Claim Objections
1. Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “end of one the bulging blocks.” This should be rewritten as “end of one of the bulging blocks”.
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
In particular Claim 4 recites “the outlet water surface 111”.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 2 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claim 2 recites the limitation "the turning blocks" in last three words of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
5. Claim 3 recites the limitation “at least one second engaging pipe extending radially outwards from a peripheral wall of the water-accumulating groove” this limitation is unclear as in light of the specification, Fig. 4 in particular) the peripheral wall is not circular where the engaging pipes connect. The term “extending radially” implies the pipes extend along a radius normal to the peripheral wall. This configuration is not described of shown in the specification of the Drawings.
For the purpose of examination this limitation will be interpreted as extending away from the water-accumulating groove.
6. Claim 4 recites the limitation “a solution outlet portion is provided on the installing base and extends radially outwards from a side wall of the solution-accumulating groove”. It is unclear if the solution outlet portion of claim 4 is the same solution outlet portion of claim 1. In light of the specification and for the purpose of examination the solution outlet portion will be interpreted as first and a second solution outlet portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by United States Patent No. 3,285,521 to Coakley ("Coakley").
8. Regarding Claim 1, Coakley discloses:
A showerhead device with a function of providing a cleansing solution, comprising: a main body (Fig. 1) comprising a showering portion (5) and a water outlet surface located on a side of the showering portion (15);
a storing assembly (39) disposed on the main body and comprising a filling space (interior of 39) adapted to be filled with the cleansing solution; (col. 2, ll. 25-26)
a guiding assembly (41 combined with 43 and 35) disposed in the main body and engaged with the storing assembly and comprising a through hole (Coakley is drawn to draw cleaning fluid from a filling space, so having a through hole which communicates with the filling space is inherent to Coakley) and a transferring channel (See annotated Fig. 1), wherein the through hole communicates with the filling space and the transferring channel (Coakley is drawn to draw cleaning fluid from a filling space, so having a through hole which communicates with the filling space is inherent to Coakley); and
a solution outlet assembly (29 combined with 21) disposed in the main body and engaged with the guiding assembly and comprising a solution outlet portion (21) disposed on the side of the showering portion having the water outlet surface (Fig. 2); wherein the solution outlet assembly is adapted to suck the cleansing solution in the storing assembly via a negative pressure suction, (col. 2, ll. 37-42) thereby spraying out the cleansing solution through the solution outlet portion by passing through the transferring channel.
Fig. 1 (annotated)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 3,285,521 to Coakley ("Coakley") in view of United States Patent No. 3,091,402 to Palmer (“Palmer”).
11. Regarding Claim 2, Coakley discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. In addition, Coakley discloses:
the storing assembly comprises a storing container (Coakley, 39) and a turning cover (Coakley annotated Fig. 1).
Coakley does not disclose the storing container has a plurality of separating blocks to separate the filling space into a plurality of filling grooves for being respectively filled with different types of the cleansing solution, a plurality of solution-releasing holes is disposed on a bottom of the storing container, each of the solution-releasing holes corresponds to one of the filling grooves, wherein one of the solution-releasing holes of the storing container correspondingly communicates with the through hole of the guiding assembly, making the transferring channel correspondingly communicate with one of the filling grooves; the turning cover is disposed and covers on the storing container; a plurality of bulging blocks is disposed on the turning cover, thereby the turning cover is adapted to be turned to drive the storing container to turn by twisting the bulging blocks; a label region is formed between any two of the bulging blocks that are adjacent, wherein a location of each of the label regions corresponds to a location of one of the filling grooves, and the label region between two of the bulging blocks that are adjacent is located on an end of another of the turning blocks.
