DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/19/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 4-5, 8-10, 12, 14, 18, and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the Remarks, Applicant submits:
In other words, while Minkin describes using loops to copy data at per-element granularity, the instant claims specify a batch of "two-dimensional block access messages" along "at least" (e.g., no less than) a "third dimension" of a tensor having at least three dimension. The two-dimensional block access messages remove the need to, for example, traverse the first and second dimension to build a list of tensor elements, as in Minkin.
However, this argument is not persuasive because the requests made by the two innermost loops corresponding to the two innermost dimensions of the tensor in Minkin are a batch of two-dimensional block access messages as they access two-dimensional blocks- the first dimension corresponding to the innermost loop and the second dimension corresponding to the second innermost loop, and these accesses are along a third dimension as the two innermost loops are nested in a third innermost loop corresponding to the third dimension of the tensor. In other words, the third innermost loop iterates the accesses of the two innermost loops along the third dimension.
With respect to the argument on page 9 of the Remarks that Minkin does not disclose a signed parameter in the request to mark initial vs final planes, which appears to be drawn to claims 11-12¸ this argument is not persuasive. The out-of-bounds parameter of Minkin is used to one or more two-dimensional block data planes to set as out-of-bounds by indicating that the elements of those planes are out-of-bounds. In the example of Fig. 4B, for the bottom left tensor the out-of-bounds parameter would indicate that the elements of the left portion of the tensor (i.e., a two-dimensional block data plane of the tensor) are out-of-bounds, which would indicate a two-dimensional block data plane of the tensor to set as out-of-bounds as required by claim 11. Further, this left portion/two-dimensional block data plane of the tensor may be an initial or final plane of the tensor, thus any positive or negative out-of-bounds value/predefined constant (Minkin [0074]) for this portion would disclose a positive or negative value to specify an initial or final two-dimensional block data plane as out-of-bounds.
With respect to the argument on page 9 of the Remarks that Minkin forcing the value of an element to a predefined constant does not mean bypassing request generation, which appears to be drawn to claim 13, this argument is not persuasive because Minkin forces the value of an out-of-bounds element to a predefined constant because it does not load the element/generate a message for the element from memory. Specifically, this argument does not consider [0084] of Minkin which describes checking the out-of-bounds conditions before generating the requests to memory, which indicates that the memory access requests corresponding to out-of-bounds blocks are not generated as the elements would be forced to be the predefined constant and not have to be loaded from memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Minkin US 2023/0289304.
Regarding claim 1,
1. A graphics processor (Fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a system interface (Fig. 1, 114);
general-purpose graphics execution resources coupled with the system interface (Fig. 1, streaming multiprocessors SMs 102a-n), the general-purpose graphics execution resources including a matrix accelerator, the matrix accelerator configured to perform a matrix operation on a plurality of tensors stored in a memory ([0049]: a tensor core in a functional unit of one of the SMs is a matrix accelerator that performs matrix operations, see also [0061]-[0062] describing that the SMs may request the tensor memory access unit TMAU to load tensor data from global memory, indicating that the matrix operations may be performed on tensors stored in the global memory); and
circuitry configured to facilitate access to the memory by the general-purpose graphics execution resources ([0061]-[0062]: TMAU 112 is circuitry that facilitates access to the global memory by the SMs), wherein the circuitry is configured to:
receive a request to access a tensor of the plurality of tensors ([0061]-[0062]: the TMAU may receive a request for tensor data, which is a request to access one of the tensors stored in global memory), the tensor having at least three dimensions ([0088]: the tensor may have five dimensions); and
generate, based on the request, a batch of two-dimensional block access messages along at least a third dimension of the tensor, the batch of two-dimensional block access messages to enable access to the tensor by the matrix accelerator ([0088]-[0092] discloses (with respect to Fig. 7B) that, in response to receiving a request from a SM, the TMAU may access elements in a five dimensional tensor using five nested loops, each loop iterating through a respective dimension, with the innermost loop loading the current element and incrementing the global address for the next element; the requests corresponding to elements accessed in the two innermost loops (which access a two-dimensional block defined by dimensions 0 and 1) are a batch of two-dimensional block access messages which are generated in a third nested loop along a third dimension; see also [0061]-[0062] disclosing that the memory access requests generated by the TMAU are based on the request from the SM).
