DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 10-17, in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (US 2015/0060290 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses a method for preconditioning a battery cell ([0065]-[0075], FIG. 10) comprising: before charging the battery cell at a rate above 1C (maximum rate of first charge is C/2, [0067]), where C corresponds to a charging current that charges the battery cell from 0% state of charge (SOC) to 100% SOC in one hour ([0024]), and before charging the battery cell at a temperature below 10 degrees Celsius (first charge at 45 degrees C, [0066]-[0067]): charging the battery cell at a temperature within a predetermined temperature range (45 degrees C, [0066]-[0067]); discharging the battery cell at a temperature within the predetermined temperature range (45 degrees C, [0066],[0069]); and repeating the charging and discharging at a temperature within the predetermined temperature range a predetermined number of times (three total times, [0067]-[0075]), wherein the predetermined temperature range has a lower threshold of forty degrees Celsius (45 degrees C, [0066]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses wherein the predetermined temperature range has an upper threshold of fifty degrees Celsius (45 degrees C, [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses wherein the method is performed during battery cell formation (dynamic formation protocol, [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2015/0060290 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krasovitsky (US 2018/0301749 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Xu does not disclose wherein the predetermined number of times is five or more.
Krasovitsky teaches a method for preconditioning a battery cell ([0005]), comprising: before charging the battery cell at a rate above 1C (first cycle at C/30, [0042]), where C corresponds to a charging current that charges the battery cell from 0% state of charge (SOC) to 100% SOC in one hour ([0030]): charging the battery cell ([0042]); discharging the battery cell ([0042]); and repeating the charging and discharging predetermined number of times, wherein the predetermined number of times is five ([0042]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the method of Xu by increasing the predetermined number of times to five because Krasovitsky teaches that doing so improves cell lifetime without limiting cell capacity ([0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu in view of Krasovitsky teaches wherein the predetermined number of times does not exceed 10 (Krasovitsky: 5, [0042]).
Regarding claim 14, Xu does not disclose wherein the predetermined number of times is between 5 and 10, inclusive.
Krasovitsky teaches a method for preconditioning a battery cell ([0005]), comprising: before charging the battery cell at a rate above 1C (first cycle at C/30, [0042]), where C corresponds to a charging current that charges the battery cell from 0% state of charge (SOC) to 100% SOC in one hour ([0030]): charging the battery cell ([0042]); discharging the battery cell ([0042]); and repeating the charging and discharging predetermined number of times, wherein the predetermined number of times is between 5 and 10, inclusive (5 times, [0042]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the method of Xu by increasing the predetermined number of times to between 5 and 10, inclusive, because Krasovitsky teaches that performing 5 charge/discharge cycles during the method improves cell lifetime without limiting cell capacity ([0042]).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2015/0060290 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, Xu does not disclose wherein the battery cell comprises one of a plurality of electrically connected battery cells configured as a multi-cell battery in the embodiment of FIG. 10 and [0065]-[0075]. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have applied the method of Xu to a battery cell that comprises one of a plurality of electrically connected battery cells configured as a multi-cell battery because Xu teaches that the method can be applied to batteries having multiple electrically connected cells ([0018]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 17, Xu teaches wherein the method is performed after the plurality of cells are electrically connected (balancing steps must be included during the formation process including multiple cells, [0019]).
Conclusion
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723