Palmer is analogous art in that it is drawn to a showerhead connected to multiple containers with cleaning solution, which uses the rotation of the storage containers to choose which cleaning fluid is introduced into the shower water. Palmer, teaches a storage container (Palmer, 12) with a plurality of separating blocks (Palmer, see annotated Fig. 4) separating the storage container into a plurality of filling grooves (Palmer, 16), a plurality of solution releasing holes (Palmer, 44) disposed on the bottom of the storing container corresponding to one of the filling grooves (See Palmer annotated Fig. 3), one of which communicates with the through hole (Palmer, 40). Palmer also teaches the turning cover is disposed on and covers the storing container (Palmer, 64, see Fig. 2), a plurality of bulging blocks (Palmer, 18) disposed on the turning cover, the turning cover is adapted to be turned to drive the storing container to turn by twisting the bulging blocks (col. 3, ll. 1-2). Palmer further teaches a label region (in light of the specification the label region is an empty space) corresponding to a filling groove and located at the end of a bulging block. (Palmer, Fig. 1, area below the bulging block).
Palmer Fig. 4 (annotated)
Although, Palmer does not teach a label region is formed between any two of the bulging blocks that are adjacent, or the label region between two of the bulging blocks that are adjacent is located on an end of another of the turning blocks. In light of the specification, the function of the label region is to provide an area where a label can be placed, the function of the bulging blocks is to turn the turning cover, which turns the storing container via interaction between the sealing ring and the bottom wall of the turning cover. (Instant Application, ¶[0028]). As the interaction is between the bottom wall and the sealing ring, the orientation between the turning block and label region will not affect the interaction between the bottom wall of the turning cover and the sealing ring. The orientation between the bulging blocks and label areas is aesthetic, and therefore holds no patentable weight. (MPEP 2144.04 (I))
Thus, Coakley in view of Palmer teaches:
a turning cover (Palmer, see annotated Fig. 3); the storing container has a plurality of separating blocks (Palmer, see annotated Fig. 4) to separate the filling space into a plurality of filling grooves (Palmer, 16) for being respectively filled with different types of the cleansing solution, and a plurality of solution-releasing holes is disposed on a bottom of the storing container (Palmer, 42), and each of the solution-releasing holes corresponds to one of the filling grooves (Palmer Fig. 3), wherein one of the solution-releasing holes of the storing container correspondingly communicates with the through hole of the guiding assembly (Palmer Fig. 3), making the transferring channel correspondingly communicate with one of the filling grooves (Palmer, col. 3, ll. 1-2); the turning cover is disposed and covers on the storing container (Palmer see annotated Fig. 4); a plurality of bulging blocks is disposed on the turning cover (Palmer, 18), thereby the turning cover is adapted to be turned to drive the storing container to turn by twisting the bulging blocks (col. 3, ll. 1-2; the turning cover is physically fixed to the storing container); a label region is formed between any two of the bulging blocks that are adjacent (Palmer Fig. 1, the label region is a space in which a label can be placed), wherein a location of each of the label regions corresponds to a location of one of the filling grooves, and the label region between two of the bulging blocks that are adjacent is located on an end of another of the turning blocks. (the relation between the bulging block and label region is aesthetic).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the storing assembly of Coakley to include the multiple filling grooves as taught by Palmer in order to selectively add various toiletries to the flow of water in any desired amount.
12. Regarding Claim 4, Coakley in view of Palmer disclose or teach the limitations of Claim 2 as noted above. In addition, Coakley discloses, wherein the guiding assembly comprises an installing base (Coakley, see annotated Fig. 1); a side of the installing base has a solution-accumulating groove (the inside of 41), and another side of the installing base has an abutting surface (the outside of 41); a solution outlet portion (Coakley, see annotated Fig. 1) is provided on the installing base and extends radially outwards from a side wall (for a path to extend radially it would need to extend along a radius, either normal to a wall or through the center of an object; the path of the solution outlet portion does both) of the solution-accumulating groove, wherein the solution outlet portion has the transferring channel (Coakley, see annotated Fig. 1) communicating with the solution-accumulating groove.
Coakley Fig. 1 (annotated)
Coakley does not disclose “the storing container is disposed on the abutting surface; the through hole of the guiding assembly penetrates through the abutting surface and a bottom of the solution- accumulating groove; at least one engaging block is provided on the abutting surface, and a protruding ring is provided on the side of the storing container facing the water outlet surface [[111]]; when the storing container is disposed on the installing base, the at least one engaging block is engaged with a peripheral edge of the protruding ring, thereby positioning the storing container on the abutting surface, and the turning cover drives the storing container to turn relative to the installing base when the turning cover is turned.”
