DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejection(s) of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as expounded below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-21 and 27-36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maher et al. (USP# 5,707,218; hereinafter “Maher”).
Regarding claim 16, Maher discloses an intravascular blood pump comprising: a shaft carrying an impeller, the shaft being rotatable (e.g.Fig. 3, #42/44); and a housing having an opening (e.g. Fig. 4, housing top figure with the opening) and an end wall having a sleeve (e.g. Fig. 5, where #40 extends until), a circumferential gap defined by a circumferential surface of the shaft and a surface of the sleeve (e.g. Fig. 5, #84); wherein the shaft extends through the opening with the impeller positioned outside the housing (e.g. Col 5, ll 45-65); and wherein the circumferential gap has a length and a width, the width having a minimum width selected to provide a physical barrier against ingress of red blood cells into the gap (e.g. Col 1, ll ~40 – “In order to prevent blood cells from entering the bearing and being hemolyized, the bearing clearance is made so small that blood cells are essentially precluded from entering the bearing”; Col 2, ll 20-60; Col 4, ll 55-60).
Regarding claims 17-21, Maher discloses construction of an intravascular blood pump where the housing comprises a plurality of elements composed of thermoconductive elements including radial outer thermoconductive sleeve composed of silicon carbide (e.g. Col 5, ll 18-45).
Regarding claims 27-29, Maher discloses the circumferential gap converges continuously and linearly over at least part of its length up to where the gap has the minimum width, towards an impeller-side end which is an end of the circumferential gap closest to the impeller (e.g. Fig. 3, element 38).
Regarding claims 30-32, Maher discloses an outer diameter of the shaft expands towards an impeller-side end which is an end of the circumferential gap closest to the impeller, wherein the outer diameter of the shaft has a circumferential groove stretching over an end of the gap opposite the impeller-side end of the circumferential gap, the outer diameter of the shaft expands from a constant diameter shaft section stretching over an end of the circumferential gap opposite the impeller-side end of the circumferential gap to a maximum outer diameter within the gap (e.g. Col 4, ll 1-14).
Regarding claims 33-38, Maher discloses the minimum width of the gap is 2 microns or less (Col 4, ll 55-60 – “gap between the mating surfaces of the balls and their respective cups is extremely small--on the order of 0.25-0.5.mu.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In considering patentability of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher
Regarding claims 22-24, Carrier fails to specifically disclose the minimum width is a particular percentage over the length of the gap or present at the impeller side; however, the examiner notes that the prior art is clear in noting that the parameters and orientation can be adjusted based on the application. Accordingly, the examiner is of the position that it would have been obvious to have the minimum width extending over not more than 20% of the length of the gap, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 25-26, Carrier fails to expressly disclose the length or width of the gap. The examiner notes that the pump is sized to fit within similar vascular structures and is sized for the same purpose as the present invention – to prevent red cells from gathering and clotting. Accordingly, the examiner is of the position that it would have been obvious to have a length of the gap between 1.3-1.7mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796