Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 17-19, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Applicant provided prior art US Patent 9,347,904 to Schaefer.
In Reference to Claim 1
Schaefer discloses modular sensor cable system for a grain bin, comprising: a plurality of sensor cable segments (Fig. 16, 204); wherein the plurality of sensor cable segments (as showed in Fig. 16, the cable has several sensors on a single cable, therefore, there are multiple segments) each include: a housing (Fig. 17, 272); a sensor circuit (Fig. 8, 84); the sensor circuit positioned in the housing; the sensor circuit having one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 84 / 87); a support cable (Fig. 17, 210); the support cable configured to operably connect the sensor cable segment to another one of the plurality of sensor cable segments; a data cable; the data cable (Fig. 17, 212) configured to communicatively connect to the sensor circuit and to the sensor circuit of the other one of the plurality of sensor cable segments;; wherein the plurality of sensor cable segments are configured to operably connect together in series to form a multi-segment sensor cable; wherein the multi-segment sensor cable extends from an upper end to a lower end (Combined Fig. 17 and Fig. 16, since a plurality of segments are connected in series, each of cables are naturally connected via an upper end and an a lower end).
In Reference to Claim 2
Schaefer discloses the support cables of the plurality of sensor cable segments are configured to operably connect together in series to support the multi- segment sensor cable. (Combined Fig. 16 and Fig. 17)
In Reference to Claim 3
Schaefer discloses one end of the support cable of each of the plurality of sensor cable segments is configured to connect with the housing of the sensor cable segment and the other end of the support cable is configured to connect with the housing of another one of the sensor cable segments. (Combined Fig. 17 and Fig. 16, since a plurality of segments are connected in series, each of cables are naturally connected via an upper end and an a lower end).
In Reference to Claim 4
Schaefer disclose the support cables of the plurality of sensor cable segments are configured to connect together in series. (Combined Fig. 17 and Fig. 16, since a plurality of segments are connected in series, each of cables are naturally connected via an upper end and an a lower end).
In Reference to Claim 5
Schaefer discloses the support cable of each segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments extends through the housing of the segment. (As showed in Fig. 8, the steel cable 82 extends through the housing 40)
In Reference to Claim 6
Schaefer discloses the support cable of each segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments is connected to an outer surface of the housing of the segment.(As showed in Fig. 17, the support cable is coupled to the exterior housing 272)
In Reference to Claims 7 and 8
Schaefer discloses the support cables (Fig. 17, 210) of the plurality of sensor cable segments support the weight of the plurality of sensor cable segments and prevent transfer of vertical forces through the data cables of the plurality of sensor cable segments. (The office considers that support the weight is functional limitation. Schaefer discloses the claimed limitation in terms of the structure, naturally, the support cable will carry the weight of the housing)
In Reference to Claim 9
Schaefer discloses the data cables and sensor circuits of the plurality of sensor cable segments are connected together in series. (As showed in Fig. 16)
In Reference to Claim 10
Schaefer discloses the data cables and sensor circuits of the plurality of sensor cable segments are connected together in series. (Combined Fig. 16 and 17)
In Reference to Claim 11
Schaefer discloses one of the plurality of sensor cable segments may be disconnected and replaced while the plurality of sensor cable segments remain connected together in series. (Schaefer discloses one of the plurality of sensor cable segments may be disconnected and replaced while the plurality of sensor cable segments remain connected together in series.)
In Reference to Claim 12
Schaefer discloses the one or more sensors of the sensor circuit include a temperature sensor (Fig. 8, 87) and a moisture sensor (Fig. 8, 112).
In Reference to Claims 17 and 18
Schaefer discloses a data system configured to receive and store data generated by the one or more sensors of the sensor circuit of each sensor cable segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments.
( A radio or cellular modem allows for communication of the grain's condition to a user's personal computer or a remote data center.)
