DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed October 30th 2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance. Applicant's arguments with respect to the 102 and 103 rejections of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments to Claim 1. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hori et al. JP 2020/123467 A. New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 & 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an ideal line of the bottom surface of the case”. It is unclear what exactly Applicant is referring to with “an ideal line” in the context of the claim as there is no clear spatial or structural limitation associated with “an ideal line” of the bottom of the battery cell case. Thus, the claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-5 & 7-9, as they depend from Claim 1, are also indefinite for the same reasons.
Similar to Claim 1, Claim 5 recites “an ideal line of the bottom surface of the plurality of cases”. It is unclear what exactly Applicant is referring to with “an ideal line” in the context of the claim as there is no clear spatial or structural limitation associated with “an ideal line” of the bottom of the battery cell cases. Thus, the claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “an ideal line of the bottom surface of the case”. It is unclear what exactly Applicant is referring to with “an ideal line” in the context of the claim as there is no clear spatial or structural limitation associated with “an ideal line” of the bottom of the battery cell case. Thus, the claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “an ideal line of the bottom surface of the case”. It is unclear what exactly Applicant is referring to with “an ideal line” in the context of the claim as there is no clear spatial or structural limitation associated with “an ideal line” of the bottom of the battery cell case. Thus, the claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, & 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi US 2022/0416328 A1, and further in view of Hori et al. JP 2020/123467 A and Fujino et al. JP 2008/066374 A. Citations to Hori and Fujino are mapped to the English machine translations provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Takahashi discloses a power storage device (power supply device) comprising a plurality of battery cells [0022], each having a case with a rectangular parallelepiped shape (outer cover can with a prismatic shape [0022]). Takahashi further discloses that the plurality of battery cells are stacked in a first direction (stacking direction) [0022]. Takahashi discloses a cooling plate (heat radiation plate that can include a cooling mechanism [0022, 0062]) provided on the bottom surface of the cases (shown in Figures 3 and 4).
Takahashi discloses that a heat transfer member (Figure 4 Item 6) is positioned between the bottom surface of the case and the cooling plate (Figure 4 Item 9 [0064]). See Takahashi Annotated Figure 4 below.
Takahashi Annotated Figure 4
Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate (heat radiation plate 9) can include a cooling mechanism such as a refrigerant circulation passage [0062]. Takahashi is not specific as to the exact structure of the cooling mechanism. As illustrated in Annotated Figure 4, Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate comprises a recess having a shape wherein the thickness of the cooling plate decreases at a center relative to a periphery of the cooling plate in a second direction. This is also shown in Figure 3 Item 9, the cooling plate having thicker outer portions and a thinner center. However, Takahashi fails to disclose that the recess in the cooling plate includes specifically an arc shape so that the thickness of the cooling plate decreases at the center in the second direction.
Takahashi Annotated Figure 4
Hori discloses a power storage device (battery module) comprising a plurality of power storage cells (battery cells) [0006] stacked in a first direction, as shown in Hori Annotated Figure 1, similar to Takahashi. Hori further discloses a temperature control device (Figure 1 Item 4) [0006, 0020] positioned along the bottom surfaces of each of the plurality of battery cells, similar to the heat radiation plate (Figure 4 Item 9) of Takahashi.
Hori Annotated Figure 1
Hori discloses that the temperature control device controls the temperature inside the housing and the temperature of the battery cells [0022]. Hori discloses that the temperature control device comprises a base portion, an insulating sheet, and a metal support member, which is a metal plate-shaped member that exchanges heat with the battery cells and further comprises a plate shaped portion, a plurality of projection portions, communicating portions, and connecting pipes [0025], as further shown in Hori Annotated Figure 7 (connecting pipes 24 are shown in Figures 3 & 5). Thus, Hori discloses a cooling plate (metal support member Figure 7 Item 13). Hori discloses that the communication portions and connecting pipes of the metal support member form a flow path that connects the protruding portions such that the heat medium can circulate throughout the protruding portions [0027-0028], thus providing a cooling mechanism within the metal support member, providing a cooling plate.
