Detailed Office Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is noted. Since this is a new amendment, its rejection is outlined below in the 35 USC 103 and double patenting sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5, and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 in its new amendment recites the limitation “such that a space between the die can be increased or decreased”. The phrase “between” indicates that the space is between the die and another object, however, that another object is not recited. Claims 4-5 and 7-18 depend on claim 1 and are rejected as well. The Examiner surmises that the space is between the die and the annular cooling ring, and for the purpose of the examination, replaces the above limitation with “such that a space between the die and the annular cooling ring can be increased or decreased”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONERMANN (US 5,281,375), hereinafter KONERMANN, in view of PLANETA (US 4,929,162), hereinafter PLANETA, and JOPPE (US-2012/0200001), hereinafter JOPPE. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, KONERMANN teaches An apparatus for cooling {[abstract], [C1, L6-7]}, the apparatus comprising:
an annular cooling ring operable for receiving a flow of a molten film bubble and expelling a flow of cooling gas {[C7, L39-45], [FIG. 10] 116 is the annular cooling ring, 110 is the molten film bubble and the arrow is the cooling gas},
the annular cooling ring comprising, a middle lip, and an outer lip located outwardly radially spaced from the middle lip {[FIG. 10] the vertical section to the right of numeral 116 is the outer lip, 118 is the middle lip, note that outer lip is outward in relation to the middle lip},
the middle lip having an extended length longer than the outer lip {[FIG. 10] note that 118 is taller than the outer lip, thus have an extended length},
a radially inner surface of the outer lip and a radially outer surface of the middle lip define a channel operable to allow the flow of cooling gas along the radially outer surface of the middle lip {[FIG. 10] note the horizontal arrow will become vertical when reaching the channel between 118 and the outer lip},
wherein the middle lip is located radially intermediate the channel and the molten film bubble {[FIG. 10] 118 is between the channel and the film bubble 110},
and wherein the middle lip isolates the molten film bubble from the flow of cooling gas until the flow of cooling gas passes beyond the extended length of the middle lip {[FIG. 10] note that once the cooling gas passes the tip of 118 it contacts the film 110},
wherein a portion of the extended length of the middle lip that extends beyond a length of the outer lip and an area radially outward from the radially outer surface of the middle lip define an open air zone {[FIG. 10] note to the left of the tip of 118 is the open air zone and is located radially outward},
wherein the open air zone allows the flow of cooling gas to flow along only the middle lip, wherein the outer lip does not extend past the extended length of the middle lip {[FIG. 10] note that to left of tip of 118 the outer lip does not extend, thus cooling gas is in contact with only the tip of the middle lip 118},
wherein the annular cooling ring is moveable with respect to a die from which the flow of the molten film bubble is received such that a space between the die and the annular cooling ring can be increased or decreased {[C7, L26-33] note the flexible coupling 14 that can vertically vary the position of the tip of nozzle 16, [FIG. 3 and 1] note the tip of nozzle 16 can be vertically adjusted and thus the space between this portion of annular cooling ring 3 and die 8 can be increased or decreased}.
KONERMANN, however, is silent on the cooling ring having an inner lip that is located inwardly in relation to the middle lip and thus provide and inner channel with regard to the middle lip.
In the same filed of endeavor that is related to cooling film bubble, PLANETA discloses an inner lip, a middle lip located outwardly radially spaced from the inner lip, the inner lip and the middle lip defining an inner channel operable to expel a flow of lubricating cooling gas between the middle lip and the molten film bubble {[C4, L1-13], [FIG.] 28 is the inner lip, the channel formed between 28 and 20 is the inner channel with the gas flow in between 20 and film bubble 10, note that the middle lip is disclosed by KONERMANN}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the inner lip defining an inner channel as disclosed by PLANETA in the cooling ring of KONERMANN.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure that the bubble cannot touch the deflector surface and become damaged/disrupted, as suggested by PLANETA {[C4, L14-30]}.
In the alternative, and if it can be argued that the limitation “such that a space between the die and the annular cooling ring can be increased or decreased” is meant to indicate that the entirety of the annular ring is moveable and not just the tip of nozzle, the combination of KONERMANN and PLANETA is silent on this limitation.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to producing and cooling film tubing, JOPPE discloses wherein the annular cooling ring is moveable with respect to a die from which the flow of the molten film bubble is received such that a space between the die and the annular cooling ring can be increased or decreased (claim 1) wherein a location of the annular cooling ring along a longitudinal axis of the molten film bubble is adjustable (claim 15) {[0010], [0028] note the lifting device can adjust the space between the die head and the cooling device vertically, [FIG. 1] note arrow 14 that indicates the space between cooling ring 12 and die 5 can be increased or decreased}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of JOPPE in the apparatus of the combination of KONERMANN and PLANETA and have made the annular cooling ring of KONERMANN height-adjustable.
