DETAILED ACTION
Response to Appeal Brief
In view of the appeal brief filed on 3/16/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 18-19, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grzywok et al. (US 2017/0012269).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 23-24, Grzywok discloses a connector 1 for connecting cells of a battery unit [battery system] (abstract). The connector 1 comprises a carrier 2, a retainer 3, and a plurality of contacts 4 ([0017], Fig 1). The connector 1 is mounted to the plurality of battery cells 20 ([0028]). The battery cells 20 are contained within a housing [enclosure tray] (see Fig 3, and structure around cells 20). The cover 40 [enclosure cover] is coated with an adhesive, and is bonded to the carrier 2 [a standoff assembly] ([0030]); that is, Grzywok teaches a structural adhesive that secures the carrier [standoff assembly] in an abutting contact to an interior surface of the cover. The cover provides necessary insulation and mechanical protection from contact ([0030]). Because the cover provides mechanical protection, it is considered that the carrier also provides mechanical protection because it is adhered thereto, and therefore the carrier [standoff assembly] maintains a spaced relationship between the cover and the battery system.
Regarding claims 2-3, Grzywok discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Grzywok discloses that the carrier 2 [standoff assembly] is between the cover 40 and the cells 20 (Fig 3), and the carrier 2 maintains a gap between an interior surface of the cover 40 and a top surface of the cells (see Fig 3).
Regarding claims 6, 8, 10, and 18-19, Grzywok discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Grzywok discloses the carrier 2 includes a base plate 21,121 [lower section] with a peripheral edge 22,122 ([0018], Fig 1 and 4). A connector 101 rests in the peripheral edge 122, and is therefore connected. The connector 101 [upper section] is arranged over a contact 104 [bus bar] (Figs 4-5), and establishes a canopy connected to the base plate by the peripheral edge [connector] (see Figs 4-5). The connector 101 is rectangular shape (see Fig 5).
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-13, 15-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 2014/0087229).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Watanabe discloses an assembled battery including a case 4 [enclosure tray] in which plurality electric cells 2 [battery system, including a cell stack] are accommodated, an abutment member 7 [part of a standoff assembly] abuts against the electric cells accommodated in the case to position the electric cells with respect to the case (abstract).
A cover (outer cover) 8 [enclosure cover] is attached to the upper end opening 4a of the case 4, and is attached to the abutment member 7 ([0040], Fig 1). As the cover 8 [enclosure cover] is attached to the abutment member 7 [standoff assembly], the abutment member is in abutting contact with cover to maintain a spaced relationship between the cover and the batteries.
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. The abutment member 7 [standoff assembly] is positioned between the cover 8 [enclosure cover] and electric cells 2 [cell stack of the battery system] (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. The abutment member 7 [standoff assembly] maintains a gap between an interior surface of the cover 8 [enclosure cover] and a top surface of a battery cell of the cell stack (Fig 1).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Watanabe discloses the abutment member 7 further includes a lower surface with long flat plate-shaped partition ribs 7k [plurality of struts] that extend from the main rib 7f to the main rib 7g ([0043], Fig 5). Therefore, it is considered the abutment member 7 has a first standoff section having a first plurality of standoffs at one main rib 7f, and a second standoff section having a plurality of second standoffs, with a plurality of struts [partition ribs 7k] that connect between the first standoff section and the second standoff section.
Regarding claim 16, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Watanabe discloses that part of the abutment member 7 near main rib 7f [first standoff section] is arranged to extend along a first longitudinal edge of the cell stack, and part of the abutment member 7 near main rib 7g [second standoff section] is arranged to extend along a second longitudinal edge of the cell stack (Figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. The long flat plate-shaped partition ribs 7k [plurality of struts] are inserted between the electric cells 2 ([0043], Fig 5) [at least partially received within a seam between a first battery cell and a second battery cell].
