DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses pending claims 1, 5-9, 11-13, 17, 19-28. Claims 1, 5-9, 11-13, 17, and 19-20 were amended; claims 2-4, 10, 14-16 and 18 were cancelled; and claims 21-28 were added in the response filed 3/4/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/14/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final office action on 12/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-13, 17, 19-20, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “structural housing component includes a drawstring threaded through holes in the side wall and overtop of the cover portion to secure the cover portion relative to the side walls and the non-loaded bearing hermetic sealing enclosure therein” in lines 15-18. However, the specification does not support a string overtop the cover portion to secure the cover portion. At best, a drawstring 124 secures the hermetic sealing enclosure 112 to the structural housing component 50 and closes the opening 120 of the hermetic sealing enclosure (see paragraph [0036]). As seen in Figure 7, the drawstring is over the [cover portion of the] hermetic sealing enclosure 112, but the drawstring is not overtop a cover portion of the structural housing.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the cover portion [of the structural housing component] includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure…when pressure within the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure” in lines 1-4. However, the specification does not describe the cover portion of structural housing component including gas vents or holes. Instead, the specification describes the side walls 64 and/or bottom surface 66 of the structural housing component 50 including holes 70 and 74 (see paragraph [0032], Fig 2). Further, the specification describes that the cover portion 18 of the hermetic sealing enclosure 10 includes the venting holes and/or gas vents (see paragraphs [0031], [0034]).
Claim 8 recites “wherein the gas vents [of the cover portion of the structural housing component] are selected from the group consisting of a pressure sensitive plug and a polymer layer arranged in a hole in the cover portion”. However, the original specification only discloses “small venting holes are arranged in the cover 18 [of the hermetic sealing enclosure] to release the gas generated by the batteries” in paragraph [0031]. The specification does not support plugs in the holes of the cover portion of the structural housing component. Instead, the specification only discloses plugs with regards to holes in the gas vents in the hermetic sealing enclosure (see paragraph [0034]).
Claim 11 recites “wherein the side walls are configured to define a frame and tubes extending between the bottom surface and the frame” in lines 1-3. However, this limitation now depends from claims 7-8, which recites a cover portion having gas vents, and wherein the gas vents have a pressure sensitive plug or a polymer layer. The specification describes the frame and tubes of the side walls as open (see paragraph [0040], and Fig 11), but does not describe the cover portion having gas vents with a plug or polymer layer with this embodiment. Further, because such side walls are open, a gas vent with a plug or polymer layer would not open in response to pressure because the side walls are open and the gas vents through the frame.
Claim 13 recites “structural housing component includes a drawstring threaded through holes in the side wall and overtop of the cover portion to secure the cover portion relative to the side walls and the non-loaded bearing hermetic sealing enclosure therein” in lines 17-20. However, the specification does not support a string overtop the cover portion to secure the cover portion. At best, a drawstring 124 secures the hermetic sealing enclosure 112 to the structural housing component 50 and closes the opening 120 of the hermetic sealing enclosure (see paragraph [0036]). As seen in Figure 7, the drawstring is over the [cover portion of the] hermetic sealing enclosure 112, but the drawstring is not overtop a cover portion of the structural housing.
Claim 13 further recites “wherein the cover portion [of the structural housing component] includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure…when pressure within the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure” in lines 12-15. However, the specification does not describe the cover portion of structural housing component including gas vents or holes. Instead, the specification describes the side walls 64 and/or bottom surface 66 of the structural housing component 50 including holes 70 and 74 (see paragraph [0032], Fig 2). Further, the specification describes that the cover portion 18 of the hermetic sealing enclosure 10 includes the venting holes and/or gas vents (see paragraphs [0031], [0034]).
Claim 23 recites “wherein the cover portion [of the structural housing component] includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure…when pressure within the hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure” in lines 1-3. However, the specification does not describe the cover portion of structural housing component including gas vents or holes. Instead, the specification describes the side walls 64 and/or bottom surface 66 of the structural housing component 50 including holes 70 and 74 (see paragraph [0032], Fig 2). Further, the specification describes that the cover portion 18 of the hermetic sealing enclosure 10 includes the venting holes and/or gas vents (see paragraphs [0031], [0034]).
