DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-2, 6, and 34-36 remain pending and under prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
No elements are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419 – cited by applicant) in view of Andersen (US Pat No. 4519402).
In regard to Claims 1 and 34, Bullington et al discloses a device comprising:
an inlet port 405 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 12 (0081, 0089);
an outlet port 402 (proximal end portion of housing 401), best seen in Figure 13-15 (0085);
a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14, and
at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port above), best seen in Figure 14, and
configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample – “the proximal motion of the second member 451 moves the plunger 476 of the first member 470 in the proximal direction relative to the shunt tube 471… increases the volume of the portion of the inner volume 411 of the housing 401 that is distal of the plunger 476, thereby defining the first reservoir 480, as shown in FIG. 14. With the plunger 476 forming a fluid tight seal with the inner surface of the walls defining the inner volume 411 and with the shunt tube 471 about which the plunger 476 is disposed, the volume increase of the portion of the inner volume 411 can produce a negative pressure within the first reservoir 480” (0079, 0091); “Thus, a bodily-fluid is drawn through the port 405, the first lumen 432 defined by the flow control mechanism 430, and the first lumen 406 defined by the diverter 409 and into the fluid reservoir 480” (0092);
a sampling channel 433 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber – moving member 435 rotates first member 431 such that lumen 433 is aligned with inlet port 405 such that “a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn through the port 405, the second lumen 433 of the flow control mechanism 430, the second lumen 407 of the diverter 409, and the lumen 475 defined by the shunt tube 471 and into the second reservoir 490. Moreover, the bodily-fluid disposed within the second reservoir 490 is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the first reservoir 480” (0082, 0083, 0095, 0097); and
a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, best seen in Figure 12 and 14,
wherein the chamber and the sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing, best seen in Figure 12-15.
However, Bullington et al do not expressly disclose the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier.
Andersen teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous device (syringe) comprising a blood barrier disposed in the housing between the chamber and the outlet, the blood barrier being gas permeable (pervious to gas) and blood impermeable (impervious to liquid) to enable venting of gas as well as automatic stopping of the flow of blood into the chamber because “the flow of blood into the syringe is automatically stopped when the sample collecting chamber of the syringe has been filled, because blood cannot pass the liquid impervious material arranged in the recesses” (abst).
“When a blood sample is to be collected from an artery, the piston 106 is positioned in such an axial position that the volume of the blood collecting chamber 108 substantially corresponds to the desired volume of the blood sample, and in that position the piston sealing ring 107 must be in engagement with the gas pervious material arranged in the recesses 102. The pointed free end of the hollow needle 110 is now inserted into an artery so that arterial blood may flow through the needle 110 and into the chamber 108 under the arterial blood pressure. Gas or air may then escape from the blood collecting chamber 108 through a venting passage formed by a space 103 defined between the peripheral outer wall of the piston 106 and the inner wall of the syringe cylinder 101 and by the gas pervious material arranged within the recess or recesses 102. When all of the air has been expelled from the chamber 108 and blood has penetrated into the space 103 up to the sealing ring 107, further progress of the blood is stopped, because gas, but not blood, can pass through the hydrophobic material in the recesses, and the hollow needle may now be removed from the artery” (Col.4: 1-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bullington et al such that the chamber includes a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier such as placed at the distal end of the chamber near the plunger to effectively enable venting of gas as well as automatic stopping of the flow of blood into the chamber as taught by Andersen.
2, 35. Andersen teach the material is configured to seal upon contact with the first portion of the blood sample (abst).
6, 36. Bullington et al disclose the device is configured with a moving part 430, 431, 435 (flow control mechanism first member 431 controlled by member 435) that is movable from a first position, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “the proximal motion of the second member 451 moves the plunger 476 of the first member 470 in the proximal direction relative to the shunt tube 471… increases the volume of the portion of the inner volume 411 of the housing 401 that is distal of the plunger 476, thereby defining the first reservoir 480, as shown in FIG. 14. With the plunger 476 forming a fluid tight seal with the inner surface of the walls defining the inner volume 411 and with the shunt tube 471 about which the plunger 476 is disposed, the volume increase of the portion of the inner volume 411 can produce a negative pressure within the first reservoir 480” (0079, 0091); “Thus, a bodily-fluid is drawn through the port 405, the first lumen 432 defined by the flow control mechanism 430, and the first lumen 406 defined by the diverter 409 and into the fluid reservoir 480” (0092),
to a second position, best seen in Figure 14-15, to allow blood to bypass the chamber 480 and go through the sampling channel 433 – moving member 435 rotates first member 431 such that lumen 433 is aligned with inlet port 405 such that “a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn through the port 405, the second lumen 433 of the flow control mechanism 430, the second lumen 407 of the diverter 409, and the lumen 475 defined by the shunt tube 471 and into the second reservoir 490. Moreover, the bodily-fluid disposed within the second reservoir 490 is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the first reservoir 480” (0082, 0083, 0095, 0097).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11617525 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port.
Bullington et al disclose a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12257051 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Burlington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10827964 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11744494 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11963769 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a bodily fluid that is capable of being a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11832944 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11185266 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a bodily fluid capable of being a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10143412 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10010282 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12138052 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419) and Andersen (US Pat No. 4519402).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that blood impermeable/blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the blood impermeable material is air permeable.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Andersen disclose air permeable material in an analogous device to allow air to escape as necessary (abst).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the blood impermeable material is air permeable as taught by Andersen et al to effectively allow air to escape as necessary.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11311219 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140163419).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, nor the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
Bullington et al disclose an analogous device comprising a chamber 480 connected at a proximal end with the inlet port 402, best seen in Figure 13-14, and at a distal end with the outlet port (reservoir 480 leads to end of housing 401, which is defined as the outlet port, best seen in Figure 14, as an effective configuration to connect to the chamber to the rest of the device for the desired fluid flow.
Bullington et al disclose a housing 401 that fully encloses the inlet port 402, the outlet port 401, the chamber 480, and the sampling channel 433, best seen in Figure 12 and 14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel as taught by Bullington et al as an effective configuration for the desired fluid flow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/H.Q.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791