Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 17-19, 30-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Applicant provided prior art US Patent 9,347,904 to Schaefer in view US Patent 5,836,087 to Wilson.
In Reference to Claims 1, 3, 11
Schaefer discloses A modular sensor cable system for a grain bin, comprising: a plurality of sensor cable segments (Fig. 16, 204); wherein the plurality of sensor cable segments each include: a housing (Fig. 17,272); a sensor circuit (Fig. 8,84); the sensor circuit positioned in the housing; the sensor circuit having one or more sensors (Fig. 8,84/87); a support cable (Fig. 17,210); a data cable (Fig. 17, 212); wherein the multi-segment sensor cable extends from an upper end to a lower end. (As showed in Fig. 2)
Schaefer does not teach the support cable and the data cable has connectors at both ends.
Wilson teaches the support cable extending a length between a first end (Fig. 2, 34) and a second end (Fig. 2, 32); the support cable having a first connector (Fig. 2, 34) at the first end and a second connector (Fig. 2, 32) at the second end; the first connector and second connector of the support cable are configured to operably connect the sensor cable segment (Fig. 2, 26) to other adjacent ones another one of the plurality of sensor cable segments the data cable extending a length between a first end and a second end; the data cable having a first electrical connector (Fig. 2, the female connector of 64 on item 34) at the first end and a second electrical connector (Fig. 2, the female connector of 62 on item 32) at the second end; wherein the first electrical connector of the data cable is configured to communicatively connect to the sensor circuit (Via the male / female coupler 62 and 64); wherein the first electrical connector is configured to be disconnectable (As showed in Fig. 2, the female and male connector 64 are disconnectable) from the sensor circuit; wherein the second electrical connector of the data cable is configured to communicatively connect to another sensor circuit of the another adjacent one of the plurality of sensor cable segments; wherein the second electrical connector is configured to be disconnectable (As showed in Fig. 2, the female and male connector 64 are disconnectable) from the other adjacent one of the plurality of sensor cable segments; wherein the plurality of sensor cable segments are configured to operably connect together in series to form a multi-segment sensor cable;
one end of the support cable of each of the plurality of sensor cable segments is configured to connect with the housing of the sensor cable segment and the other end of the support cable is configured to connect with the housing of another one of the sensor cable segments.
one end of the support cable of each of the plurality of sensor cable segments is configured to connect with the housing of the sensor cable segment and the other end of the support cable is configured to connect with the housing of another one of the sensor cable segments. (As showed in Fig. 2, the support cable housing and the sensor cable segment are an integrated component, the female data cable is in the central section of the thread connector of the support cable)
one of the plurality of sensor cable segments may be disconnected and replaced while the plurality of sensor cable segments remain connected together in series. (As showed in Fig. 2, the support cable having threaded connector and the data cable has male / female connectors, therefore, they are disconnectable and replacable)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Wilson into the invention of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the sensor segment of Schaefer being connected to each other following the method taught by Wilson. The support rod of Schaefer being threaded to each other with the male/female connector are the data connectors. Both inventions of Schaefer and Wilson having an interconnectable rod assembly with a rod section, a circuit housing, and telescoping section, Wilson teaches a method which allows an easier maintenance.
In Reference to Claim 2
Schaefer discloses the support cables of the plurality of sensor cable segments are configured to operably connect together in series to support the multi- segment sensor cable. (Combined Fig. 16 and 17)
In Reference to Claim 4
Schaefer discloses the support cables of the plurality of sensor cable segments are configured to connect together in series. (As showed in Fig. 16)
In Reference to Claim 5
Schaefer discloses the support cable of each segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments extends through the housing of the segment. (As showed in Fig. 17, the support cable 210 extends the housing 272)
In Reference to Claim 6
Schaefer discloses the support cable (Fig. 17, 210) of each segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments (Fig. 17, 272) is connected to an outer surface of the housing of the segment.
In Reference to Claim 7
Schaefer discloses the support cables of the plurality of sensor cable segments support the weight of the plurality of sensor cable segments (As showed in Fig. 16, since the sensor segments are arranged in vertical direction, the support cable supports the weight of the sensor segment, as showed in Fig. 17, the support cable 210 goes through the sensor case, the support cable carries load) and prevent transfer of vertical forces through the data cables of the plurality of sensor cable segments.
