DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-14 have been examined on the merits.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Republic of Korea on 02/04/2022. It is noted that applicant has filed a certified copy of the application, KR10-2022-0014928, as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/24/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and an initial copy is attached herewith.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 3 “battery cells of the plurality of battery cells” should read “the battery cells”
In claim 9, “each of sensing wires” should read “each sensing wire of a plurality of sensing wires”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” in the recitation “a corresponding one of opposite ends thereof” refers to. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as referring to the battery cells. Claims 2-14 are rejected based on dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the same plane" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-14 are rejected based on dependence on claim 1.
Claim 2 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “each battery cell” in line 7 refers to the previously recited “each battery cell” of line 6 or to other battery cells. For examination, the former interpretation is used.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the cylindrical portion" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” in the recitation “at two or more positions thereof” refers to. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of each of the battery cells”.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear what “therethrough” refers to. For examination, “therethrough” is interpreted as “through the lower side”. Claims 4-13 are rejected for dependence on claim 3.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereon” refers to. For examination, “thereon” is interpreted as “on the lower side”. Claims 4-13 are rejected for dependence on claim 3.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear what “therethrough” refers to. For examination, “therethrough” is interpreted as “through the lower side”. Claims 4-13 are rejected for dependence on claim 3.
Claim 4 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” in the recitation refers to. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the battery cells”. Claims 5-14 are rejected based on dependence on claim 4.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the electrode" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 7-13 are rejected based on dependence on claim 6.
Claim 6 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “each battery cell” refers to the previously recited “plurality of battery cells” or to other battery cells. For examination “each battery cell” is interpreted as “each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells”. Claims 7-13 are rejected based on dependence on claim 6.
The term “close” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination, the limitation “close contact” is interpreted as “contact”. Claims 7-13 are rejected based on dependence on claim 6.
Claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “a line” in line 3 refers to the previously recited “a line” of claim 4 or to another line. For examination the latter interpretation is used. Claims 8-10 are rejected based on dependence on claim 7.
Claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 5. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”. Claims 8-10 are rejected based on dependence on claim 7.
Claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 7. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”. Claims 8-10 are rejected based on dependence on claim 7.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the upper side thereof" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 8-10 are rejected based on dependence on claim 7.
Claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 10. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”. Claims 8-10 are rejected based on dependence on claim 7.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the electrodes of two central battery cells" in line 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 8-10 are rejected based on dependence on claim 7.
Claim 7 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “opposite ends” refers to the previously recited “opposite ends” of claim 1 or to other ends. For examination, the latter interpretation is used. Claims 8-10 are rejected based on dependence on claim 7.
Claim 8 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 3. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”. Claim 9 is rejected based on dependence on claim 8.
Claim 8 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 6. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”. Claim 9 is rejected based on dependence on claim 8.
Claim 8 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “one side” in line 8 refers to the previously recited “one side” of line 7 or to another side. For examination, the former interpretation is used. Claim 9 is rejected for dependence on claim 8.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the four openings are disposed in a line in the sensing block on the lower side thereof" in line 1-2. It is unclear how the openings formed in sensing block on the upper side are also present in the sensing block of the lower side. For examination, this limitation is interpreted as “another four openings are disposed in a line in the sensing block on the lower side of the case”. Claim 9 is rejected based on dependence on claim 8.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the two batteries on one side" in line 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 is rejected based on dependence on claim 8.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the two batteries on an other side" in line 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 is rejected based on dependence on claim 8.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the two adjacent openings to the other side" in line 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 is rejected based on dependence on claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the opening in the sensing block on the upper side" in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation “the opening in the sensing block on the upper side” refers to one opening of the previously recited four openings on the upper side or to another opening in the sensing block on the upper side. For examination, the former interpretation is used.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 3. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”. Claims 12-13 are rejected based on dependence on claim 11.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 5 and 7. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”. Claims 12-13 are rejected based on dependence on claim 11.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 5-6 and 8. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”. Claims 12-13 are rejected based on dependence on claim 11.
The term “small” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim 13 is rejected for dependence on claim 12.
