Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are pending with claims 1-14 being allowed. Claims 15-20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 01/30/2026, along with the amendments have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The previous drawing objection is withdrawn. Applicant filed replacement drawings to address the issue.
As to the remarks, the examiner has found the applicant’s arguments not persuasive and will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burn et al (US 20180100801 A1; hereinafter “Burn”).
Regarding claim 1, Burn teaches an integrated explosive detector (Burn; fig. 1) for a container, the integrated explosive detector comprising:
a substrate element that couples to the container, the substrate comprising a port and a surround (Burn; [0084]-[0085] “Substrate may take the form of a tube (surround) that has a hole (port)); and
a detection element coupled to the substrate element (Burn; Abstract “triaryl amine compound coating on the substrate”), the detection element comprising:
a visual indicator that provides a visible indication when a subject substance is detected (Burn; [0081]-[0082] “detector (visual indicator) delivers output signal that is indicative of the intensity of the light emitted by the compound) via ambient air flow through at least a portion of the detection element via the port (Burn; fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burn et al (US 20180100801 A1; hereinafter “Burn”).
Regarding claim 5, Burn teaches the integrated explosive detector of claim 1 (see above) to include a substrate element (see above).
Burn fails to teach the substrate element comprises peel-and-stick adhesive.
However, it would have been obvious to modify the substrate element to include a peel and stick adhesive which would allow to attach the substrate element to a container.
Regarding claim 7, Burn teaches the integrated explosive detector of claim 1 (see above) to include a container (see above).
Burn does not teach the container is a cardboard box or paper envelope.
However, it would have been obvious include a container that is a cardboard box or paper envelope as this material is mostly used for shipping materials where explosive material can be mailed.
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burn et al (US 20180100801 A1; hereinafter “Burn”) in view of Zhang (US 20130217139 A1; hereinafter “Zhang” previous of record).
Regarding claim 2, Burn teaches the integrated explosive detector of claim 1 (see above) to include a detection element (see above).
Burn does not teach the integrated explosive detector further comprises a rigid protective element coupled to the detection element.
However, Zhang teaches the analogous art of an integrated explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”). Zhang teaches incorporating the explosive detector in a housing for ease of use [0037]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Burn’s detection element to include a rigid protective element as taught by Zhang because Zhang teaches an integrated explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”). Zhang teaches incorporating the explosive detector in a housing for ease of use [0037]).
The modification allows to incorporate the explosive detector in a housing for ease of use [0037]).
Regarding claim 3, Burn teaches the integrated explosive detector of claim 1 (see above) to include a visual indicator (see above).
Burn fails to teach wherein the visual indicator comprises photoluminescent polymer fibers that are activated by nitroaromatic explosive particles.
However, Zhang teaches the analogous art of an integrated explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a visual indicator (Zhang; fig. 1. 12”fluorescence sensor”) wherein the visual indicator comprises photoluminescent polymer fibers that are activated by nitroaromatic explosive particles (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and [0031] “fluorescence sensor can include nanofibrils 12”, and [0036] “the nanofibril material exhibits distinct fluorescence changes upon exposure to specific target samples”).
Zhang teaches a fluorescent visual indicator that is activated upon exposure to (2, 4, 6-trinitrotoluene) TNT.
Zhang further teaches the visual indicator (nanofibril) comprises photoluminescent polymer fibers is made of nano fibers (Zhang; [0031] “carbazole nanofibers”).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Burn’s visual indicator to include photoluminescent polymer fibers that are activated by nitroaromatic explosive particles as taught by Zhang because Zhang teaches an integrated explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a visual indicator (Zhang; fig. 1. 12”fluorescence sensor”) wherein the visual indicator comprises photoluminescent polymer fibers that are activated by nitroaromatic explosive particles (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and [0031] “fluorescence sensor can include nanofibrils 12”, and [0036] “the nanofibril material exhibits distinct fluorescence changes upon exposure to specific target samples”).
