DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 6/8/2026. Claims 1-2, 6, 34-36, and 42-43 remain pending and under prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
No elements are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 34-36, and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant) in view of Percarpio (US Pat No. 4106497 – cited by applicant).
In regard to Claims 1 and 34, Bullington et al discloses a device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “ first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) … The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
However, Bullington et al do not expressly disclose the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier.
Percarpio teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous blood sampling device comprising a blood barrier 90 disposed in the housing 26, 40 with chamber 32 defined therein and an outlet at proximal end of valve 78, best seen in Figure 2-3, the blood barrier being gas permeable – “Three spaced channels 92 are formed in the film to provide air passageways for facilitating venting of the assembly and flow of blood into the indicator area where film 90 is located” (Col.4: 16-22) – and blood impermeable – “expansion of the film due to contact with the liquid closes channels 92 and locks the blood into the area of the location of the film and prevents leakage beyond the rear flanged end 36 of hub 26” (Col.4: 16-27) – to enable venting of the device during sampling as well as provide a visual indication of flashback of initial blood into the device that does not consequently contaminate the subsequently sampled portion of blood – “The walls of hub 26 surrounding the film 90 are transparent or translucent so that the blood captured by the film and indicating a successful veni-puncture is observable by the operator. The expansion of the film to close off the channels prevents leakage of the blood beyond the rear end of the hub and eliminates the danger of possible contamination of the surrounding area including the operator. Furthermore, by capturing the blood within the indicator area including channels 92, there is no danger of contamination of blood being collected into chamber 32 and ultimately into an evacuated container through the passageway interconnected with rear needle 50” (Col.4: 27-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bullington et al such that the chamber includes a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier to effectively enable venting of the device during sampling as well as provide a visual indication of flashback of initial blood into the device that does not consequently contaminate the subsequently sampled portion of blood as taught by Percarpio.
2, 35. Percarpio teach the material 90 is configured to seal upon contact with the first portion of the blood sample (Col.4: 16-39).
6, 36. Bullington et al disclose the device is configured with a moving part 340, 345, 346 (actuator mechanism with engagement portion 345 and activation portion 346 to control flow mechanism 330) that is movable from a first position, best seen in Figure 14 – “a user can begin the transfer of a bodily-fluid by applying an activation force to the engagement portion 344 of the actuator 340, thereby moving the actuator 340 to a second position, as shown by the arrow II in FIG. 14… thereby placing the transfer device 300 in the second configuration” (0075),
to a second position, best seen in Figure 15, to allow blood to bypass the chamber 338
and go through the sampling channel 339 – “transfer device 300 can be moved from the second configuration to the third configuration by moving the actuator mechanism 340 in the direction of the arrow KK in FIG. 15… In this manner, the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322” (0079-0080).
42, 43. Bullington et al disclose the device in accordance with claim 1, wherein the outlet port 326 is configured to deliver the subsequent portion of the blood sample from the sampling channel 339 to a blood collection device separate from the device, i.e. external reservoir not shown in Figure 15 – “the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)” (0080).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11617525 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) … The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port as well as the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12257051 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “ first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) … The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10827964 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)… The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11744494 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)… The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11963769 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a bodily fluid that is capable of being a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)… The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11832944 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)… The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11185266 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a bodily fluid capable of being a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)… The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10143412 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)… The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10010282 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that is air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)… The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12138052 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant) and Andersen (US Pat No. 4519402).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that blood impermeable/blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, nor the blood impermeable material is air permeable.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein)… The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Andersen disclose air permeable material in an analogous device to allow air to escape as necessary (abst).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the blood impermeable material is air permeable as taught by Andersen et al to effectively allow air to escape as necessary.
Claim 1 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11311219 in view of Bullington et al (US Pub No. 20140039348 – cited by applicant).
The Patent discloses an inlet port for receiving a blood sample; an outlet port; a chamber connected at the inlet port and configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, the chamber including a material that air permeable and blood impermeable/air permeable blood barrier; a sampling channel connected with the inlet port and the outlet port and configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber; and a housing that defines the inlet port, the outlet port, and the sampling channel.