Claim 12 is indefinite because it is unclear what “therebetween” refers to in line 6. For examination, “therebetween” is interpreted as “between the sensing block on the upper side, the block connection unit, and the sensing block on the lower side”. Claims 12-13 are rejected based on dependence on claim 11.
Claim 13 is indefinite because it is unclear what “thereof” refers to in line 2 and 3. For examination, “thereof” is interpreted as “of the case”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugawara (US 20100248008 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sugawara discloses a battery module (Fig. 4; 100a) for a vehicle ([0025]), the battery module (100a) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 5; 140) having electrodes (“negative-pole terminal”; “positive-pole terminal”; [0084]), each of the electrodes ([0084]) being provided on a corresponding one (annotated Fig. 5; one of E1, E2) of opposite ends (annotated Fig. 5; E1, E2) thereof;
a case (annotated Fig. 4; 111-113, 118; [0070-0071]) configured to surround and accommodate cylindrical portions (Fig. 5; cylindrical housing of 140) of the plurality of battery cells (140) so that the electrodes ([0084]) of the plurality of battery cells (140) are disposed in the same plane (annotated Fig. 5; plane containing X and Y, i.e. plane in parallel with the surface of a carrier per [0138]); and
a sensing block (Fig. 5; 130, 131, 150; “side plate 131 is configured basically the same as the side plate 130”; [0086]) comprising at least one bus bar (Fig. 5; 150; 150 is present in 130 and 131 per [0086]) configured to electrically connect ([0094]) the electrodes ([0084]) of the plurality of battery cells (140), the sensing block (130, 131, 150) being installed to restrain (Fig. 4 and 5) the plurality of battery cells (140) accommodated in the case (111-113, 118).
Regarding claim 14, Sugawara discloses a module cover (Fig. 4; 160; [0077]) configured to surround (Fig. 4) the sensing block (130, 131, 150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 20100248008 A1) in view of Cournoyer (US 20220109131 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Sugawara fails to disclose wherein the case comprises a plurality of support protrusions configured to respectively protrude toward battery cells of the plurality of battery cells, and wherein the case is configured to avoid a surface contact with the cylindrical portion of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells and support each battery cell by a point contact or a line contact at two or more positions thereof.
Cournoyer discloses a case (Fig. 7; 115, 701) configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 7; 103), wherein the case (115, 701) includes a carrier tray (Fig. 7; 115) that comprises a plurality of support protrusions (Fig. 3A; 304) configured to respectively protrude (Fig. 3A) toward battery cells (103) of the plurality of battery cells (103), and wherein the case (115, 170) is configured to avoid (Fig. 3A; 304 blocks direct contact with the surface of 302) a surface contact (Fig. 3A; direct contact with 302) with a cylindrical portion (Fig. 7; cylindrical portion of 103) of each battery cell (103) of the plurality of battery cells (103) and support (“interference fit”; [0042]) each battery cell (103) by a line contact (Fig. 3A; contact along a vertical line of 304a-304d) at two or more positions thereof (Fig. 3A; positions of 304a-304d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Sugawara by adding the carrier tray of Cournoyer to the case of Sugawara, such that the carrier tray was between the bottom end (end of battery cells 140 at 131) of the battery cells and side plate 131 in Sugawara, in order to maintain the position of each battery cell during the assembly process without requiring additional machinery or manufacturing time as taught by Cournoyer ([0001]).
Regarding claim 3, Sugawara discloses wherein the case (111-113, 118) includes: an upper side (annotated Fig. 5; US) configured to be open (Fig. 5) to receive the battery cells (140) in a longitudinal direction (annotated Fig. 5; Z) of the battery cells (140), and a lower side (annotated Fig. 5; LS) configured to be open (Fig. 5; 131 is configured the same as 130 per [0086]) to allow the electrodes ([0084]) of the battery cells (140) to be exposed. Sugawara fails to disclose wherein the lower side includes a locking protrusion formed thereon, and the locking protrusion is configured to prevent the battery cells from passing therethrough.
