DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 03/10/2020. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2020-041170 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-2, 5, and 8-11 have been amended.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
1. Amendment made to claim 2 filed on 09/30/2025 has been considered and accepted by the examiner. Therefore, the Claim Objection has been withdrawn.
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG et al. (US 2022/0408402, hereinafter “LIANG”) in view of KUMAR (US 20210022111, hereinafter, “KUMAR”).
Claim 1. LIANG teaches: A terminal apparatus comprising: - See Fig. 1, 3
one or more processors; - See Fig. 13, ¶ [0008], (“The terminal device comprises a processor”) and one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to: - See Fig. 13, ¶ [0008], (“The terminal device comprises a processor and a memory coupled to the processor. The memory stores instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the terminal device to perform the method”)
obtain a plurality of offset values for calculating a changed timing of paging; select an offset value among the plurality of offset values for calculating the changed timing of paging; - in ¶ [0081], (“the terminal device 120 may determine a candidate for an offset value with respect to the first paging, and transmit the candidate to the network device 110.”); See Fig. 3, ¶ [0095], (“the terminal device 120 may transmit 360′ the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card to the core network element”)
transmit a predetermined notification regarding a paging frame or paging occasion to a core network apparatus - See Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶ [0049], (“the terminal device 120 may calculate respective monitoring occasions (also referred to as paging occasion information hereafter)…the paging occasion information may comprise parameters about a paging frame (PF) and a paging occasion (PO).”); ¶ [0066], (“If the first paging occasion information overlaps with the second paging occasion information, the terminal device 120 may transmit, to the core network element 131, a request for further updated identity information. For example, the terminal device 120 may send a NAS message to the core network element 131 so that the core network element 131 may assign new identity information associated with the first paging to the terminal device 120 for determination updated first paging occasion information”, this aligns with the predetermined notification (NAS message), where the terminal device informs the core network element about a detected paging collision) to which a base station apparatus is connected, - See Fig. 1, 2A-2B, ¶ [0043], (“The core network element 131 may communicate with the first and second network devices 110 and 111. The terminal device 120 may communicate with the core network element 131 via the NAS layer”)
wherein the predetermined notification includes the selected offset value; - in ¶ [0081], (“the terminal device 120 may determine a candidate for an offset value with respect to the first paging, and transmit the candidate to the network device 110.”); See Fig. 3, ¶ [0095], (“the terminal device 120 may transmit 360′ the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card to the core network element”) and
calculate a paging frame or paging occasion using the selected offset value, - in ¶ [0049 -0050], (“the terminal device 120 may calculate respective monitoring occasions (also referred to as paging occasion information hereafter)…the paging occasion information may comprise parameters about a paging frame (PF) and a paging occasion (PO). For example, the paging occasion information may comprise at least one of a paging periodic, an on duration, a paging frame offset. For example, 3GPP specifications…specify the calculation as below…The PF and PO for paging are determined by the following formulae: SFN for the PF is determined by: (SFN+PF_offset) mod T=(T div N)*(UE_ID mod N)”)
in a case where timings of paging of a plurality of base station apparatuses coincide with each other in the terminal apparatus. – See Fig. 1, ¶ [0042], (“the first network device 110 serves the first USIM card 121 and the second network device 111 serves the second USIM card 122. “, plurality of base stations); See Fig.2A, ¶ [0060 - 0062], (“the terminal device 120 may determine 210 whether the first paging occasion information associated with the first USIM card 121 overlaps with the second paging occasion information associated with the second USIM card…the paging occasion information may include PF and PO…the terminal device 120 may calculate respective PF and PO for the first and second USIM cards 121 and 122 in accordance with the formulae specified…terminal device 120 may determine 210′ an updated first paging occasion information…the terminal device 120 may transmit 220 an indication of the paging collision to the network device 110.”)