However, the Patent does not expressly disclose the chamber connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, nor the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample.
Bullington et al discloses an analogous device 300 comprising:
an inlet port 322 for receiving a blood sample, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “inlet port 322 is further configured to be fluidically coupled to a medical device (not shown) defining a fluid flow pathway for withdrawing and/or conveying the bodily-fluid from a patient to the transfer device 300… the inlet port 322 can be fluidically coupled to a needle or other lumen-defining device (e.g., flexible sterile tubing) as described above” (0068, 0073);
an outlet port 326, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “second outlet port 326 of the diverter 320 defines a second outlet lumen 327 and is configured to be coupled to an external fluid reservoir” (0085), wherein the outlet port is also defined by 324, best seen in Figure 13-15 – “first outlet port 324 of the diverter 320 defines a first outlet lumen 325” (0069);
a chamber 338 (first lumen) connected at a proximal end with the inlet port, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330… define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
at a distal end with the outlet port portion 325 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-14 – “As shown by the arrow JJ, the inlet lumen 323 of the inlet port 322, the first lumen 338 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the first outlet lumen 325 of the first outlet port 324 define a first fluid flow path that places the inner volume 373 defined by the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322” (0076),
the chamber leads to fluid reservoir 370 configured to collect a first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14 – “with the inlet port 322 coupled to the lumen-defining device, the first fluid flow path places the fluid reservoir 370 in fluid communication with the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) and at least a portion of the suction force (e.g., applied by the negative pressure differential, as described above) is introduced to the portion of the patient. Thus, a bodily-fluid can be drawn into the fluid reservoir 370” (0076),
wherein the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample, best seen in Figure 14; and
a sampling channel 339 (second lumen) connected with the inlet port and outlet port portion 326 as defined above, best seen in Figure 13-15, and
configured to convey a subsequent portion of the blood sample through the sampling channel to the outlet port while bypassing the chamber 338, best seen in Figure 15 – “the first lumen 338 is fluidically isolated from the inlet lumen 323 and the first outlet lumen 325, and the second lumen 339 is placed in fluid communication with the inlet lumen 323 defined by the inlet port 322 and the second outlet lumen 327 defined by the second outlet port 326” (0079),
“the second lumen 339 of the flow control mechanism 330, and the second outlet lumen 327 of the second outlet port 326 define a second fluid flow path that can place the external reservoir (not shown in FIG. 15) in fluid communication with the inlet port 322 and, therefore, the portion of the patient (e.g., the vein) … The negative pressure within the external reservoir… introduces a suction force within the portion of the patient. Therefore, a desired amount of bodily-fluid is drawn into the external reservoir and is fluidically isolated from the first, predetermined amount of bodily-fluid contained within the fluid reservoir 370” (0080); and
a housing 301 that fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port 324, 326, the chamber 338, and the sampling channel 339, best seen in Figure 12-13 (0070),
wherein the chamber 338 and the sampling channel 339 have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting, as shown in Figure 14, and the bypassing, as shown in Figure 14 – “the flow control mechanism 330 moves concurrently with the actuator 340 when the actuator 340 is rotated relative to the housing 301. In this manner, the flow control mechanism 330 can be moved relative to the diverter 320 to place the first lumen 338 or the second lumen 339 in fluid communication with the inlet port 322, the first outlet port 324, and/or the second outlet port 326” (0072). In other words, after the pathway is selected, the chamber or sampling channel have a fixed relationship with the housing during the collecting and the bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the Patent such that the chamber is connected at a proximal end with the inlet port and at a distal end with the outlet port, the housing fully encloses the inlet port, the outlet port, the chamber, and the sampling channel, and the chamber has a fixed length during collection of the first portion of the blood sample as taught by Bullington et al in the manner above as an effective configuration for the desired blood flow and subsequent collection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Bullington et al (20140039348) has been set forth in the manner above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.Q.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791