (von Dadelszen, [0027], selective control over both the size of the laser beam spots as well as the spacing between the separate laser beam spots may be associated with better control over the printing process and independent control over laser beam spot size and spacing may expand operating process windows, which may allow tuning of other parameters that may have previously been constrained. Increased control over print parameters may enable the processing of non-homogenous materials and/or may enable multi-material printing).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues Von Dadelszen is completely silent with respect to "the plurality of energy beams provide a corresponding plurality of beam spots incident upon a build array defined by a powder bed disposed below the irradiation device, and wherein at least some of the beams spots incident upon the powder bed are longitudinally offset from one another in an alternating pattern or sequence" elements in a manner as now recited, respectively, in amended independent claims 1, 17 and 22.
The Examiner respectfully disagreed. Von Dadelszen discloses a staggered array laser configuration with adjacent rows of laser beams being staggered and the plurality of laser arrays is longitudinally offset relative to one another by an array offset distance, Sy, (see annotated Figure 3G and [0068]). Von Dadelszen further discloses selective control over both the size of the laser beam spots as well as the spacing between the separate laser beam spots may be associated with better control over the printing process and independent control over laser beam spot size and spacing may expand operating process windows, which may allow tuning of other parameters that may have previously been constrained ([0027]). Beams spot is defined as the diameter of a laser beam when it is focused onto a surface. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is known in the art that if the laser arrays are offset from each other, the beam spots incident upon the powder bed, generated by the same laser arrays, must also offset from each other which formed an alternating pattern or sequence to better control over the printing process ([0027]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action for newly added claim 25. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754