DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments and remarks filed 12/03/2025 have been entered and considered but are not found convincing. Claims 1, 6, 8, 22 have been amended. In summary, claims 1-22 are pending in this application. Applicant’s amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection set forth herein; according this action is made final.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments with respect to independent claims have been considered but are moot because the rejection has been modified to address the newly added limitations. The Examiner now relies on the new reference MOON and PAZMINO.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-8, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musters et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0083723 (“Musters”) in view of Bohanan et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No.2019/0304316 (“Bohanan”) further in view of MOON et al, U.S Patent Application Publication No.20190369613 (“MOON”) further in view of PAZMINO et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No.20230206572 (“PAZMINO”)
Regarding independent claim 1, Musters teaches a system comprising: a device having a display configured to display augmented reality, mixed reality, or virtual reality images to a user (see at least [0051] Method 1200 includes instantiating one or more RF signal sources in a virtualization, each RF signal source being configured to emit RF signals (1210). For example, instantiation module 107 of computer system 101 may instantiate RF signal sources 116 within visualization 115. The visualization 115 may be generated using the processor 102 and one or more portions of software code or logic. The visualization 115 may be any type of user interface including a GUI displayed on a touchscreen or monitor, a mixed reality, virtual reality (VR), or augmented reality environment, a projection on a wall or other surface, or some other type of system capable of displaying electronic images. In some cases, the visualization 115 may be an image that is merely displayed and does not facilitate user interaction, while in other cases, the visualization 115 may allow user interaction with one or more of the elements shown therein.”); at least one programmable processor; and a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one programmable processor ([0023];[0051]) , cause the at least one programmable processor to:
display a virtual control panel on the display, the virtual control panel comprising a depicting of one or more targets (see at least [0060] In some cases, specific types of signals are sent out by the RF signal source 116. For example, as in FIGS. 2-10, at least one of the RF signal sources may be a jamming device configured to emit a specific type of RF signals. In such cases, the visualization generator 108 may use various factors to appraise the intensity of the jamming signal and how much jamming margin is available in a given scenario. Other active elements displayed in the visualization may include detectors, mobile devices such as phones, tablets or wearable devices, airplanes, satellites, drones, boats, vehicles, missiles or other objects.”;[0064] In some cases, the visualization generator 108 may be configured to generate a virtual network operations center (NOC) representing network operations and network devices on a battlefield. The NOC may allow the user 113 to control or change network operations within the network devices on the battlefield, visualizing the communications coming from each network device via the stream of particle bursts 118. Indeed, the visualization generator 108 may illustrate animations in the NOC to show network communications using particles, where each particle represents one or more data packets. This concept will be described further below with relation to FIGS. 1 and 11”.); render an output of an emission device configured to be directed to the one or more targets (see at least [0051] Method 1200 includes instantiating one or more RF signal sources in a virtualization, each RF signal source being configured to emit RF signals (1210). For example, instantiation module 107 of computer system 101 may instantiate RF signal sources 116 within visualization 115. The visualization 115 may be generated using the processor 102 and one or more portions of software code or logic. The visualization 115 may be any type of user interface including a GUI displayed on a touchscreen or monitor, a mixed reality, virtual reality (VR), or augmented reality environment, a projection on a wall or other surface, or some other type of system capable of displaying electronic images. In some cases, the visualization 115 may be an image that is merely displayed and does not facilitate user interaction, while in other cases, the visualization 115 may allow user interaction with one or more of the elements shown therein.”); and
perform movement tracking of the user during user interaction with the virtual control panel (see at least [0041] of Musters The pulse jamming signal 202 is shown as being a constant frequency signal. This may also vary in other embodiments, especially in cases where the signal source 201 is a different type of antenna such as a cell tower or other communication antenna. In some embodiments, the graphs 301 and 302 may be shown upon selecting the aircraft 204 in a graphical user interface (GUI). For instance, user 113 may select the aircraft 204 using input 114. The input may be via touchscreen, mouse, keyboard, gestures, voice commands or other form of input. As such, using the GUI, the user 113 may interact with different elements shown in the visualization including signal sources and objects that interact with the signals.”);
control, as a result of input received by user interaction with the virtual control panel (see at least [0041] “The pulse jamming signal 202 is shown as being a constant frequency signal. This may also vary in other embodiments, especially in cases where the signal source 201 is a different type of antenna such as a cell tower or other communication antenna. In some embodiments, the graphs 301 and 302 may be shown upon selecting the aircraft 204 in a graphical user interface (GUI). For instance, user 113 may select the aircraft 204 using input 114. The input may be via touchscreen, mouse, keyboard, gestures, voice commands or other form of input. As such, using the GUI, the user 113 may interact with different elements shown in the visualization including signal sources and objects that interact with the signals.”) Musters is understood silent on the remaining limitations of claim 1.
In the same field of endeavor, Bohanan teaches render an output of an emission device configured to be directed to the one or more targets (see at least [0051] “In order to move the drone out of the space to be monitored by the system 100, the avoidance unit 105 may use an avoidance signal that is based on interference signals, i.e. so called “jamming” of the control frequencies determined by the processor 103 and/or other frequencies. This means that techniques such as: random noise, random pulse, random keyed modulated CW-tones and rotary, pulse, spark, or sweep-through techniques may be applied on the control frequencies determined by the processor 103 and/or multiple other frequencies [0068] In an example, system 100 transmits a warning signal to the display unit 301 that configures the display unit 301 to display information indicative of a warning that the drone 303 has been detected in the predetermined space 305. Further, the avoidance unit 105 may use the display unit 301 to provide a user, such as a pilot, for example, with options to select an avoidance signal used to force the drone 303 out of the predetermined space 305. The avoidance signal to be selected may comprise or may be based on at least one of the following: interference signals for control frequencies, Frequency Hopping Spread Spectrum, Channel interference, broadband noise, GPS-spoofing, and alternative control signals.” where drone is considered as emission device)
control, as a result of input received by user interaction with the virtual control panel, one or more operations of the emission device (see at least [0068] In an example, system 100 transmits a warning signal to the display unit 301 that configures the display unit 301 to display information indicative of a warning that the drone 303 has been detected in the predetermined space 305. Further, the avoidance unit 105 may use the display unit 301 to provide a user, such as a pilot, for example, with options to select an avoidance signal used to force the drone 303 out of the predetermined space 305. The avoidance signal to be selected may comprise or may be based on at least one of the following: interference signals for control frequencies, Frequency Hopping Spread Spectrum, Channel interference, broadband noise, GPS-spoofing, and alternative control signals.”- [0073] When control interference signals are used as avoidance signals to control the drone 303, these avoidance signals may override a signal used to control the drone 303 by an operator of the drone 303 and, therefore, may force the drone 303 to land or at least to move out of the predetermined space 305”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the graphic a radiation signal representation system of Musters with providing user with the virtual control options to control operation of the drone (emission device) as seen in Bohanan because this modification would prevent a collision in an aircraft ([0041] of Bohanan) Both Muster and Bohanan are understood to be silent on the remaining limitations of claim 1.
