DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I (Claims 1-12 and 14) in the reply filed on 07/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites the limitations “a processor configured to read a biosignal stored in a memory”, and divide the biosignal at certain time intervals”. The specification at [0120] mentions FIG. 5 is a block diagram of the biosignal measurement devices 31 and 32” and the processor 310 may process data such as a biosignal in response to a control signal stored in the memory, and the processor may store a biosignal measured by the sensor unit. However, nowhere is “a biosignal stored in the memory” and therefore these limitations are not adequately described in the specification. Claims 2-12 and 14 are rejected for dependency on independent claim 1. For examination purpose, the “biosignal” recited in claim 1 will be interpreted as a measurable biological signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. Pub. No. US 2022/0361800 (hereinafter “Cha”) in view of Chiang Pub. No. US 2022/0000409. Cha discloses an electrocardiogram signal processing apparatus 100, the apparatus comprising: a signal sensing unit, a controller 110, a memory 120 (Figs. 1&3), and a signal determination module unit 210 including a data receiving unit 211, a data learning unit 212, a data determining unit 213, and a processor 220 operably coupled with module unit 210 and communication unit 230 (Fig. 7). Cha teaches in [0043] “the electrocardiogram signal processing apparatus 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be an apparatus that receives an electrocardiogram signal (note: electrogram signal is any signal in a living organism/ biosignal) from an external electrocardiogram signal measuring device or a device storing electrocardiogram signal data to determine whether the electrocardiogram signal is a normal or abnormal signal. Cha further teaches ([“The electrocardiogram signal processing apparatus 100 may be a computing device including a controller 110, a memory 120, and a communication unit 130. Such a computing device may achieve desired system performance by using a combination of computer hardware (e.g., a device that may include, for example, a computer processor, a memory, a storage, an input device, an output device, and other components of a computing device in the related art”]). Cha does not teach converting a signal segment into a frequency domain, but he teaches the electrocardiogram signal processing apparatus of the present disclosure may convert an electrocardiogram signal having a large capacity into a Gini index (see par. 0067). Chiang discloses on-ear EEG monitor device comprising an EEG processing unit, and the signal analysis by the processor 1102 may be powered by machine learning or deep learning algorithms 1105 that may be optionally stored in the memory 1104 unit to distinguish if the captured signal by the EEG sensors is within the acceptable EEG domain (e.g. frequency, amplitude). Therefore the time applicant’s invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cha in view Chiang in order to converting a biosignal into the frequency domain and determining whether additional analysis of the biosignal is required based on a frequency component of the biosignal.
/AHMED M FARAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792