DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/2/26. These drawings are Acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 15, 20, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soules (6,423,900) in view of Azih (9,756,477) and Chien (2018/0332204).
With regard to claim 1, Soules teaches, as shown in figures 1-9 and taught in column 8 line 59 -column 9 line 59: “An electrical receptacle cover assembly (40 and 44) comprising: an electrical receptacle cover 44; a first flexible transmission tab 45 that extends from the electrical receptacle cover 44 and is configured to be electrically connected to a neutral terminal 46 of an electrical receptacle 40; a second flexible transmission tab 45’ that extends from the electrical receptacle cover 44 and is configured to be electrically connected to a live terminal 46’ of the electrical receptacle 40; on-board devices 55 that include… a microphone, a light… radio frequency (RF) circuitry that includes a RF transmitter (RF receiver taught in column 9 lines 26-59)… voltage reducing circuitry (capacitive divider taught in column 9 lines 5-10) that is in communication with the first 45 and second 45’ transmission tabs and reduces the voltage from the first 45 and second 45’ transmission tabs to power the on-board devices 55; a power supply (main supply line described in column 9 lines 5-10) that draws electricity via the first transmission 45 tab and the second 45’ transmission tabs, and provides a supplied power to the RF circuitry”.
Soules does not teach the RF circuitry including both an RF transmitter “and an RF receiver that cooperate to extend RF data communications between a first external RF device and a second external RF device… wherein the RF receiver is configured to receive an input RF signal that carries data sent from the first external RF device, and the RF transmitter is configured to transmit an RF output signal that carries the data to the second external RF device”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Azih teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 10 - column 6 line 30 and column 9 lines 1-57: “radio frequency (RF) circuity 280 that includes a RF transmitter 320 and an RF receiver 320 that cooperate to extend RF data communications between a first external RF device 420 and a second external RF device 610(a); wherein the RF receiver 320 is configured to receive an input RF signal (signal from 420 in figure 7) that carries data sent from the first external RF device 420, and the RF transmitter 320 is configured to transmit an RF output signal (signal to 610(a) in figure 7) that carries the data to the second external RF device 610(a)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules in order to provide a larger broadcast range (Azih, column 9 lines 1-14).
Neither Soules nor Azih teach the on-board devices also including a camera and a speaker or “wherein the on-board devices are configured to stream video and audio to the second external RF device”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the electrical receptacle cover assembly to include a camera and microphone and to provide streaming between a first and a second external RF device, since adding these devices to structures to allow the capture of video and sound and wireless communication of the sound and video (see Chien, paragraphs 156 and 254 teach a camera-assembly including a Wi-Fi extender (which in paragraph 74 of the instant application includes Wi-Fi extenders as RF extenders) between external devices and transmission of video two a second external device) and Soules teaches in column 10 lines 4-12 that the load on the circuitry can be any components depending on the desired functionality, which is provided by the components described in Chien.
With regard to claim 2, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 1”, as shown above.
Azih teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 6 lines 16-26: “wherein the RF data communications 320 includes reception and transmission of a signal selected from a group consisting of a Bluetooth signal and a WiFi signal”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to connect to different devices (Azih, column 6 lines 16-26).
With regard to claim 4, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 1”, as shown above.
Azih teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 55 - column 6 line 26: “wherein the RF circuitry 280 is configured to communicate with other RF circuitry hosted in another electrical receptacle cover assembly (associated 100 of another switch 110, as described in column 6 lines 16-26) connected to another electrical receptacle (another switch 110, as described in column 6 lines 16-26) that is in a same building (household described in column 5 lines 55-62) as the electrical receptacle cover assembly 100”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to connect to different devices (Azih, column 6 lines 16-26).
With regard to claim 5, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 4”, as shown above.
Azih teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 55 - column 6 line 26: “wherein the another electrical receptacle cover is located within RF communication range of the RF circuitry 280 of the electrical receptacle cover assembly 100”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to connect to different devices (Azih, column 6 lines 16-26).
With regard to claim 6, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 5”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 6 lines 16-41: “wherein the another electrical receptacle cover is located in a different room (column 6 lines 16-41 teach switches distributed throughout a building, which are known to have rooms and WIFI in particular is well-known to connected devices in different rooms) in the same building than the electrical receptacle cover assembly 100”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to connect different devices in a building together (Azih, column 6 lines 16-41).
With regard to claim 7, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 6”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 lines 10-34 and column 6 lines 16-41: “wherein the electrical receptacle cover assembly 100 is configured to be detachable from the electrical receptacle 120 in a first room in the same building and attached to different electrical receptacle 120 in a second room of the same building so as to provide RF communication coverage in the second room (column 6 lines 16-41 teach switches distributed throughout a building, which are known to have rooms and WIFI in particular is well-known to connected devices in different rooms)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to provide a larger broadcast range (Azih, column 9 lines 1-14).
With regard to claim 8, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 4”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 55 - column 6 line 41: “wherein the other RF circuitry 280 of the another electrical receptacle cover assembly 100 and the RF circuitry of the electrical receptacle cover assembly 100 are both components of a radio distribution network”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih in order to connect different devices in a building together (Azih, column 6 lines 16-41).