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Watanabe teaches the abutment member 7 includes a body 7b [lower section] that abuts against top portion of the electric cells ([0041], Figs 1 and 4-5), and includes main ribs 7f,7g,7h,7i which have portions [upper portions] that extend upward from the body 7b ([0042], Figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. The partition ribs 7k [struts] extends from one standoff section to the second standoff section (Fig 5). Further, Watanabe discloses the abutment member 7 as made of resin ([0040]), which includes all the components (e.g., main ribs 7f-7i, partition ribs 7k, fixing ribs 7m) ([0043], Figs 4-5). Therefore, it is considered that all the components are made of the same resin, are made of a unitary, single piece structure of the standoff assembly, as Watanabe does not disclose attaching other components to form the abutment member [standoff assembly].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grzywok et al. (US 2017/0012269), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maguire et al. (US 2019/0312243).
Regarding claim 4, Grzywok discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Grzywok illustrates a housing [enclosure tray] (see Fig 3), Grzywok does not explicitly disclose wherein the enclosure tray provides a cell-compressing opening for compressing a cell matrix of the cell-to-pack battery system.
Maguire discloses a cell stack 56 that are insert into a pocket of a structural assembly 60 (abstract). The structural assembly 60 includes pockets 66A/B to accommodate a plurality of battery stacks 56 ([0046], Fig 2). The sidewalls 64 of the structural assembly apply forces to the cell stack 56 to hold them in position during operation of an electrified vehicle 12 ([0046]). Maguire teaches the compression of the battery leaves near zero air spaces inside the assembly, thereby improving system density and reduces the amount of air available to expand/contract inside the assembly ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compression structural assembly for holding the battery stack as taught by Maguire with the battery stack and housing of Grzywok for the purpose of leaving near zero air spaces inside the assembly, thereby improving system density and reducing the amount of air available to expand/contract inside the assembly.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2014/0087229), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maguire et al. (US 2019/0312243).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Watanabe discloses the case 4 including sidewalls 4d-4g where the batteries are accommodated therein ([0039], [0042], and Figs 1 and 3), Watanabe does not explicitly disclose wherein the enclosure tray provides a cell-compressing opening for compressing a cell matrix of the cell-to-pack battery system.
Maguire discloses a cell stack 56 that are insert into a pocket of a structural assembly 60 (abstract). The structural assembly 60 includes pockets 66A/B to accommodate a plurality of battery stacks 56 ([0046], Fig 2). The sidewalls 64 of the structural assembly apply forces to the cell stack 56 to hold them in position during operation of an electrified vehicle 12 ([0046]). Maguire teaches the compression of the battery leaves near zero air spaces inside the assembly, thereby improving system density and reduces the amount of air available to expand/contract inside the assembly ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compression structural assembly for holding the battery stack as taught by Maguire with the battery stack and case of Watanabe for the purpose of leaving near zero air spaces inside the assembly, thereby improving system density and reducing the amount of air available to expand/contract inside the assembly.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grzywok et al. (US 2017/0012269), as applied to claim 1 or 13 above, and further in view of Montgomery et al. (US 2018/0083244).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Grzywok discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Grzywok discloses the carrier 2 [standoff assembly] is made by injection molding ([0018]), Grzywok does not explicitly disclose wherein the standoff assembly is a polymer-based component.
Montgomery discloses a battery pack 24 including a battery assembly 25 or plurality of battery assemblies ([0038]), which are housed within an enclosure assembly 60 ([0047]). The battery pack is for an electrified vehicle ([0031]). The enclosure assembly 60 is a sealed enclosure that includes a tray 62 and a cover 63 ([0047], Fig 2). The tray 62 includes sidewalls 65 that extend upwardly from a base 67 to establish one or more compartments for housing the battery assembly 25 ([0047]). The cover 63 is secured to the tray to enclose and seal the battery assembly 25 of the battery pack 24 ([0047]). The battery assembly 25 includes an integrated module 64 (busbar module) which includes the bus bar module and bus bars ([0007]-[0008]). The integrated module 64 can be made of polymeric materials ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polymeric materials that are insulative as taught by Montgomery as the injection molding material of Grzywok for the purpose of preventing short circuits while holding bus bars.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2014/0087229), as applied to claim 1 or 13 above, and further in view of Montgomery et al. (US 2018/0083244).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Watanabe discloses the abutment member 7 [standoff assembly] is made of resin ([0040]), Watanabe does not explicitly disclose wherein the standoff assembly is a polymer-based component.