Regarding claim 14, Minkin teaches:
14. A method comprising:
receiving a request to access a tensor in memory of a general-purpose graphics processor ( [0061]-[0062]: the TMAU may receive a request for tensor data, which is a request to access one of the tensors stored in global memory of the GPU 100), the tensor having at least three dimensions ([0088]: the tensor may have five dimensions);
generating, based on the request, a batch of two-dimensional block access messages along at least a third dimension of the tensor ([0088]-[0092] discloses (with respect to Fig. 7B) that, in response to receiving a request from a SM, the TMAU may access elements in a five dimensional tensor using five nested loops, each loop iterating through a respective dimension, with the innermost loop loading the current element and incrementing the global address for the next element; the requests corresponding to elements accessed in the two innermost loops (which access a two-dimensional block defined by dimensions 0 and 1) are a batch of two-dimensional block access messages which are generated in a third nested loop along a third dimension; see also [0061]-[0062] disclosing that the memory access requests generated by the TMAU are based on the request from the SM); and
enabling access to the memory for a matrix accelerator of the general-purpose graphics processor based on the batch of two-dimensional block access messages ([0049] discloses a tensor core of the GPU that perform matrix operations (i.e., the tensor core is a matrix accelerator), and the memory requests/messages generated by the TMAU, see [0061]-[0062], enables access to the tensors in memory for the tensor core).
Regarding claim 15, Minkin teaches:
15. The method as in claim 14, wherein enabling access to the memory for a matrix accelerator includes loading a plurality of two-dimensional block data planes of the tensor from the memory of the general-purpose graphics processor ([0084] describes the request generator in the TMAU traversing the tensor my iterating multidimensional coordinates to generate the requests for the block of tensor data, which may load two-dimensional block data planes of the tensor from the global memory when traversing more than two dimensions, see also [0088]-[0092] and Fig. 7B describing traversing dimensions of the tensor by incrementing the base global address to the next slice).
Regarding claim 16, Minkin teaches:
16. The method as in claim 14, wherein enabling access to the memory for a matrix accelerator includes prefetching a plurality of two-dimensional block data planes of the tensor from the memory of the general-purpose graphics processor to a cache of the general-purpose graphics processor (the requests may be prefetch requests, see [0081] which prefetch data from the global memory to cache, see [0144], which may include prefetching two-dimensional block data planes for tensors when traversing the dimensions of the tensor as shown in Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 17, Minkin teaches:
17. The method as in claim 14, wherein enabling access to the memory for a matrix accelerator includes storing a plurality of two-dimensional block data planes of the tensor to the memory of the general-purpose graphics processor (the requests may be store requests, see [0081], which store the tensor data to the global memory, see also [0145]-[0146] describing the destination memory is treated as a multidimensional tensor and that the store request may be executed in a tile mode (as shown in Fig. 7B), which indicates that the store requests may store two-dimensional block data planes when traversing the multidimensional tensor as shown in Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 18, Minkin teaches:
18. A data processing system comprising:
a memory device (Fig. 1, global memory 116);
general-purpose graphics execution resources coupled with the memory device (Fig. 1, streaming multiprocessors SMs 102a-n), the general-purpose graphics execution resources including a matrix accelerator, the matrix accelerator configured to perform a matrix operation on a plurality of tensors stored in the memory device ([0049]: a tensor core in a functional unit of one of the SMs is a matrix accelerator that performs matrix operations, see also [0061]-[0062] describing that the SMs may request the tensor memory access unit TMAU to load tensor data from global memory, indicating that the matrix operations may be performed on tensors stored in the global memory), and
circuitry configured to facilitate access to the memory device by the general-purpose graphics execution resources ([0061]-[0062]: TMAU 112 is circuitry that facilitates access to the global memory by the SMs), wherein the circuitry is configured to:
receive a request to access a tensor of the plurality of tensors ([0061]-[0062]: the TMAU may receive a request for tensor data, which is a request to access one of the tensors stored in global memory), the tensor having at least three dimensions ([0088]: the tensor may have five dimensions); and
generate, based on the request, a batch of two-dimensional block access messages along at least a third dimension of the tensor, the batch of two-dimensional block access messages to enable access to the tensor by the matrix accelerator ([0088]-[0092] discloses (with respect to Fig. 7B) that, in response to receiving a request from a SM, the TMAU may access elements in a five dimensional tensor using five nested loops, each loop iterating through a respective dimension, with the innermost loop loading the current element and incrementing the global address for the next element; the requests corresponding to elements accessed in the two innermost loops (which access a two-dimensional block defined by dimensions 0 and 1) are a batch of two-dimensional block access messages which are generated in a third nested loop along a third dimension; see also [0061]-[0062] disclosing that the memory access requests generated by the TMAU are based on the request from the SM).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minkin US 2023/0289304 in view of Gottscho US 2022/0327075.