LIANG does not explicitly teach:
obtain a plurality of offset values for calculating a changed timing of paging;
select an offset value among the plurality of offset values for calculating the changed timing of paging;
However, KUMAR teaches:
obtain a plurality of offset values for calculating a changed timing of paging; - See Fig. 5, ¶ [0079], (“At 509, the base station 502 may broadcast a set of PF offsets including multiple (K) PF offsets to the UE 504 in a SIB (e.g., SIB1).”); See Fig. 4, ¶ [0062], (“There are various aspects that may address the problems of persistent PO collisions for a multi-SIM/USIM UE. FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating an example of a design to address the problems of persistent PO collisions for a multi-SIM/USIM UE. In some aspects, a default PF for a multi-SIM/USIM UE may be modified.”)
select an offset value among the plurality of offset values for calculating the changed timing of paging; - See Fig. 4, ¶ [0079], (“At 509, the base station 502 may broadcast a set of PF offsets including multiple (K) PF offsets to the UE 504 in a SIB (e.g., SIB1).”); ¶ [0062], (“There are various aspects that may address the problems of persistent PO collisions for a multi-SIM/USIM UE…a default PF for a multi-SIM/USIM UE may be modified.”); ¶ [0069 - 0070], (“the PF of the UE may be determined based on the SFN, the selected PF offset…the PF of the UE may be determined by: (SFN+SelectedOffset) mod T=(T div N)(UE_ID mod N), where SelectedOffset is one of the set of PF offsets (e.g., 401, 402, 403, etc.) broadcasted in SIB (e.g., SIB1).”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIANG with KUMAR to include obtain a plurality of offset values for calculating a changed timing of paging, as taught by KUMAR. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to specify the UE obtaining multiple offset values as taught by KUMAR combined with the selection of an offset value by the UE as taught by LIANG to avoid collisions, as suggested by KUMAR, the probability of persistent PF/PO collision among multiple registered subscriptions may be reduced. In addition, the variation in paging reception delay in the scenario of PF/PO collision may be minimized. Moreover, the reliability of the paging procedure may be increased without a significant increase in signaling load on the operator network. - ¶ [0007]
Claim 2. Combination of LIANG and KUMAR teaches The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
LIANG teaches:
wherein the computer-readable instruction causes the one or more processors further to perform control so that reception of paging is started using the paging frame or paging occasion calculated with the selected offset value. - in ¶ [0049 -0050], (“the terminal device 120 may calculate respective monitoring occasions (also referred to as paging occasion information hereafter)…the paging occasion information may comprise parameters about a paging frame (PF) and a paging occasion (PO). For example, the paging occasion information may comprise at least one of a paging periodic, an on duration, a paging frame offset. For example, 3GPP specifications 38.304 Vf 5.0 (for NR) and 36.304 V15.4.0 (for LTE) specify the calculation as below…The PF and PO for paging are determined by the following formulae: SFN for the PF is determined by: (SFN+PF_offset) mod T=(T div N)*(UE_ID mod N)”); ¶ [0095], (“the terminal device 120 may transmit 360′ the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card to the core network element”)
Claim 3. Combination of LIANG and KUMAR teaches The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
LIANG teaches:
wherein the terminal apparatus further comprises a first Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) and a second USIM, - See Fig.1, ¶ [0049], (“for the first and second USIM cards 121 and 122 as shown in FIG. 1, the terminal device 120 may involve a first paging associated with the first USIM cards 121 and a second paging associated with the second USIM cards 122.”) and
a paging frame or paging occasion corresponding to one of the first USIM and the second USIM is calculated - in ¶ [0049 -0050], (“the terminal device 120 may calculate respective monitoring occasions (also referred to as paging occasion information hereafter). In some embodiments, the paging occasion information may comprise parameters about a paging frame (PF) and a paging occasion (PO). For example, the paging occasion information may comprise at least one of a paging periodic, an on duration, a paging frame offset. For example, 3GPP specifications 38.304 Vf 5.0 (for NR) and 36.304 V15.4.0 (for LTE) specify the calculation as below…The PF and PO for paging are determined by the following formulae: SFN for the PF is determined by: (SFN+PF_offset) mod T=(T div N)*(UE_ID mod N)”) in a case in which a paging frame or paging occasion corresponding to the first USIM and a paging frame or paging occasion corresponding to the second USIM coincide with each other. – See Fig. 1, ¶ [0042], (“the first network device 110 serves the first USIM card 121 and the second network device 111 serves the second USIM card 122. “); See Fig.2A, ¶ [0060 - 0062], (“the terminal device 120 may determine 210 whether the first paging occasion information associated with the first USIM card 121 overlaps with the second paging occasion information associated with the second USIM card 122…the paging occasion information may include PF and PO…the terminal device 120 may calculate respective PF and PO for the first and second USIM cards 121 and 122 in accordance with the formulae specified…terminal device 120 may determine 210′ an updated first paging occasion information based on prioritization of the first USIM card 121 with respect to the second USIM card 122…At this moment, the terminal device 120 may transmit 220 an indication of the paging collision to the network device 110.”)