Hori Annotated Figure 7
Hori further discloses that the cooling plate (metal support member) further comprises a recess (projecting/protruding portions 22 protrude upward away from the insulating sheet 12, forming a recess or space [0026, 0027]). In Figure 7, Hori shows that the recess is an arc shape having a decreased thickness at the center relative to the periphery of the cooling plate in the second direction [0032]:
Hori discloses that a cooling plate (metal support member) having a configuration such as this allows for secure surface contact between the cooling plate and the bottom surface of the battery cells in the case when the batteries swell during operation, which prevents a decrease in temperature control efficiency [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the heat radiation plate (Item 9 Figure 4) of Takahashi with the cooling plate (metal support member 13 Figure 7) of Hori to provide a cooling plate with a recess including an arc shape wherein the thickness of the cooling plate decreases at a center of the cooling plate in the second direction, for the benefit of secure surface contact between the cooling plate and the bottom surface of the battery cells when the cells deform during operation to prevent a decrease in temperature control efficiency. Additionally, in the absence of a specific cooling mechanism disclosed by Takahashi, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to a similar disclosure such as Hori for a more specific suggestion of a cooling mechanism to use in the battery module of Takahashi, and thus it would be obvious to replace the heat radiation plate of Takahashi with the metal support member (comprising a cooling mechanism) of Hori.
Thus, modified Takahashi, with the cooling plate configuration of Hori, discloses a cooling plate with a recess including an arc shape wherein the thickness of the cooling plate decreases at a center of the cooling plate in the second direction:
Modified Takahashi Figure 4
As illustrated in Annotated Figures 3 & 4 together below, Takahashi further discloses protrusions (outer lip shown below) on the outer portions of the cooling plate that protrude on an upper side of an “ideal line”. An “ideal line” is represented by the dashed line, wherein “ideal line” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to mean a line when the bottom surface of the case is not deformed.
Takahashi Annotated Figures 3 & 4
Takahashi discloses a heat transfer member between the bottom surface and the cooling plate, as mentioned above, however fails to disclose that the heat transfer member extends to an outer side of the protrusion in the second direction.
Fujino discloses a heat radiating substrate for a battery module [0009] comprising a base plate and a heat conductive sheet [0014]. In Figure 2, Fujino discloses that the base plate has protrusions (convex portions) on the outer sides of the base plate [0014] and shows that the heat conductive sheet covers the upper side of the protrusions (see Figure 2).
Fujino discloses that a battery module with this configuration prevents unstable operation during use [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the heat transfer member of modified Takahashi to extend to an outer side with respect to the protrusion in the second direction as suggested by Fujino to achieve a battery with stable operation during use.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Takahashi discloses that an edge end of the recess of the cooling plate and an edge end of the heat transfer member substantially coincide with each other, as shown in modified Takahashi Figure 4 below:
Modified Takahashi Figure 4
Regarding Claim 3, Takahashi shows in Figure 4 a battery cell cross-section wherein the case is not in a state of deformation (see Annotated Figure 4 below). Takahashi discloses that the bottom surface includes a flat surface portion located on a region including a central side in the second direction, as shown in Figure 4 where the bottom surface Item 19 has a flat surface along the length of the cell in the second direction (see Annotated Figure 4). Additionally, Takahashi discloses curved surface portions located on both end sides in the second direction (see rounded corners of battery cell in Annotated Figure 4 below).
Takahashi Annotated Figure 4
Further, Takahashi discloses that the edge end of the heat transfer member coincides with the boundary of the flat surface portion and the curved surface portions of the bottom surface, as shown in Takahashi Annotated Partial Figure 4:
Takahashi Annotated Partial Figure 4
Regarding Claim 4, modified Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate has a flat surface in a region closer to an edge end of the heat transfer member than the recess in the second direction, as illustrated in Modified Takahashi Figure 4:
Modified Takahashi Figure 4
Regarding Claim 5, modified Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate is positioned below the bottom surface of the battery cell cases (Item 9 Figure 4) [0062]. As mentioned with regards to Claim 1, an “ideal line” is represented by the dashed line (see Takahashi Annotated Figure 4), wherein “ideal line” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to mean a line when the bottom surface of the case is not deformed. Thus, Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate is on a lower side of the bottom surface with respect to the “ideal line”.