Claim 26 recites “the structural housing component includes a drawstring threaded through holes in the side wall and overtop of the cover portion to secure the cover portion relative to the side walls and the hermetic sealing enclosure therein” in lines 1-4. However, the specification does not support a string overtop the cover portion to secure the cover portion. At best, a drawstring 124 secures the hermetic sealing enclosure 112 to the structural housing component 50 and closes the opening 120 of the hermetic sealing enclosure (see paragraph [0036]). As seen in Figure 7, the drawstring is over the [cover portion of the] hermetic sealing enclosure 112, but the drawstring is not overtop a cover portion of the structural housing.
Claim 27 recites “the structural housing component includes a zipper that includes a slider configured to engage and disengage teeth included on the side walls and the cover portion to secure the cover portion relative to the side walls and the hermetic sealing enclosure therein” in lines 1-4. However, the specification does not support the structural housing component comprising a zipper. At best, the specification describes a zipper on the hermetic sealing enclosure (see paragraphs [0037], [0039], and Figs 8 and 10, where a zipper 152 closes the opening of the hermetic sealing enclosure, or zipper 234 connects the cover portion of the hermetic sealing enclosure to the base portion of the hermetic sealing enclosure).
Claims 5-9, 11-12, 17, 19-20, and 24-28 are further rejected for being dependent thereon.
Claims 7-8, 11, 13, 17, 19-20 and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the cover portion includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure from the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure when pressure within the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure” in lines 1-4. It is unclear how the gas vents of a cover of the housing component release pressure from the distinct hermetic sealing enclosure, as the cover is not part of the hermetic sealing enclosure space.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected for being dependent thereon.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the cover portion includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure from the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure when pressure within the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure” in lines 12-15. It is unclear how the gas vents of a cover of the housing component release pressure from the distinct hermetic sealing enclosure, as the cover is not part of the hermetic sealing enclosure space.
Claims 17, 19 and 20 are rejected for being dependent thereon.
Claim 23 recites “wherein the cover portion includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure from the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure when pressure within the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure” in lines 1-3. It is unclear how the gas vents of a cover of the housing component release pressure from the distinct hermetic sealing enclosure, as the cover is not part of the hermetic sealing enclosure space.
Claims 24-28 are rejected for being dependent thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation) and Templeman et al. (US 2014/0356678).
Regarding claim 1, Ren discloses a power battery pack 400 including a battery tray 100 [load bearing structural housing component] and battery cells 200 [RESS] disposed on the battery tray [support the battery cells] (abstract).
The battery tray 100 includes a base plate 10 [bottom surface] and side beam 20 [side walls extending from a bottom surface] ([0008], [0052], see Figs 1-2, 11). The power battery pack 400 further includes a cover plate [cover portion to close an opening defined relative to the side walls and the bottom plate] that is connected to the battery tray ([0021], [0047]).
However, while Ren teaches the batteries are on the base plate 10 (see Figs 8 and 12-14), Ren does not explicitly disclose a non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure for the RESS made of a flexible material that is rolled to close an opening of the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure used to access the RESS; and wherein the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is configured to house the RESS and provide a hermetic seal.
Stein discloses a battery system 10 comprising a battery module 12 with a degassing collector 20 for degassing gas emissions from the battery cells (abstract). The degassing collector can provide a cost-effective, space-saving, low-weight, and safe system for degassing (abstract). The degassing collector is formed of a flexible material (page 6). In an embodiment, a flexible enclosure 42 surrounds the battery cells and at least partially the degassing collector and provides volume expansion when gases are emitted and allows for pressure fluctuations (page 6). The flexible enclosure and degassing collector are both made of a flexible material (page 6). The flexible enclosure 42 can have an open end 58 as an opening and is reversibly gastight closed [hermetically sealed] by folding or rolling up the enclosure 42 (page 12, Fig 14). The flexible enclosure may further include degassing valves 52, 52’ that at a predetermined internal pressure open (page 12, Fig 11). The degassing valves 52 can be configured as a predetermined breaking point and be conditioned by certain sharp-edge design of the opening to certain maximum pressures (page 12). That is, the degassing valves are a pressure sensitive plug/material and/or polymer layer that is arranged in a hole in the sealing enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flexible enclosure that is rolled to close around battery cells and the degassing collector as taught by Stein with the battery cells of Ren for the purpose of having a casing that is reversibly closed, provides volume expansion and allows for pressure fluctuations, and gastight and can direct gas to a specific location (Stein at page 3).
