DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub No 2020/0322743 A1 to Cengarle et al. (“Cengarle”) in view of US Patent Pub No 2017/0070822 A1 to Skovenborg.
As to claim 1, Cengarle discloses an audio system comprising: a plurality of speakers positioned in a speaker arrangement in an environment (see figures 1A-1B; pg. 5, ¶ 0087; pg. 7, ¶ 0122 - ¶ 0123); and an audio signal generator operably coupled with each speaker of the plurality of speakers, wherein the audio signal generator includes at least one processor configured to cause performance of operations (see pg. 7, ¶ 0115; pg. 14, ¶ 0239), the operations including: obtaining an audio heatmap that represents a coordinated sound emission profile in the environment with the plurality of speakers, the coordinated sound emission profile being based on an audio emission profile of each speaker in the plurality of speakers, each respective audio emission profile being based on a volume potential of a speaker in the plurality of speakers, a position of the speaker in the environment (first set of energy levels based on speaker layout, see top row of figures 1A-1B; pg. 4, ¶ 0061; pg. 7, ¶ 0123; pg. 9, ¶ 0156); comparing one or more rendering locations of an audio object with the audio heatmap; determining the one or more rendering locations to result in a deficient rendering of the audio object based on the audio heatmap (spatial positions of audio objects compared to first set of energy levels, see figures 1A-1B; pg. 4, ¶ 0054 - ¶ 0057; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0123 - ¶ 0130; pg. 10, ¶ 0158); and causing the plurality of speakers to reduce a volume for the audio object to be inaudible in the one or more rendering locations or causing the plurality of speakers to not render the audio object in the one or more rendering locations (objects at predetermined position or area are muted or attenuated, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150 - ¶ 0151).
Cengarle does not disclose each respective audio emission profile further being based on sensor information of the audio signal generator and acoustic properties of the environment.
Skovenborg discloses a similar system with loudspeakers installed in an environment, and further discloses wherein locations of the speakers in the environment are determined and further complemented by auxiliary information stored in the central processor, including sensor data from microphones and acoustic characteristics of the environment such as absorption, reflection, and reverberation properties (see figures 8a-8b; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0019 - ¶ 0022, ¶ 0032 - ¶ 0038; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0119 - ¶ 0121).
Cengarle and Skovenborg are analogous art because they are both drawn to audio systems.
It would have been an obvious choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate auxiliary information as taught by Skovenborg in the system as taught by Cengarle. The motivation being to provide improved position data for the speakers in the environment, and further provide additional data regarding the environment that can be used to more accurately determine layouts, spatial relations between the speakers, and/or verify acoustic performance of the speakers within the environment (Skovenborg figures 8a-8b; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0022, ¶ 0034 - ¶ 0040; pg. 4, ¶ 0066 - ¶ 0069; pg. 8, ¶ 0123, ¶ 0125).
As to claim 2, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein causing the plurality of speakers to reduce the volume for the audio object to be inaudible in the one or more rendering locations includes modulating audio output of one or more speakers of the plurality of speakers (Cengarle pg. 3, ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0151), but does not expressly disclose wherein the determining the one or more rendering locations to result in the deficient rendering of the audio object includes determining the one or more rendering locations in the audio heatmap to result in an audio unevenness or rapid volume dropout for the audio object.
However such a configuration is considered obvious given the teachings of Cengarle in view of Skovenborg, as it teaches detecting faulty rendering of audio objects that can cause a degraded listening experience, particularly regarding energy levels (Cengarle pg. 3, ¶ 0043; pg. 10, ¶ 0157), and further teaches avoiding abrupt volume changes and achieving a smoother listening experience by providing a more continuous transition between muted or inaudible audio object content and fully rendered audio content (Cengarle pg. 3, ¶ 0051). Audio unevenness or rapid volume dropout being considered deficient rendering is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as they are merely examples of degraded listening experiences that can occur when the energy levels of an audio object do not match the energy levels of a loudspeaker layout arrangement in a listening environment, as already taught by Cengarle in view of Skovenborg.
