DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 11, and 22-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, “a redundant flow line system” in line 3 of the claim should read “the redundant flow line system”.
In Claim 7, “a redundant flow line liquid cooling system” in line 4 of the claim should read “the redundant flow line liquid cooling system”.
In Claim 11, “a closed-loop redundant flow line liquid cooling system” in line 4 of the claim should read “the closed-loop redundant flow line liquid cooling system”.
In Claim 11, “and downstream sides first flowline” in line 11 of the claim should read “and downstream sides of the first flowline”.
In Claim 11, “and first liquid port” in line 12 of the claim should read “and a first liquid port”.
In Claim 11, the limitation “refilling the first flow line and the filter housing with liquid, the liquid being transferred from the second flow line to the first flow line” in lines 17-18 of the claim is potentially unclear because of the reference “the liquid”, as there is an earlier introduced liquid before the quoted limitation. The Examiner recommends to change the wording to “refilling the first flow line and the filter housing with liquid from the second flow line, the liquid from the second flow line being transferred to the first flow line” such that it is clearer that the liquids within the two different flow lines are distinct entities.
In Claim 22, “draining liquid” in line 2 of the claim should read “draining the liquid”.
In Claim 22, “via first transfer valve” in line 5 of the claim should read “via the first transfer valve”.
In Claim 23, “transferring liquid” in line 1 of the claim should read “transferring the liquid”.
In Claim 23, “closing drain valve” in line 3 of the claim should read “closing the drain valve”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Merket (US Patent No. 4556486 A) hereinafter Merket in view of Few (US Patent No. 6877531 B2) hereinafter Few.
Regarding Claim 1, Merket teaches filter units with inlets and outlets connected in parallel (i.e., a redundant flow line system; Abstract) used for circulating water through a heat exchanger of a power plant (i.e., in a cooling system; Col. 1 , Lines 11-21) where the water flows from a lake through a bank manifold (Fig. 1, #26), through the filter units (i.e., providing a redundant flow line system with a first flow line and a second flow line, the second flow line being a redundant flow line of the first flow line; Fig. 1, #24), and out through the bank manifold outlet (Fig. 1, #28; Col. 3, Lines 38-52). Merket further teaches isolating a filter (i.e., isolating a section of the first flow line of the liquid cooling system) unit by closing (i.e., by closing) the inlet (i.e., a first entry valve; Fig. 1, #42) and outlet valves (i.e., and a first egress valve on upstream and downstream sides of the section, respectively; Fig. 1, #44), opening a drain valve on a drain pipe (i.e., the section including a first liquid port, the first liquid port being positioned between the first entry valve and the first egress valve; draining liquid from the first flow line; Fig. 2, #78, and 84), accessing the unit interior for maintenance (i.e., servicing the section of the first flow line) and filling the filter slowly to purge the air through the vent (i.e., transferring liquid to the first flow line to refill the first flow line; Fig. 1, #86; Abstract).
Merket does not explicitly teach that the cooling system is a closed-loop liquid cooling system and does not teach providing a liquid transfer assembly, the liquid transfer assembly being selectively secured to each of the first and second flow lines to permit selective fluid transfer between the first and second flow lines, removably coupling the liquid transfer assembly to the first liquid port, draining the liquid via the liquid transfer assembly, and transferring liquid from the second flow line to the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly.
However, Few teaches a servicing apparatus (i.e., a liquid transfer assembly) for exchanging fluid between different vessels (Abstract) including a transmission fluid line (i.e., a closed-loop liquid cooling system; Col. 1, Lines 14-16) involving connecting a plurality of ports (i.e., the liquid transfer assembly being selectively secured to each of the first and second flow lines; removably coupling the liquid transfer assembly to the first liquid port) whereby fluid is directed through the fluid circuit and ports by selectively operating the first and second valves (i.e., to permit selective fluid transfer between the first and second flow lines) to drain either vessel (i.e., draining the liquid via the liquid transfer assembly) and to exchange fluid (i.e., and transferring liquid from the second flow line to the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly; Abstract) with the benefits of being more convenient for the operator and using a relatively minimal component fluid transfer system (Col. 2, Lines 4-10).
Few is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a portable fluid servicing apparatus (Col. 3, Lines 43-55) for servicing a closed-loop liquid cooling system (Col. 1, Lines 13-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Merket with the servicing apparatus as taught by Few because the servicing apparatus would be more convenient for the operator and would require a minimal amount of components.
