DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species B, claims 1-27 reading thereon in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Nonelected claims 28 and 29 are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, 22, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graf (U.S. Patent No. 10,083,891).
Regarding claim 1. An electronics assembly comprising:
Graf Fig. 3 discloses:
a substrate(220);
a heat-conductive body(240) spaced from the substrate(220);
a temperature dependent electronic component(100) mounted on the substrate(100 on 220); and
a heating element(120) in thermal contact between the temperature dependent electronic component(100) and the heat-conductive body(240).
Regarding claim 2.
Graf Fig. 3 discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, wherein the heating element comprises a resistor.(120 being a thermoelectric heat pump which includes a resistor)
Regarding claim 6.
Graf Fig. 3 discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, wherein the heating element is electrically isolative. (see 120, col. 5, lines 1-5.)
Regarding claim 8.
Graf Fig. 3 discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, further comprising a thermal grease, a thermal gel, or a thermally-conductive epoxy(150) between the heating element(120) and the temperature dependent electronic component(100).
Regarding claim 9.
Graf Fig. 3 discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, further comprising a thermal grease, a thermal gel, a thermal gap material or a thermally-conductive epoxy(150) between the heating element(120) and the heat-conductive body(240 col. 7, line 62-col. 8, line 11).
Regarding claim 10.
Graf Fig. 3 discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, wherein the substrate(220) extends in a plane, the heat-conductive body(240) extends parallel to the plane and is spaced from the substrate, and the heating element(120) extends parallel to the plane and is positioned between the temperature dependent electronic(100) component and the heat-conductive body(240).
Regarding claim 15.
Graf Fig. 3 discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, further comprising an integrated circuit(102) mounted on the substrate(220) and in thermal contact with the heat-conductive body(240), wherein the temperature dependent electronic component(100) is electrically connected to the integrated circuit(102).
Regarding claim 16.
Graf discloses
The electronics assembly of claim 15, wherein the integrated circuit comprises a field programmable gate array, a computer processing unit(102), a graphics processing unit, or an Infiniband/Ethernet interconnect semiconductor/device processing unit.
Regarding claim 17.
Graf discloses
The electronics assembly of claim 15, wherein the temperature dependent electronic component comprises a high bandwidth memory, and the integrated circuit comprises a field programmable gate array. (See Abstract, and 100)
Regarding claim 22.
Graf discloses: The electronics assembly of claim 10, wherein the heat-conductive body(240) comprises a surface facing the substrate(240 portion facing 220) and a recess extending form(recess formed by the surface) the surface away from the substrate(recess extending away from 220), and the heating element(102) is mounted within the recess and the integrated circuit(100) is positioned adjacent to the surface(100 adjacent to surface of 240 facing 102).
Regarding claim 26
Graf discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, wherein the temperature dependent electronic component (100)comprises a memory(100 is a memory, see col. 3, line 62-col. 4 line 26), a high bandwidth memory, a crystal oscillator or an Infiniband/Ethernet interconnect semiconductor/device.
Regarding claim 27. The electronics assembly of claim 1, wherein the temperature dependent electronic component(100) comprises: a memory (100)having a minimum operating temperature of at least −20° Ca high bandwidth(100 (See col. 1, lines 30-50)) memory having a minimum operating temperature of at least 0° C. ;; a crystal oscillator having a minimum operating temperature of at least −10° C.; or an Infiniband/Ethernet interconnect semiconductor/device having a minimum operating temperature of at least −40° C. (See col. 1, lines 30-50)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 11-14, 18-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf (U.S. Patent No. 10,083,891).
Regarding claim 7.
Graf discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Graf does not disclose:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, wherein the heating element is configured to heat the temperature dependent electronic component at a rate of at least 20° C./minute.
Howver, Graf discloses that an electrical signal may be applied to the heat pump 120 to cause the cooling. The device may heat the chip 100 at a rate of less than 20 ° C or greater than 20° C. Graf disclose that the device requires cooling and heating. As such, it would have been obvious to try to make the device heat or cool at the recited rate for he obvious benefit of enhancing the operation of the device. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to try. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claims 11-14.
Graf discloses all of the features of claim 10.
Graf does not disclose:
The electronics assembly of claim 10, wherein the heating element has an area parallel to the plane, of 0.2 square inches or less.
Regarding claim 12. The electronics assembly of claim 10, wherein the heating element has an area parallel to the plane, of 0.1 square inches or less.
Regarding claim 13. The electronics assembly of claim 10, wherein the heating element has a thickness in a direction perpendicular to the plane, of 0.2 inches or less.
Regarding claim 14. The electronics assembly of claim 10, wherein the heating element has a thickness in a direction perpendicular to the plane, of 0.1 inches or less.
However, there recited features are a mere change in shape of the working parts which has been held to be obvious where the recited dimensions would not perform differently than those discloses in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). As such, the features recites in claims 11-14 would have been obvious for the benefit of allowing the device to be incorporated into as desired application.
