DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the third and fourth peaks" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Previous rejection is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment 07/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without being integrated into a practical application and do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Utilizing the two step process adopted by the Supreme Court (Alice Corp vs CLS Bank Int'l, US Supreme Court, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014) and the recent 101 guideline, Federal Register Vol. 84, No., Jan 2019)), determination of the subject matter eligibility under the 35 USC 101 is as follows: Specifically, the Step 1 requires claim belongs to one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). If Step 1 is satisfied, then in the first part of Step 2A (Prong one), identification of any judicial recognized exceptions in the claim is made. If any limitation in the claim is identified as judicial recognized exception, then proceeding to the second part of Step 2A (Prong two), determination is made whether the identified judicial exception is being integrated into practical application. If the identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, then in Step 2B, the claim is further evaluated to see if the additional elements, individually and in combination, provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the element and combination of elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial recognized exception itself, then the claim is ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Looking at the claims, the claims satisfy the first part of the test 1A, namely the claims are directed to one of the four statutory class, a method. In Step 2A Prong one, we next identify any judicial exceptions in the claims. In Claim 1 (as a representative example), we recognize that the limitations “extracting spectrum data of the first component from the first three-dimensional chromatogram, estimating a shape and size of the second peak and the other peak in each of the second three-dimensional chromatograms by executing matrix decomposition using as a base information the spectrum data of the first component extracted from the first three-dimensional chromatogram, and quantifying concentrations of the first and other components in each the second three-dimensional chromatograms based on the shape and size of the third and fourth peaks,” are abstract ideas, as they are directed to a combination of mental process and usage of mathematical concept. Similar rejections are made for other dependent claims. With the identification of abstract ideas, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong two, where with additional elements and taken as a whole, we evaluate whether the identified abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application.
In Step 2A, Prong two, the claims additionally recite “a first analysis step of acquiring a first three-dimensional chromatogram of one of plurality of samples by executing first chromatography analysis under a first condition, wherein the first three-dimensional chromatogram includes a first peak corresponding to the first component in a state where the first peak and other peaks are completely separated from each other, a second analysis step of acquiring a second three-dimensional chromatograms including second peak corresponding to the first component by executing second chromatography analysis of the remaining samples among the plurality of samples, wherein the second peak and another peak overlap with each other and form unseparated peak of the first and another component, and the second chromatography analysis can be completed in a shorter time than the first chromatography analysis under a second condition which a mobile phase flow rate and/or an analysis column is different from the first condition,” but said limitations are directed to insignificant data collection activity recited at high level of generality, that are directed to varying the data collection conditions. The claims do not improve the functioning of any chromatography. The claims also do not improve other technology, as the claims lack sufficient detail as to how the peak separation processing is being performed and how that necessarily leads to any kind of improvement when the claims simply estimates the number, shape and/or size of each peak, using generically recited model function or an algorithm to mathematically perform the estimating. Even if the claims had recited specific algorithm, claims are at most an improvement in the abstract idea of said estimating, but new or improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea and not eligible. As such, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Consequently, with the identified abstract idea not being integrated into a practical application, we proceed to Step 2B and evaluate whether the additional elements provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, the claims additionally recite “a first analysis step of acquiring a first three-dimensional chromatogram of one of plurality of samples by executing first chromatography analysis under a first condition, wherein the first three-dimensional chromatogram includes a first peak corresponding to the first component in a state where the first peak and other peaks are completely separated from each other, a second analysis step of acquiring a second three-dimensional chromatograms including second peak corresponding to the first component by executing second chromatography analysis of the remaining samples among the plurality of samples, wherein the second peak and another peak overlap with each other and form unseparated peak of the first and another component, and the second chromatography analysis can be completed in a shorter time than the first chromatography analysis under a second condition which a mobile phase flow rate and/or an analysis column is different from the first condition,” but said limitations are directed to insignificant data collection activity recited at high level of generality, that are directed to varying the data collection conditions,” but said limitations are directed to insignificant data collection activity recited at high level of generality, that is well-understood, routine and conventional. As such, the claims do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Summary, the claims recite abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, taken as a whole, the claims are ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mito et al., US-PGPUB 2014/0257712 (hereinafter Mito) in views of Wyndham et al., US-PGPUB 2019/0376933 (hereinafter Wyndham) and Chaintreau et al., US-PGPUB 2007/0039375 (hereinafter Chaintreau) and Wang, US Pat No. 6,629,039 (hereinafter Wang)
Regarding Claim 1. Mito discloses analyzing a plurality of samples each including a first component (Paragraph [0051], samples), comprising:
a first analysis step of acquiring a first three-dimensional chromatogram of one of the plurality of samples by executing first chromatography analysis under a first condition, for the one sample (Paragraphs [0122]-[0123], standard sample to obtain 3D chromatogram; [0131]), and extracting step of extracting spectrum data of the first component from the first three-dimensional chromatogram (Paragraphs [0132]-[0136]),
a second analysis step of acquiring second three-dimensional chromatograms, each including second peak each corresponding to the first component by executing, second chromatography analysis of the remaining samples among the plurality of samples wherein the second peak and another peak overlap with each other and form unseparated peak of the first and another component (Paragraphs [0022], [0127], cannot be sufficiently separated); Paragraph [0018], target sample at different time; [0019]; Figs. 8-9; 13A-B; [0101]-[0102]; [0138], unknown sample); and
a peak separation step of estimating a shape and a size of the second peak and the other peak in each of the second three-dimensional chromatograms by inputting into an algorithm configured to estimate a shape and a size of peaks overlapping with each other and applying the algorithm to the second three-dimensional chromatograph (Figs. 15A-B; Paragraphs [0080]-[0087]; [0128]-[0129]; [0141]-[0143], differential chromatogram with the calibration curve generated from the standard samples), quantifying step of quantifying concentrations of the first and other components in each the second three-dimensional chromatogram based on the shape and size of the third and fourth peaks (Paragraphs [0129]-[0131]; [0135]-[0142])
Mito does not disclose wherein the first three-dimensional chromatogram includes first and second peaks each corresponding to the first and second components respectively in a state where the first and second peaks are completely separated from each other, and the second chromatography analysis can be completed in a shorter time than the first chromatography analysis under a second condition, in which a mobile phase flow rate and/or analysis column is different from the first condition.