As to claim 3, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the operations further include at least one of: determining the speaker arrangement to have inadequate speaker density or positioning to render the audio object in the one or more rendering locations (Cengarle pg. 13, ¶ 0219 - ¶ 0221), determining an ambiance of the environment to be improved without the audio object being rendered in the one or more rendering locations (Cengarle pg. 3, ¶ 0043, ¶ 0052; pg. 6, ¶ 0106 - ¶ 0107; pg. 12, ¶ 0193), or determining that rendering of the audio object in the one or more rendering locations results in rendering of the audio object in a different rendering location due to the speaker arrangement (Cengarle pg. 13, ¶ 0219 - ¶ 0227).
As to claim 4, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the one or more rendering locations of the audio object are included in a travel path of the audio object in the environment and the operations further include: comparing the travel path of the audio object in the environment with the audio heatmap, wherein comparing the travel path of the audio object includes comparing the one or more rendering locations; determining the travel path includes a path portion that passes through a region in the environment that the audio heatmap indicates is deficient for rendering of the audio object, the path portion including the one or more rendering locations; and causing the plurality of speakers to reduce the volume for the audio object to be inaudible in the path portion of the travel path or causing the plurality of speakers to not render the audio object in the path portion of the travel path (Cengarle moving objects within predetermined area, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0042, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052).
As to claim 5, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the operations further include causing the rendering of the audio object to audibly taper as the rendering of the audio object in the travel path approaches the path portion of the travel path (Cengarle moving objects within predetermined area follow smoothing function, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150).
As to claim 6, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the reducing the volume for the audio object to be inaudible in the one or more rendering locations includes rendering of the audio object to audibly taper (Cengarle moving objects within predetermined area follow smoothing function, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150).
As to claim 7, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the operations further include: determining the travel path includes a second portion of the travel path that passes through a second region in the environment that the audio heatmap indicates is sufficient for rendering the audio object; and modulating audio output of one or more speakers of the plurality of speakers so that the audio object is rendered along the travel path in the second region (Cengarle moving objects outside predetermined area, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150 - ¶ 0151).
As to claim 8, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the operations further include causing the rendering of the audio object to audibly gradually increase as the travel path leaves the second portion of the travel path and enters into the second region (Cengarle figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150 - ¶ 0151).
As to claim 9, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the determining the one or more rendering locations to result in a deficient rendering of the audio object includes determining the rendering of the audio object at the one or more rendering locations to have a volume lower than a minimum volume threshold (Cengarle threshold energy level, see figure 11; pg. 7, ¶ 0109 - ¶ 0110; pgs. 12-13, ¶ 0200 - ¶ 0206, ¶ 0216).
As to claim 10, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the operations further include determining, based on the audio heatmap, a second rendering location of the audio object with a sufficient rendering of the audio objects (Cengarle adjusting spatial position, see pg. 6, ¶ 0094 - ¶ 0098; ¶ 0106).
As to claim 11, Cengarle discloses a method for inhibiting an audio object from rendering, the method comprising: obtaining an audio heatmap that represents a coordinated sound emission profile in an environment from a plurality of speakers in a speaker arrangement, the coordinated sound emission profile being based on an audio emission profile of each speaker in the plurality of speakers, each respective audio emission profile being based on a volume potential of a speaker in the plurality of speakers, a position of the speaker in the environment (first set of energy levels based on speaker layout, see top row of figures 1A-1B; pg. 4, ¶ 0061; pg. 7, ¶ 0123; pg. 9, ¶ 0156); comparing one or more rendering locations of an audio object with the audio heatmap; determining the one or more rendering locations to result in a deficient rendering of the audio object based on the audio heatmap (spatial positions of audio objects compared to first set of energy levels, see figures 1A-1B; pg. 4, ¶ 0054 - ¶ 0057; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0123 - ¶ 0130; pg. 10, ¶ 0158); and causing the plurality of speakers to reduce a volume of the audio object to be inaudible in the one or more rendering locations or causing the plurality of speakers to not render the audio object in the one or more rendering locations (objects at predetermined position or area are muted or attenuated, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150 - ¶ 0151).
