DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-23 are pending and examined below. This action is in response to the claims filed 4/8/26.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks 35 USC § 103. filed on 4/8/26, regarding 35 USC § 103 rejections are persuasive in view of amendments filed 4/8/26.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Hightower (US 2004/0065488) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane et al. (US 2010/0283318) in view of Hightower (US 2004/0065488).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Crane discloses a marine power distribution system including an electric marine propulsion system/method configured to propel a marine vessel, the system comprising (Abstract):
at least one electric motor powered by a power storage system and configured to rotate a propulsor to propel the marine vessel (¶19 and ¶29 – propulsion motor corresponding to the recited electric motor powered by zonal energy stores corresponding to the recited power storage system);
a control system configured to (¶70 - electronic control system):
determine a voltage change due to a change in demand level of the electric motor (¶44-45 - load voltage can be ramped up to the desired operating point corresponding to the recited voltage change due to a change in demand level);
determine a minimum voltage at a maximum rated demand level for the electric motor based on the voltage change, wherein the minimum voltage is a minimum input voltage at the electric motor (¶118-119 – uppermost constant power curve corresponding to the recited maximum rated demand level for the electric motor is utilized to determine minimum voltage for the rated load which is the load presented by a propulsion drive comprising the propeller 6, the propulsion motor 5 and the propulsion converter 4 corresponding to the recited minimum voltage input at the motor before the system goes into fault and voltage tripping occurs);
determine an adjusted command for the electric motor based on the minimum voltage and a current demand input (¶119 – voltage and current is limited based on the determined load curves including the minimum loaded voltage corresponding to the recited adjusted command for the motor based on the minimum voltage and current demand input); and
control the electric motor based on the adjusted command (¶119 - propulsion drive load is regulated by the regulator that controls the propulsion converter based on the adjusted power levels).
While Crane does disclose adjusting voltage applied to the motor based on change in demand, it does not explicitly state the demand change is a required change in propulsion output. However, Hightower discloses a control method for electrical systems in electric powered vehicles including receive a change in demand level demanding a change in propulsion output of the electric motor (¶62 and Fig. 10 – element 1004 determining V.sub.throttle corresponding to the recited change in demand level);
control the electric motor in response to the change in demand level (¶62 and Fig. 10 – element 1006 V.sub.acceleration corresponding to the recited control the electric motor in response to the change in demand level);
measure a voltage change due to a change in an input voltage at the electric motor due to the change in demand level; determine a minimum voltage at a maximum rated demand level for the electric motor based on the voltage change, wherein the minimum voltage is a minimum input voltage at the electric motor (¶47-55 – V.sub.back-EMF is measured utilizing sensed speed of the motor corresponding to the recited measured voltage change due to an input voltage at the electric motor due to the V.sub.throttle corresponding to the recited change in demand level which is utilized to determine the v.sub.max corresponding to the recited minimum voltage level at the HP.sub.max corresponding to the recited maximum rated demand level for the electric motor);
determine an adjusted command for the electric motor based on a current demand input such that the input voltage does not exceed the minimum voltage (¶60-63 and Fig. 10 – elements 1018-1022 determines V.sub.motor corresponding to the recited adjusted command does not exceed V.sub.max corresponding to the recited minimum voltage); and
The combination of the marine power distribution system of Crane with the throttle based voltage determination utilizing measured voltage of the motor of Hightower fully discloses the elements as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have combined the marine power distribution system of Crane with the throttle based voltage determination utilizing measured voltage of the motor of Hightower in order to deliver optimal power of an electric powered vehicle under varying load conditions (Hightower - ¶27).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Crane further discloses determine an adapted system resistance of the power storage system based on the voltage change, and wherein the minimum voltage is determined based on the adapted system resistance (¶69 and ¶122 – minimum and nominal levels of supply voltage corresponding to the recited minimum voltage is determined utilizing dynamic source resistance corresponding to the recited adapted system resistance of the power storage system applied based on supply voltage fluctuations where the power supply is a battery corresponding to the recited power storage system).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Crane further discloses wherein the adapted system resistance includes an internal resistance of at least one battery in the power storage system and a resistance of connection elements connecting the electric motor to the at least one battery (¶87 and ¶122-123 – dynamic source resistance includes resistance measured at the power source(s) which includes zonal power supply units corresponding to the recited at least one battery in the power storage system as well as the feeder connections corresponding to the recited connection elements connecting the motor to the battery such as converters).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Crane further discloses determine a filtered adapted system resistance based on the adapted system resistance over time, and wherein the minimum voltage is determined based on the filtered adapted system resistance (¶122-123 – dynamic source resistance measures the resistance applied to the power sources over time corresponding to the recited filtered adapted system resistance which is utilized for determining the minimum voltage levels).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Crane further discloses identify the change in demand level that is at least a threshold change (¶112 – change in output voltage which displaces from the determined steady state corresponding to the recited threshold change);
identify the voltage change as a corresponding change in the input voltage at the electric motor that corresponds with the threshold change in demand level (¶112-113 and ¶119-122 – voltage is calculated utilizing the propulsion drive load corresponding to the recited input voltage at the motor with respect to the supply voltage); and
