DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 06/24/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-12 and 14-16 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2026, 06/17/2026, 06/09/2026, and 04/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,051,779 in view of Son et al. (Pub. No. US 20190207221 A1) in view of Park et al. (Pub. No. KR 20190123136 A) in view of Faustov et al. (Pub. No. US 20230253620 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 779’ teaches a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte solution comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and an additive, and the additive comprises a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1:
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, X.sup.1 is a fluoro group (—F), a chloro group (—Cl), a bromo group (—Br), or an iodo group (—I), R.sup.1 to R.sup.6 are each independently hydrogen, a cyano group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C20 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C20 aryl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 heteroaryl group, and n is 0 or 1 (see claims 1 and 9 of 779’).
779’ fails to disclose the positive electrode comprises a positive active material, the negative electrode comprises a negative active material, and the negative active material comprises a silicon (SI) composite mixed with graphite at a weight ratio of about 1:99 to about 50:50, the electrolyte solution being free from propane sultone, and the additive comprises succinonitrile (SN).
However, Son teaches positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0233]) comprises a positive active material (positive active material, see [0233]), the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0221]) comprises a negative active material (negative active material composition, see [0221]), and the negative active material (negative active material composition, see [0221]) comprises a silicon (SI) composite (silicon-containing composite, see [0181] where the carbon composite comprises silicon-containing composite, see [0221] where the negative electrode active material comprises carbon composite) mixed with graphite (graphite, see [0184] where the carbonaceous material is graphite, see [0181] where the carbon composite is a mix of silicon-containing composite and a carbonaceous material, see [0221] where the negative electrode active material comprises carbon composite) at a weight ratio of about 1:99 to about 50:50 (3:97 to 50:50, see [0183] where the amount of the carbonaceous material is 50-97 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the carbon composite, see [0300] gives specific example of graphite to silicon-containing composite at a ratio of 1:12 which is equivalent to about 8:92).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify 779’ such that the positive electrode comprises a positive active material and the negative electrode comprises negative active material wherein the negative active material comprises a silicon (Si) composite mixed with graphite at a ratio of 3:97 to 50:50 as taught by Son to improve volume energy density and reduce volume expansion of an electrode (see [0181]), and suppress volumetric expansion of silicon (see [0003]).
Park teaches the electrolyte solution (electrolyte, see [00143]) being free from propane sultone (see [00153-00161] specific examples 1-5 do not contain propane sultone).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electrolyte solution of 779’ in view of Son such that the electrolyte solution does not includes propane sultone as taught by Park to improve battery performance by ensuring high temperature stability and improving resistance characteristics.
Faustov teaches the additive (electrolyte additives, see [0040]) comprises succinonitrile (SN) (succinonitrile, see [0040]) and fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC, see [0040]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify 779’ in view of Son in view of Park add succinonitrile and FEC as electrolyte additives and such that the organic solvent includes EC (ethylene carbonate), PC (propylene carbonate), and DMC (dimethyl carbonate) as taught by Faustov to improve ionic conductivity of the electrolyte (see [0040] of Faustov).
Regarding claim 2, 779’ in view of Son in view of Park in view of Faustov teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1A or Chemical Formula 1B: ##STR00010## wherein, in Chemical Formula 1A and Chemical Formula 1B, X.sup.1 is a fluoro group (—F), and R.sup.1 to R.sup.6 are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkenyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkynyl group (see claim 10 of 779’).