Cengarle does not disclose each respective audio emission profile further being based on sensor information of the audio signal generator and acoustic properties of the environment.
Skovenborg discloses a similar method and system with loudspeakers installed in an environment, and further discloses wherein locations of the speakers in the environment are determined and further complemented by auxiliary information stored in the central processor, including sensor data from microphones and acoustic characteristics of the environment such as absorption, reflection, and reverberation properties (see figures 8a-8b; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0019 - ¶ 0022, ¶ 0032 - ¶ 0038; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0119 - ¶ 0121).
It would have been an obvious choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate auxiliary information as taught by Skovenborg in the method as taught by Cengarle. The motivation being to provide improved position data for the speakers in the environment, and further provide additional data regarding the environment that can be used to more accurately determine layouts, spatial relations between the speakers, and/or verify acoustic performance of the speakers within the environment (Skovenborg figures 8a-8b; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0022, ¶ 0034 - ¶ 0040; pg. 4, ¶ 0066 - ¶ 0069; pg. 8, ¶ 0123, ¶ 0125).
As to claim 12, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein causing the plurality of speakers to reduce the volume for the audio object to be inaudible in the one or more rendering locations includes modulating audio output of one or more speakers of the plurality of speakers (Cengarle pg. 3, ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0151), but does not expressly disclose wherein the determining the one or more rendering locations to result in the deficient rendering includes determining the one or more rendering locations in the audio heatmap to result in an audio unevenness or rapid volume dropout for the audio object.
However such a configuration is considered obvious given the teachings of Cengarle in view of Skovenborg, as it teaches detecting faulty rendering of audio objects that can cause a degraded listening experience, particularly regarding energy levels (Cengarle pg. 3, ¶ 0043; pg. 10, ¶ 0157), and further teaches avoiding abrupt volume changes and achieving a smoother listening experience by providing a more continuous transition between muted or inaudible audio object content and fully rendered audio content (Cengarle pg. 3, ¶ 0051). Audio unevenness or rapid volume dropout being considered deficient rendering is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as they are merely examples of degraded listening experiences that can occur when the energy levels of an audio object do not match the energy levels of a loudspeaker layout arrangement in a listening environment, as already taught by Cengarle in view of Skovenborg.
As to claim 13, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses further comprising at least one of: determining the speaker arrangement to have inadequate speaker density or positioning to render the audio object in the one or more rendering locations (Cengarle pg. 13, ¶ 0219 - ¶ 0221), determining an ambiance of the environment to be improved without the audio object being rendered in the one or more rendering locations (Cengarle pg. 3, ¶ 0043, ¶ 0052; pg. 6, ¶ 0106 - ¶ 0107; pg. 12, ¶ 0193), or determining rendering of the audio object in the one or more rendering locations results in rendering of the audio object in a different rendering location due to the speaker arrangement (Cengarle pg. 13, ¶ 0219 - ¶ 0227).
As to claim 14, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the one or more rendering locations of the audio object are included in a travel path of the audio object in the environment and the method further comprises: comparing the travel path of the audio object in the environment with the audio heatmap, wherein comparing the travel path of the audio object includes comparing the one or more rendering locations; determining the travel path includes a path portion that passes through a region in the environment that the audio heatmap indicates to be deficient for rendering of the audio object, the path portion including the one or more rendering locations; and causing the plurality of speakers to reduce the volume for the audio object to be inaudible in the path portion of the travel path or causing the plurality of speakers to not render the audio object in the path portion of the travel path (Cengarle moving objects within predetermined area, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0042, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052).
As to claim 15, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses further comprising causing the rendering of the audio object to audibly taper as the rendering of the audio object in the travel path approaches the path portion of the travel path (Cengarle moving objects within predetermined area follow smoothing function, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150).
