DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, 17-18, and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s assertion that the references fail to teach the ‘selection’ of ‘parameters’ to achieve identical results as the apparatus disclosed in the instant application, it is noted that the methods of selection are not recited in the rejected claim(s). The channel, width, and angle are disclosed and/or taught by the references resulting in the claimed apparatus and, as such, some ‘selection’ is inherently necessary in order to produce the disclosed prior art and/or combination thereof. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, were these methods to be disclosed, their inclusion would be subject to considerations under MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process and MPEP 821.03 (Election by Original Presentation) prior to any consideration of whether or not the prior art discloses or teaches their application. HAKE teaches the overlapping fan formations as claimed, as shown in several figures and disclosed in paragraph [0044] as “combination of sprays covers the entire circumference of the end turns 179 within the circle 169”.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that the nozzle of BURNETT is a ‘separate element
In response to applicant's arguments regarding claim 1 and claims 6 and 7 that the nozzle of BURNETT is a ‘separate element’ or ‘separate units’ and that BURNETT fails to teach a plurality of nozzles extending from a single manifold, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). HAKE teaches the single manifold with a plurality of nozzles, and BURNETT teaches a single manifold (though of a different type than the disclosed apparatus and a different type than HAKE) with an extending nozzle having particular shape characteristics. The combination does not require the individual nozzles to be separable inserts as in BURNETT, though they may be so and still be ‘a part’ of the manifold as broadly claimed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3 and 14, regarding the ‘first width and the second width that narrow along the length of the first surface’ and the ‘partially elliptical shape that narrows as it extends,’ respectively, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 17, if the spray nozzles were claimed to be formed ‘monolithic’ to the first manifold and the first manifold claimed to by formed ‘monolithic’ to the cooling sleeve, this would overcome the rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAKE (US 20230421017; previously cited) in view of BURNETT (US 20120256501; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, HAKE discloses generator (150), comprising: a rotor (148);
a stator (146) with a plurality of stator coils surrounding the rotor (148);
a housing (119), containing the rotor (148) and the stator (146) with the plurality of stator coils, the housing (119) having a drive-end (116) and an anti-drive-end (107);
a first manifold (176) disposed at the drive-end (116) of the housing (119) and having a first plurality of spray nozzles (193), wherein each of the first plurality of spray nozzles (193) includes a first channel (195) having a first diameter and a first surface (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 4, below), the first surface extending toward the interior of the generator from an inner surface of the first manifold (unlabeled; see annotated Figs. 1 and 4, below) that is coaxial with a drive axis (120) of the generator, the first surface having a selected first width and first angle with respect to a central axis of the first channel (195) wherein the first channel (195) the first width and the angle of the first surface are selected such that each of the first plurality of spray nozzles are configured to spray oil in a flat fan distribution pattern that overlaps with sprayed oil from adjacent ones of the first plurality of spray nozzles on first end turns (179) of the plurality of stator coils; and (See Fig. 4, and para [0043-0044] and [0050]).
a second manifold (174) disposed at the anti-drive-end (107) of the housing (119) and having a second plurality of spray nozzles (175), wherein each of the second plurality of spray nozzles (175) includes a second channel (182) having a second diameter and a second surface (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 3, above), the second surface extending toward the interior of the generator from an inner surface of the second manifold (unlabeled; see annotated Figs. 1 and 3, above) that is orthogonal to the drive axis (120) of the generator, the second surface having a selected second width and second angle with respect to a central axis of the second channel (182), wherein the second channel (182) and the second width and the angle of the second surface are configured to spray oil in a flat fan distribution pattern that overlaps with sprayed oil from adjacent ones of the second plurality of spray nozzles on second end turns of the plurality of stator coils (see Fig. 2-3 and paragraph [0050]).
However, HAKE does not disclose the first surface extending directly from the inner surface of the first manifold, the first angle being obtuse with respect to the central axis, the second surface extending directly from the inner surface of the second manifold, or the second angle being obtuse with respect to central axis.