In Reference to Claim 8
Schaefer discloses the support cables of the plurality of sensor cable segments support the weight of the plurality of sensor cable segments and prevent transfer of vertical forces through the housings of the plurality of sensor cable segments. (As showed in Fig. 16, since the sensor segments are arranged in vertical direction, the support cable supports the weight of the sensor segment, as showed in Fig. 17, the support cable 210 goes through the sensor case, the support cable carries load )
In Reference to Claim 9
Schafer discloses the support cables and housings of the plurality of sensor cable segments are connected together in series. (As showed in Fig. 16)
In Reference to Claim 10
Schafer discloses the data cables and sensor circuits of the plurality of sensor cable segments are connected together in series. (As showed in Fig. 16)
In Reference to Claim 12
Schafer discloses the one or more sensors of the sensor circuit include a temperature sensor (Fig. 8, 87)and a moisture sensor (Fig. 8, 112).
In Reference to Claim 17 and 18
Schaefer discloses a data system configured to receive and store data generated by the one or more sensors of the sensor circuit of each sensor cable segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments. (A radio or cellular modem allows for communication of the grain's condition to a user's personal computer or a remote data center.)
In Reference to Claim 19
Schaefer discloses a data system configured to: receive and store data generated by the one or more sensors of the sensor circuit of each sensor cable segment of the multi-segment sensor cable; and perform one or more operations to adjust environmental conditions within the grain bin in response to the stored data satisfying a predetermined set of conditions. (Col. 2, 1-35)
In Reference to Claims 30 and 31
Schaefer discloses a method, comprising: installing a plurality of multi-segment sensor cables (Fig. 16) in a grain bin having a plurality of sidewall rings; each of the plurality of multi-segments sensor cables having multiple sensor cable segments; wherein the sensor cable segments are operatively connected to a support cable (Fig. 17, 210); wherein the sensor cable segments each have a sensor circuit (Fig. 10, 87) and a data cable (Fig. 10, 75); wherein the data cable extends a length between a first end and a second end (As showed in Fig. 17); the sensor circuit having one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 87, 86); expanding capacity of the grain bin by adding one or more sidewall rings to the plurality of sidewall rings; increasing length of the plurality of multi-segment sensor cables by adding one or more sensor cable segments to each of the plurality of multi-segment sensor cables.
Schaefer does not teach connectors
Wilson teaches wherein the data cable has a first connector Fig. 2, the female connector at the thread connector 34) at the first end and a second connector (Fig. 2, the female connector as the thread connector 32) at the second end; wherein the sensor circuit has a first connector (Fig. 2, the female connector at the thread end 34) and a second connector (Fig. 2, the female connector at the thread end 32); wherein the sensor cable segments have connectors (As showed in Fig. 2, there are mating connectors for connector 62 and 64) configured to facilitate connecting the sensor cable segments together in series; wherein the connectors are configured to permit the cable segments to be disconnected (As showed in Fig. 2, the support cable is connected via thread connector and the electrical cable in connected via plug connector) from one another;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Wilson into the invention of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the sensor segment of Schaefer being connected to each other following the method taught by Wilson. The support rod of Schaefer being threaded to each other with the male/female connector are the data connectors. Both inventions of Schaefer and Wilson having an interconnectable rod assembly with a rod section, a circuit housing, and telescoping section, Wilson teaches a method which allows an easier maintenance.
Once the invention of Wilson is integrated with the invention of Schaefer, the heigh the multiple segment would be adjustable since each section is connected via thread. Therefore, they are disconnectable.
