DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Arguments have been entered. Arguments do overcome the 103-rejection set forth in final office action mailed 01/13/2026. New grounds of rejection have been set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20210167366-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Leng’, in view of (US-20190248673-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kaneda’
Regarding Claim 11,
Leng teaches a positive electrode active material, comprising: particles of a lithium composite oxide (Leng, “positive electrode active material layer on a surface of the positive electrode current collector, the positive electrode active material layer includes a positive electrode active material, the positive electrode active material includes a first lithium nickel transition metal oxide and a second lithium nickel transition metal oxide,”, see Abstract) having a layered structure (Leng, “Layered lithium transition metal oxides with a higher content of nickel are selected as the first lithium nickel transition metal oxide and the second lithium nickel transition metal oxide in the present application, which may effectively improve energy density of a battery;”, see [0092]), wherein the positive electrode active material has a tap density of 2.8 g/cm3 to 3.0 g/cm3 (Leng, “In the positive electrode sheet provided by the present application, the tap density TD of the positive electrode active material may be… 2.8 g/cm3”, see [0044]) , the particles of the lithium composite oxide include first lithium composite oxide particles having a layered structure, an average particle size of 3.0 µm to 6.0 µm (Leng, “the second lithium nickel transition metal oxide has a particle size Dv50 (S) of 4.3 μm”, see [0116]); and second lithium composite oxide particles having a layered structure, an average particle size of 10.0 µm to 22.0 µm (Leng, “the first lithium nickel transition metal oxide has a particle size Dv50 (L) of 12.3 μm”, see [0116])
Leng does not teach the positive electrode active material has a dibutyl phthalate absorption value of 14.6 mL/100g to 18.2mL/100g, a dibutyl phthalate absorption value of 14 mL/100g to 22 mL/100, or and a dibutyl phthalate absorption value of 15 mL/100g to 27 mL/100g.
Kaneda teaches a positive electrode active material has a dibutyl phthalate absorption value of 14.6 mL/100g to 1825mL/100g, a dibutyl phthalate absorption value of 14 mL/100g to 22 mL/100, or and a dibutyl phthalate absorption value of 15 mL/100g to 27 mL/100g (Kaneda, “Example 2, Oil Absorption 17.7”, see Table 2).
Kaneda teaches that an oil absorption of this number can allow for sufficient capacity (Kaneda, “When the oil absorption amount is within the range described above, the secondary battery using the positive electrode active material 10 in the positive electrode can retain a sufficient amount of the electrolyte solution in the positive electrode so that migration of a lithium ion intervened by the electrolyte solution is not limited, and thus, a sufficient battery capacity can be obtained”, see [0081]).
Leng and Kaneda are analogous as they are both of the same field of positive electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second particles as taught in Leng to have the absorption value as taught in Kaneda in order to obtain sufficient capacity for the positive electrode.
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Leng teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 11, wherein the positive electrode active material has the dibutyl phthalate absorption value of 16.0 mL/100g to 18.2 mL/100g.2 (Kaneda, “Example 2, Oil Absorption 17.7”, see Table 2)
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed on 05/12/2026 have been entered. Arguments are fully considered.
On pg. 4, The applicant argues:
“The properties of the at least one embodiment of the instant application differ significantly from the references so that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have predicted such significant results, in other words, unexpected results. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that at least one embodiment according to claim 11 exhibits unexpected results over the cited references.”
The examiner finds this convincing, and has added the 103 rejection in over ‘Leng’ in view of ‘Kaneda.’ Leng teaches the two separate particles of layered composite oxides as claimed and ‘Kaneda’ anticipates the DBP absorption value and associates it with a high-performance cell, which demonstrate the results are not unexpected to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752