In the same field of endeavor, MOON teaches render an output of an emission device configured to be directed to the one or more targets ([0123] Referring to FIG. 17, a first window 1711 and a second window 1712 are provided for the electronic device 1710. Information on connections to drones A, B, and C may be displayed in the first window 1711, and a target 1713, a plurality of drones 1714, 1715, and 1716 performing a task, and the task, which has been selected as “Multi-view shot”, may be displayed in the second window 1712. When a plurality of drones are arranged as illustrated in the second window 1712 of the electronic device 1710, the positions of the plurality of drones may be changed by dragging and dropping the drones as illustrated in the second window 1721 of the electronic device 1720. While changing a position, a user 1722 may change a numerical value relating to the position. For example, the distances between the target 1713 and the drones 1714, 1715, and 1716, the angles between the target 1713 and the drones 1714, 1715, and 1716, the distances between the drones 1714, 1715, and 1716, the distances between the electronic device and the drones 1714, 1715, and 1716, etc. may be displayed on the display, and the user may change the corresponding numerical values. When the “Start” button is touched, the task is performed in compliance with information on the task and the relative positions of the plurality of drones. The plurality of drones moves such that the drones can arrive in initial locations at the same time. For example, on the assumption that the initial target locations of drones A, B, and C are P1, P2, and P3, the expected arrival time for drone A is T1 when drone A moves from the current location to P1, the expected arrival time for drone B is T2, and the expected arrival time for drone C is T3, then movements thereof may be controlled such that relationship of T1=T2=T3 is satisfied. Since the locations and conditions of the plurality of drones performing the task are different, the drones may be controlled so as to move minimizing energy consumption and start photographing, which is the next operation, on arrival.”);
perform movement tracking of a hand or an eye of the user during user interaction with the virtual control panel (see at least [0119] A plurality of drones (three drones in FIG. 16) paired with a current electronic device 1610 may be displayed in a first window 1611 of the electronic device 1610, a user 1613 may select one of the plurality of drones, drag and drop the selected drone so as to place the same in a window 1612, or may arrange the drones automatically in the window 1612 by touching the “Arrange automatically” button. A task, for example, “Multi-panorama shot” as in FIG. 16 to be performed by the drones, may be displayed in the second window 1612, and the task may be a default value or a mode performed before. For each displayed task, the user may select drones to be arranged and arrange the same. The electronic device 1610 may display a guide, used for relatively arranging the plurality of drones according to the task, through a display by using a graphic user interface. On the basis of locations in which the drones are to be placed on the automatic arrangement, the electronic device 1610 may display a boundary in which each of the drones can be placed, within a color range of the graphic user interface. The distances and angles between the drones may be displayed in the second window as the locations of the drones are changed. After the drones are arranged, the position of each of the drones may be moved by a user input using a drag and drop technique, through the graphic user interface. [0121] FIG. 17 is a conceptual view relating to a method for changing the positions of a plurality of drones according to various embodiments of the disclosure. [0122] According to various embodiments, the electronic device 1710 may include a touch screen, and the processor 120 may display information on the positions of the plurality of drones through the touch screen, receive, as an input, information on position changes of the plurality of drones from a user through the touch screen, and generate a signal controlling at least one of the plurality of drones according to the input information.”);
control, as a result of input received by the user interaction with the virtual control panel, one or more operations of the emission device including at least position, azimuthal angle, or elevational angle of the emission device; and generate, in the virtual control panel and during the movement tracking and execution of the control of the emission device, a depiction of the emission device or the output of the emission device (see at least [0123] Referring to FIG. 17, a first window 1711 and a second window 1712 are provided for the electronic device 1710. Information on connections to drones A, B, and C may be displayed in the first window 1711, and a target 1713, a plurality of drones 1714, 1715, and 1716 performing a task, and the task, which has been selected as “Multi-view shot”, may be displayed in the second window 1712. When a plurality of drones are arranged as illustrated in the second window 1712 of the electronic device 1710, the positions of the plurality of drones may be changed by dragging and dropping the drones as illustrated in the second window 1721 of the electronic device 1720. While changing a position, a user 1722 may change a numerical value relating to the position. For example, the distances between the target 1713 and the drones 1714, 1715, and 1716, the angles between the target 1713 and the drones 1714, 1715, and 1716, the distances between the drones 1714, 1715, and 1716, the distances between the electronic device and the drones 1714, 1715, and 1716, etc. may be displayed on the display, and the user may change the corresponding numerical values. When the “Start” button is touched, the task is performed in compliance with information on the task and the relative positions of the plurality of drones. The plurality of drones moves such that the drones can arrive in initial locations at the same time. For example, on the assumption that the initial target locations of drones A, B, and C are P1, P2, and P3, the expected arrival time for drone A is T1 when drone A moves from the current location to P1, the expected arrival time for drone B is T2, and the expected arrival time for drone C is T3, then movements thereof may be controlled such that relationship of T1=T2=T3 is satisfied. Since the locations and conditions of the plurality of drones performing the task are different, the drones may be controlled so as to move minimizing energy consumption and start photographing, which is the next operation, on arrival.”; [0133] FIG. 24 is a view specifically illustrating a method of controlling each of the drones, subsequent to FIG. 23. In order to control the drones individually, the user can touch the “Multi-control” button and select a drone to control (one of drone A, drone B, or drone C), and when a user input is performed through a control interface 2411 of the electronic device 2410, the user input received through the control interface is delivered only to the selected drone so as to allow the individual control of the drone. When only drone C is controlled, an indication that only drone C is being controlled may be provided by the electronic device 2420. A control command by a user input 2424 may be delivered only to drone C so as to allow drone C alone to move”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the graphic a radiation signal representation system of Musters and Bohanan with controlling operations of the drones by the user interaction with the graphic user interface as seen in MOON because this modification would move position of each of the drones through the graphic user interface ([0119] of MOON). Musters , Bohanan and MOON are understood to be silent on the remaining limitations of claim 1.
In the same field of endeavor, PAZMINO teaches perform movement tracking of a hand or an eye of the user during user interaction with the virtual control panel ([0050] “..In some embodiments, the tracking unit 242 includes hand tracking unit 244 and/or eye tracking unit 243. In some embodiments, the hand tracking unit 244 is configured to track the position/location of one or more portions of the user's hands, and/or motions of one or more portions of the user's hands with respect to the scene 105 of FIG. 1, relative to the display generation component 120, and/or relative to a coordinate system defined relative to the user's hand. The hand tracking unit 244 is described in greater detail below with respect to FIG. 4. In some embodiments, the eye tracking unit 243 is configured to track the position and movement of the user's gaze (or more broadly, the user's eyes, face, or head) with respect to the scene 105 (e.g., with respect to the physical environment and/or to the user (e.g., the user's hand)) or with respect to the XR content displayed via the display generation component 120. The eye tracking unit 243 is described in greater detail below with respect to FIG. 5.;[0077-0080]; [0196] In some embodiments, as mentioned above, the one or more virtual control elements associated with a physical device are selectable in the three-dimensional environment 902 to cause one or more corresponding operations involving the physical device to be performed. For example, the first device is a computer device, and the one or more virtual control elements 914a associated with the first device are optionally selectable to cause the computer system 101 to display a workspace (e.g., a virtual desktop) corresponding to a user interface of the first device in three-dimensional environment 902, as discussed in more detail later. The second device is optionally a speaker device, and the one or more virtual control elements 916a associated with the second device are optionally selectable to control one or more playback operations of the second device (e.g., playing audio), as discussed in more detail later. The third device is optionally a light-emitting device, and the one or more virtual control elements 918a associated with the third device are optionally selectable to control one or more light emission operations of the third device (e.g., controlling brightness), as discussed in more detail below.”; [0207] As mentioned above with reference to FIG. 9A, in some embodiments, the one or more virtual control elements associated with a respective physical device in three-dimensional environment 902 are selectable to cause one or more corresponding operations involving the respective physical device to be performed. In FIG. 9D, hand 905d (e.g., in Hand State D) is providing a selection input directed to the one or more virtual control elements 914a associated with the first device, hand 907a (e.g., in Hand State A) is providing a selection input directed to the one or more virtual control elements 916a associated with the second device, and hand 909a (e.g., in Hand State A) is providing a selection input directed to the one or more virtual control elements 918a associated with the third device in three-dimensional environment 902. In Hand State D (e.g., before the hand is in a pinch hand shape (e.g., while the thumb and tip of the index finger of the hand are not touching)), hand 905d is optionally providing input for activating a first virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements 914a in three-dimensional environment 902. In Hand State A (e.g., before the hand is in a pinch hand shape (e.g., while the thumb and tip of the index finger of the hand are not touching)), hands 907a and 909a are optionally providing input for activating a first virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements 916a and a first virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements 918a, respectively, in three-dimensional environment 902. For example, computer system 101 detects hands 905d, 907a, and 909a moving away from the body of the user 926 and subsequently providing a pinch gesture directed to each of their respective targets (e.g., as indicated by gaze points 911, 913, and 915, respectively). Additional or alternative details about such selection inputs are described with reference to method 1000. In some embodiments, the inputs provided by hands 905d, 907a, and/or 909a are air gesture inputs.”);
control, as a result of input received by the user interaction with the virtual control panel, one or more operations of the emission device; and generate, in the virtual control panel and during the movement tracking and execution of the control of the emission device, a depiction of the emission device or the output of the emission device ([0208] In response to detecting selection of a respective virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements associated with a physical device in three-dimensional environment 902, a corresponding action involving the physical device is performed, as shown in FIG. 9E. For example, in response to detecting selection of the first virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements 914a associated with the first device in FIG. 9D, provided by hand 905d, computer system 101 displays a virtual workspace 912a (corresponding to workspace 912b in the overhead view) in three-dimensional environment 902, as shown in FIG. 9E. In some embodiments, the virtual workspace 912a includes a user interface (e.g., User Interface A) corresponding to a user interface configured to be displayed via (e.g., on a display of) the first device in the physical environment. In some embodiments, virtual workspace 912a is displayed at a location in the three-dimensional environment 902 that is different from the location at which the (e.g., representation of the) display of the first device is located in the three-dimensional environment 902. Interactions with the user interface of the workspace 912a in three-dimensional environment 902 optionally correspond to interactions with the user interface configured to be displayed via the first device in the physical environment.”; [0209] In response to detecting selection of the first virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements 916a in FIG. 9D, provided by hand 907b, the second device optionally emits audio (e.g., Audio) corresponding to content (e.g., a song, a podcast, an audiobook, etc.) in the physical environment, as shown in FIG. 9E. In some embodiments, the audio emitted by the second device in the physical environment is observable (e.g., heard) in three-dimensional environment 902. In response to detecting selection of the first virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements 918a associated with the third device in FIG. 9D, provided by hand 909b, the third device optionally emits light (e.g., Light) at a respective brightness (e.g., intensity) for a respective duration of time in the physical environment, as shown in FIG. 9E. In some embodiments, the light emitted by the third device in the physical environment is observable (e.g., visible) in three-dimensional environment 902.”)