Palmer however teaches a storage container disposed on the abutting surface (Palmer, see annotated Fig. 3); the through hole (see annotated Palmer Fig. 3) penetrates through the abutting surface and a bottom of the solution accumulating groove (Palmer, see annotated Fig. 3, Palmer 48 replaces Coakley 41, one side of 48 is the abutting surface the other is the solution accumulating groove); a protruding ring is provided on the side of the storing container (Palmer, see annotated Fig. 3); the storing container is disposed on the abutting surface (see Palmer annotated Fig. 3), the at least one engaging block is engaged with a peripheral edge of the protruding ring (see Palmer annotated Fig. 3), thereby positioning the storing container on the abutting surface, and the turning cover drives the storing container to turn relative to the installing base when the turning cover is turned. (col. 3, ll. 1-2; the turning cover is physically fixed to the storing container).
Palmer Fig. 3 (annotated)
Thus, Coakley in view of Palmer teaches:
The showerhead device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the guiding assembly comprises an installing base (see Coakley annotated Fig. 1); a side of the installing base has a solution-accumulating groove (the inside of Palmer 48), and another side of the installing base has an abutting surface (the outside Palmer 48); the through hole (Palmer, 44) of the guiding assembly penetrates through the abutting surface and a bottom of the solution- accumulating groove (Palmer, see annotated Fig. 3, Palmer 48 replaces Coakley 41, one side of 48 is the abutting surface the other is the solution accumulating groove); the storing container is disposed on the abutting surface (Palmer, see annotated Fig. 3); a solution outlet portion is provided on the installing base and extends radially outwards from a side wall of the solution-accumulating groove (see Coakley annotated Fig. 1), wherein the solution outlet portion has the transferring channel (see annotated Coakley Fig. 1) communicating with the solution-accumulating groove; at least one engaging block is provided on the abutting surface (Palmer, 30), and a protruding ring is provided on the side of the storing container facing the water outlet surface [[111]] (see Palmer annotated Fig. 3); when the storing container is disposed on the installing base, the at least one engaging block is engaged with a peripheral edge of the protruding ring (see Palmer Annotated Fig. 3), thereby positioning the storing container on the abutting surface, and the turning cover drives the storing container to turn relative to the installing base when the turning cover is turned. (col. 3, ll. 1-2; the turning cover is physically fixed to the storing container).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the storing assembly of Coakley to include the multiple filling grooves as taught by Palmer in order to selectively add various toiletries to the flow of water in any desired amount.
13. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent No. 3,558,053 to Hruby.
14. Regarding Claim 5, Coakley discloses or teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. Coakley does not disclose fogging nozzle.
Hruby teaches a fogging nozzle (Hruby, 49) is disposed in an inner space of the solution outlet portion (Hruby, 48 is the outer edge of the nozzle) and is adapted to make the cleansing solution become a plurality of droplets via the high pressure fogging (although Hruby is drawn to an aerating nozzle configured prevent the production of a fog or mist, it teaches features known to produce fog or mist, col. 5 ll. 9-11); two opposite sides of the fogging nozzle respectively have a solution inlet surface (Hruby, 50) and a solution outlet surface (Hruby, 51); the fogging nozzle has two flow-restricting channels (Hruby, 52) penetrating through the solution inlet surface and the solution outlet surface; the two flow-restricting channels are respectively recessed into a side wall of the fogging nozzle (Hruby, col. 5, ll. 57-58), wherein each of the flow-restricting channels has a solution inlet hole penetrating through the solution inlet surface and a solution outlet hole penetrating through the solution outlet surface (see annotated Fig. 6); a reference surface passing through the two solution inlet holes is defined on the fogging nozzle, and the two solution outlet holes are located on two opposite sides of the reference surface (see annotated, Fig. 7), wherein the two flow-restricting channels penetrates through the solution inlet surface and the solution outlet surface of the fogging nozzle in a sloped way, and sloping directions of the two flow-restricting channels are opposite to each other. (see annotated Fig. 7).