Claim 4. Combination of LIANG and KUMAR teaches The terminal apparatus according to claim 3, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
LIANG teaches:
wherein the predetermined notification is transmitted in the case in which the paging frame or paging occasion corresponding to the first USIM and the paging frame or paging occasion corresponding to the second USIM coincide with each other. – See Fig. 2A, 2B, 3, 6, ¶ [0058 - 0060], (“if detecting paging collision between a first paging and a second paging associated with a terminal device, the terminal device may transmit an indication of the paging collision to a network device associated with the first paging…As shown in FIG. 2A, the terminal device 120 may determine 210 whether the first paging occasion information associated with the first USIM card 121 overlaps with the second paging occasion information associated with the second USIM card 122.”); ¶ [0066], (“If the first paging occasion information overlaps with the second paging occasion information, the terminal device 120 may transmit, to the core network element 131, a request for further updated identity information. For example, the terminal device 120 may send a NAS message to the core network element 131 so that the core network element 131 may assign new identity information associated with the first paging to the terminal device 120 for determination updated first paging occasion information”, this aligns with the predetermined notification (NAS message), where the terminal device informs the core network element about a detected paging collision)
Claim 5. LIANG teaches: A core network apparatus to which a base station apparatus is connected, the core network apparatus comprising: - See Fig.1
one or more processors; - See Fig. 13, ¶ [0010], (“The core network element comprises a processor and a memory coupled to the processor”) and
one or more memories that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors to: - See Fig. 13, ¶ [0010], (“The core network element comprises a processor and a memory coupled to the processor. The memory stores instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the core network element to perform the method”)
provide a plurality of offset values for calculating a changed timing of paging; receive a predetermined notification regarding a paging frame or paging occasion from a terminal apparatus, - See Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶ [0049], (“the terminal device 120 may calculate respective monitoring occasions (also referred to as paging occasion information hereafter)…the paging occasion information may comprise parameters about a paging frame (PF) and a paging occasion (PO).”); ¶ [0066], (“If the first paging occasion information overlaps with the second paging occasion information, the terminal device 120 may transmit, to the core network element 131, a request for further updated identity information. For example, the terminal device 120 may send a NAS message to the core network element 131 so that the core network element 131 may assign new identity information associated with the first paging to the terminal device 120 for determination updated first paging occasion information”, this aligns with the predetermined notification (NAS message), where the terminal device informs the core network element about a detected paging collision)
wherein the predetermined notification includes a selected offset value among the plurality of offset values for calculating the changed timing of paging; - in ¶ [0066], (“the terminal device 120 may send a NAS message to the core network element 131 so that the core network element 131 may assign new identity information associated with the first paging to the terminal device 120 for determination updated first paging occasion information”); ¶ [0081], (“the terminal device 120 may determine a candidate for an offset value with respect to the first paging, and transmit the candidate to the network device 110.”); See Fig. 3, ¶ [0095], (“the terminal device 120 may transmit 360′ the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card to the core network element 131”) and
a notifying unit configured to, when the predetermined notification has been received, - in ¶ [0066], (“the terminal device 120 may send a NAS message to the core network element 131 so that the core network element 131 may assign new identity information associated…”); ¶ [0095], (“the terminal device 120 may transmit 360′ the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card to the core network element 131. For example, the terminal device 120 may transmit 360′ the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card through the NAS procedure.”); See Fig. 13, ¶ [0163], (transmitter (notifying unit)) notify the base station apparatus of information regarding a change in a paging frame or paging occasion for the terminal apparatus. – See Fig. 3, ¶ [0095 - 0096], (“the terminal device 120 may transmit 360′ the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card to the core network element 131…Upon receiving the offset value and identity information of the first USIM card, the core network element 131 may transmit 361, for example in a paging message, the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card. In this way, neighboring network devices (at least one second network device) having the same paging configuration as that of the network device 110 (first network device) can receive the offset value and the identity information of the first USIM card.”)