Therefore, in combination of Musters, Bohanan and MOON, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of controlling operations of the drones by the user interaction with the graphic user interface of MOON with performing hand tracking or eye tracking as seen in PAZMINO because this modification would provide enhanced visual feedback in response to detecting at least a portion of a selection input directed to the selectable user interface elements ( [0030] of PAZMINO)
Thus, the combination of Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teaches a system comprising: a device having a display configured to display augmented reality, mixed reality, or virtual reality images to a user; at least one programmable processor; and a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one programmable processor, cause the at least one programmable processor to: display a virtual control panel on the display, the virtual control panel comprising a depicting of one or more targets; render an output of an emission device configured to be directed to the one or more targets; and perform movement tracking of a hand or an eye of the user during user interaction with the virtual control panel; control, as a result of input received by the user interaction with the virtual control panel, one or more operations of the emission device including at least position, azimuthal angle, or elevational angle of the emission device; and generate, in the virtual control panel and during the movement tracking and execution of the control of the emission device, a depiction of the emission device or the output of the emission device.
Regarding claim 2, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: render representations of regions of directed energy from the emission device (see at least [0051] of Musters “ Method 1200 includes instantiating one or more RF signal sources in a virtualization, each RF signal source being configured to emit RF signals (1210). For example, instantiation module 107 of computer system 101 may instantiate RF signal sources 116 within visualization 115. The visualization 115 may be generated using the processor 102 and one or more portions of software code or logic. The visualization 115 may be any type of user interface including a GUI displayed on a touchscreen or monitor, a mixed reality, virtual reality (VR), or augmented reality environment, a projection on a wall or other surface, or some other type of system capable of displaying electronic images. In some cases, the visualization 115 may be an image that is merely displayed and does not facilitate user interaction, while in other cases, the visualization 115 may allow user interaction with one or more of the elements shown therein.” ; [0078] of Bohanan “ By using triangulation, for example, a region where the drone 303 is operating may be calculated. As soon as the region is known, the region may be shown on the display unit 301, so that the pilot can adjust devices, such as antennas used to transmit an avoidance signal to force the drone 303 to move out of the predetermined space 305, to the particular region the drone 303 is operating, for example. The devices may be adjusted automatically depending on a distance between drone 303 and aircraft 300 or an activity of an autopilot or a current state of flight of aircraft 300, for example.”; [0197] of PAZMINO “In some embodiments, in response to detecting the attention of the user directed to a representation of a physical device in three-dimensional environment 902, computer system 101 displays, in three-dimensional environment 902, status information corresponding to the physical device. For example, in FIG. 9A, in response to detecting gaze 911 directed to the representation of the first device 904a in three-dimensional environment 902, computer system 101 displays status information 932a (corresponding to information 932b in the overhead view) corresponding to the first device in three-dimensional environment 902. In some embodiments, the status information 932a corresponding to the first device includes information indicating a battery level (e.g., indication of battery percentage or amount) of the first device and/or a name of the first device (e.g., “Device 1”). In response to detecting gaze 913 directed to the representation of the second device 906a, computer system 101 optionally displays status information 934a (corresponding to information 934b in the overhead view) corresponding to the second device in three-dimensional environment 902. In some embodiments, the status information 934a corresponding to the second device includes information indicating a current volume output of the second device (e.g., a volume level of audio being emitted from the second device) and/or a name of the second device (e.g., “Device 2”). In response to detecting gaze 915 directed to the representation of the third device 908a in three-dimensional environment 902, computer system 101 optionally displays status information 936a (corresponding to status information 936b in the overhead view) corresponding to the third device in three-dimensional environment 902. In some embodiments, the status information 936a corresponding to the third device includes information indicating a current light output of the third device (e.g., an amount or intensity of light being emitted from the third device) and/or a name of the third device (e.g., “Device 3”).) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 2, wherein the regions rendered comprise a main lobe and one or more sidelobes of the directed energy (see at least [0054] of Musters “Method 1200 next includes generating a stream of particle bursts to represent at least one of the emitted RF signals (1220). The particle burst generator 109 (which may or may not be part of visualization generator 108) may generate a stream of particle bursts 118 that represent at least one of the RF signals 117 emitted by the RF signal sources 116. The stream of particle bursts 118 may include substantially any number of particle bursts, although three (119A, 119B and 119C) are shown in FIG. 1. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the particle bursts 202 may be emitted in many directions, including a primary direction and through antenna sidelobes 203. The particle bursts may be intermittent or continuous. The period at which the particle bursts occur may be changed, for example, by a user (e.g. user 113). In other cases, the particles emitted from the RF signal sources may not be aggregated in bursts, but may be a continuous stream of particles. This continuous stream of particles may be emitted omnidirectionally from the antenna of the RF signal source, or may be emitted in some other fashion (e.g. steered in particular direction by a steered antenna).
Regarding claim 4, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 2, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: obtain emission device settings or static parameters of the emission device (see at least [0057] of Musters “Method 1200 also includes providing a visualization that shows the one or more instantiated RF signal sources along with the generated particle bursts representing the emitted RF signals (1230). For instance, the visualization generator 108 may determine how the RF signals 117 emitted by the instantiated RF signal sources 116 are to be represented within the visualization 115, and then generate that visualization to show the RF signal sources along with the stream of particle bursts 118 representing the RF signals 117. The visualization 115 may include multiple different RF signal sources. In some cases, each RF signal source may be emitting RF signals at different rates. For instance, some RF signal sources may have taller or larger antennas that allow for larger signal strengths. Conversely, some RF signal sources (such as cell phones) may run on battery power, and may not have a large signal strength. The visualization 115 may be configured to show different RF signal sources broadcasting at different strengths.”; [0083] of Bohanan “ FIG. 4 is a diagram that illustrates different aspects of a method 400 for drone detection and collision avoidance according to an embodiment. The method starts with a detection step 401, for detecting a drone signal in a predetermined space by a sensor, such as sensor 101 as described with respect to FIG. 1. In detection step 401, the sensor may be used for but is not limited to detection of a drone signal in a predetermined frequency range, such as a range of frequencies that are used to control a drone. Additionally, or alternatively, the sensor may be used for detection of a drone signal generated by a drone in operation, such as noise generated by a propeller or an electric engine used for operating a drone. Additionally, or alternatively, signals detected by other sensors, such as an antenna, multiple directional antennas, a Millimeter Wave RADAR, a LIDAR, a RADAR, an Electronically Steered Array weather RADAR, a video-sensor, an infrared sensor, and/or an audio-sensor may be used for detecting the drone.”); calculate with an emission simulator, a radiation field that will result from the emission device based at least on the emission device settings or the static parameters (see at least [0060] of Musters “In some cases, specific types of signals are sent out by the RF signal source 116. For example, as in FIGS. 2-10, at least one of the RF signal sources may be a jamming device configured to emit a specific type of RF signals. In such cases, the visualization generator 108 may use various factors to appraise the intensity of the jamming signal and how much jamming margin is available in a given scenario. Other active elements displayed in the visualization may include detectors, mobile devices such as phones, tablets or wearable devices, airplanes, satellites, drones, boats, vehicles, missiles or other objects.”); and display an intensity of electromagnetic fields associated with the output (see at least [0060] of Musters “In some cases, specific types of signals are sent out by the RF signal source 116. For example, as in FIGS. 2-10, at least one of the RF signal sources may be a jamming device configured to emit a specific type of RF signals. In such cases, the visualization generator 108 may use various factors to appraise the intensity of the jamming signal and how much jamming margin is available in a given scenario. Other active elements displayed in the visualization may include detectors, mobile devices such as phones, tablets or wearable devices, airplanes, satellites, drones, boats, vehicles, missiles or other objects.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: control the emission device to emit the output to cause an effect on the one or more targets (see at least [0036] of Musters “For instance, in one embodiment, a battlefield scenario may be illustrated in the visualization 115. As shown in FIG. 2, a signal source such as a pulse jammer 201 may send out dense bursts of particles 202 that fly toward the airplane 204. The bursts of particles are emitted from the antenna of the signal source. Depending on the type of antenna used, more or fewer particles may be transmitted in any one direction from the RF signal source 201.” ;[0092] of Bohanan “In case a manual selection of an avoidance strategy is needed, the avoidance unit provides a crew member with a list of avoidance strategies to be selected in a manual selection step 505 using an interface, for example. Thus, in manual selection step 505 the crew member may select from various strategies such as generating an avoidance signal selected from a list of avoidance signals to be generated in generation step 509 and/or calculating an alternate route around the drone in calculation step 511.”; [0209] of PAZMINO “In response to detecting selection of the first virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements 916a in FIG. 9D, provided by hand 907b, the second device optionally emits audio (e.g., Audio) corresponding to content (e.g., a song, a podcast, an audiobook, etc.) in the physical environment, as shown in FIG. 9E. In some embodiments, the audio emitted by the second device in the physical environment is observable (e.g., heard) in three-dimensional environment 902. In response to detecting selection of the first virtual control element of the one or more virtual control elements 918a associated with the third device in FIG. 9D, provided by hand 909b, the third device optionally emits light (e.g., Light) at a respective brightness (e.g., intensity) for a respective duration of time in the physical environment, as shown in FIG. 9E. In some embodiments, the light emitted by the third device in the physical environment is observable (e.g., visible) in three-dimensional environment 902.