DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, and 13-15 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dvorsky et al. (WO 2020/081893 A1; hereinafter “Dvorsky”).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 1: an implantable prosthetic device, comprising: a hybrid frame (e.g., 100; Fig. 2) movable between a radially compressed configuration and a radially expanded configuration (paras. 0008, 0123), the hybrid frame comprising: a mechanically-expandable first annular sub-frame (outwardly facing elements 108) comprising a plurality of struts pivotably coupled to one another (paras. 0123-0126, 0149-0150), and a self-expanding second annular sub-frame (inwardly facing elements 108) coupled to the first sub-frame (Fig. 2; paras. 0123-0126, 0149-0150); wherein, when the hybrid frame is in the expanded configuration, the second sub-frame is configured to resist radial compression of the frame (paras. 0149-0150).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 2: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 1, wherein the second sub-frame is disposed radially inwardly of the first sub-frame (e.g., Fig. 2).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 3: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 1, further comprising one or more expansion mechanisms (e.g., pivot hinge connections) coupled to the first sub-frame (e.g., Figs. 2-4A; paras. 0123-0126, 0133-0135), the expansion mechanisms configured to move the first sub-frame between the radially compressed configuration and the radially expanded configuration (paras. 0123-0126, 0133-0135).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 4: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 3, wherein each expansion mechanism comprises a first member (e.g., hinge connection openings) coupled to the first sub-frame at a first location (e.g., Figs. 2-4A) and a second member (e.g., hinge connection fasteners) coupled to the first sub-frame at a second location (Figs. 2-4A) spaced apart from the first location (Figs. 2-4A), the second member extending at least partially into the first member (Figs. 2-4A; paras. 0123-0126, 0133-0135).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 5: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 3, wherein the first and second sub-frames are coupled to one another via the one or more expansion mechanisms (Figs. 2-4A; paras. 0123-0126, 0133-0135).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 7: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 1, wherein the second sub-frame exerts a radially outwardly directed force on the first sub-frame to resist radial compression of the first sub-frame (paras. 0123-0126, 0149-0150).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 8: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 1, further comprising a valvular structure (para. 0013) including a plurality of leaflets (22), the valvular structure coupled to the second sub-frame (paras. 0013, 0149).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 9: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 3, further comprising a valvular structure (para. 0013) including a plurality of leaflets (22), the valvular structure coupled to the one or more expansion mechanisms (paras. 0123-0126, 0149-0150).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 10: an implantable prosthetic device, comprising: a radially compressible and expandable frame (e.g., 100) (paras. 0008, 0123), the frame comprising: a mechanically expandable first annular sub-frame (outwardly facing elements 108) comprising one or more expansion mechanisms (pivot hinge connections) configured to move the first sub-frame between a radially compressed configuration and a radially expanded configuration (e.g., Figs. 2-4A; paras. 0123-0126, 0133-0135, 0149-0150), and a self-expanding second annular sub-frame (inwardly facing elements 108) coupled to the first sub-frame (Fig. 2), the second sub-frame configured to exert a radially outwardly directed force on the first sub-frame to prevent radial compression of the frame from the expanded configuration (paras. 0123-0126, 0149-0150).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 11: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 10, wherein the first and second sub-frames are coupled to one another via the one or more expansion mechanisms (Figs. 2-4A; paras. 0123-0126, 0133-0135).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 13: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 10, further comprising a valvular structure (para. 0013) including a plurality of leaflets (22), the valvular structure coupled to the second sub-frame (paras. 0013, 0149).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 14: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 10, wherein the second sub-frame is disposed radially inwardly of the first sub-frame (e.g., Fig. 2).
Dvorsky discloses the following regarding claim 15: the implantable prosthetic device of claim 10, wherein portions of the second sub-frame are disposed radially inwardly of the first sub-frame (at the non-flared portions of the device) (paras. 0017, 0142-0144, 0210-0211) and other portions of the second sub-frame are disposed radially outwardly of the first sub-frame (portions of the second sub-frame at the flared portions of the stent are positioned radially outwardly relative the non-flared portions of the first sub-frame) (e.g., Figs. 9, 12; paras. 0017, 0142-0144, 0210-0211).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANN HU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774