DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., rigidity, thickness, and vapor-permeability) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant is advised that none of these features are described in the present specification and incorporation of them into the claims may raise issues of new matter under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
In response to applicant’s argument that Wheeler discloses miniature plastic hooks, which are not a fuzz structure, it is noted that “fuzz structure” is not clearly defined by the present specification nor does the term have an art-recognized definition. Therefore the words of the limitation will be given their “plain meaning” (see MPEP 2111.01). The hook material disclosed by Wheeler has a fuzzy surface due to the presence of a plurality of hooks, and is a physical structure. Therefore the material of Wheeler falls within the scope of the claim limitation “fuzz structure.”
In response to applicant’s argument that the present invention utilizes fastening fabric described in U.S. Patent Nos. 10,080,404 and 8,656,564, it is noted that these references are not made of record in an Information Disclosure Statement, nor are they disclosed or incorporated by reference in the present specification. Applicant is advised that these patents constitute prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and can be applied in a rejection against the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wheeler et al. (2005/0131372).
With respect to claim 1, Wheeler discloses an undergarment for covering a lower trunk, as shown in figure 3B, comprising a clothing 12 configured to cover the lower trunk having a first adhering layer formed with the clothing, the first adhering layer being the material of the clothing 12 which is a woven fabric having a first fuzz structure (i.e. attachment surface), as disclosed in paragraph [0052]. An absorbent liner 10 is removably attached to the crotch portion of the clothing 12, as shown in figure 3B and disclosed in paragraph [0052]. The absorbent liner has a second adhering layer 18 having a second fuzz structure 32 and a skin-contacting layer 14, as shown in figure 4. The second fuzz structure 32 removably engages with the clothing 12, as disclosed in paragraph [0052].
Wheeler discloses the woven material of the clothing presents an attachment surface for second fuzz structure (i.e. hook material) of the absorbent liner, as disclosed in paragraph [0052]. The woven material is considered to inherently comprise a fuzz structure in the form of the fibrous exterior of the weave that creates the attachment surface. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first fuzz structure on the first adhering layer of Wheeler to achieve the predictable result of providing a surface that the hook materials of the liner can securely engage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wheeler et al. (2005/0131372) in view of Plentovich et al. (8,062,275).
With respect to claim 2, Wheeler discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a leak-resistant layer disposed between the second adhering layer and the skin-contact layer. Plentovich teaches the use of a laminate of a woven fabric and a liquid impermeable film as the backsheet of an absorbent pad, as disclosed in column 14, lines 1-3. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the absorbent liner of Wheeler with a leak-resistant layer of film, as taught by Plentovich, between the woven layer of the second adhering layer and the skin-contact layer, to achieve the predictable result of a backsheet that is liquid impervious but has a cloth outer layer to provide a softer feel to the wearer.
Conclusion
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781