With regard to claim 9, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 8”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 55 - column 6 line 41: “wherein the RF circuitry 280 is configured to forward one or more data packets originating in the same building from a modem or router (column 6 lines 16-26 teach the RF circuitry functioning as a router distributing data from a network to another device) to another device 610 in the radio distribution network”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to connect different devices in a building together (Azih, column 6 lines 16-41).
With regard to claim 10, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 4”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 55 - column 6 line 41: “wherein the other RF circuitry (280 of the another switch described in column 6 lines 16-26) of the another electrical receptacle cover assembly and the RF circuitry 280 of the electrical receptacle cover assembly 100 are both components of a computer network (column 6 lines 16-26 describes multiple switches being part of a network that includes computers)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to connect different devices in a building together (Azih, column 6 lines 16-41).
With regard to claim 11, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 10”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 55 - column 6 line 41: “wherein the RF circuitry 280 is configured to forward one or more data packets originating in the building from a modem or router to another device in the computer network (column 6 lines 16-26 teach data transferred from a modem or router to the RF circuitry and to other devices in a computer network)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to connect different devices in a building together (Azih, column 6 lines 16-41).
With regard to claim 12, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 11”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 8 line 62 - column 10 line 38: “wherein the one or more data packets include computer readable instructions to be executed on the another device 610 (column 8 line 62 - column 10 line 38 teach data being passed to mobile devices which then read the data provided)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to automate the distribution of relevant data to users based on their location (Azih, column 9 lines 27-38).
With regard to claim 13, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 10”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 8 line 13 - column 10 line 38: “wherein the computer network 420 extends outside of the building (column 8 lines 20-23 teach the network extending outside of one building) and at least one device 710 on the computer network 420 is accessible in a communication channel that at least partially includes Internet connectivity (column 8 lines 13-19 teach the network including internet connectivity)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih in order to use the network across several sites (column 8 lines 20-23).
With regard to claim 15, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 1”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 55 - column 6 line 41: “further comprising: a processor 340 configured to exchange data over a wired communication channel (described in column 6 lines 16-41) with at least another electrical cover assembly, wherein at least a portion of the data exchanged over the wired communication channel is exchanged over a wireless RF communication channel with at least one of the first external RF device 420 and the second external RF device 610(a)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to connect different devices in a building together (Azih, column 6 lines 16-41).
With regard to claim 20, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 1”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 55 - column 6 line 41 and column 7 lines 10-25: “further comprising: programmable circuity configured to receive power from the power supply 310 and process computer readable instructions (described in column 7 lines 10-25 to execute control operations”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order for the processor to perform various actions (Azih, column 7 lines 20-25).
With regard to claim 23, Soules teaches, as shown in figures 1-9 and taught in column 8 line 59 -column 9 line 59: “A method for extending radio frequency (RF) communications via an electrical receptacle cover assembly (40 and 44), the method comprising: disposing an electrical receptacle cover 44 over an electrical receptacle 40; electrically connecting a first flexible transmission tab 45 that extends from the electrical receptacle cover 44 to a neutral terminal 46 of the electrical receptacle 40; electrically connecting a second flexible transmission tab 45’ that extends from the electrical receptacle cover 44 to a live terminal of the electrical receptacle 40; extending RF data communications (through RF receiver taught in column 9 lines 26-59)… via RF radio frequency (RF) circuitry (RF receiver taught in column 9 lines 26-59)… the RF circuitry 55 being integrated with the electrical receptacle cover assembly; supplying power from a power supply (main supply line described in column 9 lines 5-10) that draws electricity via the first transmission tab 45 and the second 45’ transmission tabs; reducing a voltage from the supplied power to power on-board devices (through capacitive divider taught in column 9 lines 5-10) that include… a microphone, a light, and a speaker (smoke alarm and doorbell annunciator described in column 9 lines 37-39); providing the supplied power to the RF circuitry 55; and the on-board devices 55, the power supply being integrated with the electrical receptacle cover assembly”.
Soules does not teach extending RF communications between a first external RF device and a second external RF device via radio frequency (RF) circuity that includes both a RF transmitter and an RF receiver… receiving by the RF receiver an input RF signal that carries data sent from the first external RF device; transmitting by the RF transmitter an RF output signal that carries the data to the second external RF device”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Azih teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in column 5 line 10 - column 6 line 30 and column 9 lines 1-57, “extending radio frequency (RF) communications between a first external RF device 420 and a second external RF device 610(a) is radio frequency (RF) circuity 280 that includes a RF transmitter 320 and an RF receiver 320, the RF circuitry 280 being integrated with the electrical receptacle cover assembly 100: supplying power from a power supply 310 that draws electricity via the first transmission tab (connection to neutral wire 290 described in column 5 lines 27-34) and the second transmission tabs (power line wire 290 described in column 5 lines 27-34), and provides a supplied power at a predetermined voltage to the RF circuitry 280, the power supply 310 being integrated with the electrical receptacle cover assembly 100; receiving by the RF receiver 320 an input RF signal (signal from 420 in figure 7) that carries data sent from the first external RF device 420; and transmitting by the RF transmitter 420 an RF output signal (signal to 610(a) in figure 7) that carries the data to the second external RF device 610(a)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules in order to provide a larger broadcast range (Azih, column 9 lines 1-14).