Montgomery discloses a battery pack 24 including a battery assembly 25 or plurality of battery assemblies ([0038]), which are housed within an enclosure assembly 60 ([0047]). The battery pack is for an electrified vehicle ([0031]). The enclosure assembly 60 is a sealed enclosure that includes a tray 62 and a cover 63 ([0047], Fig 2). The tray 62 includes sidewalls 65 that extend upwardly from a base 67 to establish one or more compartments for housing the battery assembly 25 ([0047]). The cover 63 is secured to the tray to enclose and seal the battery assembly 25 of the battery pack 24 ([0047]). The battery assembly 25 includes an integrated module 64 (busbar module) which includes the bus bar module and bus bars ([0007]-[0008]). The integrated module 64 can be made of polymeric materials ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polymeric materials that are insulative as taught by Montgomery as the resin of Watanabe for the purpose of preventing short circuits while holding bus bars (Watanabe at [0037]).
Claim(s) 6, 8, 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2014/0087229), as applied to claim 1 or 18 above, and further in view of Kawamoto (US 2023/0018358, which has priority to 7/19/2021).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Watanabe teaches the abutment member 7 includes a body 7b [lower section] that abuts against top portion of the electric cells ([0041], Figs 1 and 4-5), and includes main ribs 7f,7g,7h,7i which have portions [upper section] that extend upward from the body 7b, and includes bus bars 3 that are connected to the battery cell ([0042], [0053], Figs 1-2). However, Watanabe does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper section is arranged over a bus bar.
Kawamoto discloses a power storage device 100 comprising an accommodation case 10, a power storage stack 20 comprising a plurality of power storage cells 21 within the accommodation case 10, bus bar modules 30, a cover 40, and upper case 11 (abstract, [0025]-[0027], Figs 1 and 3). The cover 40 is disposed between the upper case 11 and the bus bar module 30 ([0006], Fig 3). The cover 40 allows a load transmitted from the upper case to be dispersed more uniformly ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cover covering the bus module [and thereby a canopy over the bus bars] of Kawamoto with the abutment member and bus bars of Watanabe for the purpose of transmitting a load more uniformly.
Regarding claim 8, modified Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kawamoto teaches that the cover 40 is over the bus bars ([0006]), and the cover 40 has edges that extend beyond the bus bar module 30 (see Fig 3) and projection 42 ([0053]), and therefore establishes a canopy, that is connected to lower sections by a connector.
Regarding claim 10, modified Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kawamoto teaches that the cover 40 is rectangular-shaped (see Figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Watanabe teaches the abutment member 7 includes a body 7b [lower section] that abuts against top portion of the electric cells ([0041], Figs 1 and 4-5), and includes main ribs 7f,7g,7h,7i which have portions [upper section] that extend upward from the body 7b, and includes bus bars 3 that are connected to the battery cell ([0042], [0053], Figs 1-2). However, Watanabe does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper section is arranged over a bus bar, and wherein the upper section establishes a canopy that at least partially surrounds the bus bar.
Kawamoto discloses a power storage device 100 comprising an accommodation case 10, a power storage stack 20 comprising a plurality of power storage cells 21 within the accommodation case 10, bus bar modules 30, a cover 40, and upper case 11 (abstract, [0025]-[0027], Figs 1 and 3). The cover 40 is disposed between the upper case 11 and the bus bar module 30 ([0006], Fig 3). The cover 40 allows a load transmitted from the upper case to be dispersed more uniformly ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cover covering the bus module [and thereby a canopy over the bus bars] of Kawamoto with the abutment member and bus bars of Watanabe for the purpose of transmitting a load more uniformly.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2014/0087229), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0030894).
