DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks filed on 12/29/2025.
Currently, claims 1-15 and 19-21 are pending in the application. Currently, claims 4, 5, 19, and 20 are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-15 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over KHANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0149089) in view of KURIHARA et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0066769) and further in view of PARK et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0323875).
Regarding independent claim 1, Khang teaches a photoelectric conversion apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising a semiconductor layer (Figs. 2 & 12A, 105, ¶ [0031]) arranged with a pixel region (Figs. 1 & 2A, CA, ¶ [0023]) including a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (Fig. 2A, 150a + 112, ¶¶ [0030]-[0035]) and a light-shielding region (Figs. 1 & 12A, OB, ¶ [0133]) light-shielded by a light-shielding layer (Fig. 12A, 156, ¶ [0138]),
wherein the light-shielding region includes a first light-shielding region (Fig. 12A, area occupied by separation structure 1148 adjacent and to the right of reference region 150b, ¶ [0134] teaches that 1148 has the same structure as separation structure 148 (Figs. 2A-2B)) having a first trench structure (Fig. 12A, 1136, ¶ [0134] teaches that 1148 includes lower separation structure 1136 and upper separation structure 1146, respectively corresponding to the lower separation structure 136 and upper separation structure 146 of separation structure 146 (Figs. 2A & 2B). ¶ [0134] further teaches that 1148 can be modified according to the embodiment of Fig. 11A.) and a second trench structure (Figs. 2A & 11A & 12A, provided in the semiconductor layer and a second light-shielding region (Fig. 12A, area of 150b, ¶ [0136]) arranged between the first light-shielding region and the pixel region,
the semiconductor layer includes a first surface (Fig. 12A, 105s1, ¶ [0031]) and a second surface (Fig. 12A, 105s2, ¶ [0031]) on an opposite side to the first surface,
the first trench structure extends from the first surface (Fig. 2B, ¶ [0155] teaches that trench 130 passes through isolation layer 108s and is filled with insulating material. Thus, trench 130 extends from the side 105s1 of the semiconductor substrate 150.) toward the second surface,
the second trench structure extends from the second surface toward the first surface,
relation of (D/2) ≤T1< D, where T1 is a depth from the first surface of the first trench structure, and D is a thickness of the semiconductor layer (Fig. 11A, ¶ [0134] teaches that 1148 can be modified according to the embodiment of Fig. 11A. Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify 1148 according to the embodiment of Fig.11A in order to reduce manufacturing costs. Lower separation structure 636 (¶ [0127]), corresponding to 136/1136, extends pass horizontal central axis Ch (¶ [0067]) and does not contact the top of 105. Therefore, 1136 modified according to the embodiment of Fig. 11A fulfills the claimed relation.),
the first trench structure and the second trench structure are arranged apart from each other in an orthogonal projection with respect to the first surface (Fig. 11A, 636 and upper separation structure 646 are spaced apart (¶ [0127]). Therefore, 1136 and 1146 modified according to Fig. 11A fulfills this limitation), and
the first trench structure and the second trench structure overlap at least partly in an orthogonal projection orthogonal to the first surface and provided with respect to a virtual surface (see overlapping area OA in annotated Figure 11A below. The virtual surface of OA is directly to the left of 636 and 646, and thus would correspond to the area between 150b and 1148 in Fig. 12A) along a boundary between the first light-shielding region and the second light-shielding region (see annotated Figure 11A below).
the semiconductor layer is further arranged with a peripheral region (Figs 1 & 12C, PA, ¶ [0022]), at least part of which is not covered with the light-shielding layer (Fig. 12C, light shielding layer 156 is not present in PA), between an end portion of the semiconductor layer and the second light-shielding region (Fig. 1, PA is to the right of region OB that includes 1148),
the peripheral region is provided with a bonding pad (Fig. 12C, 32, ¶ [0146]),
the second surface is provided with an opening portion (Fig. 12C, area of via hole 155b) for exposing the bonding pad (Fig. 12C, 32 is exposed to connection conductive layer 158a),
the first surface is provided with a pad separation trench structure (Fig. 12C, vertical portions of 153b adjacent to 155b, ¶ [0043]) between the opening portion and at least one of the first trench structure and the second trench structure (Figs. 1 & 12C, vertical portions of 153b would be between 155b and the structures of Fig. 2A),
a depth from the first surface of the pad separation trench structure is deeper than the depth from the first surface of the first trench structure (T1) and is deeper than the depth from the second surface of the second trench structure (T2) (Fig. 12C, the vertical portions of 153b extend completely through semiconductor substrate 105 while separation structures 636/646 only extend partially through 105).