Wynham discloses improving the speed and separations of chromatography, which includes at least one sample under a condition that a three-dimensional chromatogram can be obtained in a shorter time than the first three dimensional chromatogram (Abstract Paragraph [0008]-[0010], [0021]; speed the time of analysis), wherein a mobile phase flow rate of the second condition is larger than a mobile phase flow rate of the first condition a mobile phase flow rate in the second chromatography analysis is larger than a mobile phase flow rate in the first chromatography analysis (Paragraph [0021], fast flow rates, from 0.3 to 3 or greater to speed the time of analysis), and/or total length of a second analysis column of the second condition is shorter than total length of a first analysis column of the first condition (Paragraph [0021], different lengths), and/or inner diameter of the second analysis column of the second condition is larger than inner diameter of the first analysis column of the first condition (Paragraph [0015], column with different sized diameters; Paragraph [0021], different diameters).
Chaintreau discloses a well-known muti-dimensional GC technique, that involves transferring some parts of the peaks from the first column to the second column for further analysis (Paragraphs [0007]-[0016]), where a completely separated single peak can obviously occur in the first column in certain elute conditions)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to use the teachings of Wyndham and Chaintreu in Mito and have the first three-dimensional chromatogram includes first and second peaks each corresponding to the first and second components respectively in a state where the first and second peaks are completely separated from each other, and the second chromatography analysis can be completed in a shorter time than the first chromatography analysis under a second condition, in which a mobile phase flow rate and/or analysis column is different from the first condition, so as to enhance chromatography results in separating and detecting the peaks, based on well-known multi-dimensional chromatography technique.
The modified Mito does not disclose executing matrix decomposition using as a base information the spectrum data of the first component extracted from the first three-dimensional chromatogram.
Wang discloses executing matrix decomposition using as a base information the spectrum data (Abstract; Col. 1, lines 14-67; Col. 5, lines 16-67, Col. 6, lines 1-43; Col. 7, lines 65-67; Col. 8, lines 1-11, Col. 9, lines 1-14)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Wang in the modified Mito and estimate a shape, and a size of the second peak and the other peak in each of the second three-dimensional chromatograms by executing matrix decomposition using as a base information the spectrum data of the first component extracted from the first three dimensional chromatogram accurately by detecting the impurities.
Regarding Claim 4. Mito discloses in a case where there are two or more samples comprising the first and second components, the first analysis step is executed on one sample among the two or more samples to extract the spectrum data of the first and second components, and the second analysis step is executed on remaining samples among the two or more samples to acquire the second three-dimensional chromatograms for each of the remaining samples, and the peak separation step is executed on the acquired second three-dimensional chromatogram (Paragraphs [0131]-[0136], standard samples)
Regarding Claim 5. Mito discloses the first chromatography analysis and the second chromatography analysis are liquid chromatography analysis (Paragraph [0002], liquid chromatograph)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the updated new grounds of rejection. Furthermore, with respect to the 101 rejection, the claims recite a first and second analysis conditions and acquiring of the 3D chromatograms, but are recited at high level of generality. Varying the data collection conditions, such as flow rates etc., in chromatography are also well-understood, routine and conventional. The focus of the claims is then quantifying the concentrations of the components by usage of abstract idea using the acquired chromatograms at different conditions. In other words, the claim is at most an improvement in the abstract idea of quantifying the concentrations. However, as had been stated previously, improved or new abstract idea is still an abstract idea and not eligible. As such, the 101 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857