Hruby Fig. 6 (annotated) Hruby Fig. 7 (annotated)
Thus, Coakley in view Hruby teaches:
The showerhead device as claimed in claim 1, wherein a fogging nozzle (49) is disposed in an inner space of the solution outlet portion and is adapted to make the cleansing solution become a plurality of droplets via the high pressure fogging; two opposite sides of the fogging nozzle respectively have a solution inlet surface (50) and a solution outlet surface (51); the fogging nozzle has two flow-restricting channels (52) penetrating through the solution inlet surface and the solution outlet surface; the two flow-restricting channels are respectively recessed into a side wall of the fogging nozzle (col. 5, ll. 57-58), wherein each of the flow-restricting channels has a solution inlet hole penetrating through the solution inlet surface and a solution outlet hole penetrating through the solution outlet surface (see annotated Fig. 6); a reference surface passing through the two solution inlet holes is defined on the fogging nozzle, and the two solution outlet holes are located on two opposite sides of the reference surface (see annotated, Fig. 7), wherein the two flow-restricting channels penetrates through the solution inlet surface and the solution outlet surface of the fogging nozzle in a sloped way, and sloping directions of the two flow-restricting channels are opposite to each other. (see annotated Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the solution outlet portion of Coakley with the nozzle of Hruby to improve mixing of the soap with the water.
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claim 3, 6, and 7-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
16. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
17. Regarding Claim 3, Coakley in view of Palmer discloses or teaches the limitations of Claim 2 as noted above. In addition, Coakley discloses:
The showerhead device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the main body comprises a holding section (See Coakley annotated Fig. 1) and a water transmission portion (Coakley, 7) disposed in the holding section; the water transmission portion is adapted to be engaged with a pipe externally (col. 1, ll. 38-45) and is connected to the showering portion; a side of the showering portion opposite to the water outlet surface has a water-accumulating groove (23); the main body comprises a showerhead section engaged with the holding section (see annotated Fig. 1);
Coakley Fig. 1 (annotated)
Although Coakley does not disclose “an end of the water transmission portion has at least one first engaging pipe, and the showering portion has at least one second engaging pipe extending radially outwards from a peripheral wall of the water-accumulating groove, wherein the at least one first engaging pipe is connected to the at least one second engaging pipe” it has been found In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose."). (see MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C)). In the instant application, Coakley does not teach a separable showering portion and water transmission portion, one of ordinary skill in the art could make Coakley separable (see annotated Fig. 1) with the holding section of 3 as the first engaging pipe the showering section of three as the second engaging pipe, which extends away (see 27) from the water-accumulating groove. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make them separable for ease of manufacture or ease of packing.
Coakley does not disclose a reference point; or that each of the bulging blocks has an indicating arrow pointing outwards; when the turning cover is turned, the turning cover drives the storing container to turn, driving the indicating arrow on one of the bulging blocks to point to the reference point, making the label region corresponding to an end of one the bulging blocks and the solution- releasing hole of one of the filling grooves correspond to the through hole of the guiding assembly. Palmer, however teaches a reference point (Palmer, 69), an indicating arrow (Palmer, 67) and when the turning cover is turned, the turning cover drives the storing container to turn, driving the indicating arrow on one of the bulging blocks to point to the reference point making the label region corresponding to an end of one the bulging blocks and the solution- releasing hole of one of the filling grooves correspond to the through hole of the guiding assembly.
Although Coakley does not disclose “a receiving space is provided inside the showerhead section for receiving the showering portion and the storing container; the showerhead section has an opening communicating with the receiving space, wherein the showering portion and the storing container are disposed into the receiving space through the opening; the turning cover covering the storing container seals the opening of the showerhead section.” This is not corrected by Palmer. The receiving space and opening do show up in other prior art, for example United States Publication 2008/0156902 to Luettgen (see Luettgen 104 and Fig. 3) and United States Patent 1,191,578 to Englund (see Englund 2 and Fig. 2).
Although all of the limitations of Claim 3 can be found in the prior art, the amount of modification needed in order to combine the cited art is beyond what one of ordinary skill at the time of filing would have found to be obvious. In particular, placing the showering portion and storage container of Coakley within a receiving space sealed by the turning cover would restrict the universal relative movement of the showering portion of Coakley (col. 1 ll. 49-52) rendering it unsuitable for its original purpose, thus the modification cannot be considered to one of ordinary skill in the art.
18. Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 is indicated as being allowable due to its dependence to Claim 3. The examiner notes, Coakley discloses:
The showerhead device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the solution outlet assembly comprises a guiding portion (43 combined with 35, see Fig. 1) engaged with the water transmission portion; the guiding portion is connected to the solution outlet portion to communicate with the transferring channel and comprises a first guiding section (see annotated Fig. 1), a second guiding section (see annotated Fig. 1), and a connecting section(see annotated Fig. 1), wherein the first guiding section communicates with solution outlet portion, the second guiding section communicates with the solution outlet portion, and the connecting section communicates with the first guiding section and the second guiding section. (see annotated Fig. 1).
Coakley Fig. 1 (annotated)
19. Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 is indicated as being allowable due to its dependence to Claim 3. The examiner notes, Coakley discloses:
The showerhead device as claimed in claim 6, wherein the solution outlet assembly comprises a flow-restricting valve disposed in the guiding portion; the flow-restricting valve (43) is movable between a first position and a second position, thereby allowing or restricting the cleansing solution to pass through the guiding portion. (col. 2, ll. 27-30).
20. Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 is indicated as being allowable due to its dependence to Claim 7. The examiner notes, Coakley does not disclose the flow restricting valve has a fixed valve member, a movable valve member, and a spring; the fixed valve member is fixed in the connecting section, and is closer to the first guiding section than the second guiding section; the movable valve member is movable relative to the fixed valve member in the connecting section; two opposite ends of the spring respectively abut against the fixed valve member and the movable valve member, thereby forming a temporary storage space between the fixed valve member and the movable valve member. Palmer does not teach this. However, the claim describes the structure of a type of pump that is well known within the art of soap delivery systems. United States Patent Publication 2010/0193547 to Laidler teaches one such pump. Laidler teaches a movable valve member (152 combined with 184b), a spring (184a), a fixed valve member (185), and a temporary storage space (122). Thus, Coakley in view of Palmer and Laidler teaches:
The showerhead device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the flow-restricting valve (see annotated Fig. 8) has a fixed valve member (185), a movable valve member (152 combined with 184b), and a spring (184a); the fixed valve member is fixed in the connecting section (¶[0123], last sentence), and is closer to the first guiding section (fluid inlet 178 is functionally equivalent to the first guiding section) than the second guiding section (tube 166 is functionally equivalent to the second guiding section); the movable valve member is movable relative to the fixed valve member in the connecting section; two opposite ends of the spring respectively abut against the fixed valve member and the movable valve member (¶[0147], first sentence), thereby forming a temporary storage space between (122) the fixed valve member and the movable valve member.
21. Regarding Claim 9, claim 9 is indicated as being allowable due to its dependence to claim 8. Coakley does not disclose a button or a driven block. Laidler, however teaches a button (156) and a driven block (150).
Thus, Coakley in view of Palmer and Laidler teaches:
The showerhead device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the flow-restricting valve comprises a button (156) and a driven block (150); the driven block penetrates the connecting section and is engaged with the button and the movable valve member; the movable valve member is normally located at the first position in the connecting section; (¶[0143], first sentence) the negative pressure suction is occurred when the button is pressed; (¶[0143], second sentence) the driven block drives the movable valve member to push in a direction towards the fixed valve member to compress the spring when the button is pressed, thereby moving the movable valve member to the second position and generating a negative pressure in the temporary storage space; (¶[0143], second sentence through end of paragraph) when the movable valve member restores to the first position, a pressure inside the temporary storage space is restored to suck the cleansing solution in the solution outlet portion, allowing the cleansing solution to pass through the guiding portion. (¶[0147], first two sentences).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents and applications are cited to show art with respect to soap delivering shower heads: United States Patent No. 3,402,892 to Hugues; United States Patent Publication No. 2018/022,925 to Duffus, III; United States Patent Publication No. 2012/0048,894 to Tatu; United States Patent Publication No. 2022/0117,446 to Wu; United States Patent Publication No. 2021/0353,111 to Hofman; United States Patent No. 3,811,618 to Gartner; United States Patent No. 6,595,440 to Moriarty.
/J.B.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752