Regarding claim 5, 779’ in view of Son in view of Park in view of Faustov teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 is at least one selected from compounds of Group 1:
(see claim 11 of 779’). The examiner would like to note that 2-fluoro-1,3,2-dioxaphospholane disclosed by 779’ is the same as the first compound of Group 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Pub. No. KR 20190123136 A) in view of Son et al. (Pub. No. US 20190207221 A1) in view of Faustov et al. (Pub. No. US 20230253620 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a rechargeable lithium battery (100, Fig. 1, see [00143]), comprising a positive electrode (114, Fig. 1, see [00143]) comprising a positive active material (positive electrode active material, see [00114]); a negative electrode (112, Fig. 1, see [00143]) comprising a negative active material (negative electrode active material, see [00127]); and an electrolyte solution (electrolyte, see [00143], further see [00111] the lithium secondary comprises the electrolyte solution described above) comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent (non-aqueous organic solvent, see [0046]), a lithium salt (lithium salt, see [0046]), and an additive (additives, see [0046]), the electrolyte solution (electrolyte, see [00143], further see [00111] the lithium secondary comprises the electrolyte solution described above) being free from propane sultone (PS) (see [00153-00161] specific examples 1-5 do not contain propane sultone), wherein the negative active material (negative electrode active material, see [00127]) comprises a silicon (Si) composite (Si-C Composite, see [00131]), and the additive (additives, see [0046]) comprises a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Formula 1, see [0049]): wherein, in Chemical Formula 1 (Formula 1, see [0049]), X.sup.1 (X.sup.1, see [0049]) is a fluoro group (—F) (fluoro group, see [0051]), a chloro group (—Cl) (chloro group, see [0051]), a bromo group (—Br) (bromo group, see [0051]), or an iodo group (—I) (iodo group, see [0051]), R.sup.1 to R.sup.6 (R.sup.1 to R.sup.6, see [0049]) are each independently hydrogen (hydrogen, see [0052]), a cyano group (cyano group, see [0052]), a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl group (see [0052]), a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkoxy group (see [0052]), a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 alkenyl group (see [0052]), a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 alkynyl group (see [0052]), a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C20 cycloalkyl group (see [0052]), a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C20 aryl group (see [0052]), or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C20 heteroaryl group (see [0052]), and n (n, see [0049]) is 0 or 1 (0 or 1, see [0053]), but fails to teach wherein the negative active material comprises a silicon (Si) composite mixed with graphite at a weight ratio of about 1:99 to about 50:50, and wherein the additive comprises succinonitrile (SN).
However, Son teaches wherein the negative active material (negative active material composition, see [0221]) comprises a silicon (Si) composite (silicon-containing composite, see [0181] where the carbon composite comprises silicon-containing composite, see [0221] where the negative electrode active material comprises carbon composite) mixed with graphite (graphite, see [0184] where the carbonaceous material is graphite, see [0181] where the carbon composite is a mix of silicon-containing composite and a carbonaceous material, see [0221] where the negative electrode active material comprises carbon composite) at a weight ratio of about 1:99 to about 50:50 (3:97 to 50:50, see [0183] where the amount of the carbonaceous material is 50-97 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the carbon composite, see [0300] gives specific example of graphite to silicon-containing composite at a ratio of 1:12 which is equivalent to about 8:92).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park by forming the negative electrode active material as a mixture of the Si-C composite and graphite in a weight ratio of 3:97 to 50:50 as taught by Son to improve the volume energy density and reduce volume expansion of an electrode (see [0181] of Son). Further, Park teaches that modifications can be made (see [00177] of Park).
Park in view of Son fails to teach wherein the additive comprises succinonitrile (SN).
However, Faustov teaches the additive (electrolyte additives, see [0040]) comprises succinonitrile (SN) (succinonitrile, see [0040]) and fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC, see [0040]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park in view of Son to add succinonitrile and FEC as part of the additive to the electrolyte and include EC (ethylene carbonate), PC (propylene carbonate), and DMC (dimethyl carbonate) (see [0040] of Faustov) as part of the non-aqueous organic solvent as taught by Faustov to improve ionic conductivity of the electrolyte (see [0040] of Faustov). Further, Park in view of Son teaches that modifications can be made (see [00177] of Park), and wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent can include EC, PC, and DMC (see [0093] of Park), and wherein the additive can include succinonitrile and FEC (see [0087] of Park).