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: control the one or more operations based on one or more voice commands, button presses on the emission device, or inputs to a control peripheral of the emission device (see at least [0041] of Musters The pulse jamming signal 202 is shown as being a constant frequency signal. This may also vary in other embodiments, especially in cases where the signal source 201 is a different type of antenna such as a cell tower or other communication antenna. In some embodiments, the graphs 301 and 302 may be shown upon selecting the aircraft 204 in a graphical user interface (GUI). For instance, user 113 may select the aircraft 204 using input 114. The input may be via touchscreen, mouse, keyboard, gestures, voice commands or other form of input. As such, using the GUI, the user 113 may interact with different elements shown in the visualization including signal sources and objects that interact with the signals.”; [0092] of Bohanan “In case a manual selection of an avoidance strategy is needed, the avoidance unit provides a crew member with a list of avoidance strategies to be selected in a manual selection step 505 using an interface, for example. Thus, in manual selection step 505 the crew member may select from various strategies such as generating an avoidance signal selected from a list of avoidance signals to be generated in generation step 509 and/or calculating an alternate route around the drone in calculation step 511.”; [0122-0123] of MOON; [0006] of PAZMINO “In some embodiments, the computer system has a touchpad. In some embodiments, the computer system has one or more cameras. In some embodiments, the computer system has a touch-sensitive display (also known as a “touch screen” or “touch-screen display”). In some embodiments, the computer system has one or more eye-tracking components. In some embodiments, the computer system has one or more hand-tracking components. In some embodiments, the computer system has one or more output devices in addition to the display generation component, the output devices including one or more tactile output generators and/or one or more audio output devices. In some embodiments, the computer system has a graphical user interface (GUI), one or more processors, memory and one or more modules, programs or sets of instructions stored in the memory for performing multiple functions. In some embodiments, the user interacts with the GUI through a stylus and/or finger contacts and gestures on the touch-sensitive surface, movement of the user's eyes and hand in space relative to the GUI (and/or computer system) or the user's body as captured by cameras and other movement sensors, and/or voice inputs as captured by one or more audio input devices. In some embodiments, the functions performed through the interactions optionally include image editing, drawing, presenting, word processing, spreadsheet making, game playing, telephoning, video conferencing, e-mailing, instant messaging, workout support, digital photographing, digital videoing, web browsing, digital music playing, note taking, and/or digital video playing. Executable instructions for performing these functions are, optionally, included in a transitory and/or non-transitory computer readable storage medium or other computer program product configured for execution by one or more processors.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: update the output rendered based on the control of the emission device by the user (see at least [0054-0055] of Musters “Method 1200 next includes generating a stream of particle bursts to represent at least one of the emitted RF signals (1220). The particle burst generator 109 (which may or may not be part of visualization generator 108) may generate a stream of particle bursts 118 that represent at least one of the RF signals 117 emitted by the RF signal sources 116. The stream of particle bursts 118 may include substantially any number of particle bursts, although three (119A, 119B and 119C) are shown in FIG. 1. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the particle bursts 202 may be emitted in many directions, including a primary direction and through antenna sidelobes 203. The particle bursts may be intermittent or continuous. The period at which the particle bursts occur may be changed, for example, by a user (e.g. user 113). In other cases, the particles emitted from the RF signal sources may not be aggregated in bursts, but may be a continuous stream of particles. This continuous stream of particles may be emitted omnidirectionally from the antenna of the RF signal source, or may be emitted in some other fashion (e.g. steered in particular direction by a steered antenna) [0055] Each particle burst (e.g. 119A) may be of a specified length, and may include or represent a specified number of photons. For instance, one particle burst 119A may represent many hundreds, thousands or millions of photons (or more). In other cases, each particle represents a single photon of electromagnetic radiation emitted from a signal source. One will recognize that the degree of aggregation (i.e. the ratio of photons to illustrated particles) may vary in each implementation, and that the ratio may be higher or lower in different visualizations. This ratio may be changed by the user 113 using input 114. As the user changes the ratio of photons to illustrated particles, the number of particles illustrated as coming from an RF source may go up or down as the ratio is adjusted. If one illustrated particle illustrates a large number of photons, fewer particles will be illustrated as coming from the RF signal source, whereas if one illustrated particle illustrates a small number of photons, more particles will be illustrated as coming from the RF signal source.”; [0051] of Bohanan “In order to move the drone out of the space to be monitored by the system 100, the avoidance unit 105 may use an avoidance signal that is based on interference signals, i.e. so called “jamming” of the control frequencies determined by the processor 103 and/or other frequencies. This means that techniques such as: random noise, random pulse, random keyed modulated CW-tones and rotary, pulse, spark, or sweep-through techniques may be applied on the control frequencies determined by the processor 103 and/or multiple other frequencies. [0052] Additionally, or alternatively, interference signals for control frequencies may include a wireless digital modulation scheme, which may be based on a Frequency Hopping Spread Spectrum that uses a predefined frequency channel hopping sequence. In an example, interference techniques include transmitting on all channels within a particular frequency band either individually or simultaneously. An interference technique may include generating broadband noise interference signals or spoofing of actual drone control signals. These control signals may be used to command a drone to “return home” or “land””; [0127-0128] of MOON.; [0233] of PAZMINO “In some embodiments, the second electronic device includes a light-emitting device (1024a), such as device 908a in FIG. 9A (e.g., the second electronic device is a lamp, light fixture, overhead light, or other device including a smart light or light bulb configured to emit light into the physical environment). In some embodiments, the one or more corresponding operations associated with the second electronic device include controlling light output of the light-emitting device (1024b), such as emitting light as shown in FIG. 9E. For example, initiating and/or causing emission of light from the light-emitting device. In some embodiments, the one or more virtual control elements are selectable to perform respective functions involving the emission of the light. For example, the one or more virtual controls are selectable to control an intensity (e.g., brightness) of the light emitted from the light-emitting device, a duration of emission for the light emitted from the light-emitting device, or a trigger for causing light to be emitted from the light-emitting device (e.g., at a certain time of day at the second electronic device or in response to motion detected by the second electronic device). In some embodiments, as similarly described above, the light-emitting device of the second electronic device emits the light in the physical environment, which is optionally observable (e.g., viewable, feelable, etc.) in the three-dimensional environment (e.g., via the representation of the second electronic device). Providing a selection of a virtual control element that is associated with a physical device configured to emit light in the physical environment causes the physical device to automatically control light output in accordance with the selection of the virtual control element, thereby improving user-device interaction.) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, the one or more operations of the emission device further comprising one or more of: selecting a type of output, setting a frequency of the output, setting an intensity of the output, setting a direction of the output, or setting a time to emit and steer the output to the one or more targets (see at least [0054] of Musters “Method 1200 next includes generating a stream of particle bursts to represent at least one of the emitted RF signals (1220). The particle burst generator 109 (which may or may not be part of visualization generator 108) may generate a stream of particle bursts 118 that represent at least one of the RF signals 117 emitted by the RF signal sources 116. The stream of particle bursts 118 may include substantially any number of particle bursts, although three (119A, 119B and 119C) are shown in FIG. 1. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the particle bursts 202 may be emitted in many directions, including a primary direction and through antenna sidelobes 203. The particle bursts may be intermittent or continuous. The period at which the particle bursts occur may be changed, for example, by a user (e.g. user 113). In other cases, the particles emitted from the RF signal sources may not be aggregated in bursts, but may be a continuous stream of particles. This continuous stream of particles may be emitted omnidirectionally from the antenna of the RF signal source, or may be emitted in some other fashion (e.g. steered in particular direction by a steered antenna).”; see at least [0051-0052]; [0068] of Bohanan “ In an example, system 100 transmits a warning signal to the display unit 301 that configures the display unit 301 to display information indicative of a warning that the drone 303 has been detected in the predetermined space 305. Further, the avoidance unit 105 may use the display unit 301 to provide a user, such as a pilot, for example, with options to select an avoidance signal used to force the drone 303 out of the predetermined space 305. The avoidance signal to be selected may comprise or may be based on at least one of the following: interference signals for control frequencies, Frequency Hopping Spread Spectrum, Channel interference, broadband noise, GPS-spoofing, and alternative control signals.”