DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 23 and 25-29 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 6/18/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2007/0180802, hereinafter Parker in view of United States Patent No. 6,013,512, hereinafter Turschmid and A. A. Khan and N. Rapal, "Fuzzy PID Controller: Design, Tuning and Comparison with Conventional PID Controller," 2006 IEEE International Conference on Engineering of Intelligent Systems, Islamabad, 2006, pp. 1-6, hereinafter Khan.
Regarding claim 23, Parker teaches a method of reducing water consumption of a biotrickling filter (paragraph [0053]), the method comprising: adding a pH adjustment system to the biotrickling filter (paragraph [0055]), the pH adjustment system configured to: measure a pH of water in the biotrickling filter (paragraph [0055]); and control a rate of introduction of water into the biotrickling filter (paragraph [0057]) to be sufficient to maintain the pH of the liquid within a range conducive to maintain a population of hydrogen sulfide oxidizing bacteria in a media bed of the biotrickling filter (paragraphs [0055] and [0057]) and to prevent clogging of the media bed (water is being introduced to the media bed and therefore would be rinsing salts and the sulfuric acid from the media bed which would prevent clogging).
Parker fails to teach introducing an alkaline material from a source of alkaline material into the biotrickling filter; and control a rate of introduction of the alkaline material into the biotricklining filter based on a predetermined pH setpoint and a change in pH of the water having passed through the media bed per unit time.
Turschmid teaches a method for scrubbing gaseous emissions using bacteria in which an alkaline material is added to a biomass chamber to maintain the suspension in the desired pH range based on a difference of the setpoint and measured pH value (Turschmid, column 7, lines 1-7).
Parker further teaches that excess irrigation fluid beyond the volumetric capacity of the scrubber column is trained from the scrubber sump via a drain (paragraph [0055)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added and controlled the flow of an alkaline material to control the pH within a predetermined range of the water within the biotrickling filter using the difference between the predetermined set point and measured pH value (Turschmid, column 7, lines 1-7) because it would reduce the amount of excess irrigation fluid that would have to be drained from the scrubber (paragraph [0055]) which would have to be treated.
Parker and Turschmid fail to teach the controller is configured to regulate the rate of introduction of the water and the rate of introduction of the alkaline material into the vessel based on an output of a fuzzy logic algorithm.
Kahn teaches a fuzzy PID controller which uses a proportional component and a differential component because it can provide a better transitory and steady state performance as compared with a conventional PID controller (Kahn, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the fuzzy PID controller with the different in pH values as the input because it can provide a better transitory and steady state performance as compared with a conventional PID controller (Kahn, abstract).
Regarding claim 25, Parker teaches wherein reducing the water consumption of the biotrickling filter includes reducing the water consumption of the biotrickling filter by at least about 50% compared to biotrickling filter systems that do not utilize alkaline material to partially neutralize sulfuric acid generated in the biotrickling filter (the amount of water can be considered to be reduced by at least 50% when considering all of the water on the planet).
Regarding claim 26, Parker teaches wherein reducing the water consumption of the biotrickling filter includes reducing the water consumption of the biotrickling filter by at least about 99% compared to biotrickling filter systems that do not utilize alkaline material to partially neutralize sulfuric acid generated in the biotrickling filter (the amount of water can be considered to be reduced by at least 99% when considering all of the water on the planet).
Double Patenting
Claim 23 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,695,716 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates or renders obvious the examined claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Parker, Turschmid and/or Khan does not teach utilizing a difference between the pH of water having passed through a media bed of the biotrickling filter and a predetermined pH setpoint and a change in pH of the water having passed through the media bed per unit time as input parameters of a fuzzy logic control algorithm is not found persuasive. Turschmid teaches utilizing a difference between the pH of water passed through the media bed and a predetermined pH setpoint and a change in pH of the water passed through the media bed per unit time in a controller to control the amount of alkaline material added (Turschmid, column 7, lines 1-7). Khan teaches utilizing a fuzzy logic control instead of a traditional controller. Based upon these two teachings one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these three references to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796