Regarding claim 18.
Graf discloses
The electronics assembly of claim 17, wherein the high bandwidth memory has a minimum operating temperature of at least 0° C., and the field programmable gate array has a minimum operating temperature of less than −20° C.( See col. 1, lines 30-50) The recited ranges would have been obvious See MPEP 2144.05(I), for the obvious benefit of having the device perform in a desired environment. As such, the recited features would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 19.
Graf discloses Fig. 3
The electronics assembly of claim 15, wherein the heat-conductive body comprises: a metal plate(240) adjacent to one or both of the temperature dependent electronic component(102) and the integrated circuit(100); and a heat sink (250)joined to the metal plate(240) and at least partially extending from the metal plate away from the substrate(250 extending away from 220);
Graf does not disclose: wherein the metal plate has a higher thermal conductivity coefficient than the heat sink.
However, the metal plate could have a thermal conductivity that is higher, the same or lower than the heat sink. It would have been obvious to try to make the thermal conductivity higher, as the metal plate is closer to the chip 100, and 102 for the obvious benefit of providing better heat sinking performance ot the device. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Regarding claim 20.
Graf discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 19, wherein the metal plate comprises a copper plate.( 240, see col. 6, lines 23-30). Disclosing that 240 may be any thermally conductive material. IT would have been obvious to select copper as this material as it is thermally conductive. See MPEP 2144.07. Here the selection of Copper would have been known as copper is known to have conductive properties, and within the “thermally conductive material” suggested by Graf. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 21.
Graf discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 19, further comprising a thermal gel or thermal grease between the metal plate and the heat sink(See Fig. 3, 246, and col. 6, lines 31-50).
Regarding claim 23.
Graf discloses
The electronics assembly of claim 22, further comprising one or more temperature sensors(140 see col. 4, lines 47-60) mounted adjacent to the temperature dependent electronic component() or the heating element, and preferably within the recess.
Regarding claim 24.
Graf discloses
The electronics assembly of claim 23, further comprising an electric circuit(130) in electrical communication with the one or more temperature sensors(140 see col. 4, lines 47-60), and configured to: detect a respective detected temperature at each of the one or more temperature sensors; pass electric current through the heating element to thereby heat the temperature dependent electronic component upon determining that the respective detected temperatures are not above a reference temperature value; and not pass electric current through the heating element upon determining that the respective detected temperatures are above the reference temperature value. (140 see col. 4, line 47- col. 5, line 5)
Regarding claim 25.
Graf discloses:
The electronics assembly of claim 22, wherein the surface is a flat surface, and wherein a side of the heating element facing the substrate is coplanar with the flat surface.(See Fig. 3, 120 bottom of 120 coplanar with 102)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf (U.S. Patent No. 10,083,891) in view of Urano (U.S. Patent Application PUblciation No. 2004/0061096).
Regarding claim 3.
Graf discloses all of the features of claim 2. Graf does not disclose:
The electronics assembly of claim 2, wherein the resistor comprises: a thick film chip resistor with gold plated beryllium copper contacts, a beryllium oxide substrate, or an aluminum nitride substrate.
In related art Urano disclose:
The electronics assembly of claim 2, wherein the resistor comprises: a thick film chip resistor with gold plated beryllium copper contacts, a beryllium oxide substrate, or an aluminum nitride substrate. (See [0050])
Urano disclose that the recited features would be a good substrate for forming a resistor with desirable performance. As such, it would hve bene obvious to use the recited features of the substrate in the device of Graf, for the obvious benefit of obtaining a device having a desired performance and for easing the manufacturing of the device by allowing an available material to be use. As such, the features of claim 3 would have been obvious.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf (U.S. Patent No. 10,083,891) in view of Mowry (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0295457) .
Regarding claim 4.
Graf discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Graf does not disclose:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, wherein the heating element has a thermal conductivity of at least 180 watts per meter-Kelvin, and more preferably at least 250 watts per meter-Kelvin.
In related art, Mowry discloses:
That the device may be modified to obtain a desired thermal conductivity by selecting materials and thicknesses based on the desired performance. See [0029]. It would have been obvious to modify the material and thicknesses of the material of Graf as taught by Mowry for the obvious benefit of obtaining a device having desired electrical properties. See MPEP 2144.03
Regarding claim 5.
Graf discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Graf does not disclose:
The electronics assembly of claim 1, wherein a portion of the heat-conductive body most proximal to the temperature dependent electronic component has a thermal conductivity coefficient of at least 200-250 Watts per meter-Kelvin, and more preferably at least 400 Watts per meter-Kelvin.
In related art, Mowry discloses:
That the device may be modified to obtain a desired thermal conductivity by selecting materials and thicknesses based on the desired performance. See [0029]. It would have been obvious to modify the material and thicknesses of the material of Graf as taught by Mowry for the obvious benefit of obtaining a device having desired electrical properties. See MPEP 2144.03
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898