- [0073] When control interference signals are used as avoidance signals to control the drone 303, these avoidance signals may override a signal used to control the drone 303 by an operator of the drone 303 and, therefore, may force the drone 303 to land or at least to move out of the predetermined space 305”; [0123] of MOON; [0233] of PAZMINO “In some embodiments, the second electronic device includes a light-emitting device (1024a), such as device 908a in FIG. 9A (e.g., the second electronic device is a lamp, light fixture, overhead light, or other device including a smart light or light bulb configured to emit light into the physical environment). In some embodiments, the one or more corresponding operations associated with the second electronic device include controlling light output of the light-emitting device (1024b), such as emitting light as shown in FIG. 9E. For example, initiating and/or causing emission of light from the light-emitting device. In some embodiments, the one or more virtual control elements are selectable to perform respective functions involving the emission of the light. For example, the one or more virtual controls are selectable to control an intensity (e.g., brightness) of the light emitted from the light-emitting device, a duration of emission for the light emitted from the light-emitting device, or a trigger for causing light to be emitted from the light-emitting device (e.g., at a certain time of day at the second electronic device or in response to motion detected by the second electronic device). In some embodiments, as similarly described above, the light-emitting device of the second electronic device emits the light in the physical environment, which is optionally observable (e.g., viewable, feelable, etc.) in the three-dimensional environment (e.g., via the representation of the second electronic device). Providing a selection of a virtual control element that is associated with a physical device configured to emit light in the physical environment causes the physical device to automatically control light output in accordance with the selection of the virtual control element, thereby improving user-device interaction) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 22, Musters teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one programmable processor (see at least [0023]), cause the at least one programmable processor to: Remaining limitations of claim 22 is similar scope to claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
2. Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musters et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0083723 (“Musters”) in view of Musters et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0083723 (“Musters”) in view of Bohanan et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No.2019/0304316 (“Bohanan”) further in view of MOON et al, U.S Patent Application Publication No.20190369613 (“MOON”) further in view of PAZMINO et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No.20230206572 (“PAZMINO”) further in view of Choi et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No. 20190068953 (“Choi”)
Regarding claim 9, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO are understood to be silent on the remaining the limitations of claim 9
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches display an identification of the one or more targets on the display of the device, wherein the output is emitted based on an identification of the one or more targets ([0133] FIG. 7b illustrates an example message exchange sequence between the defensive UAV(s) 102 and the C-RAM C2 system 110 during deployment and engagement 700b (e.g., strike). At step 714, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies a threat (e.g., a target aircraft 104). The C-RAM C2 system 110 may determine the current location and trajectory of the threat. At step 716, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies one or more defensive UAVs 102 proximate to the threat (based on their last known locations). For example, the C-RAM C2 system 110 may identify the two or more defensive UAVs 102 for deployment within a predetermined distance of the threat's current location, or along the threat's trajectory. At step 718, the C-RAM C2 system 110 sends (e.g., transmits) a launch command message to the one or more defensive UAVs 102 identified in step 716. The launch command message includes the target location and trajectory. At step 720, in response to the launch command message, the one or more defensive UAVs 102 respond with an acknowledgment (confirmation) message. The C-RAM C2 system 110 may periodically send trajectory updates to the one or more defensive UAVs 102, each of which may respond with confirmations and its predicted intercept point. At steps 721, the defensive UAV 102 may be configured to steer toward the target aircraft under an external guidance mode.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the graphic a radiation signal representation system of Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO with identifying targets as seen in Choi because this modification would detect and identify threats ([0133] of Choi)
Regarding claim 10, Musters, Bohanan, MOON, PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 9, wherein the identification that is displayed comprises one or more of an indication of a type, size, attached components, direction of movement, brand, friendly classification or un-friendly classification. ([0072] of Choi “The aerial defense system 100 may perform a range of functions that collectively operate as a high-level system with which the C-RAM C2 system 110 (or another targeting system) communicates. That is, commands from the C-RAM C2 system 110 can be integrated with the airframe, defeat, and launch components as inputs via one or more wireless radios. Based at least in part on these commands, protocols can be followed to prepare, arm, and (when a threat is detected) launch the defensive UAV 102 (e.g., from a UAV storage system 106) in response to signals (e.g., C2 signals) from the C-RAM C2 system 110. In certain aspects, a lightweight counter mortar radar (LCMR) (e.g., AN/TPQ-49 or 50) may be used to provide the threat tracking in lieu of the C-RAM C2 system 110. Command and control could also come from an operator on the ground, where the operator provides targeting information based on line-of-sight observations of the target, a hand-held targeting device, or other means to estimate the position, heading, and speed of the target. In each of these cases, communication between C-RAM C2 or other system 110 and the aerial defense system 100 may be performed using a military-band radio set (e.g., Rajant radio, which is similar to a R05010-Radar Data Transfer System AN/TSC). Alternatively, an operator could fly the vehicle manually to within the range necessary for other on-board systems to detect and localize the target vehicle.”; [0133] FIG. 7b illustrates an example message exchange sequence between the defensive UAV(s) 102 and the C-RAM C2 system 110 during deployment and engagement 700b (e.g., strike). At step 714, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies a threat (e.g., a target aircraft 104). The C-RAM C2 system 110 may determine the current location and trajectory of the threat. At step 716, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies one or more defensive UAVs 102 proximate to the threat (based on their last known locations). For example, the C-RAM C2 system 110 may identify the two or more defensive UAVs 102 for deployment within a predetermined distance of the threat's current location, or along the threat's trajectory. At step 718, the C-RAM C2 system 110 sends (e.g., transmits) a launch command message to the one or more defensive UAVs 102 identified in step 716. The launch command message includes the target location and trajectory. At step 720, in response to the launch command message, the one or more defensive UAVs 102 respond with an acknowledgment (confirmation) message. The C-RAM C2 system 110 may periodically send trajectory updates to the one or more defensive UAVs 102, each of which may respond with confirmations and its predicted intercept point. At steps 721, the defensive UAV 102 may be configured to steer toward the target aircraft under an external guidance mode.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO are understood to be silent on the remaining the limitations of claim 11
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches obtain map data of a region that includes the one or more targets (see at least [0117] The HMI device 114 may be used to ensure effective command and control of the aerial defense system 100. The HMI device 114 may communicate with all elements of the aerial defense system 100 to provide situational awareness and control functionality. To that end, the HMI device 114 may receive both information on the location of current threats and defensive UAVs 102, as well as defensive UAV 102 health and status and defensive UAV 102 command functions. The HMI device 114 could also communicate with the various elements of the ground storage system, to enable initialization and monitoring of an entire battery of defensive UAVs 102. The system must also be integrated with the Static Interface C-RAM Communication Network (SI-CCN) and Encryption CCN (E-CCN), and support a boot-up process that establishes the link and becomes operational with the C-RAM C2 system 110 C2 system. While the aerial defense system 100 is illustrated as a single HMI device 114, multiple HMI devices 114 may be communicatively coupled with the aerial defense system 100 (e.g., via the UAV controller 108). For example, one or more operators may be provided with the ability to both monitor and control the defensive UAVs 102, while other operators (e.g., subscribers) may receive only alerts via their HMI devices 114. The HMI device 114 may also facilitate map-based indication of defensive UAV 102 trajectory and/or parameters. The HMI device 114 may also feature a wave-off button to enable the operator to abort a strike/engagement. If a wave-off command is received by the aerial defense system 100, the defensive UAV 102 (depending on the capabilities of the C-RAM C2 system 110) may assume one of a plurality of flight routines, include a recover routine, a loiter routine, a ground loiter routine, and an abort routine. In a recover routine, the defensive UAV(s) 102 may return to a base (home) or to another designated recover point. In a loiter routine, the defensive UAV(s) 102 may decline to engage the current target and wait until the next command from the C-RAM C2 system 110. In a ground loiter routine, the defensive UAV(s) 102 may land at designated location (observe) and hold for new target. In abort routine, the defensive UAV(s) 102 may shut down and drop to the ground. In certain aspects, the HMI device 114 may employ a tablet or cell-phone based interface to minimize the complexity of setup, to arm the system, inform users of the status and, on event of a launch, to provide users with options for how the intercept will be carried out. The HMI device 114 could be of various levels of complexity and functionality, or could be foregone completely, allowing the targeting system to act alone as the interface. If a HMI device 114 is incorporated, it could be on various forms of computers or handheld devices, and communicate with other components in various ways.”); obtain real-time target locations of the one or more targets (see at least [0069] In certain aspects, the disclosed aerial defense system may incorporate systems and methods to perform virtual reality hardware in-loop sensor simulations. The various techniques for testing and validating need not be limited to drone defense, but rather, may be employed with a lot of different systems. For example, the aerial system may facilitate virtual (or