As disclosed by JOPPE, the advantage of this adjustability is that optimum cooling effect can be achieved for the blown film of any diameter by this height adjustment {[0010]}.
Furthermore, and at the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the annular cooling ring disclosed by KONERMANN adjustable along the longitudinal axis as disclosed by JOPPE since it has been held that making adjustable only takes routine skill in the art and would not yield unpredictable results {see MPEP 2144.04(V)(D)}. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to control the dimensions of the film bubble.
Regarding claim 4 and 5, PLANETA discloses wherein the outer lip and middle lip are adjustable to increase and decrease the extended length (claim 4), wherein the outer lip and middle lip are adjustable to increase and decrease a length of the channel (claim 5) {[C4, L1-13] note vertical adjustment, [FIG.] the Examiner notes that the top lip member 22 can be vertically adjusted relative to the intermediate deflector member 20}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the outer lip and middle lip disclosed by KONERMANN adjustable relative to each other as disclosed by PLANETA since it has been held that making adjustable only takes routine skill in the art and would not yield unpredictable results. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(D). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to adjust the flow rate and pressure of the cooling air.
The Examiner notes that vertically adjusting the outer lip and middle lip of KONNERMAN would have increased/decreased both the extended length and length of the channel.
Regarding claim 7, KONERMANN teaches the apparatus further comprising an annular collar removeably attached to the annular cooling ring, the annular collar spaced from the middle lip and outwardly radially adjacent the middle lip {[C11, L38-53], [FIG. 10] 156 is the annular collar that as whon by double arrow is removeably attached to the annular ring and outward in relation to the middle lip}.
Regarding claim 8, KONERMANN teaches wherein an area between the radially outer surface of the extended length of the middle lip, the outer lip, and annular collar define an induction zone, wherein an annular gap formed between the annular collar and the middle lip define an induction gap to allow the flow of cooling gas {[FIG. 10] note the induction zone between 156 and 118}.
Regarding claim 9, KONERMANN teaches wherein the induction zone allows the flow of cooling gas from the channel to interact with only the radially outer surface of the middle lip {[FIG. 10]}.
Regarding claim 10, KONERMANN teaches wherein the annular collar and middle lip are adjustable to increase or decrease a size of the induction zone and the induction gap {[FIG. 10 and 12] note 158 is adjustable vertically and horizontally, note the as shown under claim 4/5 above the middle lip of combination of KONERMASNN/PLANETA is adjustable}.
Regarding claim 11, KONERMANN teaches wherein the flow of cooling gas passing through the induction gap is operable to create a venturi effect to cause the flow of cooling gas and a flow of gas from the induction zone to pass through the induction gap {[C12, L7-16], [FIG. 10 and 12] note change in the annular collar 156 position changes the flow resistance and is capable of being operated to create a venture effect which would flow gas from the induction zone through the gap}.
Regarding claim 12, KONERMANN teaches wherein the annular cooling ring is operable to expel the flow of cooling gas on at least one of (i) a radially exterior surface of the molten film bubble with the flow of the molten film bubble, (ii) the radially exterior surface of the molten film bubble against the flow of the molten film bubble, (iii) a radially interior surface of the molten film bubble with the flow of the molten film bubble, and (iv) a radially interior surface of the molten film bubble against the flow of the molten film bubble {[FIG. 10] note cooling gas is expelled and radially touches the external surface of bubble 110}.
Regarding claim 13, KONERMANN teaches wherein the annular cooling ring is located on one of (i) an exterior to the molten film bubble, and (ii) an interior to the molten film bubble {[FIG. 10] note annular cooling ring 116 is on the exterior of film bubble 110}.
Regarding claim 14, KONERMANN teaches the annular cooling ring further comprising at least one of an additional single flow of cooling gas, dual flow of cooling gas, triple flow of cooling gas, and multi flow of cooling gas {[FIG. 1] 4/5 is the additional single flow of cooling gas}.
Regarding claim 16, KONERMANN teaches wherein a location of the annular collar along a longitudinal axis of the molten film bubble relative to annular cooling ring is adjustable {[FIG. 12] note the vertical double arrow for the annular collar 156}.