Cournoyer discloses a case (Fig. 7; 115, 701) configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 7; 103), wherein the case (115, 701) includes an upper side (annotated Fig. 7; US) configured to be open (Fig. 7) to receive battery cells (Fig. 7; 103) in a longitudinal direction (annotated Fig. 7; Z) of the battery cells (103), and a lower side (annotated Fig. 7; LS) configured to be open (Fig. 3B; [0041]) to allow electrodes (“terminals”; [0041]) of the battery cells (103) to be exposed ([0041]), and wherein the lower side (LS) includes a carrier tray (Fig. 7; 115) that includes a locking protrusion (Fig. 3A; 306) formed thereon, and the locking protrusion (306) is configured to prevent the battery cells (103) from passing therethrough (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sugawara by adding the carrier tray of Cournoyer to the case of Sugawara, such that the carrier tray was between the bottom end (end of battery cells 140 at 131) of the battery cells and side plate 131 in Sugawara, in order to maintain the position of each battery cell during the assembly process without requiring additional machinery or manufacturing time as taught by Cournoyer ([0001]).
Regarding claim 4, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer discloses wherein: the battery cells (140) inserted into the case (111-113, 118 and Cournoyer 115) are disposed in a line (annotated Fig. 5; L) so that adjacent electrodes ([0084]; Fig. 5; adjacent terminals of 140) thereof have opposite polarities ([0084]) from each other, and the at least one bus bar (150) in the sensing block (130, 131, 150) is configured to connect all of the battery cells (140) inserted into the case in series ([0079]).
Regarding claim 5, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer discloses wherein: the at least one bus bar (150) is connected ([0092-0093]) to a corresponding one of sensing wires (Fig. 6; 806), each of the sensing wires (806) configured to sense a voltage ([0092]) of a corresponding battery cell ([0092]) among the battery cells (1540), and the sensing wires (806) are connected to a sensing connector (Fig. 4 and 6; 810) fixed to an outside (Fig. 4; outside of 111) of the case (111-113, 118 and 115 of Cournoyer).
Regarding claim 6, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer discloses wherein: the sensing block (130, 131, 150) comprises an opening (Fig. 5; 132) to expose the electrode ([0088]) of each battery cell (Fig. 5; 140), and the at least one bus bar (150) protrudes (Fig. 8) from the sensing block (130, 131, 150) toward the battery cells (150) so as to be in close contact (Fig. 8; [0098]) with the electrodes (“terminals”; [0092]) of the battery cells (40) through the opening (132).
Regarding claim 7, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer discloses wherein:
four battery cells (annotated Fig. 5; 1BC-4BC) of the plurality of battery cells (140) are inserted into the case (111-113, 118, Cournoyer 115) in a line (annotated Fig. 5; L), the sensing block (130, 131, 150) is respectively provided on the upper side (US) of the case (111-113, 118, and 115 of Cournoyer) and on the lower side (LS) thereof, four openings (annotated Fig. 5; 1O-4O) are disposed in a line (annotated Fig. 5; L) in the sensing block (130, 131, 150) on the upper side (US) thereof, and the at least one bus bar (150) includes:
a first bus bar (annotated Fig. 5; 1BB) provided in the sensing block (130, 131, 150) on the upper side (US) thereof and connected to (Fig. 8) the electrodes ([0141]) of two central battery cells (annotated Fig. 5; 2BC and 3BC), among the plurality of battery cells (140), through two openings (annotated Fig. 5; 2O, 3O) of the four openings (1O-4O), and a second bus bar (annotated Fig. 5; 2BB) and a third bus bar (annotated Fig. 5; 3BB), each of which is connected (Fig. 8) to a corresponding one (annotated Fig. 5; one of the electrodes of 1BC and 4BC) of the electrodes (“terminal”; [0141]) of the battery cells (140) at opposite ends (annotated Fig. 5; end at 1O and end at 4O) through two outermost openings (annotated Fig. 5; 1O and 4O) among the four openings (1O-4O) and is connected (Fig. 8) to a corresponding one (annotated Fig. 5; terminal of 1BC and 4BC) of output terminals (“terminal”; [0141]).