Annotated Khang Fig. 11A
However, Khang does not explicitly teach that (D/2) ≤T2 < D is satisfied, T2 is a depth from the second surface of the second trench structure, and D is a thickness of the semiconductor layer, and a width of the pad separation trench structure is larger than a width of the first trench structure.
However, Kurihara is a pertinent art that teaches (D/2) ≤T2 < D is satisfied, T2 is a depth from the second surface of the second trench structure (Fig. 11, 109, ¶¶ [0022] & [0049]), and D is a thickness of the semiconductor layer (¶ [0022] teaches that the depth of trench 109 can be half or more of the thickness of substrate 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khang’s upper separation layer according to the teaching of Kurihara (Fig. 11) in order to prevent the diffusion of impurities (Kurihara ¶ [0022]).
However, Khang modified by Kurihara does not explicitly teach that a width of the pad separation trench structure is larger than a width of the first trench structure.
However, Park is a pertinent art that teaches that a width of the pad separation trench structure (Fig. 6, 120a, ¶ [0100]) is larger than a width of the first trench structure (Fig. 6, 120d, ¶ [0153] teaches a pixel isolation pattern that would correspond to one of Khang’s separation structures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of Khang’s pad separation trench structure according to the teaching of Park (Fig. 6) in order to electrically insulate the via structure (Park ¶ [0153]).
Regarding claim 2, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
However, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park does not explicitly teach that a relation of 0.5 (T1/T2) 1.5 is further satisfied.
However, it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a separation structure should be sufficiently tall enough to effectively isolate regions apart from each other while being sufficiently short enough to reduce manufacturing costs. One having ordinary skill in the art would have to account for these competing considerations. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize the height of Khang’s separation layers and could have easily arrived within the Applicant’s claimed range without resorting to the Applicant’s disclosure. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 214405.
Regarding claim 3, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang teaches that at least one of the first trench structure (Fig. 11A, 636, ¶ [0127]) and the second trench structure (Fig. 11A, 646, ¶ [0127]) includes an extending portion extending along one side of the boundary, and the extending portion is continuous from one end to another end along the one side (see annotated Fig. 11A above).
Regarding claim 6, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang teaches that if a region onto which the first trench structure (Fig. 11A, 636, ¶ [0127]) and the second trench structure (Fig. 11A, 646, ¶ [0127]) are projected in an orthogonal projection with respect to the virtual surface is a virtual region, there is no straight path connecting between the first light-shielding region and the second light- shielding region without passing through a portion where the first trench structure and the second trench structure overlap each other in parallel with the first surface at a height at which a portion of the virtual region where the first trench structure and the second trench structure overlap each other is arranged (see annotated Fig. 11A above. There is no straight line passing through overlapping area OA that does not pass through at least a portion of 636 or 646.).
Regarding claim 7, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang teaches that in an orthogonal projection with respect to the first surface (Fig. 12A, 105s1, ¶ [0031]), the second light-shielding region (Fig. 12A, area of 150b, ¶ [0136]) surrounds the pixel region (Figs. 1 & 2A, region OB, which includes region 150b, surrounds at least a portion of the region CA, ¶ [0022]), and the first light-shielding region (Fig. 12A, area occupied by separation structure 1148 surrounds at least a portion of 150b, ¶ [0134]) surrounds the second light-shielding region.
Regarding claim 8, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, and Khang teaches that in an orthogonal projection with respect to the virtual surface (see OA in annotated Fig.11A above), a portion where the first trench structure (Fig. 11A, 636, ¶ [0127]) and the second trench structure (Fig. 11A, 646, ¶ [0127]) overlap each other continuously surrounds the second light-shielding region (Fig. 12A, at least a portion of the overlapping area of 1148 modified according to Fig. 11A would continuously surround at least a portion of the region 150b).
Regarding claim 9, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang teaches that at least part of the first trench structure is buried with an insulating film, an insulating film and polysilicon (Figs. 2B & 11A, 142/642 + 144/644, ¶¶ [0051] & [0127] teaches that Khang’s separation structure 146/646 can include an insulating film and polysilicon. Khang teaches at least one option required by the claim and therefore fulfils this limitation), or an insulating film and epitaxial silicon.
Regarding claim 10, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang teaches that at least part of the second trench (Figs. 2B & 11A, 146/646, ¶ [0051] teaches that 146, corresponding to 646 (¶ [0127]), includes an insulating material layer 142) structure is buried with an insulating film or an insulating film and a metal film.