Regarding claim 22, modified Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Watanabe does not explicitly disclose the pack comprising a metallic hood structure that covers the plurality of struts.
Lee discloses a battery module 10 with a plurality of battery cells 100 arranged in a first direction in a battery array 50 (abstract, Fig 1). A degassing portion 400 (configured to guide gas toward an outside of the battery module 10) may be provided at an upper portion of the battery array 50 ([0043]). The degassing portion 400 is made of a metal material, and is connected or coupled to the reinforcing barrier 250, the side frame 500, or the like ([0065]). Thus it is possible to reduce and/or prevent the rigidity structure from being distorted ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the degassing portion made of metal formed of the middle of the cells of Lee with the assembled battery of Watanabe for the purpose of providing a channel for degassing and for increasing rigidity of the structure.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2014/0087229), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grzywok et al. (US 2017/0012269).
Regarding claim 23, modified Watanabe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Watanabe teaches the cover (outer cover) 8 [enclosure cover] is attached to the upper end opening 4a of the case 4, and is attached to the abutment member 7 ([0040], Fig 1), Watanabe does not explicitly disclose a structural adhesive that secures the standoff assembly to an interior surface of the enclosure cover.
Grzywok discloses a connector 1 for connecting cells of a battery unit (abstract). The connector 1 comprises a carrier 2, a retainer 3, and a plurality of contacts 4 ([0017], Fig 1). The connector 1 is mounted to the plurality of battery cells 20 ([0028]). The cover 40 is coated with an adhesive, and is bonded to the carrier 2 [a standoff assembly] ([0030]); that is, Grzywok teaches a structural adhesive that secures the carrier [standoff assembly] to an interior surface of the cover. The cover provides necessary insulation and protection from contact ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the adhesive for contact of the cover to the carrier as taught by Grzywok with the abutment member and cover of Watanabe for the purpose of providing necessary insulation and protection from contact.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2014/0087229) in view of Grzywok et al. (US 2017/0012269).
Regarding claim 24, Watanabe discloses an assembled battery including a case 4 [enclosure tray] in which plurality electric cells 2 [battery system, including a cell stack] are accommodated, an abutment member 7 [part of a standoff assembly] abuts against the electric cells accommodated in the case to position the electric cells with respect to the case (abstract).
A cover (outer cover) 8 [enclosure cover] is attached to the upper end opening 4a of the case 4, and is attached to the abutment member 7 ([0040], Fig 1). As the cover 8 [enclosure cover] is attached to the abutment member 7 [standoff assembly], the abutment member is in abutting contact with cover to maintain a spaced relationship between the cover and the batteries.
While Watanabe teaches the cover (outer cover) 8 [enclosure cover] is attached to the upper end opening 4a of the case 4, and is attached to the abutment member 7 ([0040], Fig 1), Watanabe does not explicitly disclose a structural adhesive that secures the standoff assembly to an interior surface of the enclosure cover.
Grzywok discloses a connector 1 for connecting cells of a battery unit (abstract). The connector 1 comprises a carrier 2, a retainer 3, and a plurality of contacts 4 ([0017], Fig 1). The connector 1 is mounted to the plurality of battery cells 20 ([0028]). The cover 40 is coated with an adhesive, and is bonded to the carrier 2 [a standoff assembly] ([0030]); that is, Grzywok teaches a structural adhesive that secures the carrier [standoff assembly] to an interior surface of the cover. The cover provides necessary insulation and protection from contact ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the adhesive for contact of the cover to the carrier as taught by Grzywok with the abutment member and cover of Watanabe for the purpose of providing necessary insulation and protection from contact.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725