Regarding Claim 2, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 1. Few further teaches a used fluid conduit (Fig. 3, #39) connecting to a drain port (Fig. 6, #36) and to a used fluid vessel (i.e., the first flow line; Fig. 6, #40) and a fresh fluid supply conduit (Fig. 3, #41) connecting a fresh fluid supply port (Fig. 6, #38; Col. 4, Lines 1-40) to a new fluid vessel (i.e., the second flow line; Fig. 6, #42) and a service hose (Fig. 6, #46) can be placed in a waste fluid receptacle to drain a fluid vessel (Col. 7, Line 58 to Col. 8, Line 5) where the hoses are taught to have suitable couplings to connect as needed (i.e., wherein the liquid transfer assembly is removably coupled to and between the first flow line and the second flow line; Col. 40, Lines 41-62).
Regarding Claim 3, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 1. Merket further teaches isolating a filter unit (i.e., the section) by blocking the inlet via an inlet valve (i.e., an entry valve on upstream side; Fig. 1, #42) and outlet via outlet valve (i.e., an egress valve on downstream side; isolating the section of the first flow line from the closed-loop liquid cooling system by closing an entry valve and an egress valve; Fig. 1, #44) and then placing the unit online by opening the inlet gradually and then fully opening the inlet and outlet (i.e., and rejoining the section with the closed-loop liquid cooling system by opening the entry valve and the egress valve; Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 1. Few further teaches a service hose (Fig. 6, #46) can be placed in a waste fluid receptacle to drain a fluid vessel (i.e., further comprising capturing the liquid drained from the first flowline in a reservoir; Col. 7, Line 58 to Col. 8, Line 5).
Regarding Claim 5, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 1. Merket further teaches that the screens (i.e., a liquid filter; Fig. 4, #46) are disconnect-able for replacement from the unit body (i.e., in a filter housing; Fig. 3, #30) during maintenance (i.e., wherein servicing the section includes replacing a liquid filter in a filter housing; Col. 4, Lines 32-50).
Regarding Claim 6, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 1. Few further teaches that the fluid circuit (Fig. 6, #30) has a number of flow control and filtering components for routing fluid entering and exiting the manifold body (Fig 6, #31) between the various fluid ports (i.e., further comprising regulating the flow of the transfer of liquid through the liquid transfer assembly and between the first and second flow lines; Col. 4, Line 63 to Col. 5, Line 10).
Regarding Claim 7, Merket teaches filter units with inlets and outlets connected in parallel (i.e., a redundant flow line; Abstract) used for circulating water through a heat exchanger of a power plant (i.e., liquid cooling system; Col. 1 , Lines 11-21) where the water flows from a lake through a bank manifold (Fig. 1, #26), through the filter units (i.e., providing a redundant flow line liquid cooling system with a first flow line including a filter and a second flow line, the second flow line being a redundant flow line operating in parallel with the first flow line; Fig. 1, #24), and out through the bank manifold outlet (Fig. 1, #28; Col. 3, Lines 38-52). Merket further teaches isolating a filter (i.e., isolating a section of the first flow line of the redundant flow line liquid cooling system) unit by closing (i.e., by closing) the inlet (i.e., a first entry valve; Fig. 1, #42) and outlet valves (i.e., and a first egress valve on upstream and downstream sides of the section, respectively; Fig. 1, #44), opening a drain valve on a drain pipe (i.e., the section including a first liquid port and the filter, the first liquid port being positioned between the first entry valve and the first egress valve; draining liquid from the first flow line; Fig. 2, #78, and 84), accessing the unit interior for maintenance (i.e., servicing the filter) and filling the filter slowly to purge the air through the vent (i.e., transferring liquid to the first flow line to refill the first flow line; Fig. 1, #86; Abstract).
Merket does not teach providing a liquid transfer assembly selectively arranged between the first flow line and the second flow line to permit selective fluid communication with each of the first and second flow lines, removably coupling the liquid transfer assembly to the first liquid port, draining the liquid via the liquid transfer assembly, and transferring liquid from the second flow line to the first flow line, the liquid being transferred to the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly.
However, Few teaches a servicing apparatus (i.e., a liquid transfer assembly) for exchanging fluid between different vessels (Abstract) including a transmission fluid line (i.e., a closed-loop liquid cooling system; Col. 1, Lines 14-16) involving connecting a plurality of ports (i.e., the liquid transfer assembly being selectively secured to each of the first and second flow lines; removably coupling the liquid transfer assembly to the first liquid port) whereby fluid is directed through the fluid circuit and ports by selectively operating the first and second valves (i.e., to permit selective fluid transfer between the first and second flow lines) to drain either vessel (i.e., draining the liquid via the liquid transfer assembly) and to exchange fluid (i.e., and transferring liquid from the second flow line to the first flow line, the liquid being transferred to the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly; Abstract) with the benefits of being more convenient for the operator and using a relatively minimal component fluid transfer system (Col. 2, Lines 4-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Merket with the servicing apparatus as taught by Few because the servicing apparatus would be more convenient for the operator and would require a minimal amount of components.
