DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. D2 in paragraphs [061-064] explicitly teaches how that type of configuration can be advantageous. By using same retracting mechanism for 6 and 4 one can spray a cleaning fluid onto the static cleaning means 5 while the camera module 20 is moving between the retraced and the deployed state. Frederic teaches that laser unit retracted by the roof drive module. Wilson uses the same drive module to retract both laser unit and the cleaning means. Hence combination teaches the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20190210436 A1 in view of D2 US 20190039531 A1.
Regarding claim 1 D1 teaches
(Currently amended) A roof module for forming a vehicle roof on a motor vehicle, the roof module having;
a panel component(105) whose external surface at least partially forms a roof skin of the vehicle roof [0017], the roof skin functioning as an outer sealing surface of the roof module(fig. 3) ,
the roof module having at least one module component (303),
the roof module having a drive kinematic unit which is configured to displace the at least one module component from a retracted position to an extended position in which the at least one module component protrudes over the roof skin [0021],
but does not explicitly teach
the roof module having at least one cleaning nozzle ,
wherein the drive kinematic unit is configured to also displace the at least one cleaning nozzle between a retracted position and an extended position.
D2 teaches
the module(20) having at least one cleaning nozzle(6) ,
wherein the drive kinematic unit is configured to also displace the at least one cleaning nozzle between a retracted position and an extended position. [0061-0064]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D2 in order to provide the system with self cleaning mechanism and remove debris.
2. (Currently amended) The roof module according to claim 1, wherein the at least one module component comprises at least one environment sensor which sends and/or receives electromagnetic signals through a see-through portion for detecting a vehicle environment around its optical axis and which is displaceable from the retracted position to the extended position in which it protrudes over the roof skin to detect the vehicle environment(D1 [0014]), and the
at least one cleaning nozzle is configured to clean the see-through portion . (D2 Abstract)
3.(Currently amended) The roof module according to claim 1, wherein at least one module component comprises at least one of a cover flap, a housing [[or]] and a spoiler. (D1 fig. 3)
4. (Currently amended) The roof module according to claim1, wherein the at least one drive kinematic unit is configured to cause a first movement sequence, in which the at least one module component is displaceable at least between the retracted position and the extended position, and to cause at least one second movement sequence, [[0017]]
in which the at least one cleaning nozzle is displaceable from the retracted position to the extended position. (obvious over D1 and D2 as fig. 3 of D1 will include nozzles combined with sensors)
5. (Currently amended) The roof module according to claim 4, wherein, in the first movement sequence, the drive kinematic unit is configured to displace the at least one module component along a first axis of movement(D1 fig. 2 or 3) and/or around a first rotation axis and, in
the second movement sequence, the drive kinematic unit is configured to displace the at least one cleaning nozzle along a second axis of movement and/or around a second rotation axis. (obvious over D1 and D2 as fig. 3 of D1 will include nozzles combined with sensors)
6. (Currently amended) The roof module according to claim1, wherein the drive kinematic unit comprises a drive which is moveable along a drive axis and/or around the drive axis . (D1 fig. 2 and 3 implicit it raises structure up or retracts down [0017])
7. (Currently amended) The roof module according to claim5, wherein the drive axis is positioned in a direction different from the first axis of movement and/or the second axis of movement and/or the first rotation axis and/or the second rotation axis. (D1 Fig. 3)
15. (Currently amended) The roof module according to claim1, wherein the at least one cleaning nozzle comprises at least one lid piece and the at least one lid piece lines up flush with the external surface of the roof skin [0017] of the vehicle roof in the retracted position of the at least one cleaning nozzle and protrudes at least partly beyond the external surface of the roof skin of the vehicle roof in the extended position of the at least one cleaning nozzle . (if we consider the nozzle as integral part of the fig. 3 attached to sensor due to combination)
17. (Currently amended) The roof module according to claim1, wherein the at least one cleaning nozzle is disposed so as to be distanced from the at least one module component . (D2 fig. 3,4)
16. (Currently amended) The roof module according to claim 2, wherein the at least one environment sensor is formed in the manner of a lidar sensor and/or in the manner of a radar sensor and/or in the manner of a camera sensor and/or in the manner of a multi-camera sensor. [0002]
18. (Currently amended) A motor vehicle comprising a roof module according to claim1(D1 fig. 3)
9. (New) The roof module according to claim 1, wherein the drive kinematic unit is electromechanical.(implicit/obvious over D1)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645