DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 10-2019-0127412 A, hereinafter Lim, cited by applicant) in view of Shatunov et al. (US 2020/0052335 A1, hereinafter Shatunov, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 1. Lim teaches a rechargeable lithium battery (Fig. 1, item 100), comprising
a positive electrode (item 20) comprising a positive active material layer (P6);
a negative electrode (item 30) comprising a negative active material layer (P7); and
an electrolyte solution comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and an additive (P2),
wherein the positive active material layer comprises a positive active material (P6),
the positive active material is at least one lithium composite oxide represented by Chemical Formula 2-1, and
the additive comprises a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1:
Chemical Formula 2-1
LixNi1-y1-z1Coy1M3z1M4w1O2
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2-1,
M3 is Mn, Al, or a combination thereof,
M4 is Ti, Mg, Zr, Ca, Nb, P, F, B, or a combination thereof, and
0.9 ≤ x < 1.2, 0 ≤ y1 ≤ 0.2, 0 ≤ z1 ≤ 0.3, 0.2 < y1+z1 ≤ 0.5, and 0 ≤ w1 ≤ 0.1 (P6, LiaNi1-b-cCobXcDα, , X is Mn or Al, D is O, 0.9 ≤ a ≤ 1.8, 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ c ≤ 0.5, 0 < b+c ≤ 1, w1=0, and α=2).
Chemical Formula 1
(para. 10)
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, X1 is a fluoro group (-F), a chloro group (-Cl), a bromo group (-Br), or an iodo group (-I),
R1 to R6 are each independently hydrogen, a cyano group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C20 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C20 aryl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 heteroaryl group, and
n is 0 or 1 (P2), and
wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is 1 parts by weight based on a total of 100 parts by weight of the electrolyte solution (P3 & 9, 1 wt% = 1 parts by weight based on a total of 100 parts by weight of the electrolyte solution).
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2131.03.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Lim fails to specifically teach that the positive active material layer comprises carbon nanotubes, and the carbon nanotubes are greater than 0.1 wt% and less than 3.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the positive active material layer.
The invention of Shatunov encompasses lithium secondary battery. Shatunov teaches that the positive active material layer comprises carbon nanotubes, and the carbon nanotubes are 1 wt% or 2 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the positive active material layer (para. 63-67, 136 & 158).
In view of Shatunov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Lim to employ carbon nanotubes in the positive active material layer in the amount of 1 wt% or 2 wt% based on a total weight of the positive active material layer, since Shatunov teaches the advantage of using it, which is to improve the impregnation of the electrolyte and high-temperature cycle-life characteristics (para. 63-67).
Re Claim 2. The combination teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1A or Chemical Formula 1B:
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1A and Chemical Formula 1B, X1 is a fluoro group (-F), and
R1 to R6 are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkenyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkynyl group (Lim, P4).
Re Claim 3. The combination teaches wherein in Chemical Formula 1A and Chemical Formula 1B, R3 and R4 are each hydrogen, and at least one selected from among R1, R2, R5, and R6 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkenyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkynyl group (Lim, P4).
Re Claim 4. The combination teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is at least one selected from compounds of Group 1: Group 1
(Lim, P4, Formula 1-1a, R3 to R6 are each hydrogen).
Re Claim 6. The combination teaches wherein the additive further includes at least one other additive selected from among vinylene carbonate (VC) (Lim, P5).
Re Claim 7. The combination teaches wherein an average length of the carbon nanotubes is greater than or equal to about 5 µm and less than about 200 µm (Shatunov, para. 67, 1 to 200 µm).
Re Claim 8. The combination teaches wherein an average length of the carbon nanotubes is about 5 µm to about 100 µm (Shatunov, para. 67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8, regarding claim 1, applicant argued that Lim does not teach the claimed positive active material represented by Chemical Formula 2-1.
The examiner disagrees with this because Lim explicitly teaches the claimed positive active material represented by Chemical Formula 2-1 (P6 of translation, LiaNi1-b-cCobXcDα, , X is Mn or Al, D is O, 0.9 ≤ a ≤ 1.8, 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ c ≤ 0.5, 0 < b+c ≤ 1, w1=0, and α=2 & para. 99 & 100 of Original Publication).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
2/11/2026