Regarding claim 17, KONERMANN teaches wherein at least one of the channel and the inner channel are operable to expel a cooling fluid {[FIG. 10] note the channel between middle lip 118 and the outer lip that allows the passage of the cooling gas.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONERMANN, PLANETA, and JOPPE as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of PURSTINGER (US 6,296,464), hereinafter PURSTINGER.
Regarding claim 18, combination of KONERMANN, PLANETA, and JOPPE teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 17 as discussed above. This combination is, however, silent on the cooling fluid being water or a cryogenic gas.
In the same fled of endeavor that is related to cooling plasticized plastic, PURSTINGER discloses wherein the cooling fluid is one of water and cryogenic gas {[C3, L44-53]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the air disclosed by KONERMANN with the water or cryogenic gas disclosed by PURTINGER since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the skill of an artisan {see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)}. Predictable results will be obtained because both are cooling fluid.
The Examiner also notes that KONERMANN further teaches that other cooling gasses with different heat capacities may be used instead of air {[C3, L46-50]}. Therefore, an artisan would have been motivated to look to prior art and determine what other cooling medium are appropriate for this purpose. Such prior art is PURSTINGER.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5, and 7-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,458,666, in view of KONERMANN and/or JOPPE.
Regarding independent instant claim 1, US 11,458,666 claims all the limitation of the instant claim, except that it does not claim the last amended limitation of “wherein the annular cooling ring is moveable with respect to a die from which the flow of the molten film bubble is received such that a space between the die and the annular cooling ring can be increased or decreased”.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to production of bubble film, KONERMANN discloses wherein the annular cooling ring is moveable with respect to a die from which the flow of the molten film bubble is received such that a space between the die and the annular cooling ring can be increased or decreased {[C7, L26-33] note the flexible coupling 14 that can vertically vary the position of the tip of nozzle 16, [FIG. 3 and 1] note the tip of nozzle 16 can be vertically adjusted and thus the space between this portion of annular cooling ring 3 and die 8 can be increased or decreased}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incoprtated the teaching of KONERMANN in claim 1 of US 11,458,666. As shown by, KONERMANN the advantage of such configuration is the easy access of cooling gas to the molten film bubble {[FIG. 1]}.
In the alternative, and if it can be argued that the limitation “such that a space between the die and the annular cooling ring can be increased or decreased” is meant to indicate that the entirety of the annular ring is moveable and not just the tip of nozzle, claim 1 of US 11,458,666 is silent on this limitation.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to producing and cooling film tubing, JOPPE discloses wherein the annular cooling ring is moveable with respect to a die from which the flow of the molten film bubble is received such that a space between the die and the annular cooling ring can be increased or decreased {[0010], [0028] note the lifting device can adjust the space between the die head and the cooling device vertically, [FIG. 1] note arrow 14 that indicates the space between cooling ring 12 and die 5 can be increased or decreased}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of JOPPE in the claim 1 of US 11,458,666.
As disclosed by JOPPE, the advantage of this adjustability is that optimum cooling effect can be achieved for the blown film of any diameter by this height adjustment {[0010]}.
Furthermore, and at the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the annular cooling ring disclosed by claim 1 of US 11,458,666 adjustable along the longitudinal axis as disclosed by JOPPE since it has been held that making adjustable only takes routine skill in the art and would not yield unpredictable results {see MPEP 2144.04(V)(D)}. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to control the dimensions of the film bubble.
The Examiner also notes that claim 1 of US 11,458,666 claims that the outer lip cannot extend past the extended length of the middle lip. This limitation although not identical to the corresponding limitation of instant claim 1 (the outer lip does not extend past the extended length of the middle lip), however, “does not extend” is unpatentable in view of “cannot extend”. The Examiner also notes that the limitation of inner lip in instant claim 1 is claimed in claim 4 of US 11,458,666.
Claims 4-5 are claimed by claims 2-3 of US 11,458,666, respectively.
Claims 7-11 is claimed by claims 7-11 of US 11,458,666, respectively.
Claim 12 is claimed by claim 13 of US 11,458,666.
Claim 13 is claimed by claim 14 of US 11,458,666.
Claim 14 is claimed by claim 15 of US 11,458,666.
Claim 15 is claimed by claim 16 of US 11,458,666.
Claim 16 is claimed by claim 12 of US 11,458,666.
Claim 17 is claimed by claim 5 of US 11,458,666.
Claim 18 is claimed by claim 6 of US 11,458,666.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748