Regarding claim 2, Minkin teaches:
2. The graphics processor as in claim 1, including a based address of the tensor (Fig. 7B baseGlobalAddress), a batch size, and a surface stride ([0078]: the height or width of the block to be accessed is a batch size and the tensor stride is a surface stride).
Minkin does not teach:
the request to access the tensor to include a base address of the tensor, a batch size, and a surface stride.
However, Gottscho teaches a request to a DMA thread (analogous to the TMAU) that includes a descriptor including tensor addresses, size, and stride, see [0031] and [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Minkin to include the base address, batch size, and surface stride in the requests as suggested by Gottscho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow faster access to the base address, batch size, and surface stride since receiving this information with the request would be faster than calculating them or looking them up.
Regarding claim 3, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
3. The graphics processor as in claim 2, the surface stride to specify a distance between two- dimensional block data planes of the tensor (Minkin [0078] discloses that the tensor stride is specified for each dimension and Fig. 7B shows the tensor stride being used to advance the global address to the next slice, the tensor stride along a third dimension (i.e., tensorStride[2]) is the distance between the two dimensional planes defined by the first and second dimensions).
Regarding claim 4, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
4. The graphics processor as in claim 3, wherein to generate the batch of two-dimensional block access messages includes to generate parameters for two-dimensional block access messages within the batch of two-dimensional block access messages (Minkin [0084] describes the request generator computing the global memory addresses, which are parameters for accessing the requested tensor data)
Regarding claim 5, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
5. The graphics processor as in claim 4, wherein to generate parameters for the two-dimensional block access messages includes to calculate an address for each of the two-dimensional block access messages within the batch of two-dimensional block access messages based on the base address of the tensor and the surface stride (Minkin [0084] describes the request generator computing the global memory addresses and Fig. 7B shows that the global addresses are based on the base tensor address “baseGlobalAddress” and the surface stride “tensorStride”).
Regarding claim 6, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
6. The graphics processor as in claim 5, the surface stride of the request configured according to a selected access dimension of the tensor (Minkin [0078] describes that the tensor stride is specified for each dimension of the tensor and Fig. 7B shows the tensor stride being used to calculate the global addresses of the requests in loops that iterate through dimensions of the tensors, which indicates that the surface stride of the requests are configured according to the selected access dimension of the tensor that the loop is iterating through).
Regarding claim 7, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
7. The graphics processor as in claim 6, the surface stride of the request configured to be specified in cache line units (Minkin [0135] discloses that each row of cells in Fig. 9C (i.e., the set of elements along the C dimension) is a single cache line, which indicates that the tensor stride along W or H are specified in/correspond to cache lines (as each point along the W and H dimensions corresponds to a cache line)).
Regarding claim 8, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
8. The graphics processor as in claim 6, the request to access the tensor configured to include a request to load the tensor from the memory (Minkin [0081]: the requests may be load requests, i.e., a request to load the tensor from the memory).