In Reference to Claim 19
Schaefer discloses a data system configured to: receive and store data generated by the one or more sensors of the sensor circuit of each sensor cable segment of the multi-segment sensor cable; and perform one or more operations to adjust environmental conditions within the grain bin in response to the stored data satisfying a predetermined set of conditions. (Col. 2, 1-35)
In Reference to Claim 33
Schaefer discloses a modular sensor cable system for a grain bin, comprising: a plurality of sensor cable segments (Fig. 16, 204); wherein the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments each include: a housing (Fig. 17, 272); a sensor circuit (Fig. 8, 84);wherein the sensor circuit has one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 84, 87);wherein the sensor circuit is positioned in the housing; a data cable (Fig. 7, 212); a support cable (Fig. 17, 210); wherein the housings of the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments are operably connected to the support cable; wherein the sensor circuit has one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 84/87);
Schaefer does not teach a discrete cable
Carlini teaches wherein the data cables of the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments (Fig. 8, 32) communicatively connect the sensor circuits of the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments together in series; wherein the plurality of sensor cable segments are configured to operably connect (Fig. 8, 30, the coupling element) together in series to form a multi-segment sensor cable; wherein the multi-segment sensor cable extends from an upper end to a lower end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of US Patent 4,247,989 to Steffen.
In Reference to Claim 13 Schaefer discloses sensors comprising the temperature sensor and the humidity sensor. Schaefer does not teach an optical sensor. Steffen teaches an optical sensor (Fig. 1, 32)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Steffen into the system of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in an optical sensor being integrated into the system of Schaefer. Both inventions of Schaefer and Steffen are in the same field of endeavor, Steffen teaches a method of detecting instability in grains, for detecting levels of preservation and/or deterioration of grain. So the monitoring of the storage has been improved.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of US Patent Publication 2016/0178448 to Mella.
In Reference to Claim 14
Schaefer discloses the monitoring system have temperature and moisture sensors.
Schaefer does not teach other types of sensors.
Mella teaches the monitoring system can have various combinations of different sensors and measuring principles can be used.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Mella into the design of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in different kinds of sensor combination being used in the system of Schaefer. Both inventions of Schaefer and Mella are in the same field of endeavor, Mella provides a method of monitoring the grain storage condition with predictable result of success.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of US Patent 4,102,194 to Eng.
In Reference to Claim 15
Schaefer discloses the plurality cable segment.
Schaefer does not teach the hanger bracket assembly.
Eng teaches a hanger bracket assembly (Fig. 1, 16, since the plurality of cable segments 22-28 are connected to the element 16, the Office considered that the element 16 is the bracket. BIR is given to the “bracket”. The Office considers that “bracket” by its function. If the Applicant considers that the bracket has special structure, it must be recited) configured to operably connect a top-most sensor cable segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments in the multi-segment sensor cable to an elevated structure of the grain bin; wherein the hanger bracket assembly is configured to connect with and suspend the top-most sensor cable segment at a plurality of different heights. (As showed in Fig. 2)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of US Patent Publication 2018/0372406 to Leafloor.
In Reference to Claims 16
Schaefer discloses the upper end and the lower end of the each housing.
Schaefer does not teach the tie down.
Leafloor teaches a tie down configured to operably connect to the lower end of the housing of a bottom-most sensor cable segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments in the multi-segment sensor cable; wherein the tie down is configured to connect the lower end of the multi-segment sensor cable to an elevated structure of the grain bin with a floor of the grain bin using a line. (As showed in Fig. 7)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Leafloor into the design of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the tie down structure of Leafloor being integrated into the design of Schaefer. Both inventions of Schaefer and Leafloor are in the same field of endeavor, Leafloor teaches a method of securing the segment cable with a predictable result of success.
Claims 20, 21, 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schael in view of US Patent 6,127,937 to Carlini.
In Reference to Claim 20, 23 and 24
Schaefer discloses a modular sensor cable system for a grain bin, comprising: a first sensor cable segment (Fig. 16, 204); the first sensor cable segment having a first housing (Fig. 17, 272); the first housing having an elongated shape (As showed) extending from an upper end (Fig. 10. 100) to a lower end (Fig. 10, 98); the first sensor cable segment having a first sensor circuit (Fig. 8, 84); the first sensor circuit positioned in the first housing; the first sensor circuit having one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 87 / 86); the first sensor circuit having an upper electrical connector and a lower electrical connector (Fig. 10, 89); the first sensor cable segment having a first support cable (Fig. 10, 93); the first support cable extending a length from an upper end to a lower end; wherein the first housing is operably connected to the first support cable; the first sensor cable segment having a first data cable (Fig. 17, 212) extending from an upper end to a lower end; the lower end of the first data cable communicatively connected to the upper electrical connector of the first sensor circuit; wherein during operation, the first sensor circuit is configured to communicate a first set of data gathered from the one or more sensors of the first sensor circuit via the first data cable; wherein when a second sensor cable segment (As showed in Fig. 16, each of cable has a plurality housings, the second set and the third set of the housing with sensors are the
same of the first segment. They are duplications.) is communicatively connected to the lower electrical connector of the first sensor circuit, wherein the first sensor circuit of the first sensor cable segment is configured to receive a second set of data from the second sensor cable segment and communicate the second set of data via the first data cable.