BURNETT discloses a generator 10 with a plurality of spray nozzles 26 configured to spray oil on first end turns 18-1 of a plurality of stator coils 18 (see para [0018]), wherein the nozzle has a surface 42 extending directly from an inner surface of a manifold 26-1 and having a selected obtuse angle A with respect to a central axis 38 of a channel 40 of the nozzle, such that the obtuse angle A sprays oil in a flat fan distribution (see Fig. 1-3 and para [0022]-[0025])
Burnett
Burnett
Burnett
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the first plurality of nozzles and second plurality of nozzles of HAKE with extending nozzles similar to those of BURNETT.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to direct the oil spray to hard-to-reach parts of the generator and to allow an assembler to produce a desired orientation of the spray, as taught by BURNETT (see para [0019] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 1, wherein HAKE teaches the first manifold (176) comprises a ring (see para [0036] and Figs. 1 and 4) having the inner surface, wherein first plurality of spray nozzles (193) are formed on the inner surface and around a perimeter of the ring and the first channel (195) and the first surface of each spray nozzle are configured to spray oil on the first end turns of the plurality of stator coils with a flat fan distribution (see para [0051] and Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 2, wherein BURNETT teaches the first channel 40 of each of the first plurality of spray nozzles 26 is configured to receive and pass oil under pressure toward an interior of the generator; and wherein the first surface 42 of each of the first plurality of spray nozzles 26 is configured to form the first obtuse angle A with a central axis of the first channel 40 such that the oil atomizes, fans out and is directed toward the first end turns 18-1 of the plurality of stator coils 18 (see BURNETT Fig. 3 and para [0025]). HAKE further teaches the atomizing and fanning out of the oil (see HAKE para [0050-0051])
Regarding Claim 5, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 4, wherein HAKE teaches each spray nozzle is configured to receive air in addition to the oil (i.e., is atomized; see para [0050]).
Regarding Claim 6, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 4, wherein BURNETT teaches the first plurality of spray nozzles 26 are as part of the first manifold 26-1 (See Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 6, wherein BURNETT teaches the first manifold 26-1 is formed as part of a cooling sleeve 24 that encloses the stator (i.e. after insertion the nozzle is formed as part of with hole 30 at the end of cooling sleeve 24, as broadly claimed. See Fig. 1 and para [0018]).
Regarding Claim 8, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 1, wherein HAKE teaches the second manifold (174) comprises a ring (see para [0037]) having the inner surface that is orthogonal to the drive axis (120) of the generator, wherein the second plurality of spray nozzles (175) are formed on the inner surface and are spaced apart and the second channel (182) and the second surface of each spray nozzle (175) of the second plurality of spray nozzles (175) are configured to spray oil on the second end turns of the plurality of stator coils with the flat fan distribution (see para [0051] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, HAKE discloses a manifold (174) for cooling the end turns of stator coils of a stator (146) in an electric generator (150), the manifold (174) comprising:
a ring (see Fig. 2) having a first surface (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 3, below);
a plurality of spray nozzles (175) formed integral with the ring and extending from the first surface (see Figs. 1-3, paragraph [0036]);
each spray nozzle of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) comprising:
a channel (182) having a diameter and configured to receive oil, and
a second surface (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 3, below), the second surface extending toward the interior of the electric generator from the first surface, the second surface having a width and an angle with respect to a central axis of the channel (182),
wherein the width and the angle are selected such that each spray nozzle of the plurality of spray nozzles is configured to spray oil in a flat fan distribution patter that overlaps with sprayed oil from adjacent ones of the plurality of spray nozzles (see Figs. 2-3 and paras [0043-0044] and [0050]),
wherein the channel (182) and the second surface are configured to spray the oil on first end turns (179) of the stator coils (See Fig. 3).
However, HAKE does not disclose the second surface extending directly from the first surface nor the second surface having a selected obtuse angle with respect to the central axis of the channel.