Regarding claim 8, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer discloses wherein: the four openings (1O-4O) are disposed in a line (annotated Fig. 5; L) in the sensing block (130, 131, 150) on ([0086] teaches 130 and 131 are substantially the same; 130 and 150 of Fig. 5 are used to illustrate 131 and 150 of 131) the lower side (LS) thereof, and the at least one bus bar (150) further includes: a fourth bus bar (annotated Fig. 5; any element 150-–provided on 131 per [0086]– to the left of 2O; “4BB”) provided in the sensing block (131, 150) on the lower side (Fig. 5; LS) thereof and connected (in series per [0079]) to the electrodes (“terminal”; [0141]) of the two battery cells (2BC, 3BC) on one side (annotated 5; side at 1O) through two adjacent openings (Fig. 5; openings 132 directly corresponding to 4BB) to one side (annotated Fig. 5; side at 1O) among the four openings (1O-4O), and a fifth bus bar (annotated Fig. 5; any element 150-–provided on 131 per [0086]– to the right of 3O; “5BB”) connected (in series per [0079]) to the electrodes (“terminal” of 2BC and 3BC; [0141]) of the two battery cells (2BC, 3BC) on an other side (annotated Fig. 5; side at 4O) through the two adjacent openings (Fig. 5; openings 132 directly corresponding to 4BB) to the other side (side at 4O) among the four openings (1O-4O).
Regarding claim 9, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer wherein each of sensing wires (Fig. 6; 806; [0093]) is connected, from a sensing connector (Fig. 6; 810), to ([0093]) a corresponding bus bar (Fig. 5; 150 on 130 and 131 per [0086]) among the first (1BB), second (2BB), third (3BB), fourth (4BB) and fifth bus bars (5BB).
wherein the opening (132) in the sensing block (130, 131) on the upper side (US) of the case (111-113, 118, Cournoyer 115) accommodates an electrode (“terminal”; [0088]) protruding upwards from a battery cell (Fig. 5; 140) among the plurality of the battery cells (140), and a portion (“inner wall surface”; [0089]) other than the opening (132) is formed to keep an upper end (annotated Fig. 5; end of 140 at 130) of the battery cell (140) in the case (111-113, 118, and Cournoyer 115).
Regarding claim 11, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer discloses wherein: the sensing block (130, 131, 150) is provided on each of the upper side (annotated Fig. 5; US) of the case (111-113, 118, 115 of Cournoyer) and the lower side (annotated Fig. 5; LS) thereof, a block connection unit (“battery case”; [0080]; Fig. 5; case of 140) is provided between (Fig. 5) the sensing block (130, 150) on the upper side (US) thereof and the sensing block (131, 150) on the lower side (LS) thereof, and the sensing block (130, 150) on the upper side (US) thereof and the sensing block (131, 151) on the lower side (LS) thereof are formed to be integrated (150 is welded to the battery 140 per [0141]) with each other by the block connection unit (“battery case”; [0080]; Fig. 5; case of 140).
Regarding claim 12, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer discloses wherein the sensing block (130, 150) on the upper side (US), the block connection unit (“battery case”; [0080]; Fig. 5; case of 140), and the sensing block (131, 150) on the lower side (LS) are connected to each other by a bending line (annotated Fig.5; BL) , the bending line (BL) having a portion (annotated Fig. 5; BL) having a small cross-sectional thickness (annotated Fig. 5; cross-sectional thickness of BL) and being interposed therebetween (Fig. 4; 140 is between 130 and 131), so as to be folded (Fig. 8; 130 is laid over 131) onto each other.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 20100248008 A1) in view of Cournoyer (US 20220109131 A1) as applied to 12 above and further in view of Makabe (US 20180375068 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Sugawara in view of Cournoyer disclose wherein the sensing block (130, 150) on the upper side (US) thereof and the sensing block (131, 150) on the lower side (LS) thereof are coupled to the case (111-113, 118 and 115 of Cournoyer) by a fixing means ([0075]). Sugawara in view of Cournoyer fails to disclose in a snap-fit manner.
Makabe teaches a snap-fit manner (Fig. 1; connection between 7 and 8 is a “snap-fit structure”; [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Sugawara in view of Cournoyer by using the snap-fit manner of Makabe as the fixing means of Sugawara in view of Cournoyer in order to join ([0014]) the sensing block to the case while decreasing a manufacturing cost ([0033]).
Conclusion
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723