Takahashi Annotated Figure 4
Regarding Claim 8, Takahashi further discloses a low friction layer (low friction slide layer) [0022] positioned between the bottom surface of the case and the heat transfer member (provided between the heat transfer sheet and the plurality of battery cells [0022]), and has a relatively small friction coefficient (a low friction slide layer with a friction resistance small than a friction resistance of the heat transfer member [0022]). Thus Takahashi discloses a low friction layer between the bottom surface of the case and the heat transfer member having a relatively small friction coefficient.
Regarding Claim 10, similar to Claim 1, Takahashi discloses a power storage device (power supply device) comprising a plurality of battery cells [0022], each having a case with a rectangular parallelepiped shape (outer cover can with a prismatic shape [0022]). Takahashi further discloses that the plurality of battery cells are stacked in a first direction (stacking direction) [0022]. Takahashi discloses a cooling plate (heat radiation plate that can include a cooling mechanism [0022, 0062]) provided on the bottom surface of the cases (shown in Figures 3 and 4).
Takahashi discloses that a heat transfer member (Figure 4 Item 6) is positioned between the bottom surface of the case and the cooling plate (Figure 4 Item 9 [0064]). See Takahashi Annotated Figure 4 below.
Takahashi Annotated Figure 4
Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate (heat radiation plate 9) can include a cooling mechanism such as a refrigerant circulation passage [0062]. Takahashi is not specific as to the exact structure of the cooling mechanism. As illustrated in Annotated Figure 4, Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate comprises a recess having a shape wherein the thickness of the cooling plate decreases at a center relative to a periphery of the cooling plate in a second direction. This is also shown in Figure 3 Item 9, the cooling plate having thicker outer portions and a thinner center.
Takahashi Annotated Figure 4
In a similar disclosure, Hori discloses a power storage device (battery module) comprising a plurality of power storage cells (battery cells) [0006] stacked in a first direction, as shown in Hori Annotated Figure 1, similar to Takahashi. Hori further discloses a temperature control device (Figure 1 Item 4) [0006, 0020] positioned along the bottom surfaces of each of the plurality of battery cells, similar to the heat radiation plate (Figure 4 Item 9) of Takahashi.
Hori Annotated Figure 1
Hori discloses that the temperature control device controls the temperature inside the housing and the temperature of the battery cells [0022]. Hori discloses that the temperature control device comprises a base portion, an insulating sheet, and a metal support member, which is a metal plate-shaped member that exchanges heat with the battery cells and further comprises a plate shaped portion, a plurality of projection portions, communicating portions, and connecting pipes [0025], as further shown in Hori Annotated Figure 7 (connecting pipes 24 are shown in Figures 3 & 5). Thus, Hori discloses a cooling plate (metal support member Figure 7 Item 13). Hori discloses that the communication portions and connecting pipes of the metal support member form a flow path that connects the protruding portions such that the e heat medium can circulate throughout the protruding portions [0027-0028], thus providing a cooling mechanism within the metal support member, providing a cooling plate.
Hori Annotated Figure 7
Hori further discloses that the cooling plate (metal support member) further comprises a recess (projecting/protruding portions 22 protrude upward away from the insulating sheet 12, forming a recess or space [0026, 0027]). In Figure 7, Hori shows that the recess is an arc shape having a decreased thickness at the center relative to the periphery of the cooling plate in the second direction [0032]:
Hori Annotated Figure 7
Hori discloses that a cooling plate (metal support member) having a configuration such as this allows for secure surface contact between the cooling plate and the bottom surface of the battery cells in the case when the batteries swell during operation, which prevents a decrease in temperature control efficiency [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the heat radiation plate (Item 9 Figure 4) of Takahashi with the cooling plate (metal support member 13 Figure 7) of Hori for the benefit of secure surface contact between the cooling plate and the bottom surface of the battery cells when the cells deform during operation to prevent a decrease in temperature control efficiency. Additionally, in the absence of a specific cooling mechanism disclosed by Takahashi, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to a similar disclosure such as Hori for a more specific suggestion of a cooling mechanism to use in the battery module of Takahashi, and thus it would be obvious to replace the heat radiation plate of Takahashi with the metal support member (comprising a cooling mechanism) of Hori.