Regarding Claim 9, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 7. Merket further teaches drain valves (i.e., wherein the liquid transfer assembly includes a first transfer valve and a second transfer valve; Fig. 1, #84) on each of the drain pipes (i.e., the first liquid port on the first flow line and a second liquid port on the second flow line; Fig. 3, #78) of the filter units (Col. 6, Lines 5-11). Few further teaches a used fluid conduit (Fig. 3, #39) connecting to a drain port (Fig. 6, #36) and to the used fluid vessel (i.e., the first flow line; Fig. 6, #40) and a fresh fluid supply conduit (Fig. 3, #41) connecting a fresh fluid supply port (Fig. 6, #38; Col. 4, Lines 1-40) to the new fluid vessel (i.e., the second flow line; Fig. 6, #42) and a service hose (Fig. 6, #46) can be placed in a waste fluid receptacle to drain a fluid vessel (Col. 7, Line 58 to Col. 8, Line 5) where the hoses are taught to have suitable couplings to connect as needed (i.e., wherein the liquid transfer assembly is removably coupled to the first liquid port on the first flow line and a second liquid port on the second flow line; Col. 40, Lines 41-62). Few further teaches a dump solenoid valve (i.e., a drain valve; Fig. 9, #84) which is used to drain the used fluid vessel by directing the flow through a pump and to the waste fluid receptacle (i.e., wherein draining the liquid from the first flowline comprises opening the first transfer valve and the drain valve; Fig. 9; Col. 6, Lines 45-65).
Regarding Claim 10, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 9. Few further teaches setting the dump valve to pull fluid from the new fluid vessel and directly transferring fluid to the used fluid vessel by connecting the servicing hoses (Fig. 6, #44 and 46) to the exhaust ports (Fig. 6, #32 and 34) and then connecting the hoses together to complete the loop and then starting the transfer (i.e., wherein transferring the liquid from the second flow line to the first flow line comprises closing the drain valve and opening the second transfer valve; Col. 16, Line 66 to Col. 17, Line 23).
Regarding Claim 11, Merket teaches filter units with inlets and outlets connected in parallel (i.e., a redundant flow line; Abstract) used for circulating water through a heat exchanger of a power plant (i.e., of a redundant flow line liquid cooling system; Col. 1 , Lines 11-21) where the water flows from a lake through a bank manifold (Fig. 1, #26), through the filter units (i.e., providing the closed-loop redundant flow line liquid cooling system with a first flow line and a second flow line, the second flow line being a redundant flow line of the first flow line, and the second flow line operating in parallel with the first flow line; Fig. 1, #24), and out through the bank manifold outlet (Fig. 1, #28; Col. 3, Lines 38-52). Merket further teaches isolating a filter (i.e., a method for servicing a filter within a filter housing; stopping the flow of liquid through the first flow line; the first flowline including a filter within a filter housing) unit by closing (i.e., by closing) the inlet (i.e., a first entry valve; Fig. 1, #42) and outlet valves (i.e., and a first egress valve on upstream and downstream sides of the first flow line, respectively; Fig. 1, #44), opening a drain valve on a drain pipe (i.e., and a first liquid port, the first liquid port being positioned between the first entry valve and the first egress valve; removing the liquid from the first flow line; Fig. 2, #78, and 84), accessing the unit interior for maintenance (i.e., accessing the filter within the filter housing) and filling the filter slowly to purge the air through the vent (i.e., refilling the first flow line and the filter housing with liquid and bleeding the first flow line; Fig. 1, #86; Abstract).
Merket does not explicitly teach that the cooling system is a closed-loop liquid cooling system and does not teach providing the liquid transfer assembly selectively arranged between the first and second flow lines, the liquid transfer assembly being selectively secured to each of the first and second flow lines to permit selective fluid transfer between the first and second flow lines, removably coupling the liquid transfer assembly to the first liquid port, and the liquid being transferring from the second flow line to the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly.
However, Few teaches a servicing apparatus (i.e., a liquid transfer assembly) for exchanging fluid between different vessels (Abstract) including a transmission fluid line (i.e., a closed-loop liquid cooling system; Col. 1, Lines 14-16) involving connecting a plurality of ports (i.e., the liquid transfer assembly selectively arranged between the first and second flow lines, the liquid transfer assembly being selectively secured to each of the first and second flow lines; removably coupling the liquid transfer assembly to the first liquid port) whereby fluid is directed through the fluid circuit and ports by selectively operating the first and second valves (i.e., to permit selective fluid transfer between the first and second flow lines) to drain either vessel and to exchange fluid (i.e., and the liquid being transferring from the second flow line to the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly; Abstract) with the benefits of being more convenient for the operator and using a relatively minimal component fluid transfer system (Col. 2, Lines 4-10).