LIANG does not explicitly teach:
provide a plurality of offset values for calculating a changed timing of paging; receive a predetermined notification regarding a paging frame or paging occasion from a terminal apparatus, wherein the predetermined notification includes a selected offset value among the plurality of offset values for calculating the changed timing of paging;
However, KUMAR teaches:
provide a plurality of offset values for calculating a changed timing of paging; - in ¶ [0079], (“At 509, the base station 502 may broadcast a set of PF offsets including multiple (K) PF offsets to the UE 504 in a SIB (e.g., SIB1).”); See Fig. 4, ¶ [0062], (“There are various aspects that may address the problems of persistent PO collisions for a multi-SIM/USIM UE. FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating an example of a design to address the problems of persistent PO collisions for a multi-SIM/USIM UE. In some aspects, a default PF for a multi-SIM/USIM UE may be modified.”)
receive a predetermined notification regarding a paging frame or paging occasion from a terminal apparatus, wherein the predetermined notification includes a selected offset value among the plurality of offset values for calculating the changed timing of paging; - See Fig. 4, ¶ [0079], (“At 509, the base station 502 may broadcast a set of PF offsets including multiple (K) PF offsets to the UE 504 in a SIB (e.g., SIB1).”); ¶ [0062], (“There are various aspects that may address the problems of persistent PO collisions for a multi-SIM/USIM UE…a default PF for a multi-SIM/USIM UE may be modified.”); ¶ [0069 - 0070], (“the PF of the UE may be determined based on the SFN, the selected PF offset…the PF of the UE may be determined by: (SFN+SelectedOffset) mod T=(T div N)(UE_ID mod N), where SelectedOffset is one of the set of PF offsets (e.g., 401, 402, 403, etc.) broadcasted in SIB (e.g., SIB1).”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LIANG with KUMAR to include obtain a plurality of offset values for calculating a changed timing of paging, as taught by KUMAR. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to specify the UE obtaining multiple offset values as taught by KUMAR combined with the selection of an offset value by the UE as taught by LIANG to result in adaptive paging adjustment in order to avoid collisions, as suggested by KUMAR, There are various aspects that may address the problems of persistent PO collisions for a multi-SIM/USIM UE. - ¶ [0062]
Claim 6. Combination of LIANG and KUMAR teaches The core network apparatus according to claim 5, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
LIANG teaches:
wherein the terminal apparatus includes a first Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) and a second USIM, - See Fig.1, ¶ [0049], (“for the first and second USIM cards 121 and 122 as shown in FIG. 1, the terminal device 120 may involve a first paging associated with the first USIM cards 121 and a second paging associated with the second USIM cards 122.”) and
the offset value is used to calculate a paging frame or paging occasion corresponding to one of the first USIM and the second USIM - in ¶ [0049 -0050], (“the terminal device 120 may calculate respective monitoring occasions (also referred to as paging occasion information hereafter). In some embodiments, the paging occasion information may comprise parameters about a paging frame (PF) and a paging occasion (PO). For example, the paging occasion information may comprise at least one of a paging periodic, an on duration, a paging frame offset…The PF and PO for paging are determined by the following formulae: SFN for the PF is determined by: (SFN+PF_offset) mod T=(T div N)*(UE_ID mod N)”) in a case in which a paging frame or paging occasion corresponding to the first USIM and a paging frame or paging occasion corresponding to the second USIM coincide with each other. – See Fig. 1, ¶ [0042], (“the first network device 110 serves the first USIM card 121 and the second network device 111 serves the second USIM card 122. “); See Fig.2A, ¶ [0060 - 0062], (“the terminal device 120 may determine 210 whether the first paging occasion information associated with the first USIM card 121 overlaps with the second paging occasion information associated with the second USIM card 122…the paging occasion information may include PF and PO…the terminal device 120 may calculate respective PF and PO for the first and second USIM cards 121 and 122…the terminal device 120 may transmit 220 an indication of the paging collision to the network device 110.”)
Claim 7 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 4 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 8, 10 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 9, 11 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 5 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Conclusion
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475