Thus, modified Takahashi, with the cooling plate configuration of Hori, discloses a cooling plate with a recess wherein the edge end of the recess and an edge end of the heat transfer member substantially coincide with each other as shown in modified Takahashi Figure 4 below:
Modified Takahashi Figure 4
As illustrated in Annotated Figures 3 & 4 together, Takahashi further discloses protrusions (outer lip shown below) on the outer portions of the cooling plate that protrude on an upper side of an “ideal line”. An “ideal line” is represented by the dashed line, wherein “ideal line” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to mean a line when the bottom surface of the case is not deformed.
Takahashi Annotated Figures 3 & 4
Takahashi discloses a heat transfer member between the bottom surface and the cooling plate, as mentioned above, however fails to disclose that the heat transfer member extends to an outer side of the protrusion in the second direction.
Fujino discloses a heat radiating substrate for a battery module [0009] comprising a base plate and a heat conductive sheet [0014]. In Figure 2, Fujino discloses that the base plate has protrusions (convex portions) on the outer sides of the base plate [0014] and shows that the heat conductive sheet covers the upper side of the protrusions (see Figure 2).
Fujino discloses that a battery module with this configuration prevents unstable operation during use [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the heat transfer member of modified Takahashi to extend to an outer side with respect to the protrusion in the second direction as suggested by Fujino to achieve a battery with stable operation during use.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Takahashi, with the modification of Hori, discloses that the recess is an arc shape having a decreased thickness at the center relative to the periphery of the cooling plate in the second direction [Hori 0032], further shown in Hori Annotated Figure 7:
Hori Annotated Figure 7
Regarding Claim 11, similar to Claims 1 & 10 above, Takahashi discloses a power storage device (power supply device) comprising a plurality of battery cells [0022], each having a case with a rectangular parallelepiped shape (outer cover can with a prismatic shape [0022]). Takahashi further discloses that the plurality of battery cells are stacked in a first direction (stacking direction) [0022]. Takahashi discloses a cooling plate (heat radiation plate that can include a cooling mechanism [0022, 0062]) provided on the bottom surface of the cases (shown in Figures 3 and 4).
Takahashi discloses that a heat transfer member (Figure 4 Item 6) is positioned between the bottom surface of the case and the cooling plate (Figure 4 Item 9 [0064]). See Takahashi Annotated Figure 4 below.
Takahashi Annotated Figure 4
Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate (heat radiation plate 9) can include a cooling mechanism such as a refrigerant circulation passage [0062]. Takahashi is not specific as to the exact structure of the cooling mechanism. As illustrated in Annotated Figure 4, Takahashi discloses that the cooling plate comprises a recess having a shape wherein the thickness of the cooling plate decreases at a center relative to a periphery of the cooling plate in a second direction. This is also shown in Figure 3 Item 9, the cooling plate having thicker outer portions and a thinner center.
Takahashi Annotated Figure 4
In a similar disclosure, Hori discloses a power storage device (battery module) comprising a plurality of power storage cells (battery cells) [0006] stacked in a first direction, as shown in Hori Annotated Figure 1, similar to Takahashi. Hori further discloses a temperature control device (Figure 1 Item 4) [0006, 0020] positioned along the bottom surfaces of each of the plurality of battery cells, similar to the heat radiation plate (Figure 4 Item 9) of Takahashi.