With regards to the limitations that the hermetic sealing enclosure is non-load bearing, and the structural housing component is load bearing, and the housing component is decoupled from the hermetic sealing enclosure; as Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure surrounds the battery cells and not further attached to a structure, and Ren teaches the battery tray 100 and cover plate encases the battery cells (see Fig 8), the battery tray is on the outside and is a load bearing structural housing component, and the flexible enclosure is a non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure, with the housing component decoupled from the hermetic sealing enclosure.
While Ren discloses a cover plate [cover portion], Ren does not explicitly disclose how the cover plate is attached or connected to the side walls or bottom surface, and therefore does not explicitly disclose wherein the load bearing structural housing component includes a drawstring threaded through holes in the side walls and overtop of the cover portion to secure the cover portion relative to the side walls and the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure therein.
Templeman discloses a battery holder 10 for securing a battery 22 to a vehicle, wherein the battery holder includes a mounting plate 12, a lower battery containment plate 14, an upper battery containment plate 16 (abstract, [0021], Fig 1). A covering, a lid, or a case can be used as the upper battery containment plate 16 and can be secured by straps, cords, ropes, chains or other elements to the lower battery containment plate 14 ([0024]). That is, Templeman teaches using cords or ropes [a type of string] overtop the covering or lid, and connected to the lower battery containment plate, and said lower battery containment plate has openings [through holes] to connect the cords or ropes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cords or ropes to secure the lower plate with battery to the upper plate/lid as taught by Templeman with the battery tray and cover plate of Ren for the purpose of attaching and connecting the cover plate.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure surrounds the battery cells (page 6), and the Ren discloses the batteries on the base plate 10 [bottom surface] between the side walls. (Figs 8 and 12-14).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ren teaches inlet vents 31 [holes] in the side beams ([0047], Fig 11), base plate 10 [bottom surface] (Fig 5), or partitions 30 (Fig 1). As the vents are openings, these are openings which also reduce the weight of the housing component.
Regarding claim 9, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure can be made of a polymer or steel [a metal] (page 6).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation) and Templeman et al. (US 2014/0356678), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (KR 102280326, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 7-8, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ren discloses a cover plate ([0021], [0047]), modified Ren does not explicitly disclose (claim 7) wherein the cover portion includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure from the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure when pressure within the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure; or (claim 8) wherein the gas vents are selected from a group consisting of a pressure sensitive plug and a polymer layer arranged in a hole in the cover portion.
Oh discloses a battery module 1 having a gas exhaust structure (abstract). In the upper cover 60 of the battery module 1 are exhaust holes 61 with exhaust covers 70 coupled to close the exhaust hole 61 ([0040], Fig 2). When the gas exceeds a predetermined pressure, the exhaust hole 61 is opened by the exhaust cover 70 opening ([0040], [0161], Fig 9). Therefore, the exhaust covers are pressure sensitive plugs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the exhaust holes and exhaust covers in the upper cover of the battery module of Oh with the cover plate of Ren for the purpose of venting the gas at a predetermined pressure.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation), Templeman et al. (US 2014/0356678), and Oh et al. (KR 102280326, see machine translation), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of He (WO 2019/090671, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ren discloses battery tray with a base plate 10 and side walls (Figs 1-2), modified Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein the side walls are configured to define a frame and tubes extending between the bottom surface and the frame.