Regarding claim 2, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Formula 1, see [0049]) is represented by Chemical Formula 1A (Formula 1-1A, see [0077], see [0072] where chemical formula 1 is represented by chemical formula 1-1, see [0076] Chemical Formula 1-1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-1A) or Chemical Formula 1B (Formula 1-1B, see [0077], see [0072] where Chemical Formula 1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-1, see [0076] Chemical Formula 1-1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-1B): wherein, in Chemical Formula 1A (Formula 1-1A, see [0077]) and Chemical Formula 1B (Formula 1-1B, see [0077]), X.sup.1 (F, see [0077]) is a fluoro group (—F) (fluoro group, see [0077] where the X.sup.1 is a fluoro group), a chloro group (—Cl), a bromo group (—Br), or an iodo group (—I), and R.sup.1 to R.sup.6 (R.sup.1-R.sup.6, see [0077]) are each independently hydrogen (see [0079]), a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group (see [0079]), a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group (see [0079]), a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkenyl group (see [0079]), or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkynyl group (see [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov fails to teach wherein in Chemical Formula 1A and Chemical Formula 1B, R.sup.3 and R.sup.4 are each hydrogen, and at least one selected from among R.sup.1, R.sup.2, R.sup.5, and R.sup.6 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkenyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkynyl group.
However, Park does teach wherein in Chemical Formula 1A (Formula 1-1A, see [0077]) and Chemical Formula 1B (Formula 1-1A, see [0077]), R.sup.3 and R.sup.4 (R.sup.3 and R.sup.4, see [0077]) are each hydrogen (see [0077] where each R.sup.3 and R.sup.4 are independently hydrogen), and at least one selected from among R.sup.1, R.sup.2, R.sup.5, and R.sup.6 (see [0079] R.sup.1, R.sup.2, R.sup.5, and R.sup.6 are independently determined) is a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group (see [0079]), a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group (see [0079]), a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkenyl group (see [0079]), or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkynyl group (see [0079]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park in view of Son in view of Faustov such that Formula 1-1A and Chemical Formula 1-1B as taught Park have the specific makeup R.sup.3 and R.sup.4 each being hydrogen and at least one of R.sup.1, R.sup.2, R.sup.5, and R.sup.6 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkenyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkynyl group as Park teaches it is known in the art to do so. Further, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov teaches that modifications can be made (see [00177] of Park).
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Formula 1, see [0049]) is about 0.1 parts by weight to about 10 parts by weight (0.1wt%-10wt%, see [0067]) in amount based on 100 parts by weight (total amount of the electrolyte, see [0067]) of the electrolyte solution (electrolyte, see [00143], further see [00111] the lithium secondary comprises the electrolyte solution described above, see [0067]).
Regarding claim 5, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov teaches wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Formula 1, see [0049]) is at least one selected from compounds of Group 1 (2-fluoro-1,3,2-diosaphospholane, see [0081] where Chemical Formula 1 is represented by 2-fluoro-1,3,2-diosaphospholane.
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov teaches wherein the additive (additives, see [0046]) further comprises at least one other additive (FEC, see [0040] of Faustov, see modifications above) selected from among vinylene carbonate (VC), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (FEC, see [0040] of Faustov, see modifications above), difluoroethylene carbonate, chloroethylene carbonate, dichloroethylene carbonate, bromoethylene carbonate, dibromoethylene carbonate, nitroethylene carbonate, cyanoethylene carbonate, vinylethylene carbonate (VEC), adiponitrile (AN), 1,3,6-hexane tricyanide (HTCN), lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF.sub.4), lithium difluorophosphate (LiPO.sub.2F.sub.2), and 2-fluoro biphenyl (2-FBP).
7. Claims 7-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Pub. No. KR 20190123136 A) in view of Son et al. (Pub. No. US 20190207221 A1) in view of Faustov et al. (Pub. No. US 20230253620 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No. KR 20090109225 A).
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov fails to teach wherein the Si composite comprises a core comprising Si-based particles and an amorphous carbon coating layer.