Few is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a portable fluid servicing apparatus (Col. 3, Lines 43-55) for servicing a closed-loop liquid cooling system (Col. 1, Lines 13-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Merket with the servicing apparatus as taught by Few because the servicing apparatus would be more convenient for the operator and would require a minimal amount of components.
Regarding Claim 12, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 11. Merket further teaches that the inlet is blocked via an inlet valve (i.e., a first egress valve; Fig. 1, #42) which can be seen to be below the filter housing best in marked-up Fig. 3 below (i.e., the first egress valve is located vertically below the filter housing).
Regarding Claim 13, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 11. Merket further teaches vents with vent valves (i.e., a first air-bleed valve; Fig. 3, #86, 88) located in the top (i.e., positioned vertically above; Fig. 3, #33) of the filter units (i.e., the filter housing; Col. 6, Lines 14-21) and drain pipes (i.e., the first liquid port; Fig. 3, #78) located on the bottom (i.e., is positioned vertically below; Fig. 3, #31) of the filter units (i.e., the filter housing; Col. 6, Lines 5-11).
Regarding Claim 14, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 13. Merket further teaches, after the isolating of the selected filter unit, that the drain valve (i.e., a first transfer valve; Fig. 1, #84) on the drain pipe (i.e., at the first liquid port; Fig. 2, #78) and vent valve (i.e., the first air-bleed valve; Fig. 1, #88) are opened and the trapped water is allowed to drain out (i.e., wherein the removing of the liquid from the first flow line is accomplished by opening a first transfer valve at the first liquid port and allowing air to enter into the first flow line through the first air-bleed valve, whereby gravity aids in draining the liquid from the first flow line and the filter housing; Col. 6, Lines 47-66).
Regarding Claim 17, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 13. Merket further teaches drain valves (Fig. 1, #84) on each of the drain pipes (i.e., a second liquid port on the second flow line; Fig. 3, #78) of the filter units (i.e., wherein the liquid from the second flow line exits a second liquid port in the second flow line; Col. 6, Lines 5-11).
Regarding Claim 18, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 17. Few further teaches a used fluid conduit (Fig. 3, #39) connecting to a drain port (Fig. 6, #36) and to used fluid vessel (i.e., the first flow line; Fig. 6, #40) and a fresh fluid supply conduit (Fig. 3, #41) connecting a fresh fluid supply port (Fig. 6, #38; Col. 4, Lines 1-40) to a fresh fluid vessel (i.e., the second flow line; Fig. 6, #42) and a service hose (Fig. 6, #46) can be placed in a waste fluid receptacle to drain a fluid vessel (Col. 7, Line 58 to Col. 8, Line 5) where the hoses are taught to have suitable couplings to connect as needed (i.e., wherein the liquid transfer assembly is coupled to and between the first and second liquid ports to provide fluid communication therebetween; Col. 40, Lines 41-62).
Regarding Claim 19, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 18. Few further teaches where the hoses are taught to have suitable couplings to connect as needed (i.e., wherein the liquid transfer assembly is removably coupled to the first and second liquid ports; Col. 40, Lines 41-62).
Regarding Claim 20, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 13. Merket further teaches vents with vent valves (i.e., a first air-bleed valve; Fig. 3, #86, 88) located in the top (i.e., positioned vertically above; Fig. 3, #33) of the filter units (i.e., the filter housing; Col. 6, Lines 14-21) and air is purged through an open vent, and then, when the unit is full, the vent is closed and the inlet and outlet are fully opened (i.e., wherein the bleeding of the first flow line is accomplished by filling the first flow line with liquid and forcing air within the first flow line upward and out through the first air-bleed valve; Abstract). Few further teaches that the transfer from a new fluid vessel directly to a used fluid vessel is for the purpose of purging unwanted air from the system (Col. 16, Line 66 to Col. 17, Line 23).