He discloses a battery tray comprising a tray body 100, a cover body 200, wherein the tray body 100 includes a bottom plate 110 [bottom surface], a frame body 130, and a cover body 200 [frame]. The frame body 130 includes a first frame body 140, a second frame body 150, a third frame body 160, and a fourth frame body 170 ([0028], Fig 1). As seen in Figure 1, the first-fourth frame bodies 140-170 include spines [tubes] that connect the bottom plate 110 and the cover body 200.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the arrangement of the tray body having a bottom plate and [first-fourth] frame bodies of He with the side walls of Ren for the purpose of protecting the batteries while providing reinforced connections from the bottom plate to the top plate via the spines.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation) and Templeman et al. (US 2014/0356678), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cordes (DE 10 2010056005 see Applicant provided translation).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure can be made of a polymer or steel [a metal] (page 6), modified Ren does not explicitly disclose further comprising a coating that is at least one of fire resistant and electrically insulating and that is arranged on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the hermetic sealing enclosure.
Cordes discloses a device for holding at least one battery element of a road vehicle ([0001]). The battery carrier 10 supports battery elements 30 inserted therein, which is covered by a film cover 50 ([0035], Figs 2-3). The film cover can provide electrical insulation and shield the batteries from electromagnetic radiation ([0020]-[0021]). The film cover 50 includes material with high strength, such as plastic material, such as polyester, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene, and composite materials ([0018]). In an example, the film cover 50 consists of a metal film 51 and on the inside a plastic film 52 ([0040]). A pressure relief valve [gas vents] is further provided can be connected to the film cover and is designed to open when a predetermined overpressure develops in the battery compartment to allow discharge ([0026]). Cordes teaches that an inner plastic film 52 [a coating] provides electrical insulation ([0020], [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the materials of the film cover (including with an inner plastic film) as taught by Cordes as the materials of the flexible enclosure of Ren modified by Stein for the purpose of using materials which can provide the electrical insulation and shielding from electromagnetic radiation.
Claim(s) 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation), Templeman et al. (US 2014/0356678), and Oh et al. (KR 102280326, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, Ren discloses a power battery pack 400 including a battery tray 100 [load bearing structural housing component] and battery cells 200 [RESS] disposed on the battery tray [support the battery cells] (abstract).
The battery tray 100 includes a base plate 10 [bottom surface] and side beam 20 [side walls extending from a bottom surface] ([0008], [0052], see Figs 1-2, 11). The power battery pack 400 further includes a cover plate [cover portion to close an opening defined relative to the side walls and the bottom plate] that is connected to the battery tray ([0021], [0047]).
Ren further teaches an embodiment where inlet vents 31 [vent holes] are in the side beams 20 [side walls] ([0047], Fig 11).
However, while Ren teaches the batteries are on the base plate 10 (see Figs 8 and 12-14), Ren does not explicitly disclose a non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure for the RESS made of a flexible material that is rolled to close an opening of the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure used to access the RESS; wherein the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is arranged on the bottom surface between the side walls and below the cover portion; and wherein the flexible material of the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is made of a material selected from the group consisting of fabric, metal, composite material, rubber, polymer and/or combinations thereof.
Stein discloses a battery system 10 comprising a battery module 12 with a degassing collector 20 for degassing gas emissions from the battery cells (abstract). The degassing collector can provide a cost-effective, space-saving, low-weight, and safe system for degassing (abstract). The degassing collector is formed of a flexible material (page 6). In an embodiment, a flexible enclosure 42 surrounds the battery cells and at least partially the degassing collector and provides volume expansion when gases are emitted and allows for pressure fluctuations (page 6). The flexible enclosure and degassing collector are both made of a flexible material (page 6). The flexible enclosure 42 can have an open end 58 as an opening and is reversibly gastight closed [hermetically sealed] by folding or rolling up the enclosure 42 (page 12, Fig 14). The flexible enclosure may further include degassing valves 52, 52’ that at a predetermined internal pressure open (page 12, Fig 11). The degassing valves 52 can be configured as a predetermined breaking point and be conditioned by certain sharp-edge design of the opening to certain maximum pressures (page 12). That is, the degassing valves are a pressure sensitive plug/material and/or polymer layer that is arranged in a hole in the sealing enclosure. Stein further teaches that the flexible enclosure can be made of a polymer or steel [a metal] (page 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flexible enclosure that is rolled to close around battery cells [and made of polymer or steel] and the degassing collector as taught by Stein with the battery cells of Ren for the purpose of having a casing that is reversibly closed, provides volume expansion and allows for pressure fluctuations, and gastight and can direct gas to a specific location (Stein at page 3).