However, Lee teaches a Si composite (200, Fig. 1B, see [17] and see [10] layer 100 includes Si making it a silicon composite) comprises a core (100, Fig. 1B/1A, see [17]) comprising Si-based particles (20, Fig. 1A, see [10]) and an amorphous carbon coating layer (210, Fig. 1B, see [17]) wherein a void (110, Fig. 1A, see [7]) is included in a center portion (area encompassed by the void 110, Fig. 1A) of the core (100, Fig. 1B/1A, see [17]). The core (100, Fig. 1B/1A, see [17]) comprises Si-based particles (20, Fig. 1A, see [10]) and an amorphous carbon (50, Fig. 1A, see [15]), the amorphous carbon comprising hard carbon (hard carbon, see [16]). The Si-based particles (20, Fig. 1A, see [10]) comprise Si particles (nanosilicon particles, see [26]) and carbon fibers (30, Fig. 1A, [8]) are embedded in the vicinity of the void (110, Fig. 1A, see [7], see [8] embedded in vicinity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park in view of Son in view of Faustov to substitute the Si composite (Si-C composites, see [00131] of Park) as taught by Park in view of Son in view of Faustov for the Si composite as taught by Lee as an art effective equivalent negative active material having improved conductivity, suppressed volume expansion, and large charge/discharge capacity (see [4] of Lee). Further, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov teaches that modifications can be made (see [00177] of Park).
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee teaches wherein the core (100, Fig. 1B/1A, see [17] of Lee, see modification above) comprises the Si-based particles (20, Fig. 1A, see [10] of Lee, see modification above) and an amorphous carbon (50, Fig. 1A, see [15] of Lee, see modification above).
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee teaches wherein the Si-based particles (20, Fig. 1A, see [10] of Lee, see modification above) comprises at least one selected from among Si particles (nanosilicon particles, see [26] of Lee, see modification above), Si—C composite, SiO.sub.x (0<x≤2), and a Si alloy, and the Si—C composite comprises Si particles and a crystalline carbon.
Regarding claim 10, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee teaches wherein a void (110, Fig. 1A, see [7] of Lee, see modification above) is included in a center portion (area encompassed by the void 110, Fig. 1A of Lee, see modification above) of the core (100, Fig. 1B/1A, see [17] of Lee, see modification above).
Regarding claim 11, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee fails to teach wherein a radius of the center portion corresponds to about 30% to about 50% of a radius of the negative active material, and an average particle diameter of the Si-based particles is about 10 nm to about 200 nm.
However, Lee further teaches wherein the radius of the void (110, Fig. 1A, see [7]) is 0.1 to 10 micrometers (0.1 to 10 micrometers, see [6]), and in Example 3 a particle with a core-shell structure as described in Fig. 1B has an average particle diameter of 18 micrometers (18 micrometers, see [28]), making the radius of the center portion (area encompassed by the void 110, Fig. 1A) between 0.56% and 55.6% of the radius of the Si-composite (200, Fig. 1B, see [17] and see [10] layer 100 includes Si making it a silicon composite) which encompasses the claimed range (see calculations detailed below), and the Si-based particles (20, Fig. 1A, see [10]) have a particle size of 5 nm to 1 micrometer (5 nm to 1 micrometer, see [12]) which encompasses the claimed range and when using Si particles (nanosilicon particles, see [26]) as described in Example 1 the particle size is 50 nm (50 nm, see [26]).
(Radius of void/center portion = (1/2)*Diameter of void = (1/2)*0.1 to (1/2)*10 = 0.05 to 5 micrometers. Total Particle Radius = (1/2)*Diameter of particle = (1/2)*18 = 9 micrometers. Percentage of Radius = (Radius of Void/Total Particle Radius)*100 = (0.05/9)*100 = 0.55556% which rounds to 0.56%, (5/9)*100 = 55.5556% which rounds to 55.6%)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee such that the radius of the center portion is between 0.56% to 55.6% of the Si composite and the Si-based particles have a particle size between 5 nm to 1 micrometer specifically 50 nanometers, and the average particle diameter of the Si composite is 18 micrometers as further taught by Lee to provide sufficient buffer space (see [6] of Lee), prevent loss of irreversible capacity (see [12] of Lee) and prevent severe volumetric expansion during reaction with lithium (see [12] of Lee). Further Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee teaches that modifications can be made (see [00177] of Park).