The modification allows to have a photoluminescence signature that is distinctive of explosives.
Regarding claim 4, Burn teaches the integrated explosive detector of claim 1 (see above) to include a detection element (see above).
Burn fails to teach the detection element is one of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint.
However, Zhang teaches the analogous art of an integrated explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a detection element (Zhang; fig. 1. 14) wherein the detection element is one of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint (Zhang; [0035] “the nanofibrils can be formed in any suitable shape such as a coating, a film or a thin film through which vapors can be passed”).
Zhang teaches the nanofibrils form a nanoporous film consisting of entangled fibril networks (Zhang; [0050]) which Examiner interprets as a type of screen.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Burn’s detection element to be one of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint as taught by Zhang because Zhang teaches an integrated explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a detection element (Zhang; fig. 1. 14) wherein the detection element is one of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint (Zhang; [0035] “the nanofibrils can be formed in any suitable shape such as a coating, a film or a thin film through which vapors can be passed”).
The modification allows for vapor to permeate the material.
Regarding claim 6, Burn teaches the integrated explosive detector of claim 1 (see above) to include a detection element (see above).
Burn does not teach the detection element at least partially obstructs airflow through a container port in a surface of the container.
However, Zhang teaches the analogous art of an integrated explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a detection element (Zhang; fig. 1. 14). Zhang teaches to include an opening in the housing for the explosive detector to allow passage of air suspected of containing target sample vapors [0037]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Burn’s detection element to at least partially obstructs airflow through a container port in a surface of the container because Zhang teaches partially obstructing airflow through a port in a surface of the container in order to place the explosive detector in the path of air suspected of containing target sample vapors.
The modification allows to collect air sample.
Claims 8-9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ornath (US 20150338319 A1; hereinafter; “Ornath” previous of record) in view of Burn et al (US 20180100801 A1; hereinafter “Burn”).
Regarding claim 8, Ornath teaches a container comprising:
an integrated explosive detector comprising (Ornath; fig. 4. 1102, 1103).
Ornath fails to teach the integrated explosive detector comprises a substrate element that couples to the container, the substrate comprising a port and a surround; and, a detection element coupled to the substrate element, the detection element comprising: a visual indicator that provides a visible indication when a subject substance is detected via ambient air flow through at least a portion of the detection element via the port.
However, Burn teaches the analogous art of an integrated explosive detector (Burns; fig. 1), the integrated explosive detector comprising:
a substrate element that couples to the container, the substrate comprising a port and a surround (Burn; [0084]-[0085] “Substrate may take the form of a tube (surround) that has a hole (port)); and
a detection element coupled to the substrate element (Burn; Abstract “triaryl amine compound coating on the substrate”), the detection element comprising:
a visual indicator that provides a visible indication when a subject substance is detected (Burn; [0081]-[0082] “detector (visual indicator) delivers output signal that is indicative of the intensity of the light emitted by the compound) via ambient air flow through at least a portion of the detection element via the port (Burn; fig. 1).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ornath’s integrated explosive detector to include a substrate element that couples to the container, the substrate comprising a port and a surround; and, a detection element coupled to the substrate element, the detection element comprising: a visual indicator that provides a visible indication when a subject substance is detected via ambient air flow through at least a portion of the detection element via the port as taught by Burn because Burn teaches an integrated explosive detector (Burn; fig. 1), the integrated explosive detector comprising: a substrate element that couples to the container, the substrate comprising a port and a surround (Burn; [0084]-[0085] “Substrate may take the form of a tube (surround) that has a hole (port)); and a detection element coupled to the substrate element (Burn; Abstract “triaryl amine compound coating on the substrate”), the detection element comprising: a visual indicator that provides a visible indication when a subject substance is detected (Burn; [0081]-[0082] “detector (visual indicator) delivers output signal that is indicative of the intensity of the light emitted by the compound) via ambient air flow through at least a portion of the detection element via the port (Burn; fig. 1).