augmented) reality, in-flight testing of navigation and control algorithms using a real defensive UAV. As will be discussed, the virtual reality system may generate an aerial simulation environment using, for example, both real world inputs and simulated inputs (e.g., from a virtual/augmented reality simulation system). That is, a physical defensive UAV may be operated (e.g., flown) in a real world environment, while receiving simulated sensor feedback inputs from a virtual world. The virtual world can be generated via one or more remotely situated high-end graphics processors operatively coupled with a non-transitory memory device having software embodied thereon. In operation, the aerial simulation environment may provide real-time performance using virtual or augmented reality software and hardware, which can be tightly coupled with the actual, measured position of the defensive aircraft. The actual position may be determined in real-time or near real-time using onboard global positioning system (GPS) and/or inertial navigation system (INS) systems. In certain aspects, a real-time kinematic (RTK) GPS may be used to test the defensive aircraft under different operating conditions.”; [0133] FIG. 7b illustrates an example message exchange sequence between the defensive UAV(s) 102 and the C-RAM C2 system 110 during deployment and engagement 700b (e.g., strike). At step 714, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies a threat (e.g., a target aircraft 104). The C-RAM C2 system 110 may determine the current location and trajectory of the threat. At step 716, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies one or more defensive UAVs 102 proximate to the threat (based on their last known locations). For example, the C-RAM C2 system 110 may identify the two or more defensive UAVs 102 for deployment within a predetermined distance of the threat's current location, or along the threat's trajectory. At step 718, the C-RAM C2 system 110 sends (e.g., transmits) a launch command message to the one or more defensive UAVs 102 identified in step 716. The launch command message includes the target location and trajectory. At step 720, in response to the launch command message, the one or more defensive UAVs 102 respond with an acknowledgment (confirmation) message. The C-RAM C2 system 110 may periodically send trajectory updates to the one or more defensive UAVs 102, each of which may respond with confirmations and its predicted intercept point. At steps 721, the defensive UAV 102 may be configured to steer toward the target aircraft under an external guidance mode.”); and display a real-time overview on the display that comprises the map data and representations of the one or more targets (see at least [0116] HMI device 114. FIGS. 6a through 6d illustrate an example HMI device 114 with various example display screens. The HMI device 114 provides an off-board, computer based system for initializing, arming, and updating status of the system, and for monitoring and status alerts after launch. The HMI device 114 provides for setup, monitoring, and post-launch control. The HMI device 114 may be integrated into software applications (e.g., ATAK, KILSWITCH, etc.). The HMI device 114 ensures effective command and control of the defensive UAVs 102, while providing situational awareness and control functionality. Information provided in the software application may include location of current threats and defensive UAVs 102, as well as health and status and potentially command functions. The interface would support a boot-up process that establishes the link and becomes operational with the external targeting and command and control system.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the graphic a radiation signal representation system of Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO with a real time overview as seen in Choi because this modification would map threats in real time ([0116-0117],[0133] of Choi)
Regarding claim 12, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO are understood to be silent on the remaining the limitations of claim 12.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches display coordinate information of the one or more targets (see at least [0083] Navigation. The aircraft processor 216 may be operatively coupled to the navigation system 224, which may include an GPS 224a that is communicatively coupled with an INS 224b and/or an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 224c to provide position data for the aircraft (e.g., its coordinates, trajectory, bearing, heading, etc.), which can include one or more gyros and accelerometers” ;[0087] The camera-based seeker system can scan for the target aircraft 104, using a steerable, structured light source 304 (e.g., the light source 226c) that scans to illuminate the defensive UAV 102, wherever it is in the field of view of a binocular pair of cameras. Through a scanning mirror, a very intense light (e.g., a laser) can be directed toward the target aircraft 104, locking on and tracking the tar9get aircraft 104 at very high bandwidth (e.g., about 4-21 kHz). The mirror angle information provides a relative azimuth and elevation to the target, which can be used for terminal guidance of the defensive UAV 102. A set of cameras (e.g., binocular cameras) allow depth to be deduced, to virtually eliminate clutter and aid in terminal guidance. A 450-495 nm (e.g., 450 nm—blue) laser light source 304 and camera bandpass filters (e.g., a 450-495 nm/blue bandpass filter) may be used to maximize performance for both day and night operations. In other words, the wavelength of the filter is preferably matches to the wavelength of the light source. To mitigate overall system cost low, a vision-based homing system may be employed for the terminal engagement (final 20-50 m). The stereo-vision system may be operatively coupled to the processor via a universal serial bus (USB). For example, a USB 3.0 machine vision cameras enable designers to trade resolution for frame rate—the FLIR/Point Grey 5MP camera, for example, can achieve 2448×2048 pixel resolution at 73 fps and 800×600 px at 199 fps. Alternatively, Ximea produces a USB3.0 camera with either 640×400 px @ 1000 fps or 210 fps @ 1280×1024 px. The cameras may be paired with the NVidia Tegra TK1, which allows image processing and homing to be embedded on a general-purpose graphics processing unit (GPU). While targeting is described using a camera, other targeting methods may provide higher accuracy and/or lower cost. For example, other targeting methods may utilize radar or sonar. The targeting described herein may be achieved using low cost radar or sonar with tradeoffs in resolution and/or range (e.g., acoustic, infrared, miniature radar, LiDAR, or laser ranging system.”; [0120] As illustrated in FIG. 6b, the video feed screen 622 may provide the user with the UAV's FOV, in real-time, from the sensor payload 226. The video feed may be as-captured by the onboard cameras 226a (e.g., actual video without VR/AR overlay), overlaid with measurement data, and/or even augmented with virtual reality (VR) overlay from a VR simulation system (e.g., VR simulation system 800). The video feed may be recorded for later retrieval and/or replicated on another device, such as display headset (e.g., a VR headset) and/or display screen (e.g. an LCD display). As illustrated in FIG. 6c, the map screen 624 may display on a map the home location, the UAV location, and an observation location. Each of the locations may be provided with a callout window providing, inter alfa, the coordinates. The UAV location may further provide operational parameters of the defensive UAV(s) 102, such as the fuel/battery charge level, altitude, speed, and/or heading. The icons of the main screen 620 may be accessed from the various screens via a pull tab icon 626. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6d, the primary display area 618b may simultaneously display the main screen 620 icons and another screen (e.g., the map screen 624) or portion thereof, thereby allowing the operator to change/adjust one or more parameters, while monitoring for example, the map and/or video.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the graphic a radiation signal representation system of Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO with display threat coordinates as seen in Choi because this modification would detect location of threats ([0087]of Choi)
Regarding claim 13, Musters, Bohanan, MOON , PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 12, wherein the coordinate information comprises one or more of latitude, longitude, or elevation of a target (see at least [0083] of Choi Navigation. The aircraft processor 216 may be operatively coupled to the navigation system 224, which may include an GPS 224a that is communicatively coupled with an INS 224b and/or an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 224c to provide position data for the aircraft (e.g., its coordinates, trajectory, bearing, heading, etc.), which can include one or more gyros and accelerometers”; [0087] of Choi” The camera-based seeker system can scan for the target aircraft 104, using a steerable, structured light source 304 (e.g., the light source 226c) that scans to illuminate the defensive UAV 102, wherever it is in the field of view of a binocular pair of cameras. Through a scanning mirror, a very intense light (e.g., a laser) can be directed toward the target aircraft 104, locking on and tracking the target aircraft 104 at very high bandwidth (e.g., about 4-21 kHz). The mirror angle information provides a relative azimuth and elevation to the target, which can be used for terminal guidance of the defensive UAV 102. A set of cameras (e.g., binocular cameras) allow depth to be deduced, to virtually eliminate clutter and aid in terminal guidance. A 450-495 nm (e.g., 450 nm—blue) laser light source 304 and camera bandpass filters (e.g., a 450-495 nm/blue bandpass filter) may be used to maximize performance for both day and night operations. In other words, the wavelength of the filter is preferably matches to the wavelength of the light source. To mitigate overall system cost low, a vision-based homing system may be employed for the terminal engagement (final 20-50 m). The stereo-vision system may be operatively coupled to the processor via a universal serial bus (USB). For example, a USB 3.0 machine vision cameras enable designers to trade resolution for frame rate—the FLIR/Point Grey 5MP camera, for example, can achieve 2448×2048 pixel resolution at 73 fps and 800×600 px at 199 fps. Alternatively, Ximea produces a USB3.0 camera with either 640×400 px @ 1000 fps or 210 fps @ 1280×1024 px. The cameras may be paired with the NVidia Tegra TK1, which allows image processing and homing to be embedded on a general-purpose graphics processing unit (GPU). While targeting is described using a camera, other targeting methods may provide higher accuracy and/or lower cost. For example, other targeting methods may utilize radar or sonar. The targeting described herein may be achieved using low cost radar or sonar with tradeoffs in resolution and/or range (e.g., acoustic, infrared, miniature radar, LiDAR, or laser ranging system.”; see at least [0083] of Choi Navigation. The aircraft processor 216 may be operatively coupled to the navigation system 224, which may include an GPS 224a that is communicatively coupled with an INS 224b and/or an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 224c to provide position data for the aircraft (e.g., its coordinates, trajectory, bearing, heading, etc.), which can include one or more gyros and accelerometers”:) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Musters, Bohanan, MOON, PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 13, wherein the coordinate information is obtained from a GPS, a RADAR device, or a LIDAR device (see at least [0083] of Choi Navigation. The aircraft