determine the adapted system resistance based on the change in demand level and the corresponding change in the input voltage (¶122 – minimum and nominal levels of supply voltage corresponding to the recited minimum voltage is determined utilizing dynamic source resistance corresponding to the recited adapted system resistance applied based on supply voltage fluctuations which may fluctuate outside of the steady state as determined utilizing dynamic source resistance corresponding to the recited adapted system resistance).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Crane further discloses wherein the change in demand level is one of a threshold change in motor current, a threshold change in motor torque, and a threshold change in helm command (¶35 and ¶119-122 – change in demand level includes propulsion motor load, corresponding to the recited change in motor torque, current curves corresponding to the recited motor current, and operator commands corresponding to the recited helm command wherein any factor that disrupts the steady state corresponding to the recited threshold change).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Crane further discloses identify a first steady state demand level and measure a first motor input voltage at the first steady state demand level; identify a second steady state demand level and measure a second motor input voltage at the second steady state demand level; wherein the change in demand level is a difference between the first steady state demand level and the second steady state demand level (¶112-122 – outputs at nominal steady state loading point corresponding to the recited first steady state demand level and demand exceeding steady state limits corresponding to the recited second steady state demand level where the change in demand is the difference between the two).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Crane further discloses wherein the maximum rated demand level is a maximum rated torque for the electric motor, wherein the current demand input is a current torque demand, and the adjusted command is a torque command to the electric motor (¶54 and ¶119-122 - maximize the performance of the associated propulsion motor corresponding to the recited maximum rated torque for the electric motor where current demand input is the current load demand for the motor corresponding to the recited current torque demand to determine the modified voltage/current output corresponding to the recited adjusted command).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Crane further discloses wherein the current demand input is based on a user demand input at a user input device (¶35 – propulsion device is commanded based on operator commands (e.g., demand signals provided directly from the control levels of the marine vessel)).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Crane further discloses determine the adjusted command for the electric motor by rescaling user demand input values from the user input device based on the minimum voltage (¶113-122 – output voltage is reduced corresponding to the recited rescale user demand input values based on the calculated minimums).
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Crane further discloses determine the adjusted command for the electric motor to limit user authority over output of the electric motor based on the minimum voltage (¶113-122 – output voltage is reduced corresponding to the recited limited user authority based on the calculated minimums).
Regarding claim 12, Crane doesn’t explicitly disclose utilizing a command table for determining command values however Hightower further discloses further comprising a command table stored in memory comprising adjusted command values based on minimum voltage values; wherein the control system is further configured to access the command table based on the minimum voltage and the current demand input to determine the adjusted command (¶59 – voltage limits utilizing torque curves programmed into a look-up table corresponding to the recited command table comprising adjusted command values based on minimum voltage values to determine adjusted commands).
The combination of the marine power distribution system of Crane with the throttle based voltage determination utilizing measured voltage of the motor of Hightower fully discloses the elements as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have combined the marine power distribution system of Crane with the throttle based voltage determination utilizing measured voltage of the motor of Hightower in order to deliver optimal power of an electric powered vehicle under varying load conditions (Hightower - ¶27).
Additional References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doremus et al. (US 10,654,551) discloses a method of planing a marine vessel propelled by an electric propulsion system operably connected to a rotatable propeller system including that a command input requesting an increase in throttle is received. The method also includes that it is determined whether the marine vessel is on plane and whether there is sufficient power and energy available in the electric propulsion system to reach planing speed when the marine vessel is not on plane. The method further includes that power output from the electric propulsion system is increased for a selected period of time such that the electric propulsion system is allowed to overshoot continuous power limits of one or more components of the electric propulsion system for the selected amount of time. The one or more components of the electric propulsion system including at least one of an electric motor, an energy storage device, and an electric controller. (Abstract)
Nagata et al. (US 2007/0210741) discloses a driver for an induction motor including a slip frequency estimate value arithmetic operation section 15 for arithmetically operating a slip frequency .omega.s of an induction motor 12, and a maximum torque generation slip arithmetic operation section 16 for arithmetically operating a slip frequency .omega.smax at which a maximum torque is generated. When the slip frequency .omega.s exceeds a predetermined value .omega.smaxTH(=0.96.omega.smax, etc.) corresponding to the slip frequency .omega.smax at which the maximum torque is generated, a speed change rate arithmetic operation section 17 and a speed change rate correcting section 18 reduce a rate of increase in a speed command .omega.r*. (Abstract)
Shah et al. (US 2022/0109386) discloses a method of controlling operation of an electric machine includes: determining a voltage-based torque limit based on a voltage constraint of a direct current (DC) bus supplying power to an inverter for powering the electric machine; determining a motor current-based torque limit based on a motor current limit; determining a final torque limit based on the voltage-based torque limit and the motor current-based torque limit; determining a limited command torque based on a torque command and the final torque limit; determining an initial current command corresponding to the inverter satisfying a regenerative current limit of the DC bus; and calculating a final current command based on, at least, the limited command torque and the initial current command. The method includes the final current command exceeding the initial current command to cause the electric machine to produce a torque corresponding to the limited torque command. (Abstract)
Patterson et al. (US 2007/0182350) discloses a method for controlling an electric motor including measuring voltage level at a motor to permit optimal output power at an electric motor automatically (¶120-124).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J. REDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665