Regarding claim 9, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
9. The graphics processor as in claim 6, the request to access the tensor configured to include a request to store the tensor to the memory (Minkin [0081]: the requests may be store requests, i.e., a request to store the tensor to memory).
Regarding claim 10, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
10. The graphics processor as in claim 6, the request to access the tensor configured to include a request to pre-fetch the tensor from memory to a cache memory (Minkin [0081]: the requests may be prefetch requests, i.e., a request to prefetch the tensor from the memory, see also [0144] describing that the prefetch requests prefetch data from the global memory to L2 cache).
Regarding claim 11, Minkin teaches:
11. The graphics processor as in claim 1, including an out-of-bounds parameter to indicate one or more two-dimensional block data planes of the tensor to set as out-of-bounds for the request ([0074] describes the TMAU forcing the value of any requested element located outside of the tensor to a predefined value and [0078] describes that the parameters include the out-of-boundary value; that is, the out-of-boundary value indicates the requested blocks of data that is set as out-of-bounds for the request).
Minkin does not teach:
wherein the request to access the tensor includes the out-of-bounds parameter.
However, Gottscho teaches a request to a DMA thread (analogous to the TMAU) that includes a descriptor including information about the DMA transaction, see [0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Minkin to include the out-of-boundary value in the requests as suggested by Gottscho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow faster access to the out-of-boundary value.
Regarding claim 12, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
12. The graphics processor as in claim 11, wherein the out-of-bounds parameter is a signed value, where a positive value is to specify one or more initial two-dimensional block data planes of the request as out-of-bounds and a negative value is to specify one or more final two-dimensional block data planes of the request as out-of-bounds (Minkin [0074] indicates that the out-of-bounds value may be a predefined constant value, which is a positive or negative value (since any non-zero constant is either positive or negative), see also [0073] and Fig. 4B showing that the out of bounds condition can occur in different areas of the tensor, which indicates that the out-of-bounds condition may be specified for initial or final planes of the tensor).
Regarding claim 13, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
13. The graphics processor as in claim 12, to generate the batch of two-dimensional block access messages includes to bypass generation of a memory access message for a two-dimensional block data plane that is specified as out-of-bounds (Minkin [0074]: by forcing the value of requested element to a special constant, the generation of memory access messages for those elements are bypassed, see also Minkin [0084] describing checking the out-of-bounds conditions before generating the requests to memory, which indicates that the memory access requests corresponding out-of-bounds blocks are bypassed/not generated).
Regarding claim 19, Minkin teaches:
19. The data processing system as in claim 18, including a base address of the tensor (Fig. 7B baseGlobalAddress), a batch size ([0078]: the height or width of the block to be accessed is a batch size), and a surface stride, the surface stride to specify a distance between two-dimensional block data planes of the tensor ([0078] describes a tensor stride for each dimension and Fig. 7B shows the tensor stride being used to advance the global address to the next slice, the tensor stride along a third dimension (i.e., tensorStride[2]) is the distance between the two dimensional planes defined by the first and second dimensions)).
Minkin does not teach:
the request to access the tensor to include a base address of the tensor, a batch size, and a surface stride.
However, Gottscho teaches a request to a DMA thread (analogous to the TMAU) that includes a descriptor including tensor addresses, size, and stride, see [0031] and [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Minkin to include the base address, batch size, and surface stride in the requests as suggested by Gottscho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow faster access to the base address, batch size, and surface stride since receiving this information with the request would be faster than calculating them or looking them up.
Regarding claim 20, Minkin in view of Gottscho teaches:
20. The data processing system as in claim 19, wherein to generate the batch of two-dimensional block access messages includes to generate parameters for two-dimensional block access messages within the batch of two-dimensional block access message (Minkin [0084] describes the request generator computing the global memory addresses, which are parameters for accessing the requested tensor data).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KASIM ALLI/Examiner, Art Unit 2182 /JYOTI MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2183