processor 216 may be operatively coupled to the navigation system 224, which may include an GPS 224a that is communicatively coupled with an INS 224b and/or an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 224c to provide position data for the aircraft (e.g., its coordinates, trajectory, bearing, heading, etc.), which can include one or more gyros and accelerometers”; see at least [0087] of Choi” The camera-based seeker system can scan for the target aircraft 104, using a steerable, structured light source 304 (e.g., the light source 226c) that scans to illuminate the defensive UAV 102, wherever it is in the field of view of a binocular pair of cameras. Through a scanning mirror, a very intense light (e.g., a laser) can be directed toward the target aircraft 104, locking on and tracking the target aircraft 104 at very high bandwidth (e.g., about 4-21 kHz). The mirror angle information provides a relative azimuth and elevation to the target, which can be used for terminal guidance of the defensive UAV 102. A set of cameras (e.g., binocular cameras) allow depth to be deduced, to virtually eliminate clutter and aid in terminal guidance. A 450-495 nm (e.g., 450 nm—blue) laser light source 304 and camera bandpass filters (e.g., a 450-495 nm/blue bandpass filter) may be used to maximize performance for both day and night operations. In other words, the wavelength of the filter is preferably matches to the wavelength of the light source. To mitigate overall system cost low, a vision-based homing system may be employed for the terminal engagement (final 20-50 m). The stereo-vision system may be operatively coupled to the processor via a universal serial bus (USB). For example, a USB 3.0 machine vision cameras enable designers to trade resolution for frame rate—the FLIR/Point Grey 5MP camera, for example, can achieve 2448×2048 pixel resolution at 73 fps and 800×600 px at 199 fps. Alternatively, Ximea produces a USB3.0 camera with either 640×400 px @ 1000 fps or 210 fps @ 1280×1024 px. The cameras may be paired with the NVidia Tegra TK1, which allows image processing and homing to be embedded on a general-purpose graphics processing unit (GPU). While targeting is described using a camera, other targeting methods may provide higher accuracy and/or lower cost. For example, other targeting methods may utilize radar or sonar. The targeting described herein may be achieved using low cost radar or sonar with tradeoffs in resolution and/or range (e.g., acoustic, infrared, miniature radar, LiDAR, or laser ranging system.”; [0133] FIG. 7b illustrates an example message exchange sequence between the defensive UAV(s) 102 and the C-RAM C2 system 110 during deployment and engagement 700b (e.g., strike). At step 714, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies a threat (e.g., a target aircraft 104). The C-RAM C2 system 110 may determine the current location and trajectory of the threat. At step 716, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies one or more defensive UAVs 102 proximate to the threat (based on their last known locations). For example, the C-RAM C2 system 110 may identify the two or more defensive UAVs 102 for deployment within a predetermined distance of the threat's current location, or along the threat's trajectory. At step 718, the C-RAM C2 system 110 sends (e.g., transmits) a launch command message to the one or more defensive UAVs 102 identified in step 716. The launch command message includes the target location and trajectory. At step 720, in response to the launch command message, the one or more defensive UAVs 102 respond with an acknowledgment (confirmation) message. The C-RAM C2 system 110 may periodically send trajectory updates to the one or more defensive UAVs 102, each of which may respond with confirmations and its predicted intercept point. At steps 721, the defensive UAV 102 may be configured to steer toward the target aircraft under an external guidance mode.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, Musters, Bohanan, MOON , PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 13, wherein the coordinate information is obtained from a-coordinate information of the one or more targets with respect to a scout Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV1) (see at least [0029] of Choi “According to a third aspect, an aircraft to image and track a moving object comprises: an airframe; a structured light source mounted to the airframe and operatively coupled to a processor; an inertial measurement unit (IMU) operatively coupled with the processor, wherein the IMU is configured to generate position data representing a position of the aircraft; a mirror to steer light from the light source as a function of a mirror position, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the mirror position; and a stereo-vision system having a first camera and a second camera, the stereo-vision system being mounted to the airframe and operatively coupled to the processor, wherein the stereo-vision system is configured to determine a three-dimensional position of the moving object relative to the aircraft.) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, Musters, Bohanan, MOON, PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 15, wherein the coordinate information obtained of the one or more targets with respect to the scout UAV is merged with coordinate information obtained from a GPS, a RADAR device, or a LIDAR device (see at least [0070] of Choi “The disclosed aerial defense system offers a number of advantages over prior solutions. For example, where cost is a concern, an advantage of the system aerial defense system is its low cost, which can be achieved through, inter alfa, its COTS aircraft baseline structure. Further, the ability to more effectively and cheaply scale up the aerial defense system may be accomplished because the most expensive components (e.g., the targeting system, radio, thermal/battery maintenance hardware and software) need not be repeated on a per-defensive aircraft basis—rather, they need only be repeated on a per aerial defense system basis. In certain aspects, the aerial defense system may also employ a portable storage system design that is scalable and amenable to many co-located or stacked components. Where VTOL defensive aircraft are used, deployment is extremely low cost compared to other solutions, which often require a powerful device to accelerate an aircraft (e.g., a tube-launched aircraft) to flight velocity. For example, using COTS VTOL racing drones as the baseline vehicle is more effective than current tube-launched solutions. The use of an onboard camera-based targeting system and an onboard target neutralization device allow a low-cost system to achieve accuracies similar to much more costly solutions. Other combinations of COTS sensors, including both active (e.g., radar or LiDAR) and passive (e.g., infrared, acoustic, etc.) sensors may also fulfill the concept of a localizing sensor to address improvement in accuracy over the ground-based system that guides the vehicle into the vicinity of the target.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO teach the system of claim 1, further comprising: Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO are understood to be silent on the remaining the limitations of claim 17.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches a sensor configured to detect one or more attributes of the one or more targets; and an imaging device configured to image the one or more targets [0072] The aerial defense system 100 may perform a range of functions that collectively operate as a high-level system with which the C-RAM C2 system 110 (or another targeting system) communicates. That is, commands from the C-RAM C2 system 110 can be integrated with the airframe, defeat, and launch components as inputs via one or more wireless radios. Based at least in part on these commands, protocols can be followed to prepare, arm, and (when a threat is detected) launch the defensive UAV 102 (e.g., from a UAV storage system 106) in response to signals (e.g., C2 signals) from the C-RAM C2 system 110. In certain aspects, a lightweight counter mortar radar (LCMR) (e.g., AN/TPQ-49 or 50) may be used to provide the threat tracking in lieu of the C-RAM C2 system 110. Command and control could also come from an operator on the ground, where the operator provides targeting information based on line-of-sight observations of the target, a hand-held targeting device, or other means to estimate the position, heading, and speed of the target. In each of these cases, communication between C-RAM C2 or other system 110 and the aerial defense system 100 may be performed using a military-band radio set (e.g., Rajant radio, which is similar to a R05010-Radar Data Transfer System AN/TSC). Alternatively, an operator could fly the vehicle manually to within the range necessary for other on-board systems to detect and localize the target vehicle.”; [0133] FIG. 7b illustrates an example message exchange sequence between the defensive UAV(s) 102 and the C-RAM C2 system 110 during deployment and engagement 700b (e.g., strike). At step 714, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies a threat (e.g., a target aircraft 104). The C-RAM C2 system 110 may determine the current location and trajectory of the threat. At step 716, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies one or more defensive UAVs 102 proximate to the threat (based on their last known locations). For example, the C-RAM C2 system 110 may identify the two or more defensive UAVs 102 for deployment within a predetermined distance of the threat's current location, or along the threat's trajectory. At step 718, the C-RAM C2 system 110 sends (e.g., transmits) a launch command message to the one or more defensive UAVs 102 identified in step 716. The launch command message includes the target location and trajectory. At step 720, in response to the launch command message, the one or more defensive UAVs 102 respond with an acknowledgment (confirmation) message. The C-RAM C2 system 110 may periodically send trajectory updates to the one or more defensive UAVs 102, each of which may respond with confirmations and its predicted intercept point. At steps 721, the defensive UAV 102 may be configured to steer toward the target aircraft under an external guidance mode.”), wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: obtain, from the sensor, real-time sensor data or real-time image data ([0120] As illustrated in FIG. 6b, the video feed screen 622 may provide the user with the UAV's FOV, in real-time, from the sensor payload 226. The video feed may be as-captured by the onboard cameras 226a (e.g., actual video without VR/AR overlay), overlaid with measurement data, and/or even augmented with virtual reality (VR) overlay from a VR simulation system (e.g., VR simulation system 800). The video feed may be recorded for later retrieval and/or replicated on another device, such as display headset (e.g., a VR headset) and/or display screen (e.g. an LCD display). As illustrated in FIG. 6c, the map screen 624 may display on a map the home location, the UAV location, and an observation location. Each of the locations may be provided with a callout window providing, inter alfa, the coordinates. The UAV location may further provide operational parameters of the defensive UAV(s) 102, such as the fuel/battery charge level, altitude, speed, and/or heading. The icons of the main screen 620 may be accessed from the various screens via a pull tab icon 626. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6d, the primary display area 618b may simultaneously display the main screen 620 icons and another screen (e.g., the map screen 624) or portion thereof, thereby allowing the operator to change/adjust one or more parameters, while monitoring for example, the map and/or video.”); and identify, from the real-time sensor data or the real-time image data, a target ([0133] FIG. 7b illustrates an example message exchange sequence between the defensive UAV(s) 102 and the C-RAM C2 system 110 during deployment and engagement 700b (e.g., strike). At step 714, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies a threat (e.g., a target aircraft 104). The C-RAM C2 system 110 may determine the current location and trajectory of the threat. At step 716, the C-RAM C2 system 110 identifies one or more defensive UAVs 102 proximate to the threat (based on their last known locations). For example, the C-RAM C2 system 110 may identify the two or more defensive UAVs 102 for deployment within a predetermined distance of the threat's current location, or along the threat's trajectory. At step 718, the C-RAM C2 system 110 sends (e.g., transmits) a launch command message to the one or more defensive UAVs 102 identified in step 716. The launch command message includes the target location and trajectory. At step 720, in response to the launch command message, the one or more defensive UAVs 102 respond with an acknowledgment (confirmation) message. The C-RAM C2 system 110 may periodically send trajectory updates to the one or more defensive UAVs 102, each of which may respond with confirmations and its predicted intercept point. At steps 721, the defensive UAV 102 may be configured to steer toward the target aircraft under an external guidance mode.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the graphic a radiation signal representation system of Musters, Bohanan, MOON and PAZMINO with detecting attributes identifying targets as seen in Choi because this modification would detect and identify threats based on detected attributes ([0072],[0120],[0133] of Choi)