With regards to the limitations that the hermetic sealing enclosure is non-load bearing, and the structural housing component is load bearing, and the housing component is decoupled from the hermetic sealing enclosure; as Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure surrounds the battery cells and not further attached to a structure, and Ren teaches the battery tray 100 and cover plate encases the battery cells (see Fig 8), the battery tray is on the outside and is a load bearing structural housing component, and the flexible enclosure is a non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure, with the housing component decoupled from the hermetic sealing enclosure.
While Ren discloses a cover plate [cover portion], Ren does not explicitly disclose how the cover plate is attached or connected to the side walls or bottom surface, and therefore does not explicitly disclose wherein the load bearing structural housing component includes a drawstring threaded through holes in the side walls and overtop of the cover portion to secure the cover portion relative to the side walls and the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure therein.
Templeman discloses a battery holder 10 for securing a battery 22 to a vehicle, wherein the battery holder includes a mounting plate 12, a lower battery containment plate 14, an upper battery containment plate 16 (abstract, [0021], Fig 1). A covering, a lid, or a case can be used as the upper battery containment plate 16 and can be secured by straps, cords, ropes, chains or other elements to the lower battery containment plate 14 ([0024]). That is, Templeman teaches using cords or ropes [a type of string] overtop the covering or lid, and connected to the lower battery containment plate, and said lower battery containment plate has openings [through holes] to connect the cords or ropes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cords or ropes to secure the lower plate with battery to the upper plate/lid as taught by Templeman with the battery tray and cover plate of Ren for the purpose of attaching and connecting the cover plate.
While Ren discloses a cover plate ([0021], [0047]), modified Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein the cover portion includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure from the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure when pressure within the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure.
Oh discloses a battery module 1 having a gas exhaust structure (abstract). In the upper cover 60 of the battery module 1 are exhaust holes 61 with exhaust covers 70 coupled to close the exhaust hole 61 ([0040], Fig 2). When the gas exceeds a predetermined pressure, the exhaust hole 61 is opened by the exhaust cover 70 opening ([0040], [0161], Fig 9). Therefore, the exhaust covers are pressure sensitive plugs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the exhaust holes and exhaust covers in the upper cover of the battery module of Oh with the cover plate of Ren for the purpose of venting the gas at a predetermined pressure.
Regarding claim 17, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ren teaches inlet vents 31 in the side beams ([0047], Fig 11), base plate 10 [bottom surface] (Fig 5), or partitions 30 (Fig 1). As the vents are openings, these are openings which also reduce the weight of the housing component.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation), Templeman et al. (US 2014/0356678), and Oh et al. (KR 102280326, see machine translation), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of He (WO 2019/090671, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 19, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ren discloses battery tray with a base plate 10 and side walls (Figs 1-2), modified Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein the side walls are configured to define a frame and tubes extending between the bottom surface and the frame.
He discloses a battery tray comprising a tray body 100, a cover body 200, wherein the tray body 100 includes a bottom plate 110 [bottom surface], a frame body 130, and a cover body 200 [frame]. The frame body 130 includes a first frame body 140, a second frame body 150, a third frame body 160, and a fourth frame body 170 ([0028], Fig 1). As seen in Figure 1, the first-fourth frame bodies 140-170 include spines [tubes] that connect the bottom plate 110 and the cover body 200.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the arrangement of the tray body having a bottom plate and [first-fourth] frame bodies of He with the side walls of Ren for the purpose of protecting the batteries while providing reinforced connections from the bottom plate to the top plate via the spines.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation), Templeman et al. (US 2014/0356678), and Oh et al. (KR 102280326, see machine translation), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Cordes (DE 10 2010056005 see Applicant provided translation).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure can be made of a polymer or steel [a metal] (page 6), modified Ren does not explicitly disclose further comprising a coating that is at least one of fire resistant and electrically insulating and that is arranged on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the hermetic sealing enclosure.