The modification allows to detect analytes via luminescence (Burn; Title)
Regarding claim 9, modified Ornath teaches the container of claim 8 (see above).
Modified Ornath teaches a protective element that covers the cargo where the integrated explosive detector would be placed.
Modified Ornath fails to teach the integrated explosive detector further comprising a rigid protective element coupled to the detection element.
It would have been obvious to provide a rigid protective element coupled to the detection element in order to protect the detection element from environmental factors such as rain or debris.
Regarding claim 12, modified Ornath teaches the container of claim 8 (see above) to include a substrate element (see above).
Modified Ornath fails to teach the substrate element comprises peel-and-stick adhesive.
It would have been obvious to include a peel-and-stick adhesive to the substrate element in order to place the substrate element on the container.
Regarding claim 14, modified Ornath teaches the container of claim 8 (see above) wherein the container is a cardboard box or paper envelope (Ornath; [0134] “the goods are in boxes”).
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ornath (US 20150338319 A1; hereinafter; “Ornath” previous of record) in view of Burn et al (US 20180100801 A1; hereinafter “Burn”), further in view of Zhang (US 20130217139 A1; hereinafter “Zhang” previous of record).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ornath teaches the container of claim 8 (see above) to include a visual indicator (see above).
Modified Ornath teaches identifying explosives (Ornath; [0109]).
Modified Ornath fails to teach a visual indicator that comprises photoluminescent polymer fibers that are activated by nitroaromatic explosive particles.
However, Zhang teaches the analogous art of an explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a fluorescent visual indicator that is activated upon exposure to (2, 4, 6-trinitrotoluene) TNT.
Zhang further teaches the visual indicator (nanofibril) comprises photoluminescent polymer fibers is made of nano fibers (Zhang; [0031] “carbazole nanofibers”).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ornath’s indicator to be a visual indicator that comprises photoluminescent polymer fibers that are activated by nitroaromatic explosive particles as taught by Zhang because Zhang teaches an explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a fluorescent visual indicator that is activated upon exposure to (2, 4, 6-trinitrotoluene) TNT wherein the visual indicator (nanofibril) comprises photoluminescent polymer fibers is made of nano fibers (Zhang; [0031] “carbazole nanofibers”).
This modification allows to alert a user when exposure to TNT is detected.
Regarding claim 11, modified Ornath teaches the container of claim 8 (see above) to include a detection element (see above).
Modified Ornath fails to teach the detection element is one of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint.
However, Zhang teaches the analogous art of an explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a detection element (Zhang; fig. 1. 14) wherein the detection element is one of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint (Zhang; [0035] “the nanofibrils can be formed in any suitable shape such as a coating, a film or a thin film through which vapors can be passed”).
Zhang teaches the nanofibrils form a nanoporous film consisting of entangled fibril networks (Zhang; [0050]) which Examiner interprets as a type of screen.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ornath’s detection element to be one of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint as taught by Zhang because Zhang teaches an explosive detector (Zhang; fig. 1. 12 and Abstract “detection of explosives”) that includes a detection element (Zhang; fig. 1. 14) wherein the detection element is one of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint (Zhang; [0035] “the nanofibrils can be formed in any suitable shape such as a coating, a film or a thin film through which vapors can be passed”).
Having a detection element of felt, fabric, screen, nanowire mesh, or nanowire paint would allow a porous surface to allow gases through for volatile explosive substances to be detected.
Regarding claim 13, modified Ornath teaches the container of claim 8 (see above) to include a detection element (see above).
Modified Ornath does not teach the detection element at least partially obstructs airflow through a port in a surface of the container.
However, Zhang does teach including an opening in the explosive detector housing to allow passage of air suspected of containing target sample vapors [0037].
It would have been obvious to further modify Ornath to partially obstruct airflow through a port in a surface of the container in order to place the explosive detector in the path of air suspected of containing target sample vapors.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798