DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12, 14-18, and 20 under 35 USC 102 under HAKE and 35 USC 103 under HAKE in view of ERFANFAR have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of BURNETT (US 20120256501).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAKE (US 20230421017; previously cited) in view of BURNETT (US 20120256501; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, HAKE discloses generator (150), comprising: a rotor (148);
a stator (146) with a plurality of stator coils surrounding the rotor (148);
a housing (119), containing the rotor (148) and the stator (146) with the plurality of stator coils, the housing (119) having a drive-end (116) and an anti-drive-end (107);
a first manifold (176) disposed at the drive-end (116) of the housing (119) and having a first plurality of spray nozzles (193), wherein each of the first plurality of spray nozzles (193) includes a first channel (195) having a first diameter and a first surface (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 4, below), the first surface extending toward the interior of the generator from an inner surface of the first manifold (unlabeled; see annotated Figs. 1 and 4, below) that is coaxial with a drive axis (120) of the generator, the first surface having a selected first width and first angle with respect to a central axis of the first channel (195) wherein the first channel (195) and the first surface are configured to spray oil on first end turns (179) of the plurality of stator coils (see Fig. 4); and
a second manifold (174) disposed at the anti-drive-end (107) of the housing (119) and having a second plurality of spray nozzles (175), wherein each of the second plurality of spray nozzles (175) includes a second channel (182) having a second diameter and a second surface (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 3, above), the second surface extending toward the interior of the generator from an inner surface of the second manifold (unlabeled; see annotated Figs. 1 and 3, above) that is orthogonal to the drive axis (120) of the generator, the second surface having a selected second width and second angle with respect to a central axis of the second channel (182), wherein the second channel (182) and the second surface are configured to spray oil on second end turns of the plurality of stator coils (see Fig. 3).
However, HAKE does not disclose the first surface extending directly from the inner surface of the first manifold, the first angle being obtuse with respect to the central axis, the second surface extending directly from the inner surface of the second manifold, or the second angle being obtuse with respect to central axis.
BURNETT discloses a generator 10 with a plurality of spray nozzles 26 configured to spray oil on first end turns 18-1 of a plurality of stator coils 18 (see para [0018]), wherein the nozzle has a surface 42 extending directly from an inner surface of a manifold 26-1 and having a selected obtuse angle A with respect to a central axis 38 of a channel 40 of the nozzle (see Fig. 1-3 and para [0022]-[0025])
Burnett
Burnett
Burnett
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the first plurality of nozzles and second plurality of nozzles of HAKE with nozzles similar to those of BURNETT.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to direct the oil spray to hard-to-reach parts of the generator and to allow an assembler to produce a desired orientation of the spray, as taught by BURNETT (see para [0019] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 1, wherein HAKE teaches the first manifold (176) comprises a ring (see para [0036] and Figs. 1 and 4) having the inner surface, wherein first plurality of spray nozzles (193) are formed on the inner surface and around a perimeter of the ring and the first channel (195) and the first surface of each spray nozzle are configured to spray oil on the first end turns of the plurality of stator coils with a flat fan distribution (see para [0051] and Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3 HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 2, wherein HAKE teaches the flat fan distribution of each spray nozzle (193) of the first plurality of spray nozzles (193) overlaps with the flat fan distribution of adjacent ones (193) of the first plurality of spray nozzles (193). (See Fig. 4, and para [0050]).
Regarding Claim 4, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 2, wherein BURNETT teaches the first channel 40 of each of the first plurality of spray nozzles 26 is configured to receive and pass oil under pressure toward an interior of the generator; and wherein the first surface 42 of each of the first plurality of spray nozzles 26 is configured to form the first obtuse angle A with a central axis of the first channel 40 such that the oil atomizes, fans out and is directed toward the first end turns 18-1 of the plurality of stator coils 18 (see BURNETT Fig. 3 and para [0025]). HAKE further teaches the atomizing and fanning out of the oil (see HAKE para [0050-0051])
Regarding Claim 5, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 4, wherein HAKE teaches each spray nozzle is configured to receive air in addition to the oil (i.e., is atomized; see para [0050]).
Regarding Claim 6, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 4, wherein BURNETT teaches the first plurality of spray nozzles 26 are formed integral with the first manifold 26-1 (See Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 6, wherein BURNETT teaches the first manifold 26-1 is formed integral with a cooling sleeve 24 that encloses the stator (i.e. after insertion the nozzle is formed integral with hole 30 at the end of cooling sleeve 24, as broadly claimed. See Fig. 1 and para [0018]).
Regarding Claim 8, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 1, wherein HAKE teaches the second manifold (174) comprises a ring (see para [0037]) having the inner surface that is orthogonal to the drive axis (120) of the generator, wherein the second plurality of spray nozzles (175) are formed on the inner surface and are spaced apart and the second channel (182) and the second surface of each spray nozzle (175) of the second plurality of spray nozzles (175) are configured to spray oil on the second end turns of the plurality of stator coils with a flat fan distribution (see para [0051] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 9, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 8, wherein HAKE teaches the flat fan distribution of each spray nozzle (175) of the second plurality of spray nozzles (175) overlaps with the flat fan distribution of adjacent ones (175) of the second plurality of spray nozzles (175). (See Fig. 2, and para [0043]).
