DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 12/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 10-11, 14, 16-18 and 20-27 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 of claim 16. Accordingly, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and all subsequent dependent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the references cited in the most current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, 14, 18, 20, 22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tocquet (US 4100527 A) in view of Zhuang (TW M442515 U, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 10, Tocquet teaches a core component for a towable sonar apparatus, comprising: at least one sensor (11-13). (Abstract, Col.4, line 62-Col.5, line 10, Figs.3-3a)
Tocquet also teaches a core member (21a), wherein the at least one sensor (11-13) is located inside the core member (21a). (Figs.3-3a)
Tocquet also teaches an end cap (covers 2, 3, 17, 18) at a first end of the core member (21a), wherein the end cap comprises a first connection part connectable to a casing (acoustic uncoupling joints 19a, 19b, central member 14, threaded extremities or ends 14a, 14b). (Col.3, lines 47-61, Col.4, line 62-Col.5, line 4, Col.5, lines 11-28, Claims 5-6, Figs.3-3a)
Tocquet does not explicitly teach a wherein the end cap comprises a first connection part detachably connectable to a casing.
Zhuang teaches wherein the end cap (12) comprises a first connection part (first straight bore 111) detachably connectable (coupled (screwed)) to a casing. (Pages.1-3, Figs.1-3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Tocquet to incorporate wherein the end cap comprises a first connection part detachably connectable to a casing in order to achieve sealing and waterproofing of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Tocquet teaches wherein the end cap is further configured to connect to another core component. (Col.4, line 62-68-Col.5, line 4, Figs.3-3a)
Regarding claim 14, Tocquet teaches A kit-of-parts comprising: the core component according to claim 10 and a casing (26) for a towable sonar apparatus, comprising: a tubular member configured to be provided around the core component; and a second connection part (15-16, 17-18) detachably connectable to the first connection part of the core component. (Figs.3-3a)
Regarding claim 18, Tocquet teaches a method of manufacturing the module according to claim 25, the method comprising: forming a core component comprising at least one sensor and a first connection part; forming a casing comprising a tubular member and a second connection part detachably connectable to the first connection part of the core component; and inserting the core component into the casing such that the tubular member is provided around the core component and such that the second connection part of the casing is detachably connected to the first connection part of the core component. (Abstract, Col.3, lines 47-61, Col.4, line 62-Col.5, line 10, Col.5, lines 11-28, Claims 5-6, Figs.3-3a)
Regarding claim 20, Tocquet teaches a method of manufacturing the core component according to claim 10, the method comprising: forming a core member, wherein at least one sensor is located inside the core member; and forming an end cap, connectable to a first end of the core member, comprising a first connection part connectable to a casing. (Abstract, Col.3, lines 47-61, Col.4, line 62-Col.5, line 10, Col.5, lines 11-28, Claims 5-6, Figs.3-3a)
Regarding claim 22, Tocquet teaches wherein the tubular member is a second tubular member (26) and wherein the core component further comprises a first tubular member, wherein the at least one sensor is located within the first tubular member. (Col.5, lines 23-32, Figs.3-3a)
Regarding claim 25, Tocquet teaches a module or a towable sonar apparatus, comprising the kit-of-parts according to claim 14, wherein the tubular member of the casing is provided around the core component and wherein the second connection part is detachably connected to the first connection part of the core component. (Figs.3-3a)
Regarding claim 26, Tocquet teaches a towable sonar apparatus, comprising the module according to claim 25. (Abstract, Figs.3-3a)
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tocquet in view of Zhuang and Schinault (“Investigation and Design of a Towable Hydrophone Array for General Ocean Sensing”, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 16, Tocquet teaches to manufacture the module of claim 25. (Figs.3-3a)
Tocquet does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to control an additive manufacturing apparatus.
Schinault teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to control an additive manufacturing apparatus. (Abstract, Section. III. ARRAY CONSTRUCTION)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Tocquet to incorporate a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to control an additive manufacturing apparatus in order to develop a low-cost alternative to obtain quality acoustic data from a towed array system.
Regarding claim 17, Tocquet teaches wherein the product is the module of claim 25. (Figs.3-3a)
Tocquet does not explicitly teach a method of manufacturing a device via additive manufacturing, the method comprising: obtaining an electronic file representing a geometry of a product; and controlling an additive manufacturing apparatus to manufacture, over one or more additive manufacturing steps, the product according to the geometry specified in the electronic file.
Schinault teaches a method of manufacturing a device via additive manufacturing, the method comprising: obtaining an electronic file representing a geometry of a product; and controlling an additive manufacturing apparatus to manufacture, over one or more additive manufacturing steps, the product according to the geometry specified in the electronic file. (Abstract, Section. III. ARRAY CONSTRUCTION)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Tocquet to incorporate a method of manufacturing a device via additive manufacturing, the method comprising: obtaining an electronic file representing a geometry of a product; and controlling an additive manufacturing apparatus to manufacture, over one or more additive manufacturing steps, the product according to the geometry specified in the electronic file in order to develop a low-cost alternative to obtain quality acoustic data from a towed array system.
Claim(s) 21, 23-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tocquet in view of Zhuang and Hillesund (US 20080074946 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Tocquet does not explicitly teach wherein the tubular member has an outer diameter at least 1.5 times the outer diameter of the core component.
Hillesund teaches wherein the tubular member has an outer diameter at least 1.5 times the outer diameter of the core component. (Paragraphs 27, 34, 43)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Tocquet to incorporate wherein the tubular member has an outer diameter at least 1.5 times the outer diameter of the core component in order to strength the device to avoid damage and short circuit while in use.
Regarding claim 23, Tocquet teaches wherein the core component further comprises a first end cap (2, 17) being at a first end of the first tubular member and comprising the first connection part (19a, 14a), and wherein the casing further comprises a second end cap (3, 18) at a first end of the second tubular member, the second connection part (19b, 14b) being an internal connection part of the second end cap. (Col.4, line 62-Col.5, line 32, Figs.3- 3a)
Tocquet does not explicitly teach the second end cap further comprising an external connection part connectable to another module
Hillesund teaches the second end cap further comprising an external connection part connectable to another module. (Paragraphs 34, 37, Figs.3-6)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Tocquet to incorporate the second end cap further comprising an external connection part connectable to another module in order to improve the quality of seismic data interpretation and reduce the various forms of noise detected by the seismic sensors by having multiple modules thus further resulting in more data.
Regarding claim 24, Tocquet does not explicitly teach wherein the core component further comprises: a third end cap at a second end of the first tubular member; and a longitudinal strength member connected between the first end cap and the third end cap.
Hillesund teaches wherein the core component further comprises: a third end cap at a second end of the first tubular member; and a longitudinal strength member (42) connected between the first end cap and the third end cap. (Paragraphs 34-35, 37, Claim 1, Figs.2-6)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Tocquet to incorporate wherein the core component further comprises: a third end cap at a second end of the first tubular member; and a longitudinal strength member connected between the first end cap and the third end cap in order to provide effective coupling to the water in which the streamer is towed.
Regarding claim 27, Tocquet teaches the towable sonar apparatus of claim 26. (See Paragraph 17 above)
Tocquet does not explicitly teach a vessel comprising a towable sonar apparatus.
Hillesund teaches a vessel comprising a towable sonar apparatus. (Paragraphs 24, 26, Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Tocquet to incorporate a vessel comprising a towable sonar apparatus in order to detect and record seismic signals reflected and/or refracted from the Earth's subsurface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645