As to claim 16, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the reducing the volume for the audio object to be inaudible in the one or more rendering locations includes rendering of the audio object to audibly taper (Cengarle moving objects within predetermined area follow smoothing function, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150).
As to claim 17, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses further comprising: determining the travel path includes a second portion of the travel path that passes through a second region in the environment that is sufficient for rendering the audio object; and modulating audio output of one or more speakers of the plurality of speakers so that the audio object is rendered along the travel path in the second region (Cengarle moving objects outside predetermined area, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150 - ¶ 0151).
As to claim 18, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses further comprising causing the rendering of the audio object to audibly gradually increase as the travel path leaves the second portion of the travel path and enters into the second region (Cengarle figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150 - ¶ 0151).
As to claim 19, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses wherein the determining the one or more rendering locations to result in a deficient rendering of the audio object includes determining the rendering of the audio object at the one or more rendering locations to have a volume lower than a minimum volume threshold (Cengarle threshold energy level, see figure 11; pg. 7, ¶ 0109 - ¶ 0110; pgs. 12-13, ¶ 0200 - ¶ 0206, ¶ 0216).
As to claim 20, Cengarle in view of Skovenborg further discloses further comprising: determining, based on the audio heatmap, a second rendering location of the audio object with a sufficient rendering of the audio object (Cengarle adjusting spatial position, see pg. 6, ¶ 0094 - ¶ 0098; ¶ 0106).
As to claim 21, Cengarle discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions that in response to being executed by one or more processors, cause a computer system to perform operations (see pg. 5, ¶ 0086 - ¶ 0087; pg. 14, ¶ 0239), the operations comprising: obtaining an audio heatmap that represents a coordinated sound emission profile in an environment from a plurality of speakers in a speaker arrangement, the coordinated sound emission profile being based on an audio emission profile of each speaker in the plurality of speakers, each respective audio emission profile being based on a volume potential of a speaker in the plurality of speakers, a position of the speaker in the environment (first set of energy levels based on speaker layout, see top row of figures 1A-1B; pg. 4, ¶ 0061; pg. 7, ¶ 0123; pg. 9, ¶ 0156); comparing one or more rendering locations of an audio object with the audio heatmap; determining the one or more rendering locations to result in a deficient rendering of the audio object based on the audio heatmap (spatial positions of audio objects compared to first set of energy levels, see figures 1A-1B; pg. 4, ¶ 0054 - ¶ 0057; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0123 - ¶ 0130; pg. 10, ¶ 0158); and causing the plurality of speakers to reduce a volume of the audio object to be inaudible in the one or more rendering locations or causing the plurality of speakers to not render the audio object in the one or more rendering locations (objects at predetermined position or area are muted or attenuated, see figures 3B-3C; pg. 3, ¶ 0052; pg. 9, ¶ 0150 - ¶ 0151).
Cengarle does not disclose each respective audio emission profile further being based on sensor information of the audio signal generator and acoustic properties of the environment.
Skovenborg discloses a similar system with loudspeakers installed in an environment, and further discloses wherein locations of the speakers in the environment are determined and further complemented by auxiliary information stored in the central processor, including sensor data from microphones and acoustic characteristics of the environment such as absorption, reflection, and reverberation properties (see figures 8a-8b; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0019 - ¶ 0022, ¶ 0032 - ¶ 0038; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0119 - ¶ 0121).
It would have been an obvious choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate auxiliary information as taught by Skovenborg in the system as taught by Cengarle. The motivation being to provide improved position data for the speakers in the environment, and further provide additional data regarding the environment that can be used to more accurately determine layouts, spatial relations between the speakers, and/or verify acoustic performance of the speakers within the environment (Skovenborg figures 8a-8b; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0022, ¶ 0034 - ¶ 0040; pg. 4, ¶ 0066 - ¶ 0069; pg. 8, ¶ 0123, ¶ 0125).
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693