Cordes discloses a device for holding at least one battery element of a road vehicle ([0001]). The battery carrier 10 supports battery elements 30 inserted therein, which is covered by a film cover 50 ([0035], Figs 2-3). The film cover can provide electrical insulation and shield the batteries from electromagnetic radiation ([0020]-[0021]). The film cover 50 includes material with high strength, such as plastic material, such as polyester, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene, and composite materials ([0018]). In an example, the film cover 50 consists of a metal film 51 and on the inside a plastic film 52 ([0040]). A pressure relief valve [gas vents] is further provided can be connected to the film cover and is designed to open when a predetermined overpressure develops in the battery compartment to allow discharge ([0026]). Cordes teaches that an inner plastic film 52 [a coating] provides electrical insulation ([0020], [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the materials of the film cover (including with an inner plastic film) as taught by Cordes as the materials of the flexible enclosure of Ren modified by Stein for the purpose of using materials which can provide the electrical insulation and shielding from electromagnetic radiation.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 21, Ren discloses a power battery pack 400 including a battery tray 100 [structural housing component] and battery cells 200 [RESS] disposed on the battery tray [support the battery cells] (abstract).
The battery tray 100 includes a base plate 10 [bottom surface] and side beam 20 [side walls extending from a bottom surface] ([0008], [0052], see Figs 1-2, 11). The power battery pack 400 further includes a cover plate [cover portion to close an opening defined relative to the side walls and the bottom plate] that is connected to the battery tray ([0021], [0047]).
However, while Ren teaches the batteries are on the base plate 10 (see Figs 8 and 12-14), Ren does not explicitly disclose a hermetic sealing enclosure for the RESS made of a flexible material that is rolled to close an opening of the hermetic sealing enclosure used to access the RESS.
Stein discloses a battery system 10 comprising a battery module 12 with a degassing collector 20 for degassing gas emissions from the battery cells (abstract). The degassing collector can provide a cost-effective, space-saving, low-weight, and safe system for degassing (abstract). The degassing collector is formed of a flexible material (page 6). In an embodiment, a flexible enclosure 42 surrounds the battery cells and at least partially the degassing collector and provides volume expansion when gases are emitted and allows for pressure fluctuations (page 6). The flexible enclosure and degassing collector are both made of a flexible material (page 6). The flexible enclosure 42 can have an open end 58 as an opening and is reversibly gastight closed [hermetically sealed] by folding or rolling up the enclosure 42 (page 12, Fig 14). The flexible enclosure may further include degassing valves 52, 52’ that at a predetermined internal pressure open (page 12, Fig 11). The degassing valves 52 can be configured as a predetermined breaking point and be conditioned by certain sharp-edge design of the opening to certain maximum pressures (page 12). That is, the degassing valves are a pressure sensitive plug/material and/or polymer layer that is arranged in a hole in the sealing enclosure. Stein further teaches that the flexible enclosure can be made of a polymer or steel [a metal] (page 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flexible enclosure that is rolled to close around battery cells [and made of polymer or steel] and the degassing collector as taught by Stein with the battery cells of Ren for the purpose of having a casing that is reversibly closed, provides volume expansion and allows for pressure fluctuations, and gastight and can direct gas to a specific location (Stein at page 3).
With regards to the limitations that the housing component is decoupled from the hermetic sealing enclosure; as Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure surrounds the battery cells and not further attached to a structure, and Ren teaches the battery tray 100 and cover plate encases the battery cells (see Fig 8), the battery tray is on the outside and is a structural housing component, and the flexible enclosure is a hermetic sealing enclosure, with the housing component decoupled from the hermetic sealing enclosure.
