DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed on 11/13/2023 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0059007 (Chockalingam) in view of US 2016/0277926 (Molina et al.) in view of US 9872185 (Ben-Nun et al.).
As to claim 1, Chockalingam teaches a method for providing Mobility Management Entity (MME) adaptive selection, comprising:
initializing a health checkup algorithm at an eNodeB (eNodeB + test manager for monitoring MME performance. eNodeB also records event logs during testing/interruption periods) for each MME connected (multiple MMEs serve the eNodeBs and each would be tested, see paragraph 34) to as per configuration values (see paragraphs 22, 26, 28 and 35);
starting a health check timer for each MME (see paragraphs 30-32, interruption lasts for a time period, such as 5 seconds);
continuing with an Initial Attach procedure for incoming calls based on SAE- Temporary Mobile Subscriber Id (S-TMSI), (Globally Unique MME Identifier) GUMMEI, or capacity/load balancing considerations (see paragraph 32, 34 and 46, before and after a given interruption period, regular communications between eNodeB and MME established such that calls may be handled based on overload results gotten during the interruption periods);
on every UE attach attempt, incrementing a total calls count; and on every S1 Error Indication/ no response from an MME, incrementing a total fail calls count (see paragraphs 25, 26 and 29, a number of communication sessions are initiated through a given MME and number of dropped sessions determined. As part of this process the S1 interface between eNodeB and MME also monitored so that dropped sessions resulting communications here would also be tallied).
What is lacking is the S1 error indication being an S1 ap error indication.
In analogous art, Molina teaches the use of S1AP between an eNB and MME (see Molina, paragraph 23). In combination with Chockalingam this would render tallying S1AP drops between the MME and eNodeB as a dropped session as well.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts at the effective filing date of the application to apply this teaching into Chockalingam so as to conform to the 3GPP TS 36.413 standard used by both references (see paragraph 25 of Chockalingam and paragraph 23 of Molina).
What is further lacking from Chockalingam is starting the health check timer for each MME at the eNodeB.
In analogous art, Ben-Nun teaches a probe (144, fig 2) that monitors the S1 connection between an eNodeB (212, fig 2) and MME (218, fig 2), and which can be implemented within the eNodeB (see Ben-Nun, column 10, lines 15-30). This probe is analogous to the test monitor of Chockalingam which starts a health check timer for each MME associated with an eNodeB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts at the effective filing date of the application to apply this teaching into Chockalingam so as to reduce the hardware costs of the network.
As to claim 2, Chockalingam further teaches determining when the health check timer for an MME expires (see paragraph 32, the predefined time for a given interruption is monitored for expiration).
Claims 3, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0059007 (Chockalingam) in view of US 2016/0277926 (Molina et al.) in view of US 9872185 (Ben-Nun et al.) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 2016/0381580 (Kwan).
As to claim 3, what is further lacking from Chockalingam calculating a failed calls/total calls percentage value.
In analogous art, Kwan teaches calculating a call drop (~failed calls) rate determined based on total calls and dropped calls (see Kwan, paragraphs 58, 90, 91, 123 and 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts at the effective filing date of the application to apply this teaching into Chockalingam so as to provide for a metric that measures the relative failure of calls (and not just a less informative discrete figure agnostic to call volume).
As to claim 4, Kwan cited teachings further teach determining if the value meets a high threshold (see Kwan, paragraphs 123 and 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts at the effective filing date of the application to apply this teaching into Chockalingam so as to provide for even more detailed analysis of network performance.
As to claim 6, Kwan cited teachings further teach when the value does not meet the high threshold, then determining if the value meets a low threshold (see Kwan, paragraphs 123 and 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts at the effective filing date of the application to apply this teaching into Chockalingam so as to provide for even more detailed analysis of network performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641