It would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee such that the radius of the center portion is between 30% to 50% of the negative active material as a prima facie case of obviousness exists “in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” (MPEP 2144.05.I), and the diameter of the void is a result effective variable of ensuring sufficient buffer space and packing density (see [6] of Lee). Further Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee teaches that modifications can be made (see [00177] of Park).
It is the examiners position that the modification of Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee teaches the claimed range of an average particle diameter of the Si-based particles is about 10 nm to about 200 nm as the range taught by Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee encompasses the claimed range and further gives Lee gives a specific example of Si particles having an average particle size of 50 nm (50 nm, see [26] of Lee, see modification above) which lies within the claimed range, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists “in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 12, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the center portion does not include any amorphous carbon, and the amorphous carbon is present only in a surface portion of the negative active material.
However, as apparent in Fig. 1A and 1B of Lee, the amorphous carbon (50, Fig. 1A, see [15] of Lee, see modification above) is not present in the void (110, Fig. 1A, see [7] of Lee, see modification above) which makes up the center portion of the particle. Further, although carbon fibers (30, Fig. 1A, [8] of Lee, see modification above) appear to be present in the void (110, Fig. 1A, see [7] of Lee, see modification above) in Fig. 1A and 1B, Lim in view of Lee teaches carbon fibers (30, Fig. 1A, [8] of Lee, see modification above) are embedded in the vicinity of the void (110, Fig. 1A, see [7], see [8] embedded in vicinity of Lee, see modification above). Further, the void is an empty space (empty space inside negative electrode active material, see [6] of Lee). Therefore, it is the examiners position that this teaches the limitation of wherein the center portion does not include any amorphous carbon, and the amorphous carbon is present only in a surface portion of the negative active material.
Regarding claim 14, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Lee teaches wherein the amorphous carbon (50, Fig. 1A, see [15] of Lee, see modification above) comprises soft carbon, hard carbon (hard carbon, see [16] of Lee, see modification above), a mesophase pitch carbonized product, calcined coke, or a combination thereof.
8. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Pub. No. KR 20190123136 A) in view of Son et al. (Pub. No. US 20190207221 A1) in view of Faustov et al. (Pub. No. US 20230253620 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (Pub. No. 2020/0266490).
Regarding claim 15, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov teaches wherein the positive active material (positive electrode active material, see [00114]) comprises at least one lithium composite oxide (Li.sub.aNi.sub.bCo.sub.cMn.sub.dG.sub.eO.sub.2, see [00118]), but fails to teach that the lithium composite oxide is represented by Chemical Formula 3:
Li.sub.xM.sup.1.sub.yM.sup.2.sub.zM.sup.3.sub.1−y−zO.sub.2−aX.sub.a Chemical Formula 3 wherein, in Chemical Formula 3, 0.5≤x≤1.8, 0≤a≤0.05, 0≤y≤1, 0≤z≤1, 0≤y+z≤1, M.sup.1, M.sup.2, and M.sup.3 are each independently selected from the group consisting of Ni, Co, Mn, Al, B, Ba, Ca, Ce, Cr, Fe, Mo, Nb, Si, Sr, Mg, Ti, V, W, Zr, La, and a combination thereof, and X is at least one element selected from the group consisting of F, S, P, and Cl.