In Reference to Claim 32
Schaefer discloses the sensor cable segments each include: a housing (Fig. 17, 272); the housing having an elongated shape extending from an upper end to a lower end; a sensor circuit (Fig. 8, 84); the sensor circuit positioned in the housing; the sensor circuit having one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 87, 86); a support cable (Fig. 17, 210); the support cable extending from an upper end to a lower end; the lower end of the support cable configured to operably connect to the upper end of the housing (As showed in Fig. 210); the upper end of the support cable configured to operably connect to the lower end of the housing of a higher one of the plurality of sensor cable segments in the multi-segment sensor cable; a data cable (Fig. 89, 75) extending from an upper end to a lower end; the upper end of the data cable having an electrical connector configured to communicatively connect to the lower electrical connector of the sensor circuit of the higher one or the plurality of sensor cable segments; wherein during operation, the sensor circuit is configured to communicate a first set of data gathered from the one or more sensors of the sensor circuit via the data cable (Since Schaefer discloses the senor and data cable, the collecting of data is a function of the recited structure); wherein when a lower one of the plurality multiple sensor cable segments in the multi-segment sensor cable is communicatively connected to the lower electrical connector of the sensor circuit, wherein the sensor circuit is configured to receive a second set of data from the lower sensor cable segment and communicate the second set of data via the data cable. (As showed in Fig. 16, there are multiple sensor sections, obviously, each set of sensor will collect info at different locations)
Schaefer does not teach connectors.
Wilson teaches the sensor circuit having an upper electrical connector and a lower electrical connector (As showed in Fig. 2, the female connectors at threaded end 34 and 32); the lower end of the data cable having an electrical connector (Fig. 2, the female connector at the threaded end 34 and 32) configured to communicatively connect to the upper electrical connector of the sensor circuit;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Wilson into the invention of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the sensor segment of Schaefer being connected to each other following the method taught by Wilson. The support rod of Schaefer being threaded to each other with the male/female connector are the data connectors. Both inventions of Schaefer and Wilson having an interconnectable rod assembly with a rod section, a circuit housing, and telescoping section, Wilson teaches a method which allows an easier maintenance.
In Reference to Claims 33 and 34
Schaefer discloses a modular sensor cable system for a grain bin, comprising: a plurality of discrete sensor cable segments (Fig. 16, 204); wherein the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments each include: a housing (Fig. 17, 272); a sensor circuit (Fig. 8,84); wherein the sensor circuit has one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 84/87); wherein the sensor circuit is positioned in the housing; and a data cable (Fig. 17, 212); a support cable (Fig. 17, 210); wherein the plurality of sensor cable segments are configured to operably connect together in series to form a multi-segment sensor cable (As showed in Fig. 16)
Schaefer does not teach discrete segments.
Wilson teaches wherein the housings of the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments (Fig. 2, as showed, the sensor segment 14) are operably connected to the support cable (as showed in Fig. 2, the support connector 34 and 32 are integrated with the cable connector); wherein the data cables of the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments (As showed in Fig. 2, the sensor cable are discrete and linked via connectors) have electrical connectors positioned at respective ends of the data cables and configured to connect with electrical connectors of the sensor circuits to thereby communicatively connect the sensor circuits of the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments together in series;; wherein the multi-segment sensor cable extends from an upper end to a lower end.
the support cable is formed of a plurality of discrete support cable segments (As showed in Fig. 2, the support cable can be connected with thread connectors) connected together in series.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Wilson into the invention of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the sensor segment of Schaefer being connected to each other following the method taught by Wilson. The support rod of Schaefer being threaded to each other with the male/female connector are the data connectors. Both inventions of Schaefer and Wilson having an interconnectable rod assembly with a rod section, a circuit housing, and telescoping section, Wilson teaches a method which allows an easier maintenance.
In Reference to Claim 35
Schaefer discloses the support cable is single continuous cable. (Fig. 7, 82)
In Reference to Claim 36
Schaefer discloses a modular sensor cable system for a grain bin, comprising: a support cable (Fig. 17, 210); a plurality sensor cable segment (Fig. 17, 212) wherein the plurality of discreate sensor cable segments are operably connected to the support cable (As showed in Fig. 17); wherein the plurality of discreate sensor cable segments each include a sensor circuit (Fig. 8, 84); wherein the sensor circuit has one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 87, 86); wherein the plurality of discreate sensor cable segments each include a data cable (Fig. 8, 75)
Schaefer does not teach discreated sensor cable segment.
