DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burak (PG Pub 20150280100) and in view of Sumi (PG Pub 20180138393).
Considering claim 1, Burak (Figure 1B) teaches a piezoelectric laminate comprising, on a substrate in the following order: a lower electrode layer (115 + paragraph 0037); a piezoelectric film (120 + paragraph 0037), wherein the lower electrode layer includes a second layer (115t + paragraph 0037) arranged in a state of being in contact with the piezoelectric film and includes a first layer (115b + paragraph 0037) arranged on a side of the substrate than the second layer, the first layer contains one or more of W (115t + paragraph 0037), Mo, Nb and Ta as a main component.
However, Burak does not teach wherein a piezoelectric film containing a perovskite type oxide and the second layer contains Ir as a main component and a thickness of the second layer is 50 nm or less.
Sumi teaches wherein a piezoelectric film containing a perovskite type oxide (paragraph 0065) and the second layer contains Ir as a main component and a thickness of the second layer is 50 nm or less (paragraphs 0060-0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a piezoelectric film containing a perovskite type oxide and the second layer contains Ir as a main component and a thickness of the second layer is 50 nm or less into Burak’s device for the benefit preventing the piezoelectric performance from being reduced by controlling the orientation of the crystals.
Considering claim 2, Sumi teaches wherein the thickness of the second layer is 45 nm or less (paragraph 0060).
Considering claim 7, Burak (Figure 1B) teaches wherein the first layer is a W layer (115b + paragraph 0037).
Considering claim 8, Burak (Figure 1B) teaches wherein the perovskite type oxide is a compound represented by General Formula Pb{(ZrxTi1-x)y-1B1y}O3, 0 < x < 1, 0 < y < 0.4 and B1 is one of more elements selected from V, Nb, Ta, Sb, Mo and W (paragraph 0067).
Considering claim 9, Sumi teaches wherein a half width at half maximum of an X-ray diffraction peak from a (111) plane of the Ir of the second layer is 0.3 degrees or more (paragraph 0062).
Considering claim 10, Sumi teaches wherein the second layer is an uniaxial alignment film in which the IR is aligned in a (111) plane and the (111) plane has an inclination of 1 degree or more with respect to a thickness direction (paragraph 0062).
Considering claim 11, Sumi teaches wherein a pyrochlore phase is included at an interface between the lower electrode layer and the piezoelectric film and a thickness of the pyrochlore phase is 20 nm or less (paragraph 0070).
Considering claim 12, Burak (Figure 1B) teaches wherein an upper electrode layer (125 + paragraph 0034) provided on the piezoelectric film of the piezoelectric laminate.
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burak (PG Pub 20150280100), in view of Sumi (PG Pub 20180138393) and in view of Takamitsu (JP 2010056426).
Considering claim 3, Burak in view of Sumi teaches the piezoelectric laminate as described above.
However, Burak in view of Sumi does not teach a first intimate attachment layer that improves adhesiveness between the substrate and the first layer, between the substrate and the first layer.
Takamitsu (Figure 1) teaches a first intimate attachment layer (16 + paragraph 0018) that improves adhesiveness between the substrate and the first layer, between the substrate and the first layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a first intimate attachment layer that improves adhesiveness between the substrate and the first layer, between the substrate and the first layer into Burak’s device for the benefit of improving adhesion between the layers.
Considering claim 4, Takamitsu (Figure 1) teaches wherein the first intimate attachment layer is a TiW layer (16 + paragraph 0018).
Considering claim 5, Takamitsu (Figure 1) teaches a second intimate attachment layer (20 + paragraphs 0018-0020) that improves adhesiveness between the first layer and the second layer, between the first layer and the second layer.
Considering claim 6, Takamitsu (Figure 1) teaches wherein the second intimate attachment layer is a TiW layer (20 + paragraphs 0018-0020).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the applicant’s argument that there is a fundamental difference in technical field and purpose the examiner disagrees since both applications deal with piezoelectric applications. Regarding the argument that the combination of Burak and Sumi is incompatible and teaches away with respect to the electrode layer arrangement the examiner disagrees. The combination of Burak and Sumi for using a perovskite type piezoelectric into Burak does not destroy the device. It is still using a common and well-known piezoelectric material. Furthermore, regarding the argument that one would be discouraged from placing Ir on the piezoelectric film the examiner disagrees since Burak does mention that the second conductive layer can be made of a relatively high acoustic impedance which Ir clearly is and Sumi teaches.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837