Schaefer does not teach discrete sensor cable.
Carlini teaches a plurality of discrete sensor cable segments (Fig. 8, 32) wherein the plurality of discrete senor cable are configured to be connected together in series to form a multi-segment cable (As showed in Fig. 8) wherein the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments are configured to be disconnect able from one another (As showed in Fig. 8, segments 32 are coupled to each other by coupler 30, therefore, they can coupled and decoupled.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Carlini into the design of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the sensor segments of Schaefer being replaced with discreteable segments. Both inventions of Schaefer and Carlini are for condition measurement for a piled product. Carlini provides an easily assembled or preassembled environmental condition monitoring system. (Col 2, Line 1-2)
In Reference to Claim 21
Schaefer discloses the lower end of the support cable of the first sensor cable segment is operably connected to the upper end of the housing of the first sensor cable segment. (Combined Fig. 16 and 17) In Reference to Claim 25
Schaefer discloses the second sensor cable segment; wherein when the first sensor cable segment is suspended from an elevated structure of the grain bin and the second sensor cable segment (AS showed in Fig. 16) is suspended from the first sensor cable segment, the first sensor circuit is removable from the first cable segment while maintaining suspension of the second sensor cable segment from the first sensor cable segment. (Schaefer discloses one of the plurality of sensor cable segments may be disconnected and replaced while the plurality of sensor cable segments remain connected together in series.)
In Reference to Claim 26
Schaefer discloses the second sensor cable segment is detachable from the first sensor cable segment. (Schaefer discloses one of the plurality of sensor cable segments may be disconnected and replaced while the plurality of sensor cable segments remain connected together in series.)
In Reference to Claim 27
Schaefer discloses the one or more sensors of the first sensor circuit include a temperature sensor and a moisture sensor. (Fig. 8, 87 / 86)
In Reference to Claim 28
Schaefer discloses the first data cable does not carry weight of the first housing or second sensor cable segment. (As showed in Fig. 17, the weight is carried by the support cable 210).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Schaefer and Carlini as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Leafloor.
In Reference to Claim 29
Schaefer discloses the upper end and the lower end of the each housing.
The combination of Schaefer and Carlini as applied to Claim 20 does not teach the tie down.
Leafloor teaches a tie down configured to operably connect to the lower end of the housing of a bottom-most sensor cable segment of the plurality of sensor cable segments in the multi-segment sensor cable; wherein the tie down is configured to connect the lower end of the multi-segment sensor cable to an elevated structure of the grain bin with a floor of the grain bin using a line. (As showed in Fig. 7)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Leafloor into the combination of Schaefer and Carlini as applied to Claim 20. Doing so, would result in the tie down structure of Leafloor being integrated into the design of Schaefer. Both inventions of Schaefer and Leafloor are in the same field of endeavor, Leafloor teaches a method of securing the segment cable with a predictable result of success.
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Carlini, and further in view of CN2084455 to Sun (The art rejection is made based on the respective English translation by PE2E)
In Reference to Claims 30 and 31
Schaefer discloses s method, comprising: installing a plurality of multi-segment sensor cables in a grain bin (As showed in Fig. 16) having a plurality of sidewall rings (Fig. 2, 12); each of the plurality of multi- segments sensor cables having multiple sensor cable segments operably connected together in series (As showed in Fig. 16, 204); each of the sensor cable segments having a sensor circuit (Fig. 8, 84); the sensor circuit having one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 87 / 86); the length of the cable can be set at desired length to fit the bin.
installing the plurality of multi-segment sensor cables includes adjusting height at which the plurality of multi-segment sensor cables are positioned. (The cable can be set at desired length according to the bin).
Schaefer does not teach discrete sensor cable.