Regarding Claim 10, HAKE discloses a manifold (174) for cooling the end turns of stator coils of a stator (146) in an electric generator (150), the manifold (174) comprising:
a ring (see Fig. 2) having a first surface (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 3, below);
a plurality of spray nozzles (175) formed integral with the ring and extending from the first surface (see Figs. 1-3, paragraph [0036]);
each spray nozzle of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) comprising:
a channel (182) having a diameter and configured to receive oil, and
a second surface (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 3, below), the second surface extending toward the interior of the electric generator from the first surface, the second surface having a selected width and an angle with respect to a central axis of the channel (182),
wherein the channel (182) and the second surface are configured to spray the oil on first end turns (179) of the stator coils (See Fig. 3).
However, HAKE does not disclose the second surface extending directly from the first surface nor the second surface having a selected obtuse angle with respect to the central axis of the channel.
BURNETT discloses a generator 10 with a plurality of spray nozzles 26 configured to spray oil on first end turns 18-1 of a plurality of stator coils 18 (see para [0018]), wherein the nozzle has a surface 42 extending directly from an inner surface of a manifold 26-1 and having a selected obtuse angle A with respect to a central axis 38 of a channel 40 of the nozzle (see Fig. 1-3 and para [0022]-[0025])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the plurality of nozzles of HAKE with nozzles similar to those of BURNETT.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to direct the oil spray to hard-to-reach parts of the generator and to allow an assembler to produce a desired orientation of the spray, as taught by BURNETT (see para [0019] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 11, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10, wherein HAKE teaches the first surface of the ring is configured to be placed one of parallel, perpendicular or at another angle relative to a drive axis (120) of the electric generator. (perpendicular; see Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 12, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10, wherein HAKE teaches the channel of each spray nozzle also receives air in addition to the oil (i.e., is atomized; see para [0050]).
Regarding Claim 15, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10, wherein HAKE teaches the channel (182) and the second surface are configured to atomize the oil (see para [0050]) and form a flat fan distribution (see para [0051] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 16 HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 15, wherein HAKE teaches the flat fan distribution of each of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) overlaps with the flat fan distribution of adjacent ones of the plurality of spray nozzles (175). (See Fig. 2, and para [0043]).
Regarding Claim 17, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10, wherein HAKE teaches the ring is formed integral with a cooling sleeve (152) that surrounds the stator (146) (See Fig. 1 and para [0028]).
Regarding Claim 18, HAKE discloses a method for cooling end turns of stator coils in an electric generator (150), the method comprising:
feeding oil to a plurality of spray nozzles (175) spaced out on a surface of a ring-shaped manifold (174) configured to be coupled to a housing (119) of the electric generator (see Figs.1-3);
passing the oil through a channel (182) in each of the plurality of spray nozzles (172) (see para [0039]);
directing the oil from the channel in each of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) toward a surface extending toward the interior of the electric generator (150) from an inner surface of the ring-shaped manifold and at an angle relative to the channel (182) that enables atomizing of the oil to form a flat fan distribution (see para [0043] and Fig. 2) extending from each of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) wherein each of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) are configured to cause the flat fan distribution to overlap with flat fan distributions of adjacent ones of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) on the surface of the manifold to provide oil in an area of the end turns of the stator coils. (See Fig. 2, and para [0045]).
However, HAKE does not disclose the surface extending directly from an inner surface of the ring-shaped manifold and at an obtuse angle relative to the channel.
BURNETT discloses a generator 10 with a plurality of spray nozzles 26 configured to spray oil on first end turns 18-1 of a plurality of stator coils 18 (see para [0018]), wherein the nozzle has a surface 42 extending directly from an inner surface of a manifold 26-1 and having a selected obtuse angle A with respect to a central axis 38 of a channel 40 of the nozzle (see Fig. 1-3 and para [0022]-[0025])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the plurality of nozzles of HAKE with nozzles similar to those of BURNETT.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to direct the oil spray to hard-to-reach parts of the generator and to allow an assembler to produce a desired orientation of the spray, as taught by BURNETT (see para [0019] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 20, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the method of claim 18, wherein HAKE teaches feeding oil to a plurality of spray nozzles (175) comprises feeding oil and air to a plurality of spray nozzles (175) on a manifold that is configured for either a drive end (116) or an anti-drive end (107) of the electric generator (i.e., atomizing; see para [0050]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAKE in view of BURNETT and further in view of ERFANFAR (US 20120001504; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 14 HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10.
However, HAKE in view of BURNETT does not teach the second surface comprises a trapezoidal shape with a narrow end adjacent to the first surface of the ring.
ERFANFAR teaches a cooling apparatus for a stator in an electric machine wherein a coolant passageway 64 tapers in the direction of a spray nozzle, with a trapezoidal shape having a narrow end adjacent to the spraying surface (See Fig. 12 of ERFANFAR, the cross-section is trapezoidal).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the coolant passages surfaces of HAKE in view of BURNETT with a trapezoidal shape similar to ERFANFAR.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to increase pressurization of a coolant spray, as taught by ERFANFAR (see paragraph [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8686605 Takahashi discloses a manifold with oil provided at oblique angles; CN 111049290 to LI discloses oil spraying on end windings from a variety of directions in apparent overlap (EP 4064523 is an English-language equivalent to LI); and a machine translation for previously-disclosed WO 2020130200 is attached which teaches a nozzle extending obliquely toward the rotor.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834