Wilson teaches a plurality of discreate sensor cable segments (Wilson teaches the support section with sensor segment (Fig. 2, 14) is a discrete section with connectors at both sides); the data cable extending a length between a first end and a second end (Fig. 2, female connectors are both ends for date cable connector 62 and 64); the data cable having a first electrical connector (Fig. 2, respective female connector for 62) at the first end and a second electrical connector (Fig. Fig. 2, the respective female connector for 64) at the second end; wherein the second electrical connector of the data cable is configured to communicatively connect to the sensor circuit of the sensor cable segment; wherein the first electrical connector of the data cable is configured to communicatively connect to the sensor circuit of another one of the plurality of discreate sensor cable segments; wherein the first electrical connector and second electrical connector are configured to be disconnected (As showed in Fig. 2, the connector can be disconnected from each end) from sensor circuits to which they are connected.
the support cable is formed of a plurality of discrete cable segments (As showed in Fig. 2, the support cable has thread connector at both ends (Fig. 2, 34 and 32)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Wilson into the invention of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the sensor segment of Schaefer being connected to each other following the method taught by Wilson. The support rod of Schaefer being threaded to each other with the male/female connector are the data connectors. Both inventions of Schaefer and Wilson having an interconnectable rod assembly with a rod section, a circuit housing, and telescoping section, Wilson teaches a method which allows an easier maintenance.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Schaefer and Wilson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 4,4,247,989 to Steffen.
In Reference to Claim 13
Schaefer discloses sensors comprising the temperature sensor and the humidity sensor.
Schaefer does not teach an optical sensor.
Steffen teaches an optical sensor (Fig. 1, 32)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Steffen into the combination of Schaefer and Wilson as applied to Claim 13. Doing so, would result in an optical sensor being integrated into the system of Schaefer. Both inventions of Schaefer and Steffen are in the same field of endeavor, Steffen teaches a method of detecting instability in grains, for detecting levels of preservation and/or deterioration of grain. So the monitoring of the storage has been improved.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Schaefer and Wilson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2016/0178448 to Melia.
In Reference to Claim 14
Schaefer discloses the monitoring system have temperature and moisture sensors.
Schaefer does not teach other types of sensors.
Mella teaches the monitoring system can have various combinations of different sensors and measuring principles can be used.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Mella into the combination of Schaefer and Wilson as applied to Claim 14. Doing so, would result in different kinds of sensor combination being used in the system of Schaefer. Both inventions of Schaefer and Mella are in the same field of endeavor, Mella provides a method of monitoring the grain storage condition with predictable result of success.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Schaefer and Wilson as applied to Claim 1 in view of US Patent 4,102,194 to Eng.
In Reference to Claim 15
Schaefer discloses the plurality cable segment.
Schaefer does not teach the hanger bracket assembly.
Eng teaches a hanger bracket assembly (Fig. 1, 16, since the plurality of cable segments 22-28 are connected to the element 16, the Office considered that the element 16 is the bracket. BIR is given to the "bracket". The Office considers that "bracket" by its function. If the Applicant considers that the bracket has special structure, it must be recited) configured to operably connect a top-most sensor cable segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments in the multi-segment sensor cable to an elevated structure of the grain bin; wherein the hanger bracket assembly is configured to connect with and suspend the top-most sensor cable segment at a plurality of different heights. (As showed in Fig. 2)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Schaefer and Wilson as applied to Claim 1 in view of US Patent Publication 2018/0372406 to Leafloor.
In Reference to Claims 16
Schaefer discloses the upper end and the lower end of the each housing.
Schaefer does not teach the tie down.
Leafloor teaches a tie down configured to operably connect to the lower end of the housing of a bottom-most sensor cable segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments in the multi-segment sensor cable; wherein the tie down is configured to connect the lower end of the multi-segment sensor cable to an elevated structure of the grain bin with a floor of the grain bin using a line. (As showed in Fig. 7)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Leafloor into the combination of Schaefer and Wilson as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in the tie down structure of Leafloor being integrated into the design of Schaefer. Both inventions of Schaefer and Leafloor are in the same field of end, Leafloor teaches a method of securing the segment cable with a predictable result of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-29 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Starting on Page 14, the Applicant argues the 102 and 103 claim rejections. The argument is true. However, the argument is based on the amended claims. The argument is moot in terms of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 4/27/26