Neither Soules nor Azih teach the on-board devices also including a camera or “and streaming video and audio from the on-board devices to the second external RF device”. However, this is merely a recitation of the intended use of the it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the electrical receptacle cover assembly to include and provide power to a camera and microphone and to provide streaming to the second RF device, since adding these devices to structures with a power supply in order to allow the capture of video and sound for wireless communication of the sound and video for security systems (see Chien, paragraphs 156 and 254 teach a camera-assembly including a Wi-Fi extender (which in paragraph 74 of the instant application includes Wi-Fi extenders as RF extenders) between external devices and transmission of video two a second external device) and Soules teaches in column 10 lines 4-12 that the load on the circuitry can be any components depending on the desired functionality, which is provided by the components described in Chien.
With regard to claim 24, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 1”, as shown above.
Chien also teaches, as taught paragraphs 136: “wherein the on-board devices 55 are coupled to at least one sensor and stream to the second external RF device when the at least one sensor is activated”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these features of Chien with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to allow security monitoring (Chien, paragraph 135).
With regard to claim 25, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 24”, as shown above.
Chien also teaches, as taught paragraph 380: “further comprising an on/off switch configured to override the sensor”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Chien with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to allow on-demand control of the assembly (Chien, paragraph 380).
Claims 16-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soules (6,423,900) in view of Azih (9,756,477), Chien (2018/0332204), and Rohmer et al. (2017/0025886).
With regard to claim 16, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Soules nor Azih nor Chien teach: “further comprising: an external device support platform coupled to the electrical receptacle cover, wherein the power supply includes a charger that is integrated into the external device support platform and is configured to charge an external device under a condition the external device is hosted on the external device support platform”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Rohmer teaches, as shown in figures 1A-1F and taught in paragraphs 137-139: “further comprising: an external device support platform 30-3 coupled to the electrical receptacle cover 30, wherein the power supply 20 includes a charger 20-10 that is integrated into the external device support platform 30-3 and is configured to charge an external device 1 under a condition the external device 1 is hosted on the external device support platform 30-3”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Rohmer with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to provide charging functionality (Rohmer, paragraph 137).
With regard to claim 17, Soules as modified by Azih, Chien, and Rohmer teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 16”, as shown above.
Rohmer also teaches, as shown in figures 1A-1F and taught in paragraphs 137-139: “wherein the charger includes an inductive charger 20-10 that inductively charges the external device 1 that is hosted on the external device support platform 30-3”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Rohmer with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to provide charging functionality (Rohmer, paragraph 137).
With regard to claim 18, Soules as modified by Azih, Chien, and Rohmer teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 16”, as shown above.
Rohmer also teaches, as shown in figures 1A-1F and taught in paragraphs 137-139: “wherein the external device support platform 30-3 includes an electrical contact 10-8 configured to provide power to the external device 1”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Rohmer with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih, Chien, and Rohmer in order to provide charging functionality (Rohmer, paragraph 137).
With regard to claim 19, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 18”, as shown above.
Rohmer also teaches, as shown in figures 1A-1F and taught in paragraphs 137-139: “wherein the electrical contact 10-8 is a universal serial bus (USB) port”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Rohmer with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih in order to provide charging functionality (Rohmer, paragraph 137).
With regard to claim 21, Soules as modified by Azih and Chien teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Soules nor Azih nor Chien teach: “wherein the electrical receptacle cover includes two electrical receptacle mounting apertures that expose corresponding electrical outlets, exposure of the electrical outlets provides plug-in access of a device to either of the electrical outlets so the device can draw power from the electrical outlet to which it is plugged-in”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Rohmer teaches, as shown in figures 1A-1F and taught in paragraphs 137-139: “wherein the electrical receptacle cover 30 includes two electrical receptacle mounting apertures 10-6 that expose corresponding electrical outlets, exposure of the electrical outlets provides plug-in access of a device 1 to either of the electrical outlets so the device 1 can draw power from the electrical outlet to which it is plugged-in”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Rohmer with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih and Chien in order to provide charging functionality (Rohmer, paragraph 137).
With regard to claim 22, Soules, as modified by Azih, Chien, and Rohmer teaches: “The electrical receptacle cover assembly of claim 21”, as shown above.
Azih also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “the RF receiver 320 and RF transmitter 320 are operational and draw electricity from the power supply 310”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Azih with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih, Chien, and Rohmer in order to provide power to the RF receiver and RF transmitter.
Rohmer also teaches, as shown in figures 1A-1F: “wherein the electric outlet provides power to the device 1, while” the other device 20. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine Rohmer with the invention of Soules as modified by Azih, Chien, and Rohmer in order to provide power to an antenna as well as to other devices through the electrical outlets (Rohmer, paragraph 139).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Soules teaches the voltage reducing circuitry in a different embodiment and the tabs are labeled as “spring plates” which indicates flexibility, as well as the load on the cover circuit being adjustable. Changing the elements for other or additional known elements connected to circuitry is an obvious modification to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831