Hori Annotated Figure 1
Hori discloses that the temperature control device controls the temperature inside the housing and the temperature of the battery cells [0022]. Hori discloses that the temperature control device comprises a base portion, an insulating sheet, and a metal support member, which is a metal plate-shaped member that exchanges heat with the battery cells and further comprises a plate shaped portion, a plurality of projection portions, communicating portions, and connecting pipes [0025], as further shown in Hori Annotated Figure 7 (connecting pipes 24 are shown in Figures 3 & 5). Thus, Hori discloses a cooling plate (metal support member Figure 7 Item 13). Hori discloses that the communication portions and connecting pipes of the metal support member form a flow path that connects the protruding portions such that the heat medium can circulate throughout the protruding portions [0027-0028], thus providing a cooling mechanism within the metal support member, providing a cooling plate.
Hori Annotated Figure 7
Hori further discloses that the cooling plate (metal support member) further comprises a recess (projecting/protruding portions 22 protrude upward away from the insulating sheet 12, forming a recess or space [0026, 0027]). In Figure 7, Hori shows that the recess is an arc shape having a decreased thickness at the center relative to the periphery of the cooling plate in the second direction [0032]:
Hori Annotated Figure 7
Hori discloses that a cooling plate (metal support member) having a configuration such as this allows for secure surface contact between the cooling plate and the bottom surface of the battery cells in the case when the batteries swell during operation, which prevents a decrease in temperature control efficiency [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the heat radiation plate (Item 9 Figure 4) of Takahashi with the cooling plate (metal support member 13 Figure 7) of Hori for the benefit of secure surface contact between the cooling plate and the bottom surface of the battery cells when the cells deform during operation to prevent a decrease in temperature control efficiency. Additionally, in the absence of a specific cooling mechanism disclosed by Takahashi, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to a similar disclosure such as Hori for a more specific suggestion of a cooling mechanism to use in the battery module of Takahashi, and thus it would be obvious to replace the heat radiation plate of Takahashi with the metal support member (comprising a cooling mechanism) of Hori.
Thus, modified Takahashi, with the cooling plate configuration of Hori, discloses a cooling plate with a flat surface in a region closer to an edge end of the heat transfer member than the recess in the second direction as shown in modified Takahashi Figure 4 below:
Modified Takahashi Figure 4
As illustrated in Annotated Figures 3 & 4 together, Takahashi further discloses protrusions (outer lip shown below) on the outer portions of the cooling plate that protrude on an upper side of an “ideal line”. An “ideal line” is represented by the dashed line, wherein “ideal line” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to mean a line when the bottom surface of the case is not deformed.
Takahashi Annotated Figures 3 & 4
Takahashi discloses a heat transfer member between the bottom surface and the cooling plate, as mentioned above, however fails to disclose that the heat transfer member extends to an outer side of the protrusion in the second direction.
Fujino discloses a heat radiating substrate for a battery module [0009] comprising a base plate and a heat conductive sheet [0014]. In Figure 2, Fujino discloses that the base plate has protrusions (convex portions) on the outer sides of the base plate [0014] and shows that the heat conductive sheet covers the upper side of the protrusions (see Figure 2).
Fujino discloses that a battery module with this configuration prevents unstable operation during use [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the heat transfer member of modified Takahashi to extend to an outer side with respect to the protrusion in the second direction as suggested by Fujino to achieve a battery with stable operation during use.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, Fujino, and Hori as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al. US 2018/0375077 A1.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Takahashi is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1, however fails to discloses a grip portion disposed between the cooling plate and the heat transfer member to increase the frictional resistance.
Shin discloses a battery module comprising a heat transfer member (thermally conductive adhesive N Figure 9) and a cooling plate (Item 200 Figure 9). Shin further discloses protrusions (accommodation grooves Item J Figure 9) that are configured to attach the cooling plate to the heat transfer member [0085]. Thus Shin discloses a grip portion (accommodation grooves) between the heat transfer member (thermally conductive adhesive) and the cooling plate that increases the frictional resistance between the heat transfer member and the cooling plate.
Shin discloses that a battery module with this configuration the heat transfer member (thermally conductive adhesive) is more stably located in the region with the grip portion for secure stability during assembly [0086].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporation the grip portion of Shin in the battery module of modified Takahashi between the cooling plate and the heat transfer member to more stably secure the heat transfer member during battery assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726