Regarding claim 18, Musters, Bohanan, MOON, PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 17, wherein the detected one or more attributes of the one or more targets comprises: presence, environmental data at or around the one or more targets, velocity, acceleration, or coordinates (see at least [0072] of Choi “The aerial defense system 100 may perform a range of functions that collectively operate as a high-level system with which the C-RAM C2 system 110 (or another targeting system) communicates. That is, commands from the C-RAM C2 system 110 can be integrated with the airframe, defeat, and launch components as inputs via one or more wireless radios. Based at least in part on these commands, protocols can be followed to prepare, arm, and (when a threat is detected) launch the defensive UAV 102 (e.g., from a UAV storage system 106) in response to signals (e.g., C2 signals) from the C-RAM C2 system 110. In certain aspects, a lightweight counter mortar radar (LCMR) (e.g., AN/TPQ-49 or 50) may be used to provide the threat tracking in lieu of the C-RAM C2 system 110. Command and control could also come from an operator on the ground, where the operator provides targeting information based on line-of-sight observations of the target, a hand-held targeting device, or other means to estimate the position, heading, and speed of the target. In each of these cases, communication between C-RAM C2 or other system 110 and the aerial defense system 100 may be performed using a military-band radio set (e.g., Rajant radio, which is similar to a R05010-Radar Data Transfer System AN/TSC). Alternatively, an operator could fly the vehicle manually to within the range necessary for other on-board systems to detect and localize the target vehicle.”; [0087] The camera-based seeker system can scan for the target aircraft 104, using a steerable, structured light source 304 (e.g., the light source 226c) that scans to illuminate the defensive UAV 102, wherever it is in the field of view of a binocular pair of cameras. Through a scanning mirror, a very intense light (e.g., a laser) can be directed toward the target aircraft 104, locking on and tracking the target aircraft 104 at very high bandwidth (e.g., about 4-21 kHz). The mirror angle information provides a relative azimuth and elevation to the target, which can be used for terminal guidance of the defensive UAV 102. A set of cameras (e.g., binocular cameras) allow depth to be deduced, to virtually eliminate clutter and aid in terminal guidance. A 450-495 nm (e.g., 450 nm—blue) laser light source 304 and camera bandpass filters (e.g., a 450-495 nm/blue bandpass filter) may be used to maximize performance for both day and night operations. In other words, the wavelength of the filter is preferably matches to the wavelength of the light source. To mitigate overall system cost low, a vision-based homing system may be employed for the terminal engagement (final 20-50 m). The stereo-vision system may be operatively coupled to the processor via a universal serial bus (USB). For example, a USB 3.0 machine vision cameras enable designers to trade resolution for frame rate—the FLIR/Point Grey 5MP camera, for example, can achieve 2448×2048 pixel resolution at 73 fps and 800×600 px at 199 fps. Alternatively, Ximea produces a USB3.0 camera with either 640×400 px @ 1000 fps or 210 fps @ 1280×1024 px. The cameras may be paired with the NVidia Tegra TK1, which allows image processing and homing to be embedded on a general-purpose graphics processing unit (GPU). While targeting is described using a camera, other targeting methods may provide higher accuracy and/or lower cost. For example, other targeting methods may utilize radar or sonar. The targeting described herein may be achieved using low cost radar or sonar with tradeoffs in resolution and/or range (e.g., acoustic, infrared, miniature radar, LiDAR, or laser ranging system. SC 206.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, Musters, Bohanan, MOON, PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 17, wherein the imaging device is configured to image one or more of: the one or more targets itself, attached components, or emissions (see at least [0086] of Choi “The sensor data may be used to navigate the defensive UAV 102. For example, the sensor payload 226 may provide the necessary hardware (e.g., cameras 226a, light sources 226c, etc.) for the below-described camera-based seeker system. The aerial system benefits from improved systems and methods to track aircraft for imaging and targeting. For example, through a camera-based seeker system, the defensive aircraft may use high refresh-rate cameras, manipulation of a light source 304 (e.g., using a reflector/mirror) to scan the field of view (FOV), and stereo-vision to deduce depth in a low cost, light-weight system. Using the IMU 224c, a micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) mirror 306, and fast cameras, extremely fast object tracking on an unsteady platform can be achieved. The camera-based seeker system can be used to perform terminal imaging of a target aircraft 104. Transistor-transistor logic (TTL) line synchronization and inertial measurement unit (IMU) feedback may also be used. Guidance of the defensive aircraft may be achieved using uplinked commands routed through low-cost radios, terminal guidance using vision-based guidance, and overall defensive UAV 102 management and communication, built-in-tests (BIT), etc.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 17.
Regarding claim 20, Musters, Bohanan, MOON , PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 17, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: identify information about the one or more targets based on the sensor data, the information comprising one or more of: presence, velocity, acceleration, coordinates, route navigated, satellite source, range from the emission device, environmental data around the one or more targets, temperature, or field of view (FOV)(see at least [0120] of Choi “ As illustrated in FIG. 6b, the video feed screen 622 may provide the user with the UAV's FOV, in real-time, from the sensor payload 226. The video feed may be as-captured by the onboard cameras 226a (e.g., actual video without VR/AR overlay), overlaid with measurement data, and/or even augmented with virtual reality (VR) overlay from a VR simulation system (e.g., VR simulation system 800). The video feed may be recorded for later retrieval and/or replicated on another device, such as display headset (e.g., a VR headset) and/or display screen (e.g. an LCD display). As illustrated in FIG. 6c, the map screen 624 may display on a map the home location, the UAV location, and an observation location. Each of the locations may be provided with a callout window providing, inter alfa, the coordinates. The UAV location may further provide operational parameters of the defensive UAV(s) 102, such as the fuel/battery charge level, altitude, speed, and/or heading. The icons of the main screen 620 may be accessed from the various screens via a pull tab icon 626. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6d, the primary display area 618b may simultaneously display the main screen 620 icons and another screen (e.g., the map screen 624) or portion thereof, thereby allowing the operator to change/adjust one or more parameters, while monitoring for example, the map and/or video.”) In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection for claim 17.
3. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musters et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0083723 (“Musters”) in view of Musters et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0083723 (“Musters”) in view of Bohanan et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No.2019/0304316 (“Bohanan”) further in view of MOON et al, U.S Patent Application Publication No.20190369613 (“MOON”) further in view of PAZMINO et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No.20230206572 (“PAZMINO”) further in view of Choi et al., U.S Patent Application Publication No. 20190068953 (“Choi”) further in view of Stokes et al. U.S Patent Application Publication No.2017/0227639 (“Stokes”)
Regarding claim 21, Musters, Bohanan, MOON, PAZMINO and Choi teach the system of claim 17, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one programmable processor to: Musters, Bohanan, MOON , PAZMINO and Choi are understood to be silent on the remaining limitations of claim 21.
In the same field of endeavor, Stokes teaches identify information about the one or more targets based on the image data, the information comprising one or more of: a type of target, one or more characteristics, one or more devices or systems associated with the one or more targets, battery information, power information, type, brand, size, or shape ([0194] In some embodiments, an object may be analyzed to determine a threat level associated with the object. For example, a system may determine a threat level associated with object 2510 colliding with mobile structure 101. For instance, system 100 may include GPS 146 and a target sensor (e.g., other modules 180) mounted to mobile structure 101. The target sensor (e.g., a ranging sensor) may be configured to detect object 2510 and/or one or more characteristics of object 2510 in relation to mobile structure 101. For example, in some embodiments, the target sensor may be configured to detect an absolute or relative (e.g., relative to mobile
receive a location of mobile structure 101 from GPS 146 and a location of object 2510 from the target sensor. In various embodiments, object 2510 may be detected and identified as a vessel, another mobile structure, and/or a watercraft capable of travelling by sail, gas power, and/or another mode of power, having a particular course, size, and/or speed.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the graphic a radiation signal representation system of Musters, Bohanan, MOON, PAZMINO and Choi with detecting the size of a target as seen in Stokes because this modification would allow for using target characteristics to identify a specific target ([0194] of Stokes)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SARAH LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614