BURNETT discloses a generator 10 with a plurality of spray nozzles 26 configured to spray oil on first end turns 18-1 of a plurality of stator coils 18 (see para [0018]), wherein the nozzle has a surface 42 extending directly from an inner surface of a manifold 26-1 and having a selected obtuse angle A with respect to a central axis 38 of a channel 40 of the nozzle (see Fig. 1-3 and para [0022]-[0025])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the plurality of nozzles of HAKE with nozzles similar to those of BURNETT.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to direct the oil spray to hard-to-reach parts of the generator and to allow an assembler to produce a desired orientation of the spray, as taught by BURNETT (see para [0019] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 11, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10, wherein HAKE teaches the first surface of the ring is configured to be placed one of parallel, perpendicular or at another angle relative to a drive axis (120) of the electric generator. (perpendicular; see Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 12, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10, wherein HAKE teaches the channel of each spray nozzle also receives air in addition to the oil (i.e., is atomized; see para [0050]).
Regarding Claim 17, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10, wherein HAKE teaches the ring is formed as part of a cooling sleeve (152) that surrounds the stator (146) (See Fig. 1 and para [0028]).
Regarding Claim 18, HAKE discloses a method for cooling end turns of stator coils in an electric generator (150), the method comprising:
feeding oil to a plurality of spray nozzles (175) spaced out on a surface of a ring-shaped manifold (174) configured to be coupled to a housing (119) of the electric generator (see Figs.1-3);
passing the oil through a channel (182) in each of the plurality of spray nozzles (172) (see para [0039]);
directing the oil from the channel in each of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) toward a surface extending toward the interior of the electric generator (150) from an inner surface of the ring-shaped manifold and at an angle relative to the channel (182) and the surface having a width wherein the angle and the width are selected to enable atomizing of the oil to form a flat fan distribution (see para [0043] and Fig. 2) extending from each of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) wherein the flat fan distribution to overlaps with flat fan distributions of adjacent ones of the plurality of spray nozzles (175) on the surface of the manifold to provide oil in an area of the end turns of the stator coils. (See Fig. 2-4, and para [0043-45] and [0050]).
However, HAKE does not disclose the surface extending directly from an inner surface of the ring-shaped manifold and at an obtuse angle relative to the channel.
BURNETT discloses a generator 10 with a plurality of spray nozzles 26 configured to spray oil on first end turns 18-1 of a plurality of stator coils 18 (see para [0018]), wherein the nozzle has a surface 42 extending directly from an inner surface of a manifold 26-1 and having a selected obtuse angle A with respect to a central axis 38 of a channel 40 of the nozzle (see Fig. 1-3 and para [0022]-[0025])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the plurality of nozzles of HAKE with nozzles similar to those of BURNETT.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to direct the oil spray to hard-to-reach parts of the generator and to allow an assembler to produce a desired orientation of the spray, as taught by BURNETT (see para [0019] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 20, HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the method of claim 18, wherein HAKE teaches feeding oil to a plurality of spray nozzles (175) comprises feeding oil and air to a plurality of spray nozzles (175) on a manifold that is configured for either a drive end (116) or an anti-drive end (107) of the electric generator (i.e., atomizing; see para [0050]).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAKE in view of BURNETT and further in view of SUNG - US 20210313858 (previously disclosed)
Regarding Claim 3 HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the generator of claim 2.
However, HAKE in view of BURNETT does not teach the first width and the second width narrow along the length of the first surface and the second surface, respectively, to form a partial elliptical shape.
SUNG teaches a plurality of spray nozzles in which a width narrows along the length of a first surface, to form a partial elliptical shape (Fig. 9 and para [0239-0241]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the generator of HAKE in view of BURNETT with the first width and the second width narrow along the length of the first surface and the second surface, respectively, to form a partial elliptical shape, similar to that of SUNG.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to intensively spray the refrigerant, as taught by SUNG (see para [0242])
Regarding Claim 14 HAKE in view of BURNETT teaches the manifold of claim 10.
However, HAKE in view of BURNETT does not teach the second surface comprises a partially elliptical shape that narrows as it extends from the first surface of the ring.
SUNG teaches a plurality of spray nozzles in which a surface comprises a partially elliptical shape that narrows as it extends from a first surface (Fig. 9 and para [0239-0241]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the coolant passages surfaces of HAKE in view of BURNETT with the second surface that comprises a partially elliptical shape that narrows as it extends from the first surface of the ring, similar to that of SUNG.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to intensively spray the refrigerant, as taught by SUNG (see para [0242])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834