Regarding claim 11, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first trench structure (Fig. 11A, 636, ¶ [0127]) and the second trench structure (Fig. 11A, 636, ¶ [0127]) have a deep trench isolation (DTI) structure (Figs. 2B & 11A, 136/636 + 146/646, teaches that 636 and 646 include insulating materials. Khang modified according to the teaching of Kurihara (Kurihara Fig. 11, ¶ [0022]) has upper and lower separation structures are in trenches that are deeper than half of the substrate. Therefore, Khang modified by Kurihara’s separation structures can be considered to have a deep trench isolation structure.).
Regarding claim 12, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang the light-shielding region (Figs. 1 & 12A, OB, ¶ [0133]) further includes a third light-shielding region (Figs. 2B & 12A, 127 to the left of 150b, ¶ [0040]) arranged between the second light-shielding region (Fig. 12A, area of 150b, ¶ [0136]) and the pixel region, with a third trench structure (Figs. 2B & 12A, 136, ¶ [0045], the Examiner notes that 136 is unlabeled in Fig. 12A.) and a fourth trench structure (Fig. 12A, 146, ¶ [0045], the Examiner notes that 146 is unlabeled in Fig. 12A.) being provided in the semiconductor layer, the third trench structure extends (Fig. 2B, ¶ [0155] teaches that trench 130 passes through isolation layer 108s and is filled with insulating material. Thus, trench 130 extends from the side 105s1 of the semiconductor substrate 150.) from the first surface (Fig. 12A, 105s1, ¶ [0031]) toward the second surface (Fig. 12A, 105s2, ¶ [0031]), the fourth trench structure extends from the second surface toward the first surface, relation of (D/2) ≤T3 <D is satisfied, where T3 is a depth from the first surface of the third trench structure (Fig. 11A, ¶ [0127] teaches that the embodiment of Fig. 11A is a modification of 136 and 146. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify 136 and 146 according to the embodiment of Fig.11A in order to simplify manufacturing. Lower separation structure 636 (¶ [0127]), corresponding to 136 (see Fig. 2), extends pass horizontal central axis Ch (¶ [0067]) and does not contact the top of 105. Therefore, 130 modified according to the embodiment of Fig. 11A fulfills the claimed relation).,
and, the third trench structure and the fourth trench structure are arranged apart from each other (Fig. 11A) in an orthogonal projection with respect to the first surface, and the third trench structure and the fourth trench structure overlap at least partly in an orthogonal projection orthogonal to the first surface and provided with respect to a virtual surface (see overlapping area OA in annotated Figure 11A below. The virtual surface of OA is directly to the left of 636 and 646, and thus would correspond to the area between 150b and 1148 in Fig. 12A) along a boundary between the second light-shielding region and the third light-shielding region.
However, Khang does not explicitly teach a relation of (D/2) ≤T4 < D is satisfied, where T4 is a depth from the second surface of the fourth trench structure.
However, Kurihara is a pertinent art that teaches relation of (D/2) ≤T4 < D is satisfied (Fig. 11, 109, ¶¶ [0022] & [0049] teaches that the depth of trench 109 can be half or more of the thickness of substrate 100), where T4 is a depth from the second surface of the fourth trench structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khang’s upper separation layer according to the teaching of Kurihara (Fig. 11) in order to prevent the diffusion of impurities (Kurihara ¶ [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the third trench structure (Fig. 11A, 636, ¶ [0127]) and the fourth trench structure (Fig. 11A, 636, ¶ [0127]) have a deep trench isolation (DTI) structure (Figs. 2B & 11A, 136/636 + 146/646, teaches that 636 and 646 include insulating materials. Khang modified according to the teaching of Kurihara (Kurihara Fig. 11, ¶ [0022]) has upper and lower separation structures are in trenches that are deeper than half of the substrate. Therefore, Khang modified by Kurihara’s separation structures can be considered to have a deep trench isolation structure.).
Regarding claim 14, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang teaches that the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (Figs. 1 & 2A, 150a + 112, ¶¶ [0030]-[0035]) are arranged on the first surface (Fig. 12A, 105s1, ¶ [0031]), and the light-shielding layer (Fig. 12A, 156, ¶ [0138]) is arranged so as to cover the second surface (Fig. 12A, 105s2, ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang teaches that the second light-shielding region (Fig. 12A, area of 150b, ¶ [0136]) is provided with a photoelectric conversion element (Fig. 12A, 150b + 112, ¶¶ [0030] & [0136]) different from the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (Figs. 1 & 12A, 150b is positionally separate from 150a in the CA region), or a photoelectric conversion element different from the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements and a driving circuit configured to drive the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements.
Regarding claim 21, Khang modified by Kurihara modified by Park teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Khang teaches that the pad separation trench structure (Fig. 12C, vertical portions of 153b extend from the top surface of 105 to the bottom surface of 105) extends from the first surface to the second surface.
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813