Regarding Claim 21, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 1. Few further teaches a used fluid conduit (Fig. 3, #39) connecting to a drain port (Fig. 6, #36) and to used fluid vessel (i.e., the first liquid port on the first flow line; Fig. 6, #40) and a fresh fluid supply conduit (Fig. 3, #41) connecting a fresh fluid supply port (Fig. 6, #38; Col. 4, Lines 1-40) to a fresh fluid vessel (i.e., a second liquid port on the second flow line; Fig. 6, #42) and a service hose (Fig. 6, #46) can be placed in a waste fluid receptacle to drain a fluid vessel (Col. 7, Line 58 to Col. 8, Line 5) where the hoses are taught to have suitable couplings to connect as needed (i.e., wherein removably coupling the liquid transfer assembly to the first liquid port on the first flow line comprises removably coupling the liquid transfer assembly toa second port on the second flow line, so that the liquid transfer assembly is coupled to both the first liquid port on the first flow line and the second liquid port on the second flow line; Col. 40, Lines 41-62).
Regarding Claim 22, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 21. Merket further teaches drain valves (i.e., wherein the liquid transfer assembly includes a first transfer valve and a second transfer valve; Fig. 1, #84) on each of the drain pipes (Fig. 3, #78) of the filter units (Col. 6, Lines 5-11) ) and opening a drain valve on a drain pipe to drain the filter housing (i.e., opening the first transfer valve; Fig. 2, #78, and 84; Abstract). Few further teaches a used fluid conduit (Fig. 3, #39) connecting to a drain port (Fig. 6, #36) and to the used fluid vessel (i.e., the first flow line; Fig. 6, #40) and a fresh fluid supply conduit (Fig. 3, #41) connecting a fresh fluid supply port (Fig. 6, #38; Col. 4, Lines 1-40) to the new fluid vessel (i.e., the second flow line; Fig. 6, #42) and a service hose (Fig. 6, #46) can be placed in a waste fluid receptacle to drain a fluid vessel (Col. 7, Line 58 to Col. 8, Line 5) where the hoses are taught to have suitable couplings to connect as needed (i.e., wherein the liquid transfer assembly is removably coupled to the first liquid port on the first flow line and a second liquid port on the second flow line; Col. 40, Lines 41-62). Few further teaches a dump solenoid valve (i.e., a drain valve; Fig. 9, #84) which is used to drain the used fluid vessel by directing the flow through a pump and to the waste fluid receptacle (i.e., and wherein draining the liquid from the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly includes opening the first transfer valve and the drain valve of the liquid transfer assembly, so that the first flow line is drained through the liquid transfer assembly via the first transfer valve and the drain valve of the liquid transfer assembly; Fig. 9; Col. 6, Lines 45-65).
Regarding Claim 23, Merket in view of Few makes obvious the method of claim 22. Few further teaches setting the dump valve to pull fluid from the new fluid vessel (i.e., closing the drain valve of the liquid transfer assembly; opening the second transfer valve of the liquid transfer assembly) and directly transferring fluid to the used fluid vessel by connecting the servicing hoses (Fig. 6, #44 and 46) to the exhaust ports (Fig. 6, #32 and 34) and then connecting the hoses together to complete the loop and then starting the transfer (i.e., wherein transferring the liquid from the second flow line to the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly to refill the first flow line includes closing the drain valve of the liquid transfer assembly and opening the second transfer valve of the liquid transfer assembly so that liquid is transferred from the second liquid port of the second flow line to the first liquid port of the first flow line via the liquid transfer assembly; Col. 16, Line 66 to Col. 17, Line 23).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 16 OCTOBER 2025 have been entered.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the amendment of claims 1-3, 7, 9, 11-13, and 17, the cancellation of claims 8 and 15-16 and the addition of new claims 21-23 have been acknowledged.
In view of the amendment of claim 7, the previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment of claims 1, 7, and 11, the previous rejections of claims 1-7, 9-14, and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been withdrawn and new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been made.
In view of the cancellation of claims 8 and 15-16, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for claims 8 and 15-16 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 16 OCTOBER 2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, regarding claims 1, 7, and 11, that Merket (US Patent No. 4556486 A) hereinafter Merket does not teach a redundant flow line system and transferring liquid directly from one redundant line to another to fill an empty flow line via a liquid transfer assembly (Arguments file 16 OCTOBER 2025, Pages 9-10).
The Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
Regarding Applicant’s argument for claims 1, 7, and 11 that Merket does not teach a redundant flow line system, Merket teaches filter units with inlets and outlets connected in parallel (i.e., a redundant flow line system; Abstract) used for circulating water through a heat exchanger of a power plant (i.e., in a cooling system; Col. 1 , Lines 11-21). The filters are redundant for each other and the main method taught in Merket is to service an individual filter while leaving the others online such that cooling water flow to the heat exchangers is not interrupted.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, and 11 regarding the lack of teaching for transferring liquid directly from one redundant line to another to fill an empty flow line via a liquid transfer assembly have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. All other arguments have been indirectly addressed.
Conclusion
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772