However, Cho teaches a positive active material (cathode active material, see [0093]) comprising a lithium composite oxide (see where the cathode active material is LiNi.sub.0.88Co.sub.0.0105Al.sub.0.015O.sub.2, see [0093]) represented by the Chemical Formula 3 (LiNi.sub.0.88Co.sub.0.0105Al.sub.0.015O.sub.2, see [0093]):
Chemical Formula 3 Li.sub.xM.sup.1.sub.yM.sup.2.sub.zM.sup.3.sub.1−y−zO.sub.2−aX.sub.a (LiNi.sub.0.88Co.sub.0.0105Al.sub.0.015O.sub.2, see [0093]) wherein, in Chemical Formula 3 (LiNi.sub.0.88Co.sub.0.0105Al.sub.0.015O.sub.2, see [0093]), 0.5≤x≤1.8 (x=1, see [0093]), 0≤a≤0.05 (a=0, see [0093]), 0≤y≤1 (y=0.88, see [0093]), 0≤z≤1 (z=0.0105, see [0093]), 0≤y+z≤1 (y+z=0.8905, see [0093]), M.sup.1, M.sup.2, and M.sup.3 (M.sup.1 = Ni, M.sup.2=Co, M.sup.3=Al, see [0093]) are each independently selected from the group consisting of Ni, Co, Mn, Al, B, Ba, Ca, Ce, Cr, Fe, Mo, Nb, Si, Sr, Mg, Ti, V, W, Zr, La, and a combination thereof (M.sup.1 = Ni, M.sup.2=Co, M.sup.3=Al, see [0093]), and X (X is not present as a=0, see [0093]) is at least one element selected from the group consisting of F, S, P, and Cl (X is not present as a=0, see [0093]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park in view of Son in view of Faustov to substitute the positive active material as taught by Park for the positive active material as taught by Cho as an art effective equivalent positive active material for improving lifetime characteristics and high temperature stability (see [0008] of Cho). Further, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov teaches that modifications can be made (see [00177] of Park).
Regarding claim 16, Park in view of Son in view of Faustov in view of Cho teaches wherein in Chemical Formula 3 (LiNi.sub.0.88Co.sub.0.0105Al.sub.0.015O.sub.2, see [0093] of Cho, see modification above), 0.8≤y≤1 (y=0.88, see [0093] of Cho, see modification above), 0≤z≤0.2 (z=0.0105, see [0093] of Cho, see modification above), and M.sup.1 is Ni (M.sup.1=Ni, see [0093] of Cho, see modification above).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Park fails to teach an electrolyte solution that includes a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 and succinonitrile. This argument is moot as the rejection of current rejection of record does not rely on the same combination of references previously applies.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the combination of formula 1 additive and succinonitrile provides technically significant advantage of reducing internal resistance increases, reduce gas generation, and improve cycle life characteristics, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding applicants argument that the Examiner calculated range of the center portion radius percentage is based on separate disclosures in Lee and cannot be used to teach the claimed range nor is it a specific disclosure or suggestion of Lee. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the void range provided by Lee was a result effective variable of providing sufficient buffer space and packing density (see [6] of Lee). Further, the particle size was not provided by a different embodiment or disclosure of Lee but rather a specific example of a particle taught by Lee and the specific method of producing it which produced a particle with a particle diameter of 18 microns. Therefore as lee suggested a void diameter range as a result effective variable, the percentage of said void radius encompasses the claimed range providing a prima facie case of obviousness and further provides the void diameter and therefore the percentage of the overall radius as a result effective variable. Therefore the calculation provided by the Examiner uses specific disclosures provided by Lee to show obviousness of the claimed range.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Lee fails to teach the center portion is free from amorphous carbon and only present in the surface portion, and only provided by inferences from Lee rather than specific teachings. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the center portion is mapped to the void 110 of Lee, and as seen in Fig. 1A and 1B the void 110 is free of the amorphous carbon 50. Further, the void is described as empty space in [6] of Lee, therefore it is the Examiner’s position that the void is free from amorphous carbon. Further, in the case the carbon fiber was claimed to be a part of the amorphous carbon or partially amorphous, the Examiner pointed out the carbon fiber is embedded in the vicinity of the central void, therefore not present in the void or center portion. And further, as seen in [8] of Lee, the remaining portion of the particle is amorphous carbon except for the central voids.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723