Regarding claim 22, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure surrounds the battery cells (page 6), and the Ren discloses the batteries on the base plate 10 [bottom surface] between the side walls. (Figs 8 and 12-14). Therefore, the enclosure is arranged on the bottom surface between the side walls and below the cover portion.
Claim(s) 23-25 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation), as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (KR 102280326, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 23, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ren discloses a cover plate ([0021], [0047]), modified Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein the cover portion includes gas vents that are configured to release pressure from the hermetic sealing enclosure when pressure within the hermetic sealing enclosure is greater than a predetermined pressure.
Oh discloses a battery module 1 having a gas exhaust structure (abstract). In the upper cover 60 of the battery module 1 are exhaust holes 61 with exhaust covers 70 coupled to close the exhaust hole 61 ([0040], Fig 2). When the gas exceeds a predetermined pressure, the exhaust hole 61 is opened by the exhaust cover 70 opening ([0040], [0161], Fig 9). Therefore, the exhaust covers are gas vents with pressure sensitive plugs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the exhaust holes and exhaust covers in the upper cover of the battery module of Oh with the cover plate of Ren for the purpose of venting the gas at a predetermined pressure.
Regarding claim 24, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ren teaches an embodiment where inlet vents 31 [vent holes] are located in the side beams [side walls] ([0047], Fig 11).
Regarding claim 25, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As Stein teaches that the flexible enclosure surrounds the battery cells and Ren teaches the battery tray 100 and cover plate encases the battery cells (see Fig 8), the battery tray is on the outside and is a load bearing structural housing component, and the flexible enclosure is a non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure.
Regarding claim 28, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ren teaches an embodiment where inlet vents 31 [vent holes] are located in the side beams [side walls] ([0047], Fig 11). As the vents are openings, these are openings which also reduce the weight of the housing component.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation), and Oh et al. (KR 102280326, see machine translation), as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Templeman et al. (US 2014/0356678).
Regarding claim 26, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ren discloses a cover plate [cover portion], Ren does not explicitly disclose how the cover plate is attached or connected to the side walls or bottom surface, and therefore does not explicitly disclose wherein the load bearing structural housing component includes a drawstring threaded through holes in the side walls and overtop of the cover portion to secure the cover portion relative to the side walls and the non-load bearing hermetic sealing enclosure therein.
Templeman discloses a battery holder 10 for securing a battery 22 to a vehicle, wherein the battery holder includes a mounting plate 12, a lower battery containment plate 14, an upper battery containment plate 16 (abstract, [0021], Fig 1). A covering, a lid, or a case can be used as the upper battery containment plate 16 and can be secured by straps, cords, ropes, chains or other elements to the lower battery containment plate 14 ([0024]). That is, Templeman teaches using cords or ropes [a type of string] overtop the covering or lid, and connected to the lower battery containment plate, and said lower battery containment plate has openings [through holes] to connect the cords or ropes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cords or ropes to secure the lower plate with battery to the upper plate/lid as taught by Templeman with the battery tray and cover plate of Ren for the purpose of attaching and connecting the cover plate.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212, see English language equivalent US 2022/0123427) in view of Stein (DE 10 2014213916, see machine translation), and Oh et al. (KR 102280326, see machine translation), as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Borumand et al. (US 2011/0079456).
Regarding claim 26, modified Ren discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ren discloses a cover plate [cover portion], Ren does not explicitly disclose how the cover plate is attached or connected to the side walls or bottom surface, and therefore does not explicitly disclose wherein the structural housing component includes a zipper that includes a slider configured to engage and disengage teeth included on the side walls and the cover portion to secure the cover portion relative to the side walls and the hermetic sealing enclosure therein.
Borumand discloses a containment device 10,10’ including a cover defining an internal volume (abstract). In one embodiment, the cover is closed and attached by a zipper ’14 ({0022], Fig 3). The containment device contains energy storage devices ([0008], Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a zipper to attach a cover of a battery container as taught by Borumand with the cover plate of Ren for the purpose of closing and attaching the opening and cover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725