Carlini teaches a plurality of discrete sensor cable segments (Fig. 8, 32) wherein the plurality of discrete senor cable are configured to be connected together in series to form a multi-segment cable (As showed in Fig. 8) wherein the plurality of discrete sensor cable segments are configured to be disconnectable from one another (As showed in Fig. 8, segments 32 are coupled to each other by coupler 30, therefore, they can coupled and decoupled.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Carlini into the design of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the sensor segments of Schaefer being replaced with discreteable segments. Both inventions of Schaefer and Carlini are for condition measurement for a piled product. Carlini provides an easily assembled or preassembled environmental condition monitoring system. (Col 2, Line 1-2)
The combination of Schaefer and Carlini as applied to Claim 30 does not teach the expanding capacity of the grain bin by adding one or more sidewall rings to the plurality of sidewall rings;
Sun teaches the expanding capacity of the grain bin by adding one or more sidewall rings to the plurality of sidewall rings; (the wall when it is not used, and if not releasing locking device on it, then further is cylindrical; if the locking device opening and expanding the wall, then is plate-shaped, so it is convenient to store. Thus here the plate-shaped cabin wall is finger-shaped cabin wall after being unfolded.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to incorporate teachings from Sun into the combination of Schaefer and Carlini as applied to Claim 30. Doing so, would result in the side wall of Schaefer being designed as an expandable sidewall. Both inventions of Schaefer ad Sun teaches a storage bin. Sun teaches a space saving design of the storage bin by expandable side wall.
Once the height of the cabin is increased, the cable length would be also increased as being taught by Carlini
In Reference to Claim 32
Schaefer discloses wherein the sensor cable segments each include: a housing (Fig. 17, 272); the housing having an elongated shape extending from an upper end to a lower end (Fig. 10, 100, 98); a sensor circuit (Fig. 8, 84); the sensor circuit positioned in the housing; the sensor circuit having one or more sensors (Fig. 8, 87, 86); the sensor circuit having an upper electrical connector and a lower electrical connector; a support cable (Fig. 17, 210); the support cable extending from an upper end to a lower end; the lower end of the support cable configured to operably connect to the upper end of the housing; the upper end of the support cable configured to operably connect to the lower end of the housing of a higher one of the plurality of sensor cable segments in the multi-segment sensor cable; a data cable (Fig. 17, 212) extending from an upper end to a lower end; the lower end of the data cable configured to communicatively connect to the upper electrical connector of the sensor circuit; the upper end of the data cable configured to communicatively connect to the lower electrical connector of the sensor circuit of the higher one or the plurality of sensor cable segments; wherein during operation, the sensor circuit is configured to communicate a first set of data gathered from the one or more sensors of the sensor circuit via the data cable; wherein when a lower one of the plurality sensor cable segments in the multi- segment sensor cable is communicatively connected to the lower electrical connector of the sensor circuit, wherein the sensor circuit is configured to receive a second set of data from the lower sensor cable segment and communicate the second set of data via the data cable.
the support cable is formed of a plurality of discrete support cable segments connected together in series. (As showed in Fig. 8, all segments 32 are coupled in series)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Carlini into the design of Schaefer. Doing so, would result in the sensor segments of Schaefer being replaced with discreteable segments. Both inventions of Schaefer and Carlini are for condition measurement for a piled product. Carlini provides an easily assembled or preassembled environmental condition monitoring system. (Col 2, Line 1-2)
In Reference to Claim 35
Schaefer discloses the support cable (Fig. 8, 82) is single continuous cable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Starting on Page 12, the Applicant argues the 35 USC 102 claim rejection to Claim 1. The Applicant argues “the Examiner interprets the continuous cable disclosed in SCHAEFER as inherently having a plurality of cable segment. Applicant submits that the Examiner's interpretation is inconsistent with the Applicant's specification since the Examiner's interpretation does not appear to account for any embodiments provided in the Specification, in which the multi-segment cables are formed of a plurality of discrete cable segments configured to be connectable/disconnectable to/from one another.” The Office respectively disagree. First, Claim 1 has recites a multi-segment cable only. The plurality of discrete cable segments are not required in Claim 1. Schaefer reference discloses a cable with several sensor attached in series. BRI is given to segment, a multi-segment is not required that they can be decoupled into several discrete segments. The Office interprets that a segment is a section, since Schaefer has a cable with several sensor sections attached, therefore, the cable has several sections.
The Applicant amended Claim 20 with a recitation. “discrete segment”. The argument to Claim 20 is true. Since it is based on the amended claim, the argument is moot in terms of the new ground of rejection.
Starting on Page 13, the Applicant argues that Schaefer does not teach “the data cables and sensor circuits of the plurality of sensor cable segments are connected together in series.” The Office respectively disagrees. Since Schaefer teaches multiple sensor sections are connected in series, the cable between each sections must be coupled in series. Fig. 19 of Schaefer teaches that cables are connected in parallel within each section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3748
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 1/8/25